Amazon GameOn 使用 AWS 实现延迟超低且简单的变更流程

600x400_Amazon_Logo

该服务原本出现了意外事件。Amazon GameOn 是一系列灵活的 API,使游戏开发人员能够提供排行榜、多人游戏和具有真实奖品的联赛,这些奖品将由 Amazon 配送。距其发布日期只有几天时,该团队发现了 GameOn 工程主管 Kaushik Chakraborti 所说的“关键安全漏洞。” 他解释说,“我们的其中一个表格缺乏它所需要的静态加密。要修复这样的问题,可能需要更改数据流、访问限制,甚至是架构。这些任务都比较耗时,可能会影响该服务的发布。”

只是可能会影响,但实际上并没有。这是因为 GameOn 是基于 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 构建的,并使用 Amazon DynamoDB,而这个表格就位于其中。Chakraborti 说:“我们只需下载数据,选中相应框以启用加密,然后再次上传数据,便可遵守规定并按时发布。”“让我印象深刻的是,AWS 也想到了这一点。”

Chakraborti 对此印象深刻,但并不感到惊讶。正是这种远见,即对简单、经济高效的可扩展性的需求促使 GameOn 团队为 GameOn 构建原生 AWS 架构。Chakraborti 说:“在 AWS 上运行的一大好处就是,如果您遇到问题,AWS 很有可能已经发现了这个问题并提供了简单的解决方案。”“因为 AWS 在发布产品和功能以解决新问题或满足不断变化的要求方面有着辉煌的历史,我们知道在 AWS 上运行不仅可以帮助我们克服当前面临的挑战,还可以帮助我们应对未来的挑战。”

“我们的客户说,我们的响应时间处于领先水平,虽然我们因此而得到称赞,但这实际上是因为我们选择在原生 AWS 上运行。”

– Amazon GameOn 工程主管 Kaushik Chakraborti

  • 关于 Amazon
  • 优势
  • 使用的 AWS 服务
  • 关于 Amazon
  • Amazon 遵循四个原则:客户至上,而不是专注于竞争对手;热衷于创造;努力实现卓越运营;做好长期打算。客户评论、一键购物、个性化推荐、Prime、Amazon 物流、AWS、Kindle Direct Publishing、Kindle、Fire 平板电脑、Fire TV、Amazon Echo 和 Alexa 是 Amazon 首创的部分产品和服务。

  • 优势
    • 提供 47 毫秒的 P90 延迟
    • 外部 API 调用的成功率达到 99.995%
    • 每两周发布一次产品更新,每月发布一次主要功能
  • 使用的 AWS 服务

每两周发布一次产品更新,每月发布一次主要功能

Amazon GameOn 是在 2018 年游戏开发人员大会上发布的,它为游戏开发人员提供了一种非传统的构建平台无关 REST API 产品的方法。无论开发人员是在 Amazon Appstore、iOS 还是 Android 等移动平台上为电脑和游戏机提供游戏,他们都可以注册游戏一次,获得 API 密钥,并在短短一周内轻松使用模块化 GameOn 组件。

除了在 Amazon DynamoDB 中存储数据外,GameOn 还使用 Amazon ElastiCacheAmazon DynamoDB Accelerator (DAX) 进行缓存,使用在 Amazon Redshift 上运行的 Amazon QuickSight 来获取商业智能和报告,并使用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 运行应用程序逻辑。它还利用 AWS Lambda,这是一种无服务器服务,可以运行代码来响应事件,适用于编排后台作业、数据收集、欺诈检测和计费流程。GameOn 架构中最重要的组件之一是 Amazon API Gateway,这是一种完全托管的服务,使您可以轻松创建、发布、维护、监控和保护任意规模的 API。 

Chakraborti 说:“我们遵循了 AWS 的建议,大量使用微服务,而不是构建传统的整体式应用程序。”“依赖 Amazon API Gateway 和微服务架构,我们可以在不影响任何其他服务或组件的情况下在小范围内进行特定更改,这使相对较小的产品团队能够每两周发布一次产品更新,且每月发布主要的新功能。”

API Gateway 的另一个优点是,它使您能够轻松区分内部和外部调用可访问的内容。Chakraborti 说:“假设某个特定 API 提供 10 项服务,但我们只希望客户能够访问其中 8 项。”“在 API Gateway 上,我们可以选择通过两个网关提供服务,轻松阻止客户访问内部服务,而无需编写其他逻辑或更改 API 和签名。API Gateway 如此精妙地解决了许多问题,我们甚至从未考虑过使用其他产品。”

使用 AWS 实现前所未有的低延迟

在 AWS 上运行最重要的好处之一是 GameOn 团队可以为其客户提供极低的延迟。Chakraborti 说:“在我们的规划和研究阶段,游戏开发人员明确表示他们无法承受我们服务的缓慢响应时间,因此我们的要求之一就是实现亚秒延迟。”

这项任务已完成,另外还完成了其他任务。根据 Chakraborti,自 GameOn 发布以来,有数以亿计的对 GameOn 网关的外部 API 调用,这些调用的成功率达到了 99.995%,而 AWS 架构可以提供 47 毫秒的 P90 响应时间。Chakraborti 说:“根据我的经验,这种速度闻所未闻。”“我们的客户说,我们的响应时间处于领先水平,虽然我们因此而得到称赞,但这实际上是因为我们选择在原生 AWS 上运行。”

这也远远满足了团队的可扩展性要求。Chakraborti 说:“以前,和我担任相同职位的人在夜里会失眠,担心如果明天规模翻倍会发生什么情况。”“因为我们的架构遵循 AWS 最佳实践,我们不用为圣诞节或 Amazon Prime Day 担忧,更不用说今年剩下的时间了。DynamoDB 的自动扩展功能可以完美地处理我们交给它的任务,而无需使用任何工程资源来监控事项和作出调整。”

该系统的原生 AWS 架构为团队消除了管理扩展这项繁重任务,在团队的待办事项列表中,这并不是该架构消除的唯一一项繁重任务。Chakraborti 说:“我们知道,只要通过正确的方法提前构建所有内容,我们就可以大大减少运营开销,然后让 AWS 处理剩下的工作。”“由于 AWS 负责安全更新、硬件升级和操作系统修补等工作,我的工程人员中只有不到 10% 的人需要花时间执行维护和管理,甚至工程师也有足够的剩余时间来帮助其他人开展集体讨论并制作新产品和功能的原型。”

虽然到目前为止在 AWS 上运行一直没有问题,但 Chakraborti 并不担心在遇到挑战时无法找到应对之策。“AWS 提供了强大的支持,很多时候,您只需通过在线搜索就能找到所需答案。AWS 的外部知识库已经非常庞大,且每天都在扩增。”

根据 Chakraborti,最重要的是,GameOn 团队实现了一切目标,而无需对它正在使用的 AWS 服务进行任何自定义或调整。“我们能够使用现成的标准 AWS 工具和技术轻松构建强大、有弹性、可扩展的架构,这太令人惊讶了。”


了解更多

了解有关 Amazon DynamoDB 的更多信息。

Amazon GameOn Achieves Ultra-Low Latency, Simple Change Processes Using AWS

600x400_Amazon_Logo

It could have turned into a train wreck. The launch date was just days away for Amazon GameOn—a set of flexible APIs enabling game developers to offer leaderboards, multiplayer play, and tournaments with real-world prizes, fulfilled by Amazon. Then the team found what Kaushik Chakraborti, the head of engineering for GameOn, describes as "a critical security vulnerability." He explains, "One of our tables lacked the at-rest encryption it needed. Fixing something like this can require changes in data flows, access restrictions, and even architecture—time-consuming tasks that could have jeopardized the launch."

Could have—but didn't. That's because GameOn is built on Amazon Web Services (AWS) and uses Amazon DynamoDB, where this table was located. "All we had to do was download the data, check a box to turn encryption on, upload the data again, and we were in compliance and could launch on schedule," says Chakraborti. "I was so impressed that AWS had thought of this."

Chakraborti may have been impressed, but he wasn't exactly surprised. It was this kind of foresight—on top of the need for simple, cost-effective scalability—that had led the GameOn team to build a native AWS architecture for GameOn. "One of the great things about running on AWS is that if you encounter a problem, there is a very good chance AWS has already thought of it and provided a simple solution," says Chakraborti. "Because AWS has such a strong record of releasing products and features to address new issues or changing requirements, we knew running on AWS would help us not only overcome the challenges of today but also help us future-proof against the challenges of tomorrow."

“Our customers tell us our response time is best in class, and although we'd love to take credit for that, it's really just down to running on native AWS.”

– Kaushik Chakraborti, Head of Engineering, Amazon GameOn

  • About Amazon
  • Benefits
  • AWS Services Used
  • About Amazon
  • Amazon is guided by four principles: customer obsession rather than competitor focus, passion for invention, commitment to operational excellence, and long-term thinking. Customer reviews, 1-Click shopping, personalized recommendations, Prime, Fulfillment by Amazon, AWS, Kindle Direct Publishing, Kindle, Fire tablets, Fire TV, Amazon Echo, and Alexa are some of the products and services pioneered by Amazon.

  • Benefits
    • Delivers P90 latency of 47 milliseconds
    • Achieves 99.995% success rate for external API calls
    • Releases product updates biweekly and major features monthly
  • AWS Services Used

Biweekly Releases with Monthly Major Feature Launches

Released at the 2018 Game Developer Conference, Amazon GameOn offers a non-traditional approach to platform-agnostic REST API offerings for game developers. Whether developers offer their games on mobile platforms like Amazon Appstore, iOS, or Android for PCs and consoles, they are able to register their game once, receive an API key, and easily make use of modular GameOn components in as little as one week.

In addition to storing data in Amazon DynamoDB, GameOn uses Amazon ElastiCache and Amazon DynamoDB Accelerator (DAX) for caching; Amazon QuickSight running on Amazon Redshift for business intelligence and reporting; and Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) to run application logic. It also takes advantage of AWS Lambda, a serverless service that runs code in response to events, for orchestrating background jobs, data collection, fraud detection, and billing processes. One of the most important components in the GameOn architecture is Amazon API Gateway, a fully managed service that makes it easy to create, publish, maintain, monitor, and secure APIs at any scale.  

"We followed AWS recommendations to make heavy use of microservices, as opposed to building a traditional monolithic application," says Chakraborti. "Relying on Amazon API Gateway and a microservices architecture lets us make narrow, specific changes without affecting any other services or components, which is what enables a relatively small product team to release product updates biweekly and major new features monthly."

Another advantage of API Gateway is the ease of differentiating between what internal and external calls can access. "Let's say a specific API exposes 10 services, but we only want our customers to be able to access eight of those," says Chakraborti. "On API Gateway, we have the option to expose the service through two gateways, easily keeping the internal services away from customers without having to code additional logic or change APIs and signatures. API Gateway solves so many problems so elegantly that we never even considered using another product."

“Unheard of” Low Latency Using AWS

One of the most crucial advantages to running on AWS is the extremely low latency that the GameOn team can deliver for its customers. "During our planning and research stage, game developers were clear that they couldn't afford slow response time from our services, so one of our requirements was sub-second latency," says Chakraborti.

Mission accomplished—and then some. According to Chakraborti, for the hundreds of millions of external API calls to the GameOn gateway since launch—calls that had a success rate of 99.995 percent—the AWS architecture delivered a P90 response time of 47 milliseconds. "In my experience, that kind of speed is unheard of," says Chakraborti. "Our customers tell us our response time is best-in-class, and although we'd love to take credit for that, it's really just down to running on native AWS."

The team's scalability requirements have also been more than met. "Traditionally, someone in my role lies awake at night wondering what would happen if scale doubled tomorrow," says Chakraborti. "Because our architecture follows AWS best practices, we don't have any worries about Christmas or Amazon Prime Day, much less the rest of the year. DynamoDB autoscaling handles whatever we throw at it beautifully, without needing any engineering resources to monitor things and make adjustments."

Managing scaling isn't the only undifferentiated heavy lifting that the system's native AWS architecture crosses off the team's to-do list. "We knew we would greatly reduce operational overhead just by building everything the right way up front, and then AWS handles the rest," says Chakraborti. "Because AWS takes care of things like security updates, hardware upgrades, and operating system patches, less than 10 percent of my engineering staff spend any time at all on maintenance and administration, and even those engineers have plenty of time left over to help the rest of us brainstorm and prototype new products and features."

Although running on AWS has been trouble-free so far, Chakraborti isn't worried about finding answers if he does encounter challenges. "AWS offers such strong support, but a lot of times you can find the answers you need just by searching online. The external knowledge base for AWS is already huge and growing every day."

Best of all, according to Chakraborti, is that the GameOn team achieved all this without any customization or tweaks to the AWS services it is using. "It's amazing what a powerful, resilient, scalable architecture we were able to build simply using standard, off-the-shelf AWS tools and technologies.”


Learn More

Learn more about Amazon DynamoDB.