出于我们自身业务的特性及市场拓展需求,需要能够快速部署,集中管理,并能提供非常安全、稳定的服务。至于谁符合这些条件,我们首先想到的,也是唯一能想到的就是 Amazon Web Services 
高健伦 厦门声连网信息科技有限责任公司首席技术官

厦门声连网信息科技有限责任公司(以下简称“声连网”)成立于 2014 年,是一家新媒体科技公司,旗下子公司包括北京声连网信息科技有限公司、厦门超声互动信息科技有限公司、厦门视觉动物信息科技有限公司、湖南超声互动信息科技有限公司以及台湾汇智通讯通讯股份有限公司。

声连网的研发团队由前美国贝尔实验室研究员带队,开发了具有自主专利的声连码技术。声连码与二维码类似,不过前者是通过超声波而不是图片来传递信息。当用户手机或其他移动设备上的麦克风接收到从音响、电视以及其他广播设备发出的超声波(时长为 0.622-1.244 秒的音频文件)之后,用户就完成了连接,就像扫描了一次二维码一样。

用户连接声连码之后,商家就可以通过众多方式与之互动。例如,酒店可以向客人推送设施和服务信息;广告主可以在电视广告中推送产品详情和购买链接;酒吧可以提供“打赏链接”,让消费者向喜欢的歌手打赏等等。与受视线、合适距离以及照明条件限制的二维码相比,声连码大大拓展了空间范围,即使是在拥挤的人群中也能传递信息,由此可以为更多创新型应用程序提供支持。声连网的典型客户包括中国银联、海科融通、艾普瑞、广电集团移动电视、可口可乐等,涉及交易支付、文化传媒、移动电视、零售、广告、房地产、教育等行业,全面覆盖电视传播、O2O、购物、广告营销、文化传播、创意教学等多样化的应用场景。

声连网的主要收入模式是,向商家销售声连码(商家可以通过自动申请流程获取声连码文件)。另一方面,声连网需要向开发者提供声连码的 SDK,以便应用程序能够实现声连码的接收和解码。完成声连码解码之后,用户就可以获取相应服务的访问权限。整个过程对 IT 的需求包括以下几个方面。

数十亿声连码的安全持久存储

声连码是公司的关键资产,它的管理和安全至关重要。声连网首席技术官高健伦说:“声码是我们的重要资产,我们在单一国家或地区可能生产发行 1 亿多个声码。全球已发行几十亿声码,全部以对象形式存在于数据库中。对于这么多小的文件对象来说,它的安全、持久存储和管理太麻烦了。更别提,如果构建自己的存储,则可能出现硬件不可控的问题。帮助我们解决这个难题的是 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3),它运行在全球云基础设施上,有着强大的存储和检索能力。此外,它还提供了 99.999999999% 的持久性,而且在传输过程中可以对每个 Amazon S3 对象进行加密,这样就使得我们的资产得到有效保护。因此我们选择了 Amazon S3。”

应对短时间用户流量暴涨

设想一下,一场体育赛事的全球转播,或者一个电视广告全国引爆,如果用到声连码互动,有可能面临短时间流量暴涨,从而给后台服务器带来巨大挑战。为应对此类情况,声连网采用 Elastic Load Balancing 自动分配传入流量。ELB 具有高度可用、安全、灵活和可扩展的优势,可以在单个可用区内处理不断变化的流量负载,也可以跨多个可用区处理此类负载。此外,它还与 Auto Scaling 深度集成,确保有足够的应用程序容量来满足不断变化的应用程序流量级别。声连网还使用 Amazon CloudWatch 对所有流量进行监控和分析,必要时会触发可扩容的服务器,保证系统的稳定性。

声码解码高效可靠

声连网有非常严格的处理速度要求,旨在确保最佳用户体验。整个处理流程的关键是对接收到的声码进行解码,这需要使用密码规则表。每个声码有一个解码规则,声连码大约有八九十亿的密码规则,这需要高效查询操作。而 Amazon DynamoDB 具有低延迟、无限扩展的特性。因此,声连网可以使用 DynamoDB 实现密码表的前端缓存,使解码速度大大加快。

DynamoDB 是一项快速灵活的 NoSQL 数据库服务,适合所有需要一致性且延迟低于 10 毫秒的任意规模的应用程序。它不仅能为应用程序提供快速、稳定的性能和 auto-scaling,还支持高度扩展以及灵活的精细访问控制。

全天候稳定运行

赏吧 (sunbar) 是声连网的一个酒吧音乐文化社区平台,具有近场景交付、交友、打赏歌手等功能。鉴于酒吧活动大部分发生在夜间j,因此需要赏吧业务系统即使在夜间也能稳定运行。而声连网的原云服务提供商将系统维护时间安排在夜间,不能确保赏吧系统在夜间运行的稳定性。而所有 AWS 服务均支持 7x24 小时稳定运行,能更好地满足声连网的需要。

高安全性

为了确保商家提供的所有链接没有不合规的内容或敏感信息,声连网需要对相关网页进行筛查和过滤。Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 允许用户在云中预置一个逻辑隔离分区,实现私网隔离。它同时提供了安全组和访问控制列表等高级安全功能,以便在实例级别和子网级别启用入站和出站筛选功能。而另一家候选的云服务商在功能组合上不及 Amazon VPC。

业务全球化

声连网的业务是着眼全球的。截至 2017 年 12 月 20 日,AWS 在全球 18 个地理区域有 49 个可用区,覆盖面十分广泛,而且范围在不断增加,可以帮助声连网向全球化发展。

图 1 是声连网的系统架构图,所采用的 AWS 产品包括 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)、Amazon S3、Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS)、DynamoDB, CloudWatch、AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM)Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS)、Amazon VPC 以及 ELB 等。

SoundBus-arch-diag.final

图 1:基于 AWS 的声连网系统架构

通过使用 AWS 云服务,声连网获得优势可以归结为以下几方面:

第一,节省成本。声连网是一家初创公司,创业初期资金的高效利用尤为重要。公司管理层有清晰的市场发展规划,再加上云服务具有高可用、按需服务、价格低廉的特性,声连网在 IT 基础设施方面没有采购大量硬件和设备,而是将基础设施建立在 AWS 上。这样避免了自建数据中心可能引发的巨大资金缺口;同时,在使用 AWS 平台时,运维工作量也大大降低,有效降低了管理成本和人力成本。

第二,加快创新。声连网的核心技术人员对 AWS 海外区域有五年以上的使用经验,因此选择 AWS 之后能够立即上手。AWS 丰富的服务和功能,也让声连网对需要的服务几乎“心想事成”,极大地加快了业务创新的速度。

声连网虽然还处于业务发展初期,但是在业务上线短短几个月就收获了如中国银联、海科融通、可口可乐等客户,同时还在向海外市场扩展业务。AWS 安全、稳定、可靠的平台,专业的技术支持团队,让声连网的业务发展没有技术上的后顾之忧。声连网的业务发展空间很大,但是,再大的业务发展,通过 AWS 平台也能够轻松承载。

要详细了解有关 AWS 如何满足您构建移动应用程序的更多需要,请访问:https://aws.amazon.com/mobile/

We needed to fulfill our business and market development needs of rapid deployment, central management, and secure and stable service. The first and only provider we thought of that fit these criteria was Amazon Web Services 
Gao Jianlun CTO of SoundBus Technologies Co., Ltd.

SoundBus Technologies Co., Ltd. (“SoundBus”), founded in 2014, is a new-media technology company whose subsidiaries include Beijing SoundBus Technologies Co., Ltd., Xiamen Sonicmoving Information Technology Co., Ltd., Xiamen Viszoo Media Technologies Co., Ltd., Hunan Sonicmoving Information Technology Co., Ltd., and Taiwan TradeWise Communication Co., Ltd.

SoundBus’ R&D team, led by former researchers at the Bell Labs, developed the company’s patented Oi-Fi technology, which is similar to QR codes but transmits and receives information by ultrasonic waves rather than images. Users will be connected through Oi-Fi once the microphone on their mobile phones or other mobile devices pick up the inaudible ultrasonic, 0.622-1.244 second long audio files produced by speakers, television sets, and other broadcast equipment, just like the scanning of a QR code.

There are many ways a business can interact with users who are connected with Oi-Fi. For example, a hotel can send facility and service information to guests; advertisers can broadcast product details and purchase links along with TV commercials; bars can provide “tip links” to allow consumers tip their favorite singer, and so on. Compared with QR codes, which are restricted by line-of-sight, proper distance, and lighting conditions, Oi-Fi has a much greater range and works even in a crowded area, thus enabling many more innovative applications. Typical clients of SoundBus include China UnionPay, HaiKeRongTong, A&I Group, Beijing Media Group and Coca-Cola, spanning across transaction payment, cultural media, mobile TV, retail, advertising, real estate, and education in terms of industries, and TV broadcasting, O2O, shopping, advertising and marketing, culture and communication, and creative teaching in terms of application scenarios.

SoundBus’ main source of revenue is the sales of Oi-Fi to businesses (businesses can obtain Oi-Fi files through an automated application process). Along with these sales, SoundBus must provide developers with the Oi-Fi SDK to enable apps to receive and decode Oi-Fi. Once an Oi-Fi is decoded, end users will gain access to the appropriate service. This whole process imposes the following IT requirements:

Secure, long-term storage of billions of Oi-Fi

Oi-Fi is the company’s key asset, thus its management and security are paramount. SoundBus CTO Gao Jianlun explains: “Sound codes is an important asset of ours. We may issue more than 100 million sound codes in a single country or region alone. Several billion sound codes have been issued worldwide, all as objects in a database. The secure, long-term storage and management of so many small object files is very taxing, not to mention that building our own storage could result in hardware control problems. Our solution comes in the form of Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), which operates on a global cloud infrastructure with powerful storage and retrieval capabilities. Furthermore, it offers 99.999999999% persistence and encrypts every Amazon S3 object during transmission so that our assets can be effectively protected. This is why we use Amazon S3.”

Handling sudden spikes in user traffic

Imagine a sports event broadcasted worldwide, or a TV advertisement seen by a whole nation. If Oi-Fi is used in situations like these, there will likely be a major spike in short-term traffic, creating a huge challenge for backend servers. To deal with this type of situations, SoundBus uses Elastic Load Balancing to automatically distribute incoming traffic. ELB provides high availability, security, flexibility, and scalability, capable of handling the continuously varying traffic load in a single Availability Zone or across multiple Availability Zones. In addition, it is deeply integrated with Auto Scaling to ensure there is enough application capacity to meet varying levels of application traffic. SoundBus also uses Amazon CloudWatch to monitor and analyze all traffic and, when necessary, initiates a scalable server to ensure system stability.

Efficient and reliable sound code decoding

SoundBus has very strict requirements for its processing speed to ensure the best user experience. The key to the entire processing workflow is the decoding of received sound codes, which requires the use of a password rules table. Oi-Fi has between eight and nine billion password rules – one for each sound code; this demands efficient querying operations. The low latency and near-infinite scalability of Amazon DynamoDB mean that it can be used to front-cache the rules table to greatly speed up the decoding process.

DynamoDB is a fast and flexible NoSQL database service suitable for all applications that need consistent, single-digit millisecond latency, no matter their scale. Not only does it provide fast, consistent performance and auto-scaling, but it is also highly expandable and flexible with fine-grained access control.

Stable Operations 24/7

Sunbar is SoundBus’ community platform for bar music and culture, featuring functions like short-range interaction, social networking, and performance tipping. Since most bar activities take place at night, the Sunbar system has to run reliably even during nighttime, a requirement that was not consistently met by SoundBus’ original cloud service provider due to nighttime maintenance sessions. Because all AWS services are able to run reliably 24/7, they suits SoundBus needs better.

High Level of Security

To ensure that all links provided by businesses are free of non-compliant content or sensitive information, SoundBus needs to screen and filter relevant web pages. Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) lets users provision a logically segregated section of the cloud to create a private network. Advanced security features such as security groups and access control lists are also provided to enable inbound and outbound filtering at the instance and subnet level. The other candidate cloud service provider could not match Amazon VPC in feature set.

Business Globalization

SoundBus aspires to run a global business operation. By 20th December 2017,AWS’ broad coverage, which now comprises 49 Availability Zones in 18 geographic regions around the world, is continuously expanding, helping SoundBus to grow globally.

Figure 1 illustrates SoundBus’ system architecture, which includes such AWS products as Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), Amazon S3, Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS), DynamoDB, CloudWatch, AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM), Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS), Amazon VPC, and ELB.

SoundBus-arch-diag.final

Figure 1: SoundBus System Architecture on AWS

The benefits that SoundBus reaps by using AWS cloud services can be summarized to the following:

First, cost savings. SoundBus is a startup company, which means the efficient use of its starting capital is essential. With a clear market development plan from the company’s management team, and the high availability, on-demand service, and low price of cloud services, SoundBus did not make major hardware and equipment purchases, relying instead on AWS for its IT infrastructure. This avoids the huge funding gap that building their own data centers would create. Meanwhile, the use of the AWS platform greatly reduces operation and maintenance workload, translating into markedly lower management and labor costs.

Second, faster innovation. SoundBus’ core technical staff has more than five years of experience using AWS overseas, so after choosing AWS, they were able to get to work immediately. With its wide range of services and features, AWS has almost everything SoundBus needs, greatly accelerating the speed of business innovation.

Although SoundBus is still in early stages of development, it only took the company a few months to attract major customers such as China UnionPay, HaiKeRongTong, and Coca-Cola. The company also made progress in overseas markets. AWS’ secure, stable and reliable platform and professional support team allow SoundBus to expand its business without worrying about technical hiccups. The company still has tremendous room for growth which, luckily, can easily be sustained by the AWS platform.

To learn more about how AWS can meet your growing needs in building mobile apps, please visit: https://aws.amazon.com/mobile/