Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 6 (x86_64) - with Updates

Centos.org | 6 - 2014-09-29

Linux/Unix, CentOS 6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

69 AWS reviews

External reviews

246 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


3-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Jeff Dearmin

CentOS 6, but having problems

  • June 28, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Pros:
- CentOS 6; rock solid. Usually use Amazon's Linux, but needed a GUI for testing 389/Openldap. XFCE4 installs and works well.
Cons:
- Can't grow root volume beyond 8GB. If I specify a larger volume when installing the instance, the storage is allocated, but I still get a 8 GB root file system. If I grow the volume using fdisk/resize2fs, system won't boot. Just need about 20GB, and didn't want to allocate a separate volume.


    Test site construction

Test site construction

  • August 11, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was used to build the test site. Thank you all!
When there is a AMI of t2.instance for, I'm happy.


    CHENG YJDNCA

help! can't attach volume to other instance

  • July 04, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

i use this Image,and now the instance can't start,i want attach volume to other instance to copy my date.and i got error like.
Error attaching volume: 'vol-7e0fbc7f' with Marketplace codes may not be attached as a secondary device.
i need help.


    Nico

Great way to easily install CentOS, but note the following:

  • May 03, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The image uses an 8GB volume, so if you set it up with say a 250GB EBS volume, it will only see 8GB.

Once logged in, you need to do the following:

sudo resize2fs /dev/sda1 (change sda1 to what the drive location is.


    Web Nerd Girl

Good for what it is

  • March 15, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

If you are looking for a clean core install of Centos then this may be for you. If you are looking for a Centos AMI that has anything beyond being able to connect to it via a command prompt so you can install everything else you need to be able to use the Server for anything, then this is not what you want. This is for advanced Server/Networking Techs who are wanting to custom build their Centos Server.


    3by400

Lack of Instance type support

  • January 14, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This AMI works well but it does not support the new generation c3 type instances. We would like c3 type support added to this AMI.


    Michael Shader

Works well but.....

  • January 07, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

does not support the new style C3 instance type. Would be more useful if it did. It otherwise runs very well.


    Expiwrite Associates, Inc.

OK for disposable instances

  • December 11, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The root device, /dev/sda, created when an instance is launched from this ami cannot be mounted as a secondary device. That is fine until a kernel update fails. If the instance cannot restart you cannot attach the volume as a secondary to another instance in order to fix it.

Fortunately the aws marketplace support group can "unlock" the volume, thus enabling attachment to another running instance as a secondary. This can take some time.

With the availability of pv-grub and xen friendly kernels, it is worth the effort to setup your own CentOS minimal install ami.


    giabao

Lack of support instance type

  • December 03, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I am looking for c3.xlarge instance but when choose CentOS AMI, it does not support c3 family instance type but other AMIs do support.
Please support c3 family insantce type. Thanks


showing 1 - 9