问:Amazon RDS 支持 MySQL 的哪些版本? 

Amazon RDS for MySQL 目前支持 5.5、5.6 和 5.7 版的 MySQL Community Edition。有关支持的次要版本信息,请参阅 Amazon RDS 用户指南

问:Amazon RDS 如何区分“主要”和“次要”发布版本?

在 MySQL 环境中,版本的编号的组织方式如下:

MySQL 版本 = X.Y.Z

X = 主要版本,Y = 发布级别,Z = 发布系列内的版本编号。

从 Amazon RDS 角度来说,主要版本或发布级别变化的版本变更将被视为主要变更。示例:从 5.6.X 升级到 5.7.X。

如果版本内版次发生变更,则此版次变更被视为次要变更。示例:从 5.6.27 升级到 5.6.29。

问:Amazon RDS 是否针对升级引擎版本或弃用当前不受支持的引擎版本提供了准则?

是。请参阅 Amazon RDS 常见问题

问:Amazon RDS for MySQL 支持哪些存储引擎?

Amazon RDS for MySQL 的 Point-In-Time-Restore 和快照还原功能要求使用崩溃恢复存储引擎,且仅支持 InnoDB 存储引擎。虽然 MySQL 支持功能不同的多种存储引擎,但并非所有引擎都为崩溃恢复和数据耐久性而进行了优化。例如,MyISAM 存储引擎不支持可靠的崩溃恢复,并且在崩溃后重启 MySQL 时可能导致数据丢失或损坏,从而使 Point-In-Time-Restore 或快照还原无法按预期工作。不过,如果您仍然选择对 Amazon RDS 使用 MyISAM,遵循以下步骤可能在某些情况下对执行数据库快照还原功能有所帮助。

Amazon RDS for MySQL 当前不支持联合存储引擎。

问:对于 RDS MySQL 数据库实例的主用户将授予什么特权?

在创建一个新的数据库实例时,您使用的默认主用户将获得特定权限。请参阅《Amazon RDS 用户指南》中的主用户账户权限,了解权限列表。

问:Amazon RDS for MySQL 的哪些版本支持只读副本?

运行 MySQL 版本 5.5 或更新版本的数据库实例支持创建只读副本。MySQL 5.6 及更高版本支持跨地区只读副本。只有运行 MySQL 5.6 及更高版本的 Amazon RDS 只读副本支持自动备份。

必须在源数据库实例上启用自动备份并使其保持启用状态,才能进行只读副本的操作。 

问:哪些存储引擎支持用于 Amazon RDS for MySQL 只读副本?

Amazon RDS for MySQL 只读副本需要使用事务性存储引擎,并仅支持用于 InnoDB 存储引擎。非事务性 MySQL 存储引擎(如 MyISAM)可能会阻止只读副本按预期方式运行。不过,如果您仍然对读取副本选择使用 MyISAM,建议您密切监视 Amazon CloudWatch“副本滞后”指标(通过 AWS 管理控制台或 Amazon CloudWatch API 提供),并在其由于复制错误落后时重新创建读取副本。使用临时表及任何其他非事务性引擎时,也应考虑上述事项。

问:是否可以在源 Amazon RDS for MySQL 数据库实例和只读副本之间配置复制,以使用基于行的复制?

对于 MySQL 5.6 或更高版本,您可以将二进制日志格式设为基于行。默认情况下,复制设置为固定格式(包含基于行和基于语句的复制),它们应该能够满足大多数使用案例的要求。要详细了解混合格式与基于行的复制之间的区别,请参阅 MySQL 文档。

问:我的 Amazon RDS for MySQL 只读副本在多可用区故障转移后呈现“阻塞”状态,且无法获取或应用源数据库实例的更新。我该怎么办?

有些情况下,您会发现在多可用区故障转移后,Amazon RDS for MySQL 只读副本无法接收或应用其源多可用区数据库实例的更新。这可能是因为 MySQL binlog 事件在故障转移期间未更新到磁盘。您应该按照 Amazon RDS 用户指南中的说明配置 MySQL 数据库实例的复制,这点很重要。

Q: Which versions of MySQL does Amazon RDS support?  

Amazon RDS for MySQL currently supports MySQL Community Edition versions 5.5, 5.6 and 5.7. Information about supported minor versions is available in the Amazon RDS User Guide.

Q: How does Amazon RDS distinguish between “major” and “minor” version releases?

In the context of MySQL, version numbers are organized as follows:

MySQL version = X.Y.Z

X = Major version, Y = Release level, Z = Version number within release series.

From the Amazon RDS standpoint, a version change would be considered major if either major version or release level is being changed. Example: going from 5.6.X -> 5.7.X.

A version change would be considered minor if the version number within the release is being changed. Example: going from 5.6.27 -> 5.6.29.

Q: Does Amazon RDS provide guidelines for upgrading engine versions or deprecation of engine versions that are currently supported?

Yes. Please refer to the Amazon RDS FAQs.

Q: What storage engines does Amazon RDS for MySQL support?

The Point-In-Time-Restore and Snapshot Restore features of Amazon RDS for MySQL require a crash-recoverable storage engine and are supported for InnoDB storage engine only. While MySQL supports multiple storage engines with varying capabilities, not all of them are optimized for crash recovery and data durability. For example, MyISAM storage engine does not support reliable crash recovery and may result in lost or corrupt data when MySQL is restarted after a crash, preventing Point-In-Time-Restore or Snapshot restore from working as intended. However, if you still choose to use MyISAM with Amazon RDS, following these steps may be helpful in certain scenarios for DB snapshot restore functionality.

Federated Storage Engine is currently not supported by Amazon RDS for MySQL.

Q: What privileges are granted to the master user for an RDS MySQL DB instance?

When you create a new DB instance, the default master user that you use gets certain privileges. See Master User Account Privileges in the Amazon RDS User Guide for a list of the privileges.

Q: Which versions of Amazon RDS for MySQL supports Read Replicas?

DB Instances with MySQL version 5.5 or newer support creation of Read Replicas. Cross-region Read Replicas are supported on MySQL 5.6 and later. Automatic backups are supported only for Amazon RDS Read Replicas running MySQL 5.6 and later.

Automatic backups must be and remain enabled on the source DB Instance for Read Replica operations.  

Q: Which storage engines are supported for use with Amazon RDS for MySQL Read Replicas?

Amazon RDS for MySQL Read Replicas require a transactional storage engine and are only supported for the InnoDB storage engine. Non-transactional MySQL storage engines such as MyISAM might prevent Read Replicas from working as intended. However, if you still choose to use MyISAM with Read Replicas, we advise you to watch the Amazon CloudWatch “Replica Lag” metric (available via the AWS Management Console or Amazon CloudWatch APIs) carefully and recreate the Read Replica should it fall behind due to replication errors. The same considerations apply to the use of temporary tables and any other non-transactional engines.

Q: Can I configure the replication between my source Amazon RDS for MySQL DB Instance and a Read Replica to use row-based replication?

You can set the binary logging format to row-based, for MySQL version 5.6 and later. By default, replication is set to mixed-format (which includes both row-based and statement-based replication) which should meet the requirements of most use cases. The MySQL documentation offers more information about the difference between mixed-format and row-based replication.

Q: My Amazon RDS for MySQL Read Replica appears “stuck” after a Multi-AZ failover and is unable to obtain or apply updates from the source DB instance. What do I do?

You may find in some cases that your Amazon RDS for MySQL Read Replica(s) aren’t able to receive or apply updates from their source Multi-AZ DB instance after a Multi-AZ failover. This may be due to MySQL binlog events not being flushed to disk at the time of the failover. It is important that you configure your MySQL DB instance for replication as described in the Amazon RDS User Guide