作为新型零售行业最活跃领域中的一家初创公司,我们最初非常注重时间因素。因为我们知道,更快推出产品和服务对我们早期的成功至关重要。在产品架构稳定之后,我们也开始考虑成本和效率。AWS 的服务标准高于竞争对手,没有 AWS,我们的发展和创新就无从谈起。无论从稳定性、安全性、性能、效率还是成本的角度来看,AWS 都为我们带来了令人信服的价值和用户体验。

 

李健豪 超盟数据首席技术官

北京超盟国际文化有限公司(“超盟数据”)致力于利用大数据,通过 API 数据接口、BI 增强型决策平台和基于 AI 的产品选择平台等数据服务和解决方案,帮助便利店、连锁超市和社区杂货店等零售商制定决策。其客户包括超市发、天天便利、利客便利、每一天便利、惟佳和六意等国内零售企业。超盟数据的 BI 增强型决策产品目前每天处理数千万笔交易,被中国超过 10000 家门店(包括 5000 家小零售店)使用,占中国特许便利店的 18%。

超盟数据的业务模式是为连锁便利店提供一站式数据管理和分析平台(包括数据收集、分析和挖掘)和由数据支持的决策。这个完整的决策体系由大数据支持,可以帮助零售商建立一个数据驱动的管理系统,并制定最适合自己的独特的营销策略。

便利店是超盟数据的主要客户之一。便利店的经理通常需要查看数千种商品,以便确定需要补充的商品。这种传统的人工订货过程既缓慢又容易出错,经常会导致畅销商品的短缺和滞销商品的过剩。超盟数据首席技术官李健豪表示:“我们的增强型决策服务可以通过年龄区间、性别、经济条件和周边的房价等十几个维度来计算和分析周边潜在客户的概况,不仅可以解决这个问题,还能帮助便利店经理优化库存,实现利润最大化”。“因此,如何快速、可靠而有效地获取数据、实时处理和分析数据并准确、恰当地给出相关结论,将会决定我们的生产效率和竞争优势。”

由于其业务增长、创新以及产品和服务迭代的速度,超盟数据的 IT 基础设施开始遇到瓶颈。“产品和服务是像我们这样的初创企业的生命线”,李健豪表示,“我们需要集中精力改进产品并提供更有价值的服务,推动我们的发展。我们的数据服务由云创造。这意味着我们的 IT 系统必须高度稳定、高度可用,并且具有灵活、安全而可扩展的设置以及对开发人员友好的测试环境。系统面临的关键挑战在于如何保证高效、稳定、安全、经济的业务运营,同时减少运营和维护负担。一个简化、自动化并且无缝集成的 IT 后端能够让我们的团队更加专注于业务开发和创新。”

超盟数据以前使用其他供应商提供的云服务,但在启动直接连接客户数据库的收据扫描项目时改用 AWS。现在,超盟数据所有的核心业务都完全在 AWS 云上运行。“以前,其他供应商提供的某些服务不稳定,甚至会导致存储对象丢失”,李健豪解释说,“对于使用我们服务的客户来说,他们的产品可能具有非常长的生命周期,这就需要我们实现更高的数据安全性和系统稳定性。AWS 不仅比其他解决方案更稳定,而且还提供了丰富的托管服务和强大的工具。从长远来看,AWS 可能更容易满足我们的业务发展需求,并为我们的发展提供巨大的帮助。”

超盟数据为零售业提供数据分析和挖掘解决方案。这家公司每天需要处理数百亿条记录,但其业务团队此前没有 Hadoop 分析平台的构建和使用经验。李健豪加盟之后,在一周多的时间内利用 AWS 帮助公司构建了新环境,并在不到三周的时间内研究和部署了 Amazon EMR。“在业务方面,我们的首要任务是保证稳定性和速度。AWS 前瞻性的云服务可以帮助我们建立一个敏捷的开发团队,更快、更有效地将独特的产品和服务推向市场”,李健豪表示。“在技术方面,我们非常重视平台的成熟度、提供的服务范围、对开源框架的广泛支持,当然还有安全性。”

举例来说,Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 可以用作数据湖。其他解决方案很难应对需要高存储容量并共享快速增长的数据集的使用场景。“Amazon S3 帮助我们解决了许多数据流和数据处理方面的挑战。“其高持久性让我们的客户永远不需要担心丢失宝贵的历史数据。” 李健豪接着补充道,“选择 AWS 的另一个原因是它对开发人员友好。利用 AWS,我们可以更快、更轻松地完成产品开发和迭代,推动业务增长;我们每个项目的开发时间平均减少了 2-3 个月。这些是我们选择 AWS 时的主要考虑因素。”

图 1 展示了超盟数据利用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)、Amazon S3、Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS)Amazon RedshiftAmazon DynamoDBAmazon Elastic Container Service (Amazon ECS)、Amazon EMR 和 AWS Lambda 等服务在 AWS 上构建的大数据分析平台。

ichaomeng-arch-diag

图 1:超盟数据在 AWS 上的大数据分析平台

自 2016 年 6 月超盟数据针对收据扫描项目改用 AWS 以来,其 IT 基础设施的效率稳步提升,为降低成本和业务创新做出了巨大贡献。

AWS 云让超盟数据能够大幅降低维护成本和管理工作量,同时实现服务的自动、灵活扩展。“成本的降低体现在两个方面:时间和人力。此外,AWS 还让 IT 硬件方面的初始固定投资成为历史,而这在以前是一笔巨大的支出”,李健豪说。“Auto Scaling 和 Lambda 等服务发挥了特别重要的作用,让我们的系统能够适应波动并且高度并发的工作负载,进一步降低了我们的 AWS 费用。此外,安全组和其他安全服务可以确保我们在 AWS 上的系统受到良好的保护。AWS 完成了运行 IT 系统所需的大部分繁重工作,让我们能够更加专注于业务创新。”

随着客户数量的不断增加,超盟数据需要处理的数据点从数亿增加到数百亿,并需要在几毫秒内显示结果。作为中国首批使用 Lambda 的企业之一,超盟数据能够有效地应对业务的迅猛增长。“数据的流动和转换曾经是一个脱节的过程,我们必须先完全提取数据,然后才能处理数据。而 Lambda 让我们能够在提取数据的同时对其进行分析。所有提取工作现在都在 Lambda 中并行完成,而后续的清理和分析由 Amazon EMR 处理。这种方式将处理任务的时间从 6 小时减少到 15 分钟。我们现在正在调整数据流的结构,以便提取之后的数据处理工作也可以利用 Lambda 的强大功能”,李健豪兴奋地说,“速度对我们来说非常重要,因为它决定了我们是否能够实时显示分析报告。我们在夜间处理所有数据,让商店经理、主管、存货员和连锁店经理能够在早上第一时间使用我们的可视化分析和辅助决策服务。AWS 让我们的客户能够享受独一无二的用户体验。”

“我们目前的战略是全力投入 AWS,因为这样可以让我们以不断降低的成本不断提高效率”,李健豪表示。“例如,Lambda 自然而然地减少了我们对 Amazon EC2 的使用,其按请求付费的费用结构为我们节省了大量成本。此外,代码只需要编写一次,后续的重新安排和触发器会自动执行,因此我们的开发团队可以因代码复杂性降低而节省时间和精力,并将资源重新分配到生产效率更高的领域。我们相信,在易用性和功能丰富性方面,我们可以开发出市场上最好的产品,而这离不开 AWS 云服务的强大功能。”

了解有关 AWS 大数据解决方案的更多信息。

As a startup company in the liveliest segment of the new retail industry, we initially focused heavily on the time factor, knowing that faster product and service launches would be critical to our early success. After our product architecture stabilized, we began to also take costs and efficiency into consideration. Our growth and innovation would not be possible without AWS, whose standards of service are higher than the competition. Whether we look at it in terms of stability, security, performance, efficiency, or cost, AWS has brought us a compelling value and user experience.


Li Jianhao CTO of CM Data

Beijing Chaomeng International Culture Co., Ltd. (“CM Data”) specializes in using big data to help drive the decision-making of retailers – such as convenience stores, supermarket chains, and community grocery stores – through data services and solutions including API data interfaces, BI-enhanced decision-making platform, and AI-based product selection platform. Its customers include such domestic retailers as Chaoshifa, Tiantian Bianli, Lecoo, Everyday, WeeCan, and Six Wishes. Used by over 10,000 outlets (including 5,000 mom-and-pop stores), or 18% of the franchised convenience stores in China, its BI-enhanced decision-making products currently process tens of millions of transactions each day.

CM Data’s business model is to provide a one-stop data management and analytic platform – encompassing data collection, analysis and mining and data-supported decision-making – to convenience store chains. This complete decision-making system, which is powered by big data, helps retailers build a data-driven management system and develop a unique marketing strategy that works best for them.

Convenience stores are one of CM Data’s main clients. Typically, the manager of a convenience store would need to look through a catalogue of thousands of SKUs to find the products to be replenished. This traditional, manual ordering process is both slow and error-prone, often resulting in the shortage of best-selling products and an overflow of slow-moving products. “Our enhanced decision-making service, which tallies and analyzes the profile of nearby potential customers through dozens of dimensions including age group, gender, wealth, and nearby housing price, is just the solution to this problem and can help store managers optimize their inventory to maximize profit,” says Li Jianhao, CTO of CM Data. “Therefore, how to acquire data in a rapid, reliable, and efficient manner; process and analyze them in real-time; and accurately and appropriately present relevant conclusions, will define our productivity and competitive edge.”

Due to the pace of its business growth, innovation, and iteration of products and services, CM Data’s IT infrastructure began to hit a bottleneck. “Products and services are the lifeblood of a startup like us,” says Li, “We need to concentrate all our efforts on improving our products and providing more valuable services to fuel our growth. Our data services are created by the cloud and made by the cloud. This means our IT system must be highly stable and available, and feature an expandable, flexible, and secure setup with a developer-friendly test environment. The key challenge faced by the system is to guarantee an efficient, stable, secure, and cost-efficient business operation while also reducing operations and maintenance burdens. A simplified, automated, and seamless integrated IT back-ends will allow our teams to focus more on business development and innovation.”

CM Data used to rely on the cloud services from other vendors, but switched to AWS when it launched the receipt scanning project which connected directly to its customer database. Now, all its core businesses are running entirely on the AWS cloud. “Previously, some of the services offered by other vendors were unstable, even resulting in loss of stored objects, for example,” Li explains, “for customers who use our service, their products may have an exceedingly long lifecycle, which requires greater data security and system stability on our part. Not only is AWS more stable than the other solutions, but it also provides a wide range of hosted services and powerful tools. In the long run, AWS can more readily adapt to our business development needs and may contribute significantly to our growth.”

CM Data offers data analysis and mining solutions to the retail industry. Each day, the company needs to process tens of billions of records, but its business team had no prior experience in building and using a Hadoop analytics platform. After Li joined the company, he helped it build the new environment in just over a week using AWS and research and deploy Amazon EMR in less than three weeks. “In terms of business, our priorities are stability and speed. The forward-looking cloud services of AWS can help us build an agile development team and bring unique products and services to the market faster and more efficiently,” says Li. “In terms of technology, we put heavy emphasis on the level of maturity of the platform, the range of services on offer, how extensively open-source frameworks are supported, and, of course, security.”

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), for example, can be used as a data lake. Other solutions would have a hard time to cope with use cases that require high storage capacity and the sharing of a rapidly increasing dataset. “Amazon S3 has helped us solve many data flow and processing challenges. Its high durability ensures that our customers will never need to worry about losing their invaluable historical data.” Li then adds, “Another reason for choosing AWS is its developer-friendliness. With AWS, we can complete product development and iteration more rapidly and easily to support business growth; our development time for each project has been reduced by 2-3 months on average. These were our key considerations when we chose AWS.”

Figure 1 illustrates CM Data’s big data analytics platform, achieved on AWS using Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), Amazon S3, Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS), Amazon Redshift, Amazon DynamoDB, Amazon Elastic Container Service (Amazon ECS), Amazon EMR, and AWS Lambda, among others.


Figure 1: CM Data’s Big Data Analytics Platform on AWS

Since CM Data switched to AWS in June 2016 for the receipt scanning project, the efficiency of its IT infrastructure has risen steadily, contributing tremendously to cost reduction and business innovation.

AWS cloud allows CM Data to significantly lower its upkeep and maintenance cost and management workload, while enabling the automatic, flexible scaling of services. “These cost-savings come in two forms: time and manpower. Moreover, AWS has also made the initial fixed investment for IT hardware – traditionally a substantial figure – a thing of the past,” says Li. “Services like Auto Scaling and Lambda especially has helped adapt our system to fluctuating and highly concurrent workloads, which further reduces our AWS expenses. In addition, Security Group and other security services ensure our system on AWS is well-protected. AWS has done much of the heavy lifting required for running an IT system, allowing us to focus more on business innovation.”

With CM Data’s expanding customer base comes the need to process tens of billions of data points – up from hundreds of millions – and display results in milliseconds. As one of the first companies in China to use Lambda, CM Data is able to keep pace with this dramatic business growth with finesse. “Data flow and transformation was once a disjointed process in which data had to be fully extracted before being processed. Lambda enables us to analyze data as they are being extracted. All extractions are now done in parallel in Lambda, while the subsequent cleaning and analysis are handled by Amazon EMR. This setup has reduced the time to process a task from 6 hours to 15 minutes. We are now restructuring our data flow so that post-extraction data processing can also leverage the power of Lambda,” says Li excitedly, “speed is very important to us, for it determines whether we can display analysis reports in virtually real-time. We process all our data at night so that store managers, supervisors, stockers, and chain managers can readily access our visualized analyses and assisted decision-making services the first thing in the morning. AWS has allowed our customers to enjoy a one-of-a-kind user experience.”

“Our current strategy is to go ‘all in’ on AWS, because this will give us ever-increasing efficiency at an ever-lowering cost,” says Li. “For example, Lambda has naturally reduced our use of Amazon EC2, and its pay-by-request fee structure has brought us significant cost savings. In addition, because codes only need to be written once, with subsequent re-scheduling and triggers being executed automatically, our development team can save time and effort from the reduced code complexity and re-assign our resources to more productive areas. We believe we can make the best products on the market in terms of ease-of-use and feature set, which is only made possible by the strength of AWS cloud services.”

Learn more about AWS big data solutions.