CODE_Customer-Reference_Logo@2x

Code.org 依靠 AWS 教授新一代计算机科学

2014 年

Code.org 是一个非营利性组织,致力于扩大计算机科学的普及范围,提高女性和少数族裔学生的参与度。Code.org 的愿景是让每所学校的每位学生都有机会学习计算机科学。

开始 python 教程
kr_quotemark

我们的应用程序在 Hour of Code 活动期间一直处于运行状态,而且…我们的网站全年都可以访问,这都得益于 Amazon CloudFront 等服务的全球可用性。”

Jeremy Stone
Code.org 首席技术官

通过 Hour of Code 活动吸引世界各地的学生

在当今这样一个重视技术的创新驱动型经济环境中,每个学生都应该获得学习计算机科学概念和技能的机会。而 Code.org 可以提供这种机会。这家非营利性组织致力于扩大计算机科学教育的覆盖范围,而且可以提供免费的 K–12 计算机科学课程、一个在线学习平台和教师培训。

除了运营学习平台之外,Code.org 每年都会组织 Hour of Code 活动。其运营的学习平台为在全球各地数十万个教室中的 Code.org 课程提供支持。Hour of Code 是一项全球性的庆祝和学习活动,在计算机科学教育周 (CSEdWeek) 期间举办,吸引了来自 180 多个国家/地区的 1 亿名学生。

为了在 CSEdWeek 期间在全球各地成功举办超过 10 万场 Hour of Code 活动,Code.org 需要实现大规模的可扩展性和可用性。“在可扩展性方面,我们需要为 CSEdWeek 期间网站流量增加 10 倍做好准备,而我们只有一次机会做到这一点,”Code.org 首席技术官 Jeremy Stone 说。“如果我们没有足够的计算能力来满足流量需求,活动将无法开展。此外,可靠性也同样重要,因为如果我们的网站出现故障,学生将无法进行编码。” Code.org 还必须遵守严格的数据保护控制。“作为一家拥有大量学生数据的教育科技公司,我们必须遵守非常严苛的安全要求,”Stone 说。

使用 AWS 实现可扩展性、高可用性和安全性

为了应对向数百万学生提供在线编码环境的挑战,Code.org 选择在 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 云上运行其网站、学习平台和 Hour of Code 活动。“我们选择 AWS,是因为它可以提供我们需要的可扩展性、可靠性、灵活性和安全性,”Stone 说。

Code.org 在 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例上运行其平台并开展所有 Hour of Code 活动,并且利用 AWS Auto Scaling 根据需求自动调整计算容量。Code.org 还使用 Amazon CloudFront 作为内容分发网络来实现全球范围内的可用性,使用 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 存储非结构化数据,例如上传的学生自创应用程序和其他用户内容。

Code.org 依靠 AWS CloudTrailAWS Certificate ManagerAWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 来保护学生数据的安全。此外,Code.org 还使用 Amazon Redshift 作为数据仓库来存储和分析学生指标。“我们会跟踪学生的表现在一年或几年中的提高情况,”Stone 说。“教师负责提供学生的基本信息,而我们会跟踪女性和少数族裔学生的参与情况和进步情况,确保实现我们的公平和多样性目标。”

实现十倍扩展,帮助学生学习编码

借助 AWS,Code.org 可以在 Hour of Code 活动期间扩展其网站,满足大量涌入并想要第一次尝试编码的学生的需求。“借助 AWS,我们可以轻松进行扩展,在 Hour of Code 期间满足来自 180 多个国家/地区的数百万学生的需求,”Stone 说。借助 AWS,Code.org 可以在使用高峰期内快速从 250 个核心扩展到 2200 个核心。“最近,我们借助 Auto Scaling 从 8 台虚拟服务器自动扩展到 150 台,这远远超出了我们的需要,”Stone 说。

在全球提供学习机会

Code.org 使用 AWS 为其全球各地的用户提供最佳体验。例如,它依靠 Amazon CloudFront 提供高可用性。“我们可以确保我们的应用程序在 Hour of Code 活动期间一直处于运行状态,还可以确保我们的网站全年都可以访问,这都得益于 Amazon CloudFront 等服务的全球可用性,”Stone 说。Code.org 还可以根据自己的需要使用不同类型的 Amazon EC2 实例,例如内存密集型实例或者计算密集型实例。“学生希望我们的网站加载速度快,而借助 AWS,我们可以实现快速的页面加载,从而为他们提供响应,”Stone 说。

每年节省 130 万 USD

通过在云中运行网站和开展 Hour of Code 活动,Code.org 每年可以节省 130 万 USD 的运营成本。“通过在云中运行,我们不需要使用我们自己的数据中心,这显然可以节省成本,”Stone 说。“更具体地说,在举办 Hour of Code 活动的一周里,我们基本上都是租用虚拟服务器,所以不需要在除了活动周之外的其他时间付费使用相应资源。如果不使用 AWS Auto Scaling 等服务,要应对流量突增 10 倍的情况,我们需要花费巨额资金。”

保护学生数据的安全

通过使用 AWS 服务,Code.org 可以满足严苛的安全要求。“AWS 服务中集成了强大的安全功能,所以除了我们自己的安全实践之外,我们还获得了许多内置的联网安全功能,”Stone 说。“我们使用 AWS 服务提供安全功能,包括借助 AWS Relational Database Service [RDS] 和 Key Management Service [KMS] 实现静态加密,借助 AWS Certificate Manager 实现动态加密,借助 AWS Virtual Private Cloud 提供网络安全性,以及借助 AWS CloudTrail 进行运营审计。因此,我们有信心能够保护数据并遵守所有安全要求。”

使用 AWS Educate 帮助学生培养云技术方面的技能

Code.org 越来越多地使用 AWS Educate 来达成自己的使命:让更多学校开设计算机科学课程,并且提高女性和少数族裔学生的参与度。Code.org 目前在使用 AWS Educate 计划,该计划旨在为学生提供各种学习资源,让他们可以通过各种内容、培训、AWS 技术和就业机会来培养云技术方面的技能。最近,AWS Educate 帮助开发了一款新的代码构建游戏,在 Hour of Code 活动期间免费提供。“我们喜欢使用 AWS,也喜欢 AWS 的创新速度,”Stone 说。“未来,我们期待以新的方式进行合作,为学生提供计算机科学方面的教育。”


关于 Code.org

Code.org 是一个非营利性组织,致力于扩大计算机科学的普及范围,提高女性和少数族裔学生的参与度。

AWS 的优势

  • 实现了十倍扩展,可以向全球数百万学生提供计算机科学教育
  • 能够在 Hour of Code 活动期间提供高可用性
  • 每年可以节省 130 万 USD 的运营成本
  • 能够确保学生数据的安全

 


使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 是一种 Web 服务,可以在云中提供安全并且可调整大小的计算容量。该服务旨在让开发人员能够更轻松地进行 Web 规模的云计算。

了解更多 »

AWS Certificate Manager

AWS Certificate Manager 是一项服务,可帮助您轻松地预置、管理和部署公有和私有安全套接字层/传输层安全性 (SSL/TLS) 证书,以便用于 AWS 服务和您的内部互联资源。 

了解更多 »

Amazon CloudFront

Amazon CloudFront 是一项快速内容分发网络 (CDN) 服务,可以安全地以低延迟和高传输速度向全球客户分发数据、视频、应用程序和 API,全部都在开发人员友好的环境中完成。

了解更多 »

AWS CloudTrail

AWS CloudTrail 是一项支持对您的 AWS 账户进行监管、合规性检查、操作审核和风险审核的服务。

了解更多 »

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。

了解更多 »

AWS Identity and Access Management

AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 使您能够安全地管理对 AWS 服务和资源的访问。

了解更多 »

Amazon Redshift

Redshift 可为财富 500 强公司、初创公司以及介于两者之间的任何公司在关键任务型分析工作负载方面提供技术支持。

了解更多 »

AWS Educate

AWS Educate 是 Amazon 的一项全球计划,旨在为学生和教育工作者提供所需的资源,从而加快云相关内容的学习进度。

了解更多 »


开始使用

各行各业中所有规模的公司都在使用 AWS 对其日常业务进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

Our applications stay up all the time during the Hour of Code, and … our website is always available year-round, because of the global availability of services like Amazon CloudFront.
Jeremy Stone Chief Technology Officer, Code.org
  • About Code.org

    Code.org is a nonprofit dedicated to expanding access to computer science and increasing participation by women and underrepresented minorities. Code.org’s vision is that every student in every school has the opportunity to learn computer science.

  • AWS Services Used

  • Benefits Realized

    • Scales by tenfold to deliver computer science education to millions of students globally
    • Delivers high availability during the Hour of Code
    • Saves $1.3 million in operational costs annually
    • Secures student data

In today’s technology-heavy, innovation-driven economy, students need the opportunity to learn computer science concepts and skills. That’s where Code.org comes in. Dedicated to expanding access to computer science education, the nonprofit organization provides free K–12 computer science curriculum, an online learning platform, and teacher training.

In addition to operating the learning platform that powers Code.org courses in hundreds of thousands of classrooms around world, the organization coordinates the Hour of Code every year. A global celebration and learning event, The Hour of Code takes place during Computer Science Education Week and reaches 100 million students in more than 180 countries.

To support more than 100,000 Hour of Code events around the world successfully during the week, Code.org needs both scalability and availability on a massive scale. “In terms of scalability, we have to prepare for 10 times more traffic on our website during the week, and we have one chance to get it right,” says Jeremy Stone, CTO of Code.org. “If we don’t have the compute capacity to meet the traffic demand, the events won’t work. And reliability is equally important, because students can’t code if our site is down.” Code.org must also comply with strict data protection controls. “As an EdTech company with a lot of student data, we are subject to very stringent security requirements,” Stone says.

To meet the challenges of providing an online coding environment to millions of students, Code.org chose to run its website, learning platform, and the Hour of Code on the Amazon Web Services (AWS) Cloud. “We went with AWS because it offers the right combination of scalability, reliability, flexibility, and security,” says Stone.

Code.org runs its platform and all Hour of Code events on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances, and the company takes advantage of AWS Auto Scaling to automatically adjust compute capacity based on demand. Code.org also uses Amazon CloudFront as its content delivery network for worldwide availability, and Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) to store unstructured data such as uploaded student-created apps and other user content.

To secure student data, Code.org relies on AWS CloudTrail, AWS Certificate Manager, and AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM). Additionally, the company uses Amazon Redshift as a data warehouse for storing and analyzing student metrics. “We track how student performance improves throughout the year or several years,” says Stone. “Where teachers provide demographic data, we track participation and progression of girls and underrepresented minority students to ensure we are meeting our equity and diversity goals.”

Relying on AWS, Code.org can scale its website during the Hour of Code, so that it can account for the additional influx of students on its website who are eager to try coding for the first time. “Using AWS, we can easily scale to meet the demands of millions of students in more than 180 countries for the Hour of Code,” says Stone. Code.org can quickly scale from 250 cores to 2,200 cores during peak usage, thanks to AWS. “We recently scaled automatically from 8 to 150 virtual servers using Auto Scaling, and it was much more than we needed,” Stone says.

Code.org is using AWS to deliver an optimal experience for its users across the globe. For example, the organization relies on Amazon CloudFront to deliver high availability. “We can ensure our applications stay up all the time during the Hour of Code and that our website is always available year-round, because of the global availability of services like Amazon CloudFront,” says Stone. Code.org also takes advantage of the flexibility of having access to different Amazon EC2 instance types, whether memory- or compute-intensive, depending on its needs. “Students want our website to be fast, and we can deliver a very responsive experience with fast page-load times because of AWS,” says Stone.

By running its website and the Hour of Code in the cloud, Code.org saves $1.3 million per year in operational costs. “Being in the cloud, we don’t have to support our own data center, which obviously saves money,” says Stone. “More specifically, because we can essentially rent virtual servers for the week of the Hour of Code, we don’t have to pay to support those resources outside of that week. It would be prohibitively expensive to support our tenfold spike in traffic each year without the ability to lean on services like AWS Auto Scaling.”

Code.org can meet its stringent security requirements by using AWS services. “Strong security capabilities are integrated into AWS services, so we get a lot of built-in networking security, in addition to our own internal security practices,” says Stone. “We use AWS services to provide security capabilities, including encryption at rest with AWS Relational Database Service [RDS] and Key Management Service [KMS]; encryption in transit with AWS Certificate Manager; network security with AWS Virtual Private Cloud; and operational auditing with AWS CloudTrail. As a result, we are confident in our ability to protect data and comply with all security requirements.”

Increasingly, Code.org is collaborating with AWS Educate to support Code.org’s mission: expanding access to computer science in schools and boosting participation by women and minorities. Code.org is working with AWS Educate, an initiative that gives students learning resources for building cloud technology skills through access to content, training, AWS technology, and employment opportunities. Most recently, AWS Educate helped develop a new code-building game offered for free during the Hour of Code. “We love working with AWS, and we love the pace of innovation AWS provides,” Stone says. “As we move into the future, we anticipate collaborating in new ways to educate students in computer science.”