一般性问题

问:什么是 AWS Snowball Edge?

Snowball Edge 是一款 100TB 数据传输设备,具有板载存储和出色的 AWS 计算能力。Snowball Edge 不仅可以向 AWS 传输数据,还可以承担本地处理和边缘计算工作负载。其功能包括设备上与 S3 兼容的终端节点、支持 NFS 的文件接口、群集模式(多台 Snowball Edge 设备可以充当一个可扩展存储与计算池,持久性更高)以及在数据复制到设备时运行 Lambda 函数的能力。

问:Snowball Edge 的工作原理是什么?

首先,您根据要传输或处理的数据量在 AWS 管理控制台中申请一台或多台 Snowball Edge 设备。在发运给您之前,设备上会自动配置、加密和预安装您选择的存储桶和 Lambda 函数。到货后,您将设备连接到本地网络并手动或通过 DHCP 自动设置 IP 地址。设置集群的步骤与此相同。然后,使用 Snowball Edge 客户端软件、任务清单和解锁代码验证 Snowball Edge 设备或集群的完整性,并将其解锁以供使用。生成的清单和解锁代码是唯一的,并通过加密逻辑绑定到指定的 Snowball Edge,帮助确保两者都不能用于任何其他设备。复制到 Snowball Edge 的数据会自动加密并存储在您指定的存储桶中。

所有物流和运输均由 Amazon 完成,因此,当您完成复制并准备好运回设备时,E Ink 运输标签将自动更新回邮地址以帮助确保将 Snowball Edge 设备运送到正确的 AWS 机构。设备发运后,您可以通过 Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) 发送的消息、生成的文本和电子邮件或直接从控制台获取跟踪状态。

Snowball Edge 资源的所有管理工作都可以在 AWS 管理控制台中执行,无需现场系统工程师的介入。

问:Snowball Edge 和 Snowball 之间有什么区别?

Snowball 的用途是充当将大量数据传入和传出指定 AWS 地区的数据传输解决方案。Snowball Edge 添加了额外的功能,可以在设备上运行简单的计算功能,适合需要在将数据返回 AWS 之前进行本地处理的用例。有关更多详细信息,请参阅该文档

问:Snowball Edge 适合什么样的用户使用?

如果您需要将 TB 到 PB 级数据安全快速地传输到 AWS,那么 Snowball Edge 是最理想的数据传输选择。如果您有大量积压数据要传输或经常收集数据需要传输到 AWS,而您的存储所在位置没有高带宽的 Internet 连接或其成本十分高昂,则可以使用 Snowball Edge。您也可以使用 Snowball Edge 运行边缘计算工作负载,如在 Snowball Edge 群集上执行本地数据分析并将数据写入与 S3 兼容的终端节点。您可以利用 NFS 文件接口等内置功能将其简化到现有工作流中并将文件迁移到设备,同时保留文件元数据。Snowball Edge 可以在偏远的地点或恶劣的工作环境中运行,例如车间、石油和天然气钻井平台、矿场、医院和行驶中的运载工具上。Snowball Edge 经过预配置,不必连接 Internet,因此数据处理和收集操作可在独立的操作环境中进行。Snowball Edge 让您可以像完全连接 AWS 一样,在边缘运行相同的软件并使用精选的 AWS 功能。

问:是否可以使用 Snowball Edge 将数据从一个 AWS 地区迁移到另一个 AWS 地区?

不可以。Snowball Edge 的用途是充当将大量数据传入和传出指定 AWS 地区的数据传输解决方案。对于需要在多个 AWS 区域之间进行数据传输的情况,我们建议您使用 S3 跨区域复制作为替代解决方案。

问:使用 Snowball Edge 可以传输多少数据?

使用 Snowball Edge 几乎可以传输任意数量的数据,从几 TB 到很多 PB 不等。使用一个 Snowball Edge 最多可传输 100TB,使用多台设备可以并行或按顺序传输更大的数据集。例如,您可以使用 10 台 Snowball Edge 设备传输 1PB 数据。

问:传输数据需要多长时间?

数据传输速度受很多因素影响,其中包括本地网络速度、文件大小以及可从本地服务器读取数据的速度。使用 Snowball Edge 将 100 TB 数据传输到 AWS 从始到终大约需要一周的时间,其中包括在 AWS 数据中心的正常运输和处理时间。

显示简要信息

问:我在执行特定作业时可以持有 Snowball Edge 多长时间?

Snowball Edge 设备必须在 Snowball Edge 就绪后的 360 天内送回。

问:Snowball Edge 设备的相关规范有哪些?

Snowball Edge 提供 100TB 的存储空间,该设备坚固耐用、可在机架上安装,并具有适合运输的外形规格。此外,该设备还提供大概与支持若干附加功能的 EC2 m4.4xlarge 实例相当的本地计算能力。请查看 Snowball Edge 文档页面获取完整的硬件规格列表,包括网络连接、散热及电源要求、产生的噪音和尺寸等。

问:Snowball Edge 支持哪些网络接口?

Snowball Edge 提供 10GBase-T 网络连接、10/25Gb SFP28 和 40Gb QSFP+ 铜缆和光纤网络,以实现数据快速传输。

问:Snowball Edge 的默认运送方式是什么?我可以选择加急运送吗?

Snowball Edge 默认使用 UPS 的两日送达运送。如果您的作业具有时效性,可以选择加急运送。

本地处理功能

问:Snowball Edge 支持 EC2 实例吗?

您可以在 AWS Snowball Edge 上预置 SBE1 实例类型,以便在此设备上运行 Amazon 系统映像 (AMI)。您可以在 EC2 上完成构建和测试,然后在 Snowball Edge 上运行 AMI 以处理偏远位置和网络连接断开位置中的工作负载。

问:如何根据计算需求在 Amazon EC2 计算实例和 AWS Lambda 函数之间进行取舍?

如果您想要为新的应用程序使用 AWS 中的无服务器计算模型,并且想要在该设备上运行相同的应用程序,那么 AWS Lambda 是个很好的选择。如果您想要在设备上运行现有应用程序进行数据预处理,或无法将您的现有应用程序重构为无服务器模型,那么 Amazon EC2 实例是个很好的选择。

问:何时应该在 AWS Snowball Edge 上使用 SBE1 实例?

如果您的应用程序在边缘运行,并作为虚拟机(一种 Amazon 系统映像,简称“AMI”)进行管理和部署,则您应该使用 SBE1 实例。

问:如何开始在 Snowball Edge 上进行本地计算?

您可以使用 AWS 控制台、AWS Snowball SDK 或 AWS CLI 在 AWS Snowball Edge 作业创建期间启用和预置 EC2 AMI 或 Lambda 函数。 

问:是否可以使用现有的 EC2 API 在设备上启动、停止和管理实例?

可以。AWS Snowball Edge 提供与 EC2 兼容的终端节点,可用于在 AWS Snowball Edge 上启动、停止和管理实例。该终端节点与 AWS CLI 和 AWS SDK 兼容。 

问:AWS Snowball Edge 支持哪些 EC2 功能?

AWS Snowball Edge 上运行的 EC2 终端节点可提供 EC2 功能集的子集,对于客户的边缘计算场景非常有用。其中包括运行、终止和描述已安装的 AMI 和运行实例的 API。 

问:是否可以将现有的 EBS 卷与 AWS Snowball Edge 搭配使用?

不可以。您目前无法将现有的 EBS 卷与 AWS Snowball Edge 搭配使用。

问:要在 AWS Snowball Edge 上运行 SBE1 实例,需要执行哪些操作?

要运行 SBE1 实例,请在创建作业期间提供 AMI ID 并在给您运送设备时预装映像。

问:是否可以将其他 Hypervisor 的映像转化到 AMI 中或反向操作?

支持。您可以使用 EC2 VM Import/Export 服务将 KVM/VMWare 映像导入或导出 AMI。请参阅 VM Import/Export 文档了解更多详细信息。

问:使用这项功能,可以运行哪些操作系统?

您可以运行 EC2 支持的任意操作系统。Amazon EC2 目前支持各种 Linux、UNIX 和 Windows 操作系统;有关 EC2 支持的操作系统的完整列表,请参阅 Amazon EC2 常见问题页面。对于部分操作系统(如基于 Microsoft Windows 的操作系统),您需要向设备提供自己的许可证。

问:可以在 SBE1 实例上运行哪些工作负载?

SBE1 实例配备 1.8GHz Intel Xeon D 处理器、多达 16 个 vCPU 和 32GB 内存,旨在支持边缘应用程序,如 IoT 传感器数据收集、图像压缩和机器学习。 

问:设备上支持哪些 SBE1 实例大小?

该实例系列包括 SBE1 实例类型,平衡了计算、内存和网络资源,专为在边缘运行的应用程序而设计。请参阅文档了解最新的实例列表。

问:如何确保 AMI 可在 AWS Snowball Edge 的 SBE1 实例上兼容运行?

绝大多数情况下,AWS 中 C5 实例类型上运行的 AMI 与 AWS Snowball Edge 上的 SBE1 实例兼容。我们建议您先在 C5 实例类型中测试应用程序,以确保它们可以在此设备上运行。

问:是否可以在设备上安装多个实例?

支持。您可以在设备上运行多个实例,只要设备上所有实例使用的总资源不超过 24 个 vCPU 和 32GB 内存即可。

问:如何在 AWS Snowball Edge 群集上使用 SBE1 实例?

SBE1 实例可以在 AWS Snowball Edge 群集的每个节点上运行。使用 AWS 控制台预置 AWS Snowball Edge 群集时,您可以提供要在每个群集节点上运行的实例的详细信息。例如,要运行的 AMI、要使用的 SBE1 计算实例大小以及是否默认开启它们。您可以针对群集的每个节点使用相同或不同的 AMI。 

问:如何手动启动实例?

每个 AMI 都有一个相关的 AMI ID。您可以通过提供此 ID 使用 run-instance 命令启动实例。运行此命令会返回一个 instance-id 值,可用于管理此实例。 

问:如何管理 AWS Snowball Edge 上的实例?

您可以使用 describe-images 命令检查设备上安装的所有映像的状态。要查看设备上运行实例中的活跃实例,您可以使用 describe-instance-status 命令。

问:如何终止现有实例?

您可以使用 terminate-instance 命令终止正在运行的实例。

问:如何保护传输中的 AMI?

Snowball Edge 采用 256 位加密对包括 AMI 在内的所有数据进行加密。您可以使用 AWS Key Management Service (KMS) 管理加密密钥。您的密钥不会存储在此设备上,并且您需要有密钥和解锁码才能在本地使用此设备。除了使用防拆封外壳外,Snowball Edge 还采用行业标准可信平台模块 (TPM),能够检测对硬件、固件或软件进行的越权修改。AWS 会通过外观和加密方式检查每台设备是否有篡改迹象。

问:如何处理 AWS Snowball Edge 上计算实例的软件许可问题?

您要负责为实例上运行的所有软件获取许可。具体来说,对于 Windows 操作系统,您可以将现有许可用于此设备上正在运行的实例。 

区域可用性

问:哪些区域提供 Snowball Edge?

请参阅区域服务可用性页面,了解最新信息。

很遗憾,我们目前在美国所有的州都不能提供该服务。

问:能否将 Snowball Edge 运送到其他 AWS 区域?

没有。Snowball Edge 设备设计为在单个 AWS 区域内申请和使用。不能从一个地区提出请求,然后返回到另一个地区。用于从欧盟 AWS 区域导入和导出数据的 Snowball Edge 设备可以在 28 个欧盟成员国中的任何国家/地区使用。请参阅区域服务可用性页面,了解最新信息。

安全性

问:Snowball Edge 会对我的数据加密吗?

Snowball Edge 采用 256 位加密对所有数据加密。您可以使用 AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) 管理加密密钥。您的密钥永远不会存储在该设备上,当设备断开连接并准备运回 AWS 时所有内存都将被擦除。

问:Snowball Edge 如何以物理方式保护我的数据?

Snowball Edge 使用防篡改外壳,同时采用行业标准受信任平台模块 (TPM),该模块能够检测对硬件、固件或软件进行的越权修改。AWS 通过外观和加密方式检查每台设备是否有篡改迹象,验证 TPM 是否未检测到任何更改。

问:Snowball Edge 如何以数字方式帮助保护我的数据?

Snowball Edge 在设计时考虑到了最敏感数据的安全性。所有数据都使用您通过 AWS Key Management Service (KMS) 提供的密钥进行加密。密钥不会在设备上永久存储,断电后即擦除。应用程序和 Lambda 函数在物理隔离的环境中运行,无法访问存储。最后,在您的数据传输到 AWS 以后,我们会依据美国国家标准与技术研究院制定的标准从设备上擦除您的数据。Snowball Edge 设备针对攻击进行了强化保护,所有配置文件都用密钥进行加密和签名,而密钥永远不会出现在该设备上。

问:有没有什么办法能轻松地跟踪我的数据传输任务?

Snowball Edge 使用创新的电子墨水运输标签,该标签的设计可确保设备自动发送到正确的 AWS 设施。在您完成数据传输任务以后,可以使用 Amazon SNS 生成的文本消息或电子邮件和控制台进行跟踪。

使用 Snowball Edge 导入数据

问:如何将我的数据传输到 Snowball Edge?

在您连接并激活 Snowball Edge 之后,就可以通过 S3 兼容终端节点或 NFS 文件接口 (在设备上都有提供) 将本地资源中的数据传输到该设备。您也可以使用 Snowball 客户端复制数据。有关更多信息,请参阅 Snowball Edge 文档

问:当数据传输到 Snowball Edge 之后我需要做什么?

数据传输任务完成后,Snowball Edge 上的电子墨水显示屏会自动更新回邮运输标签以指示要运送到的正确 AWS 设施。您只需将 Snowball Edge 交给最近的 UPS 即可。您可以通过 Amazon SNS 生成的文本消息或电子邮件,或者直接在 AWS 管理控制台中跟踪您传输任务的状态。

使用 Snowball Edge 导出数据

问:导出数据的费用是多少?

除了定价页面详细介绍的导出作业的费用外,您还需要支付从 Amazon S3 检索数据所产生的全部费用。

 

问:我最快多久能够访问导出的数据?

我们通常会在收到申请之后的 24 小时内开始导出数据,导出数据可能需时一周。任务完成且设备就绪后,我们将使用您在创建任务时选择的发货选项将其发送给您。

计费

问:使用 Snowball Edge 如何收费?

有关定价的详细信息,请参阅我们的 AWS Snowball Edge 定价页面

问:Amazon S3 是如何收费的?

Snowball Edge 代表您将数据传输到 Amazon S3 等 AWS 产品中。而您需要支付标准的 AWS 产品费用。传 AWS 的数据不会产生任何数据传输费用,S3 中存储的数据按照标准 Amazon S3 定价计费。

问:我可以购买 Snowball Edge 设备吗?

我们只以即付即用的形式根据作业提供设备,不出售。

工作流集成工具

问:Snowball Edge 是否支持 API 访问?

支持。Snowball 作业管理 API 提供对 Snowball 或 Snowball Edge 作业创建和管理功能的编程式访问。这是一种基于标准的简单 REST Web 服务接口,旨在与任何 Internet 开发环境配合使用。

问:Snowball 任务管理 API 有何用途?

借助 AWS Snowball 任务管理 API,合作伙伴和客户可以构建自定义集成,用以管理请求 Snowball 和传递任务状态的流程。该 API 提供了一种简单的 Web 服务接口,可用于从 Web 上的任意位置创建、列出、更新和取消任务。使用此 Web 服务,开发人员可以轻松构建管理 Snowball 任务的应用程序。要了解更多信息,请参阅 AWS Snowball 文档

问:什么是 S3 Adapter?

S3 SDK Adapter for Snowball 提供兼容 S3 的接口,以便在 Snowball 或 Snowball Edge 上读取和写入数据。

问:S3 Adapter 有何用途?

使用 S3 Adapter,客户可以帮助应用程序将文件和非文件源的数据写入 Snowball 或 Snowball Edge 设备上的 S3 存储桶。它还具有复制数据的接口,所采用的加密方法与 Snowball 客户端提供的加密方法相同。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS Snowball 文档

问:为什么要使用 S3 Adapter 而不是 Snowball 客户端?

Snowball 客户端是一种一站式工具,能够将基于文件的数据轻松复制到 Snowball。钟爱紧密集成的客户可以使用 S3 Adapter 轻松扩展其现有应用程序和工作流以与 Snowball 无缝集成。

问:使用 S3 Adapter 时,如何保障数据安全?

S3 Adapter 写入数据时所用的加密机制与 Snowball 客户端提供的高级加密机制相同。

问:Snowball S3 Adapter 支持哪些编程语言?

S3 Adapter 通过与语言无关的 REST 进行通信。

了解如何开始使用 AWS Snowball Edge

访问 Snowball Edge 入门页面
准备好开始构建?
AWS Snowball Edge 入门
还有更多问题?
联系我们

General

Q: What is AWS Snowball Edge?

Snowball Edge is a 100TB data transfer device with on-board storage and compute power for select AWS capabilities. In addition to transferring data to AWS, Snowball Edge can undertake local processing and edge-computing workloads. Features include an S3-compatible end-point on the device, a file interface with NFS support, a cluster mode where multiple Snowball Edge devices can act as a single, scalable, storage and compute pool with increased durability, and the ability to run Lambda functions as data is copied to the device. 

Q: How does Snowball Edge work?

You start by requesting one or more Snowball Edge devices in the AWS Management Console based on how much data you need to transfer or process. The buckets and Lambda functions you select are automatically configured, encrypted and preinstalled on your devices before they are shipped to you. Once a device arrives, connect it to your local network and set the IP address either manually or automatically with DHCP. The same is true for setting up a cluster. Then use the Snowball Edge client software, job manifest, and unlock code to verify the integrity of the Snowball Edge device or cluster, and unlock it for use. The manifest and unlock code are uniquely generated and crypto-logically bound to a designated Snowball Edge to help ensure that both cannot be used with any other devices. Data copied to Snowball Edge is automatically encrypted and stored in the buckets you specify.

All logistics and shipping is done by Amazon so when copying is complete and the device is ready to be returned, the E Ink shipping label will automatically update the return address to help ensure that the Snowball Edge device is delivered to the correct AWS facility. Once the device ships, you can receive tracking status via messages sent by Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS), generated texts and emails, or directly from the console.

All of the management for your Snowball Edge resources can be performed in the AWS management console and these operations require no on-site system engineers.

Q: What is the difference between Snowball Edge and Snowball?

Snowball is designed as a data transport solution for moving high volumes of data into and out of a designated AWS region. Snowball Edge adds the additional capability to run simple computing functions on the device, for use cases that require local processing before returning the data to AWS. For more details, see the documentation.

Q: Who should use Snowball Edge?

Snowball Edge is the optimal data transfer choice if you need to securely and quickly transfer terabytes to petabytes of data to AWS. You can use Snowball Edge if you have a large backlog of data to transfer or if you frequently collect data that needs to be transferred to AWS and your storage is in an area where high-bandwidth Internet connections are not available or cost-prohibitive. You can also use Snowball Edge to run edge computing workloads such as performing local analysis of data on a Snowball Edge cluster and writing it to the S3-compatible endpoint. You can streamline it into existing workflows leveraging built-in capabilities such as the NFS file interface and migrate files to the device while maintaining file metadata. Snowball Edge can operate in remote locations or harsh operating environments, such as factory floors, oil & gas rigs, mining sites, hospitals, and on moving vehicles. Snowball Edge is pre-configured and does not have to be connected to the internet, so processing and data collection can take place within isolated operating environments. Snowball Edge allows you to run the same software at the edge and access select AWS capabilities as you would with full connectivity to AWS.

Q. Can I use Snowball Edge to migrate data from one AWS region to another AWS region?

No. Snowball Edge is intended to serve as a data transport solution for moving high volumes of data into and out of a designated AWS region. For use cases that require data transfer between AWS regions, we recommend using S3 Cross-Region Replication as an alternative.

Q: How much data can I transfer using Snowball Edge?

You can transfer virtually any amount of data with Snowball Edge, from a few terabytes to many petabytes. You can transfer up to 100TB with a single Snowball Edge and transfer larger data sets with multiple devices, either in parallel, or sequentially. For example, you can transfer 1PB of data with 10 Snowball Edge devices.

Q: How long does it take to transfer my data?

Data transfer speed is affected by a number of factors including local network speed, file size, and the speed at which data can be read from your local servers. The end-to-end time to transfer 100 TB of data into AWS with Snowball Edge is approximately a week, including the usual shipping and handling time in AWS data centers.

Show less

Q: How long can I have a Snowball Edge for a specific job?

Snowball Edge devices must be returned within 360 days of the Snowball Edge’s preparation.

Q: What are the specifications on the Snowball Edge device?

Snowball Edge provides 100TB of storage in a ruggedized, rack mountable, shippable form factor. Additionally, it provides local compute capability that is approximately the equivalent of an EC2 m4.4xlarge instance that provides support for a number of additional functions. Check the Snowball Edge documentation page for a complete list of hardware specs, including network connections, thermal and power requirements, decibel output, and dimensions.

Q: What network interfaces does Snowball Edge support?

Snowball Edge includes a 10GBase-T network connection, 10/25Gb SFP28 and 40Gb QSFP+ copper, and optical networking for fast data transfer rates.

Q: What is the Snowball Edge default shipping option? Can I choose expedited shipping?

As a default, Snowball Edge uses two-day shipping by UPS. You can choose expedited shipping if your jobs are time-sensitive.

Local Processing Capabilities

Q: Does Snowball Edge support EC2 instances?

The SBE1 instance type can be provisioned on a AWS Snowball Edge, allowing you to run Amazon Machine Images (AMIs) on the device. You can build and test on EC2 then operate your AMI on a Snowball Edge to address workloads that sit in remote or disconnected locations.

Q: How should I choose between Amazon EC2 compute instances and AWS Lambda functions for my compute needs?

AWS Lambda is a good choice for new applications that want to take advantage of the serverless computing model in AWS and want to run the same applications on the device. Amazon EC2 instances are a good choice when you have existing applications that you would like to run on the device for data pre-processing or when refactoring your existing applications to the serverless model isn’t desirable.

Q: When should I use the SBE1 instances on AWS Snowball Edge?

You should use the SBE1 instances when you have an application running on the edge that is managed and deployed as a virtual machine (an Amazon Machine Image, or AMI).

Q: How do I get started with local computing on Snowball Edge?

You can enable and provision EC2 AMIs or Lambda functions during AWS Snowball Edge job creation using either the AWS Console, AWS Snowball SDK, or AWS CLI. 

Q: Can I use existing EC2 APIs to start, stop, and manage instances on the device?

Yes. AWS Snowball Edge provides an EC2 compatible endpoint that can be used to start, stop, and manage your instances on AWS Snowball Edge. This endpoint is compatible with the AWS CLI and AWS SDK. 

Q: What EC2 features does AWS Snowball Edge support?

The EC2 endpoint running on AWS Snowball Edge, provides a subset set of EC2 features that customers would find most useful for edge computing scenarios. This includes APIs to run, terminate, and describe your installed AMIs and running instances. 

Q: Can I use an existing EBS volume with AWS Snowball Edge?

No. At this time, you cannot use an existing EBS volume with AWS Snowball Edge.

Q: What steps do I need to take to run SBE1 instances on AWS Snowball Edge?

To run SBE1 instances, provide the AMI IDs during job creation and the images come pre-installed when the device is shipped to you.

Q: Can I convert my images from other hypervisors to AMIs and vice versa?

Yes. You can import or export your KVM/VMWare images to AMIs using the EC2 VM Import/Export service. Refer to the VM Import/Export documentation for more details.

Q: What Operating System can I run using this feature?

You can run any operating system that is supported by EC2. Amazon EC2 currently supports a wide variety of Linux, UNIX and Windows operating systems; for a complete list of operating systems supported by EC2, refer to the Amazon EC2 FAQs page. For certain operating systems, like Microsoft Windows-based operating systems, you provide your own license to the device.

Q: What kind of workloads can I run on SBE1 instances?

SBE1 instances feature 1.8 GHz Intel Xeon D processors, up to 16 vCPUs, and 32GB of memory and are designed to support edge applications such as IoT sensor data collection, image compression, and machine learning. 

Q: What SBE1 instance sizes are available on the device?

This instance family includes the SBE1 instance type and provides a balance of compute, memory, and network resources designed for applications running at the edge. Refer to the documentation for the latest list of instances.  

Q: How do I ensure that my AMIs are compatible to run on SBE1 instances on AWS Snowball Edge?

AMIs that run on the C5 instance type in AWS, are compatible with SBE1 instances available on AWS Snowball Edge in the vast majority of cases. We recommend that you first test your applications in the C5 instance type to ensure they can be run on the device.

Q: Can I install more than one instance on a device?

Yes. You can run multiple instances on a device as long as the total resources used across all instances on a device is lower than 24 vCPUs and 32GB memory.

Q: How do I use SBE1 instances on an AWS Snowball Edge cluster?

SBE1 instances can run on each node of an AWS Snowball Edge cluster. When you provision an AWS Snowball Edge cluster using the AWS console, you can provide details for instances to run on each node of the cluster, for example, the AMI you want to run, the SBE1 compute instance size you want to use and whether you want them turned on or not by default. Nodes can use the same or different AMIs across each node in a cluster. 

Q: How do I launch an instance manually?

Each AMI has an AMI ID associated with it. You can use run-instance command to start the instance by providing this ID. Running this command returns an instance-id value that can be used to manage this instance. 

Q: How do I manage the instances on AWS Snowball Edge?

You can check the status of all the images that are installed on the device using the describe-images command. To see the active instances of instances running on the device, you can use the describe-instance-status command.

Q: How do I terminate an existing instance?

You can terminate a running instance using the terminate-instance command.

Q: How are my AMIs protected while in transit?

Snowball Edge encrypts all data, including AMIs, with 256-bit encryption. You manage your encryption keys by using the AWS Key Management Service (KMS). Your keys are never stored on the device and you need both the keys and an unlock code to use the device on-premises. In addition to using a tamper-evident enclosure, Snowball Edge uses industry-standard Trusted Platform Modules (TPM) designed to detect any unauthorized modifications to the hardware, firmware, or software. AWS visually and cryptographically inspects every device for any signs of tampering.

Q: How is software licensing handled with compute instances on AWS Snowball Edge?

You are responsible for licensing any software that you run on your instance. Specifically, for Windows operating systems, you can bring your existing license to the running instances on the device. 

Regional Availability

Q: In what regions are Snowball Edge available?

Check the Regional Service Availability pages for the latest information.

We regret that we cannot provide the service at this time in all US states.

Q: Can a Snowball Edge be shipped to an alternate AWS region?

No. Snowball Edge devices are designed to be requested and used within a single AWS region. It may not be requested from one region and returned to another. Snowball Edge devices used for imports or exports from an AWS region in the EU may be used with any of the 28 EU countries. Check the Regional Service Availability pages for the latest information.

Security

Q: Does Snowball Edge encrypt my data?

Snowball Edge encrypts all data with 256-bit encryption. You manage your encryption keys by using the AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS). Your keys are never stored on the device and all memory is erased when it is disconnected and returned to AWS.

Q: How does Snowball Edge physically secure my data?

In addition to using a tamper-resistant enclosure, Snowball Edge uses industry-standard Trusted Platform Modules (TPM) designed to detect any unauthorized modifications to the hardware, firmware, or software. AWS visually and cryptographically inspects every device for any signs of tampering and to verify that no changes were detected by the TPM.

Q: How does Snowball Edge help digitally secure my data?

Snowball Edge is designed with security in mind for the most sensitive data. All data is encrypted by keys provided by you through AWS Key Management Service (KMS). The keys are not permanently stored on the device and are erased after loss of power. Applications and Lambda functions run in a physically isolated environment and do not have access to storage. Lastly, after your data has been transferred to AWS, your data is erased from the device using standards defined by National Institute of Standards and Technology. Snowball Edge devices are hardened against attack and all configuration files are encrypted and signed with keys that are never present on the device.

Q: Is there a way to easily track my data transfer jobs?

Snowball Edge uses an innovative, E Ink shipping label designed to ensure the device is automatically sent to the correct AWS facility. When you have completed your data transfer job, you can track it by using Amazon SNS generated text messages or emails, and the console.

Import Data with Snowball Edge

Q: How do I transfer my data to the Snowball Edge?

After you have connected and activated the Snowball Edge, you can transfer data from local sources to the device through the S3-compatible endpoint or the NFS file interface, both available on the device. You can also use the Snowball client to copy data. To learn more, please refer to the Snowball Edge documentation.

Q: What do I do when the data has been transferred to the Snowball Edge?

When the data transfer job is complete, the E Ink display on the Snowball Edge automatically updates the return shipping label to indicate the correct AWS facility to ship to. Just drop off the Snowball Edge at the nearest UPS and you're all set. You can track the status of your transfer job through Amazon SNS generated text messages or emails, or directly in the AWS Management Console.

Export Data with Snowball Edge

Q: What does it cost to export my data?

In addition to the Export job fees detailed on our pricing page, you will also be charged all fees incurred to retrieve your data from Amazon S3. 

 

Q: How quickly can I access my exported data?

We typically start exporting your data within 24 hours of receiving your request, and exporting data can take as long as a week. Once the job is complete and the device is ready, we ship it to you using the shipping options you selected when you created the job.

Billing

Q: How much does it cost to use Snowball Edge?

Please see our AWS Snowball Edge pricing page for pricing details.

Q: How am I charged for Amazon S3 usage?

Snowball Edge transfers data on your behalf into AWS services such as Amazon S3. Standard AWS service charges apply. Data transferred IN to AWS does not incur any data transfer fees, and Standard Amazon S3 pricing fees apply for data stored in S3.

Q: Can I purchase a Snowball Edge device?

Devices are only available on a per-job pay-as-you-go basis, and are not available for purchase.

Workflow Integration Tools

Q: Does the Snowball Edge support API access?

Yes. The Snowball Job Management API provides programmatic access to the job creation and management features of a Snowball or Snowball Edge. It is a simple, standards-based REST web service interface, designed to work with any Internet development environment.

Q: What can I do with the Snowball Job Management API?

The AWS Snowball Job Management API allows partners and customers to build custom integrations to manage the process of requesting Snowballs and communicating job status. The API provides a simple web service interface that you can use to create, list, update, and cancel jobs from anywhere on the web. Using this web service, developers can easily build applications that manage Snowball jobs. To learn more, please refer to AWS Snowball documentation.

Q: What is the S3 Adapter?

The S3 SDK Adapter for Snowball provides an S3-compatible interface for reading and writing data on a Snowball or Snowball Edge.

Q: What can I do with the S3 Adapter?

The S3 Adapter allows customers to help applications write data from file and non-file sources to S3 buckets on the Snowball or Snowball Edge device. It also includes interfaces to copy data with the same encryption as is available through theSnowball client. To learn more, please refer to the AWS Snowball documentation.

Q: Why would I use the S3 Adapter rather than the Snowball Client?

The Snowball Client is a turnkey tool that makes it easier to copy file-based data to Snowball. Customers who prefer a tighter integration can use the S3 Adapter to easily extend their existing applications and workflows to seamlessly integrate with Snowball.

Q: How is my data secured when I use the S3 Adapter?

The S3 Adapter writes data using the same advanced encryption mechanism that the Snowball Client provides.

Q: Which programming languages does the Snowball S3 Adapter support?

The S3 Adapter communicates over REST which is language-agnostic.

Ready to build?
Get started with AWS Snowball Edge
Have more questions?
Contact us