AWS 为我们的业务发展提供了强大的支持,让我们感到放心。


高翅 北京柠檬微趣科技股份有限公司系统架构师

北京柠檬微趣科技股份有限公司于 2008 年 8 月在北京成立,专注于开发休闲类精品手机游戏。秉承着“有趣、学习、精益求精”的企业文化,柠檬微趣致力于打造全球领先的手游品牌。自 2012 年起,柠檬微趣先后推出了《时尚人生》、《超级名模》、《梦幻精灵谷》、《梦幻蛋糕店》、《冰雪奇缘:冰纷乐》和《宾果消消消》(曾用名《糖果萌萌消》)等游戏,其中有多款是排行榜冠军。

作为公司的明星手游产品,《宾果消消乐》自 2014 年 8 月上线以来稳居休闲游戏类前三,2016 年 7 月每日活跃用户突破千万。2017 年 5 月,柠檬微趣推出新游戏《怪兽消消消》,获得苹果 App Store 推荐。公司自成立以来先后获得国家高新技术企业和中关村高新技术企业等荣誉认证。

公司一开始使用的是互联网数据中心上的托管服务器。随着业务的不断发展和云计算技术的日渐成熟,柠檬微趣先后选择了国内的三家云服务提供商,但在服务使用过程中遇到了带宽限制和 CPU 超卖等问题。对于一家游戏公司来说,服务不稳定往往是致命的;尤其是在推广活动期间,服务不可靠会对公司造成经济损失,也会对玩家造成损失,直接阻碍业务发展。

面对以上问题和向海外市场扩张的需要,柠檬微趣不得不考虑更换云服务提供商,希望找到一家能够保证服务器稳定性并且可以为客户提供全天候不间断服务的服务提供商。

《宾果消消乐》和《怪兽消消消》推出后,玩家数量激增,仅在国内,每日活跃玩家数就超过了 1000 万。业务和玩家流量不断增长意味着必须提高服务器的稳定性和安全性。Amazon Web Services (AWS) 作为云服务市场的先行者,截至 2018 年 2 月,已经在 190 多个国家或地区为数以百万计的活跃用户提供服务,积累了丰富的经验,获得了极好的口碑,系统稳定性和灵活性得到了广泛认可。这就是柠檬微趣将目光转向 AWS 的原因。

稳定、灵活、可靠

Elastic Load Balancing 可以在多个目标(例如 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例、容器和 IP 地址)之间自动分配传入的应用程序流量。它可以在单个可用区内处理不断变化的流量负载,也可以跨多个可用区处理不断变化的流量负载。

ELB 让应用程序能够根据用户流量进行扩展,所以对于柠檬微趣来说,要应对游戏流量突然激增,确保服务器稳定性,并且让玩家感受不间断的游戏体验,ELB 是理想的选择。

Amazon CloudWatch 可以监控各项服务,并且可以在发生问题时通过电子邮件向运维人员发出安全警报,以便及时解决问题。

游戏数据高度安全

Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 提供了安全组和网络访问控制列表等高级安全功能,支持在实例级别和子网级别进行入站筛选和出站筛选。您还可以通过对 Amazon VPC 进行配置来限制对存储在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 中的数据的访问,确保这些数据只能通过 Amazon VPC 进行访问,从而进一步提高数据访问的安全性。

因为道具、图片和用户信息等游戏数据是柠檬微趣的重要资产,所以公司将架构设计和服务安全性放在首位。柠檬微趣的架构设计充分利用了 Amazon VPC 的安全组和逻辑隔离功能,用户只有获得了需要的权限才可以访问相关数据。这确保了游戏数据的高度安全性。

快速数据迁移

数据迁移的速度直接影响项目部署的速度。柠檬微趣拥有 50TB 的游戏数据。如果使用 60MBps 的连接,将公司数据上传到 AWS 数据中心需要 30 天时间;如果使用专线,每月需要支付 50000-60000 RMB。这两种方案都会产生非常高的时间成本和经济成本。相比之下,使用 AWS Snowball,只需要 7 天就可以迁移 50TB 数据,租用成本为每月 1000 RMB。这一解决方案让柠檬微趣能够以更快的速度和更低的成本完成数据迁移。

Snowball 是一种 PB 级数据传输解决方案,使用专为确保安全而设计的设备来将大量数据传入和传出 AWS 云。Snowball 具有快速、安全和成本低廉等特点,可以解决进行大规模数据传输时遇到的常见问题,比如传输时间长、安全问题和网络成本高。

功能强大的分析工具

柠檬微趣使用了 AWS 功能强大的数据分析服务。特别要说的是 Amazon Kinesis,它让柠檬微趣能够收集、处理和分析实时流数据,从而及时获取新信息并作出反应。另一方面,Amazon EMR 的 Hadoop 框架让柠檬微趣能够定期发布商业智能报告,并且快速评估游戏的商业价值。利用 AWS 功能强大的数据分析工具,柠檬微趣能够制定针对性强且有效的推广和销售计划。

最后但不是最不重要的一点,AWS 可用区的全球覆盖范围之广,也是柠檬微趣选择 AWS 云平台的一个原因。

图 1 所示为基于 AWS 构建的柠檬微趣手游架构,使用了以下 AWS 服务:Amazon EC2、ELB、CloudWatch、Amazon Route 53、Amazon S3、Kinesis、Amazon EMR、Snowball、Amazon VPC、Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS)Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS) 等。

Microfun-arch-diag

图 1 基于 AWS 的柠檬微趣手游系统架构

目前,柠檬微趣的每日活跃玩家数量达到了 1000 多万,数据量达到 50TB,由分别部署在 AWS 中国(北京)区域(由北京光环新网科技股份有限公司运营)和 AWS 海外区域的两个系统提供支持,最常用的 AWS 服务是 Amazon EC2、ELB、Amazon S3 和 Amazon EMR。对于柠檬微趣来说,使用 AWS 最明显的好处是,游戏系统的稳定性和安全性得以提高,运维成本得以降低。

“AWS 为我们的业务提供了强大的支持。过去,基础设施平均每年发生三四次故障。但自从采用 AWS 云以后,再也没有出现过这种情况,系统非常稳定。”系统架构师高翅说。随着业务的迅速发展,柠檬微趣更加重视服务的稳定性。游戏推广期间,流量激增(根据以往的经验,在 10 分钟内会有近 200000 名玩家发起连接),此时出现任何系统或网络问题都会影响用户体验,进而导致玩家流失,使公司投资面临风险。借助 AWS,系统可用性大幅提高,充分保障了柠檬微趣的业务运营。

柠檬微趣使用 CloudWatch 来实时监控服务器应用程序,从而能够收集和跟踪各项指标、设置警报,还能够全方面地了解资源利用率和系统性能。如果出现程序错误,CloudWatch 会立即通过电子邮件通知运维人员,以便他们能够快速解决问题,让应用程序正常运行。“CloudWatch 监控服务可以准确地诊断和定位错误,而且准确性远远高于我们内部的监控系统。”高翅说。AWS 实现的有效监控、高稳定性和高可用性让柠檬微趣减少了维护工作量,进而降低了运行成本。

此外,柠檬微趣还利用 AWS 实现了敏捷高效的大数据分析和报告呈现。Amazon EMR 数据分析平台和 Kinesis 让柠檬微趣能够对其游戏系统进行全面的分析,实现销售和产品报告的即时呈现,促进业务线更加快速有效地发展。

有关如何快速开发能够吸引全球玩家的游戏的更多信息,请访问我们的游戏开发页面。

AWS puts us at ease by providing strong support for our business growth.


Gao Chi System Architect at Microfun Inc.

Founded in August 2008 in Beijing, Microfun Inc. (“Microfun”) specializes in developing, selling, and operating high-quality casual mobile games. Nurturing a corporate culture that promotes fun, educational, and quality games, Microfun aspires to become a leading mobile gaming brand in the world. Its star mobile game, Jellipop Match, has many a time made the top 3 list for casual match 3 games since launch in August 2014. In December 2015, the game won the inaugural Blackstone Award given by the Mobile Hardcore Alliance (M.H.A); and by July 2016, the game had 10 million daily active players. In May 2017, Microfun launched Munchkin Match, another match 3 masterpiece, which was recommended by the Apple App Store.

Microfun has been recognized as a National High-Tech Enterprise and Zhongguancun High-Tech Enterprise, among other honors and distinctions.

The company started on managed servers at Internet Data Center. As its business expanded and cloud computing technology matured, Microfun successively tried three domestic cloud service providers, but was frustrated by issues like bandwidth limits and CPU overselling. For a game company, service instability is often fatal; this is especially true during promotional events, when unreliable services would cause financial and player losses, directly impeding business growth.

Confronted with these issues as well as the need to expand to overseas markets, Microfun had to reconsider its cloud service provider, one that can guarantee server stability and provide 24/7 uninterrupted services to customers.

The launch of Jellipop Match and Munchkin Match resulted in a surge in player count, with daily active players in China alone exceeding 10 million. Growing business and player traffic meant higher demand for server stability and security. As an early entrant to the cloud service market, Amazon Web Services (AWS) has served millions of active users in over 190 countries or regions by February 2018, boasting extensive experiences, a stellar reputation, and widely recognized system stability and flexibility. This is why Microfun turned its eyes to AWS.

Stable, flexible and reliable

Elastic Load Balancing (ELB) automatically distributes incoming application traffic across multiple targets, such as Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances, containers, and IP addresses. It can handle the varying traffic load in a single Available Zone or across multiple Available Zones.

ELB enables applications to scale to user traffic, which is exactly what Microfun needs to cope with sudden spikes in gaming traffic, ensure server stability, and provide players with a hitch-free gaming experience.

Amazon CloudWatch monitors various services, and when a problem emerges, it will issue a security alert to O&M personnel via email for timely resolution.

Highly secure game data

Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC)’s advanced security features, such as security groups and network access control lists, enable inbound and outbound filtering at the instance level and subnet level. It may also be configured as a gatekeeper to the data stored in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), so that such data are only accessible through Amazon VPC, further enhancing data access security.

Because game data – such as in-game items, pictures, and user information – are key assets of Microfun, the company has placed utmost priority on architecture design and service security. The architecture design of Microfun fully takes advantage of the security group and logic isolation functions of Amazon VPC, so that users may access data only when they have the required permissions. This ensures game data are highly secure.

Rapid data migration

The speed of data migration directly affects how soon a project can be deployed. Microfun has 50 TB of game data. Using a 60 mbps connection, it would take the company 30 days to upload its data to AWS data centers; and using a dedicated line would incur a monthly bill of RMB 50,000 to 60,000. Either option comes at a significant time and financial cost. With AWS Snowball, by contrast, it only takes 7 days to migrate 50 TB of data at a leasing cost of RMB 1,000 per month. This solution makes it much faster and cheaper for Microfun to complete data migration.

Snowball is a petabyte-scale data transport solution that uses devices designed to be secure to transfer large amount of data into and out of the AWS Cloud. Rapid, secure, and cost-efficient, Snowball addresses common challenges with large-scale data transfers including long transfer times, security concerns, and high network costs.

Powerful analytic tools

Microfun employs AWS’ powerful data analysis services. In particular, Amazon Kinesis permits Microfun to collect, process, and analyze real-time streaming data to timely capture and respond to new information. Amazon EMR’s Hadoop framework, on the other hand, allows Microfun to make regular business intelligence reports and swiftly estimate the commercial value of its games. Using AWS’ powerful data analytic tools, Microfun is able to develop highly targeted and effective promotion and sales plans.

Last but not least, the global coverage of AWS’ Available Zones is another factor that convinced Microfun to choose the AWS cloud.

Figure 1 shows Microfun’s mobile game architecture, achieved on AWS using Amazon EC2, ELB, CloudWatch, Amazon Route 53, Amazon S3, Kinesis, Amazon EMR, Snowball, Amazon VPC, Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS), and Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS), among others.

Microfun-arch-diag

Figure 1  Microfun Mobile Game System Architecture on AWS

Microfun now boasts ten million plus active daily players and 50 TB of data. They are supported by two systems respectively deployed in AWS China (Beijing) Region (operated by Beijing Sinnet Technology Co., Ltd.) and AWS overseas Regions, with the most frequently used AWS being Amazon EC2, ELB, Amazon S3, and Amazon EMR. For Microfun, the most obvious benefits of using AWS are the greater stability and security of its gaming systems and the lowering O&M cost.

“AWS provides strong support to our business. In the past, we would have three to four infrastructure incidents each year on average. They have become a thing of the past since we switched to the AWS cloud; everything has been very stable,” said System Architect Gao Chi. Microfun’s burgeoning business has made service stability a bigger priority. When traffic surges during game promotions (when almost 200,000 players will attempt to connect in a ten-minute window, as past experiences have shown), any system or network problem would affect user experience, putting player base and company investment at risk. AWS has greatly improved system availability and adequately protected Microfun’s business operations.

Microfun employs CloudWatch to monitor server applications in real-time, helping it collect and track indicators, set alerts, and gain a bird’s-eye view of the resource utilization rate and system performance. If there is a program error, CloudWatch will immediately notify O&M personnel by email so that they can quickly resolve the issue and get the application up and running. “CloudWatch monitoring service offers accurate error diagnosis and positioning – much more accurate than our in-house monitoring system,” added Gao. Effective monitoring and the high stability and availability of AWS have cut down maintenance workload and, therefore, running costs.

In addition, Microfun also utilizes AWS to enable agile and efficient big data analysis and report presentation. Amazon EMR data analytic platform and Kinesis allow Microfun to perform comprehensive analysis of its game systems, enable instant presentation of sales and product reports, and help its business lines to develop more swiftly and effectively.

For more information about how to rapidly develop games that appeal to global players, please visit our Game Development page.