开始使用 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例

与按需实例相比,Amazon EC2 Spot 实例以极高的折扣提供 AWS 云中空闲的计算容量。

Spot 实例可以让您在大数据、容器、CI/CD、HPC 以及其他容错工作负载上节省高达 90% 的成本。或者,将工作负载吞吐量提高到 10 倍,并保持在现有预算之内。

什么是 Spot 实例?

如何开始

Spot 实例入门很简单。首先,确定最适合在 Spot 实例上运行的关键工作负载。然后在几分钟内通过 AWS 管理控制台启动一个 Spot 实例,即集成的 AWS 服务,如 Amazon EMR、Amazon ECS、AWS Batch 和 EC2 Auto Scaling 或 EC2 队列 API。访问 Amazon EC2 用户指南,并阅读下面的最佳实践和参考资料。

1. 启动 Spot 之前的注意事项

  1. 观看此视频,看看哪些工作负载最适合在 Spot 实例上运行。
  2. 了解 Spot 定价模式的运作方式,从而提供可预测的低价格,按需定价通常可节省 70%-90% 的费用。

2.创建您的第一个 Spot 实例

product-icon_Amazon_EC2_SpotInstances_icon_squid_ink_125
  1. 了解 Spot 实例如何从 AWS 管理控制台AWS SDK/CLI 或通过 AWS API 启动您的第一个 Spot 实例。
  2. 详细了解如何为 CI/CD大数据容器渲染等工作负载启动 Spot 实例。

3.实现最佳实践

  1. 请观看此视频,学习在启动 Spot 实例时应遵循的一些简单的规则,以最大程度地节省计算成本。了解更多。​
  2. 此处了解如何最大限度地降低中断的影响。

Spot 实例运行方式

product-page-diagram_EC2-Spot-Instances

使用案例示例

带 Spot 实例的容器化工作负载

容器是无状态的、容错的,并且非常适合 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例。观看此网络研讨会,了解如何通过 Kubernetes 有效部署容器化工作负载,并以成本中的零头轻松管理任意规模的集群。Spot 实例可以与 Amazon Elatic Container ServiceAmazon Elastic Kubernetes Service 或 Kubernetes 一起使用,以运行任何容器化工作负载,涉及的范围可从分布式系统到每天绘制数百万英里的应用程序。了解更多

节省通过 EC2 Spot 实例运行 Kubernetes 集群的成本

在 EC2 Spot 实例上运行 Amazon EMR

基于 Spot 实例的大数据工作负载

Spot 实例具备加速、规模和深度成本节省的优势,以运行时间紧迫、超大规模的工作负载,实现快速数据分析。将 Spot 实例与 Amazon EMR、Hadoop 或 Spark 结合使用来处理庞大数据。观看此视频,开始使用 Amazon EC2 Spot 和 Amazon EMR 来轻松、快速而经济高效地处理数据。请访问 Spot 实例上的 Amazon EMR 页面,以获得关于如何利用 Amazon EMR 和 Spot 实例运行大数据工作负载的其他资源。 


基于 Spot 实例的 CI/CD 工作负载

使用 EC2 Spot 插件来配置 Jenkins,以根据要完成的作业量,自动扩展一组 Spot 实例。通过利用老一代的 CI 实例来提高成本节约,因为这些过程不需要大量的测试能力。加载、集成、Canary 和安全测试都能受益于 Spot 实例带来的弹性和低价优势。了解更多。​

您是否知道 Jenkins 有一组 Amazon EC2 Spot 队列插件?

云中的工作室

基于 Spot 实例的渲染工作负载

由于渲染工作负载具有容错性质,因此它们对于在 Spot 实例上运行有极大的优势,并可从 Spot 实例带来的深层成本节约中受益。观看在 2019 SIGGRAPH 推出的本演示,了解如何上手 AWS Thinkbox,以及 Spot 实例如何在云中以极低的成本大规模运行渲染工作负载。在此处了解 Scripps Networks Interactive 如何利用 Spot 实例和 AWS ThinkBox 将 CGI 渲染时间缩短了 95%。


有关 Spot 实例的 Web 应用程序和服务

确定新的成本节省计划,或针对从广告服务器到实时竞价服务器的不同 Web 服务和应用程序,扩展到数万个实例。观看本网络研讨会,了解如何使用 EC2 Auto Scaling 大规模地部署基于 Web 的应用程序。了解如何借助 EC2 启动模板,利用负载均衡器背后的按需实例和 Spot 实例的组合推动和部署 EC2 Auto Scaling 组,以对工作负载进行成本优化。如需了解更多关于在 Spot 实例上运行 Web 应用程序的信息,请阅读本博客。 

如何利用 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例以较低的成本构建可扩展的 Web 型应用程序

EC2 Spot 实例上的 AWS Batch:如何以较低的成本加速批处理

Spot 实例上的批处理

通过 Spot 实例以极低的成本处理批量工作负载。观看本视频,了解如何通过 Spot 实例着手在 AWS Batch 上运行批处理工作负载。为了进一步优化在 Spot 实例上运行的批量工作负载,请了解本博客中介绍的 Spot 容量优化分配策略。访问 AWS Batch 与 Spot 实例页面以获得更多资源。 


Spot 实例上的机器学习

通过 Spot 实例更快地对您进行 AI/ML 培训,且成本更低。观看本视频,了解如何通过 Elastic Inference 运行推理培训作业,并利用 Spot 实例节约最高 90% 的计算成本。了解关于如何设置 Cloudformation 和启动模板以构建自动化解决方案的最佳实践。要了解如何通过托管型 Spot培训在Amazon SageMaker 上更快且成本更低地运行 AI/ML 工作负载,请按照本自学教程操作。 

使用 Amazon Elastic Inference 和 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例将推理成本降低多达 90%

Spot 最佳实践

您的实例类型要求、预算要求和应用程序设计决定了如何针对您的应用程序采用最佳实践。这里有一些建议。

1.Spot 规则

学习两个简单规则,以最大限度地节省计算成本:
  1. Spot 容量池有不同的价格且很少有变动
  2. 当我们需要恢复容量时,Amazon EC2 会给您 2 分钟的警告

2.实例灵活性

尽可能使用不同的实例类型测试您的应用程序。由于可用区内的每个实例类型的价格分开波动,因此,如果您灵活使用实例类型,则通常可以在价格不变的情况下获得更多计算容量。观看此视频了解详细信息。

 

3.队列 API

在 EC2 Auto Scaling 组中运行 Spot 实例时,使用容量优化分配策略访问可用容量最多的 Spot 容量池。容量优化指导 EC2 Auto Scaling 组使用最深的容量池启动 Spot 实例,从而减少中断的可能性。 


处理中断

自动化 2 分钟通知 (4:11)

由于 EC2 需要恢复容量,当这些实例即将被 EC2 回收时,Spot 实例会收到一个两分钟的通知。为了减少中断的影响,请遵循上面提到的最佳实践。

观看此视频,了解自动化您在 Spot 实例被 Amazon EC2 中断时收到的 2 分钟通知。还可以查看 Spot Instance Advisor,以了解不同 Spot 池的平均中断频率。

Getting Started with Amazon EC2 Spot Instances

Amazon EC2 Spot Instances offer spare compute capacity in the AWS cloud at steep discounts compared to On-Demand Instances.

Spot Instances let you save up to 90% on big data, containers, CI/CD, HPC and other fault-tolerant workloads. Or, scale your workload throughput by up to 10x and stay within the existing budget.

What are Spot Instances?

How to Get Started

Getting started with Spot Instances is simple. First, identify key workloads best suited to run on Spot Instances. Then launch a Spot Instance in minutes via the AWS Management console, integrated AWS services, such as Amazon EMR, Amazon ECS, AWS Batch, and EC2 Auto Scaling, or the EC2 Fleet API. Visit the Amazon EC2 User Guide, and read the best practices and resources below.

1. Know Before You Launch Spot

  1. Watch this video to see which workloads are best suited to run on Spot Instances.
  2. Learn how the Spot pricing model works, offering low, predictable prices, with typical savings of 70-90% over On-Demand pricing.

2. Create Your First Spot Instance

product-icon_Amazon_EC2_SpotInstances_icon_squid_ink_125
  1. Learn how Spot Instances work to launch your first Spot Instance from the AWS Management Console, AWS SDK/CLI or via the AWS APIs.
  2. Learn how to launch Spot Instances for workloads such as CI/CD, Big Data, Containers, and Rendering.

3. Implement Best Practices

  1. Watch this video to learn a few simple rules to follow when launching Spot Instances to maximize compute cost savings. Learn more.
  2. Learn how to minimize the impact of interruptions here.

How Spot Instances Work

product-page-diagram_EC2-Spot-Instances

Use Case Examples

Containerized Workloads with Spot Instances

Containers are stateless, fault-tolerant and a great fit for Amazon EC2 Spot Instances. Watch this webinar to learn how to efficiently deploy containerized workloads with Kubernetes and easily manage clusters at any scale for a fraction of the cost. Spot Instances can be used with Amazon Elatic Container Service, Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service or Kubernetes to run any containerized workload, from distributed system to applications that map millions of miles a day. Learn more.

Save Costs Running Kubernetes Clusters with EC2 Spot Instances

Running Amazon EMR on EC2 Spot Instances

Big Data Workloads on Spot Instances

Spot Instances provide acceleration, scale, and deep cost savings to run time-critical, hyper-scale workloads for rapid data analysis. Use Spot Instances with Amazon EMR, Hadoop or Spark to process massive amounts of data. Watch this video to get started with Amazon EC2 Spot and Amazon EMR for easy fast and cost-effective data processing. Visit the Amazon EMR on Spot Instances page for additional resources on how to run your big data workloads with Amazon EMR and Spot Instances. 


CI/CD Workloads on Spot Instances

Configure Jenkins with the EC2 Spot Plug-In to automatically scale a fleet of Spot Instances depending on the number jobs to be completed. Increase cost savings by leveraging older generation instances for CI, as these processes do not require a lot of power for testing. Load, integration, canary, and security testing all benefit from the elasticity and price savings associated with Spot Instances. Learn more.

Did You Know That There Is an Amazon EC2 Spot Fleet Plugin for Jenkins?

Studio in the Cloud

Rendering Workloads on Spot Instances

Due to the fault-tolerant nature of rendering workloads, they are a great fit to run on Spot Instances and benefit from the deep cost savings Spot Instances provide. Watch this presentation at 2019 SIGGRAPH to learn how you can get started with AWS Thinkbox, and Spot Instances to scale rendering workloads for a fraction of the cost in the cloud. Learn how Scripps Networks Interactive leveraged Spot Instances and AWS ThinkBox to cut CGI rendering time by 95% here.


Web Applications and Services on Spot Instances

Identify new cost-saving initiatives or scale to tens of thousands of instances for different web services and applications ranging from ad servers to real time bidding servers. Watch this webinar to learn how to deploy web based applications at scale by using EC2 Auto Scaling. Learn how to use EC2 Launch Templates to power and deploy an EC2 Auto Scaling group using a combination of On-Demand and Spot Instances behind a load balancer to cost optimize your workload. To learn more about running web applications on Spot Instances, read this blog

How to Build Scalable Web Based Applications for Less with Amazon EC2 Spot Instances

AWS Batch on EC2 Spot Instances: How to Accelerate Batch Processing for Less

Batch Processing on Spot Instances

Process your batch workloads for a fraction of the cost with Spot Instances. Watch this video to learn how you can get started running your batch processing workloads on AWS Batch with Spot Instances. To further optimize your batch workloads running on Spot Instances, learn about the Spot capacity-optimized allocation strategy in this blog. Visit the AWS Batch with Spot Instances page for additional resources. 


Machine Learning on Spot Instances

Train your AI/ML faster and for less cost with Spot Instances. Watch this video to learn how you can run inference training jobs with Elastic Inference and save up to 90% on compute costs with Spot Instances. Learn best practices around how to set up Cloudformation and launch templates to build for automation. To learn how to run your AI/ML workloads faster and for less on Amazon SageMaker with Managed Spot Training, follow this self-guided tutorial

Reduce Inferencing Cost by Up to 90% Using Amazon Elastic Inference and Amazon EC2 Spot Instances

Spot Best Practices

Your instance type requirements, budget requirements, and application design will determine how to apply the best practices for your application. Here are a few recommendations.

1. Spot Rules

Learn two simple rules to follow to maximize compute cost savings:
  1. Spot Capacity Pools have separate prices and change infrequently
  2. Amazon EC2 will give you a 2 minute warning when we need the capacity back

2. Instance Flexibility

Test your application on different instance types when possible. Because prices fluctuate independently for each instance type in an Availability Zone, you can often get more compute capacity for the same price when you have instance type flexibility. Watch this video to learn more.

 

3. Fleet API

When running Spot Instances in an EC2 Auto Scaling group, use the capacity-optimized allocation strategy to access Spot capacity pools with the most available capacity. Capacity-optimized instructs the EC2 Auto Scaling group to launch Spot Instances with the deepest capacity pools, lowering the possibility of interruptions. 


Handling Interruptions

Automating 2 min Notifications (4:11)

Spot Instances receive a two-minute notice when these instances are about to be reclaimed by EC2, because EC2 needs the capacity back. To reduce the impact of interruptions, follow the best practices mentioned above.

Watch this video to automate the 2 minute notifications you receive when the Spot Instances are interrupted by Amazon EC2. You can also review the Spot Instance Advisor for average frequency of interruption for different Spot Pools.