Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Starburst Galaxy

Starburst | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 1
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

50 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Erica M.

Now our management of complex queries is super simple!

  • June 10, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The most valuable use of Starburst for our team is the centralization of different data sources to combine them in one place to execute queries. This consolidation has clearly eradicated the problem of having to deal with numerous data store houses and has made our analytical exercises easy and effective. There is seamless compatibility of this tool with other business inteligence tools we are already using in our organization, thus we were able to refine our other applications. These improvements have been made possible by the harmonious integration of these separated processes.
What do you dislike about the product?
The only issue I have with Starburst is the latency that comes with it especially when working with big data. Such a delay can compromise our data analysis processes and decrease the business’s operational productivity. However, it should also be mentioned that the initial setup process was long and required a lot of efforts and deep technical knowledge. Such difficulties have at times required delaying certain projects thus making it hard to stick to strict timelines.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Overall, I have found Starburst as a perfect fit to address our data fragmentation issues since I don’t have to replicate data into my data marts before querying them. It has enhanced the automation of our data collection process and analysis which has made it easier to make better decisions in a shorter time. Incorporation with some of our previous tools has enhanced our working efficiency by providing an idea about our data as a whole, which was very challenging to consider beforehand.


    Dominie J.

One of the best product & outstanding service

  • November 08, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy to implement, great productivity. Starburst team's support is amazing.
They take all our feedback seriously and try to incorporate the required features in the future releases.
Simplifies lot of our business problems.
One of the key component for data federation in our Data Mesh architecture.
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing. Great experience so far. Thank you!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We follow the data mesh architecture with datahubs specific to each Domain. Staurburt Trino is used as the data federation layer on top of all the datahubs to build business insights & make faster decisions.


    Consumer Goods

Innovative, and high value adding product for all data users at scale.

  • November 07, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The best part about starburst is the extensive documentation and support for the product itself. The number of features is also a plus and the frequent version updates to the product in general. The UI is very simple to use and easy to understand for the most part.
What do you dislike about the product?
One thing I would suggest is for the UI to be more intuitive and more similar to snowflake when it comes to analyzing queries. I would suggest that when I look at a query, the breakdown of operations is more clear (aggregate time, sorting, creating the table, etc.) I would also with there was support for declaratively setting roles through terraform so that it is easier for us to maintain internally.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The problem we see a lot is migrating data between data warehouses and this is where most of the value add is. This helps save immesne time plus costs on our end of migrating data. For example a use case may be bringing SAP data into Google BigQuery.


    Raimundas J.

No more waiting for a pixels dry!

  • November 07, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Starburst leverages the power of Trino to offer a high-performance and scalable SQL query engine that has significantly optimized our data analysis and business intelligence operations. The application excels in its ability to perform fast analytics across various data sources without the need for migration, providing a seamless and unified querying layer.

**What I like best:**

1. **Federated Queries:** Starburst's federated querying capability is a game-changer. It allows us to query data across different sources such as Hadoop, S3, or even relational databases like MySQL, and PostgreSQL, with ease. This means there’s no need for complex ETL processes to move data around, saving time and reducing the risk of errors.

2. **Performance Enhancements:** Starburst provides additional performance enhancements over Trino's already fast query engine. It optimizes query execution to minimize latency and maximize efficiency, which is vital for our large datasets and complex queries.

3. **Security Features:** Enterprise-grade security is another standout feature. Starburst provides added layers of protection including data encryption, access controls, and integration with our existing security systems. This ensures our data is not only quickly accessible but also secure.

4. **Scalability:** The scalability of Starburst is impressive. As our data demands grow, Starburst scales with us, ensuring that our analytical capabilities can keep pace with our expanding data footprint without degradation in performance.

5. **Professional Support and Services:** Access to professional support and services ensures that any issues are promptly addressed, and we can also optimize our usage of Starburst with expert guidance.

In conclusion, Starburst provides a robust solution for organizations looking to harness the full power of Trino with additional enterprise capabilities. Its ability to query across various data sources efficiently, enhanced performance, and strong security measures make it an invaluable tool for any data-driven enterprise.
What do you dislike about the product?
Every time customer adds data source application needs to be rebuilt. It takes time and effort like change control in financial instituion. We need ability to add data soures from UI.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Speeding up database calls.


    Sateesh W.

The best ever data lake analytics platform to discover, organize, consume data & data processing.

  • September 27, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
In starburst we can be able to understand the memory usage, CPU usage, Top Users and total number of failed and succeeded queries using the graphical view at the same time, easy to use tool for data analytics, data engineering, data science. although we can use cloud storage utilization to provide elasticity. it provide fastetst & efficient analytic engine for data warehouse, data lake, data mesh. can also check the queries details according to the date wise – where we can see the cluster size, memory, CPU usage and queued queries.
What do you dislike about the product?
Charges applies high but the product is good, I've never seen any drawbacks till now since i'm using in my current project in Gilead.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Sometime if i'm querying for lacks of data it hits me an error, sometime URL's doesn't work, however we get support team immedeatly to sort out the issue in Dev, Test, Production environment quickly but it often happes twice or trice in a month, should be improved.


    Banking

Starburst is the best tool to reach data products across our organization

  • August 16, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Starburts allows us to reach data products across our organization and join data from different data sources easily.
Starburst is constantly improving the product and is a company that listens to client requests.
What do you dislike about the product?
The resilience of workers can be improved, support for more ranger policy templates like ADLS, improvement of push down queries mechanisms that sometimes cause huge network traffic bringing data to Starburst and the query could be performed at datasource level (same catalog and database).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To centralize the data products access in one single point and starburst is the tool chosen by us to that.


    Vinicius R.

Good query engine, but be aware of the pricing model

  • August 16, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
- Good UI
- Diverse set of connectors
- Good query usage logs
- Decent user attribution to those queries
- Good Support Experience
What do you dislike about the product?
Pricing model that aside from charging for the license, we also need to pay for the provided CPU hour.
This feels like a double charge taking into account that I'm already paying for that infrastrustructure on my cloud provider, specially taking into account that we have to fully manage our infrastructure and their support will not help us on this side.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- It's our Data Mesh main query engine.
- We use it to access data from different raw sources (S3 + Glue, RDBMS) and even different cloud providers like GCP
- Removing some of the cognitive load of running Trino OpenSource on EKS


    Madhusudan S.

Excellent Service

  • August 16, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I had a positive experience with Starburst Data's support team. Their representatives were responsive and knowledgeable, addressing my queries promptly. The support staff demonstrated excellent communication skills and showed genuine empathy towards my concerns. They efficiently resolved my technical issues, ensuring minimal downtime. I appreciate the professionalism and availability of their support team. Overall, it was a great experience receiving support from Starburst Data.
What do you dislike about the product?
To be honest as a user I didnot find any limitations however i like to get custom alerts whenever we have any unsual spike or utilisation go high.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have to query form multiple databases and we need multiple database connection at one place and details query analysis. We use presto data for our reports and dashboards.


    Financial Services

Fast, easy and simple

  • August 09, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Integrability, cost, architecture and UX
What do you dislike about the product?
Not possible to select multiple objetcs when setting up roles and features
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data democratization, single acces point for our data, stable and fast connection with dataviz and governace


    Executive Office

An excellent production with a strong support team.

  • August 08, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ease of use powerful tool. An support team that is very responsive.
What do you dislike about the product?
Complexity in configuration which requires insight knowlodge. The online installation guide is only at high level.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1. High performance tool for visulizing data from multiple sources.
2. Able to handle diversed data sources.
3. Integration with other tools in our environment.