Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

39 AWS reviews

External reviews

114 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Carmelo B.

Spero ottenga la fama che merita e diventi sempre più uno standard tra i produttori

  • November 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN, inteso sia come il set di protocolli che come l'applicazione client/server cross-platform disponibile gratuitamente, merita il massimo successo nel mondo del networking e della security.
L'era delle configurazioni IKE, delle autenticazioni tramite complesse concatenazioni di certificati, l'era di settaggi e regole di nat e firewall lunghissime è terminata grazie proprio ad OpenVPN che in ambiente Linux mi ha consentito di mettere su diversi server VPN site to site per la comunicazione criptata tra alcuni endpoint VoIP con supporto ai file di configurazione OVPN, proprio questi file semplificano tantissimo la vita del team SecOps e degli amministratori di rete e di sistema che non devono più dedicare intere giornate, settimane o mesi alla configurazione manuale, client per client, dei parametri VPN corretti. Spero venga supportato di default da sempre più produttori di PC, router, firewall, telefoni e IoT devices
What do you dislike?
Il client Linux andrebbe rivisto perchè, nonostante GTK o il motore grafico sia installato, non ha nessuna opzione per poter essere eseguito in modalità GUI ma solo da linea di comando, il che rende l'uso ad utenti meno esperti che usano linux per le sole finalità di sicurezza e stabilità, molto più difficile per via della scarsa dimestichezza con la command line
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ho creato circa 18 VPN site-to-site tra Azure e AWS, il mio HQ e AWS, il mio HQ e Azure ed il mio HQ verso gli HQs di altri clienti che ci hanno scelto per la fornitura di servizi importanti e/o business critical che necessitano quindi di totale privacy e riservatezza dei dati transitanti verso la WAN o da e verso la nostra sede. tempo risparmiato: circa 4 ore a server VPN, circa 80 ore totali


    Alex M.

Great for Work!

  • June 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is very to use for our staff. Our staff uses this specifically to access sites that are inaccessible by the public without having a VPN account on our enterprise OpenVPN account. This is an amazing service to have. It really helps with security flaws and breaches since almost any backend only works locally. The cost of use is also very effective for our company and totally worth it and cheap!
What do you dislike?
To be completely HONEST, I don't really dislike anything about OpenVPN. If anything, although this is a very small complaint, the price can be a little high? That's just being picky I suppose.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're able to finally have a secure network for our staff to connect to without the fear of being vulnerable to attacks or even worse, BEING hacked.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN is a very good way to secure your unsecured network if needed. I would recommend this to a company who is having security problems with people attempting to breach your system or if you want to have it as a safety precaution before it happens. It's a very smart thing to do either way!


    Florence R.

A Grеаt VPN for mаny usеs

  • June 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I lovе thаt OреnVPN tаkеs thе сomрlехіty out of еstаblіshіng rеmotе сonnесtіons аnd mаkеs thіngs suреr-еаsy, rеlіаblе, аnd а brееzе to troublеshoot. I like that now it is not necessary to run complex programs in order to connect to a remote computer via an encrypted connection.
What do you dislike?
Not аll my ехреrіеnсеs аrе swееt or grаtе. Thе fіrst сonnесtіon I mаdе wаs not rеасhаblе аnd hаvе to try othеr рoрulаtеd сonnесtіons for slow sрееd. But most likely it was set up in my company. So, in general, the service is very simple and works without failures.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Whеn I nееd to work out of thе offісе аnd stіll ассеss thе dаtа wаrеhousе I usе thіs tool. It аllows mе to bе morе flехіblе іn my work loсаtіon.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Bеіng oреn sourсе, іt’s сonstаntly bеіng іmрrovеd, рlus іt’s сomраtіblе wіth most рlаtforms аnd vеry аdарtіvе to VPN softwаrе сlіеnts.


    Oleksandr T.

Opensource, fast, reliable and configurable VPN software

  • June 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Stable and reliable performance. In the config file of a specific server, you can specify a lot of necessary options. Simple switching between servers via GUI. Other VPN services usually provide OpenVPN config-files for their servers.
What do you dislike?
It is necessary to prescribe in the config files the option to protect against DNS leaks, in other VPN services this is usually already taken into account by default.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have several development teams in different countries, one of which blocks the web resources of the other. The software we develop under the strict NDA and the security service limits contact with the outside world. Therefore, we need security in communications and encryption when visiting other web resources. Therefore, in our case, Vpn has become a panacea for all security problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need to quickly install and use a VPN and you have an average knowledge of IT, then this solution is for you.


    Valter B.

Openvpn

  • May 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Openvpn As web interface is easy and intuitive to use.
What do you dislike?
It requires some networking experience, especially when configuring private subnet access.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have improved reliability and security for remote access for building automation systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A very robust solution.


    Internet

OpenVPN

  • May 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple interface thats has very intuitive options to select the needed options .
What do you dislike?
The phone application of OpenVPN does not have the option of completely hiding the app or hiding it more than usual.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use a lot of wifi hotspots and need a secure connection to the internet.


    Jeremy F.

Low effort and highly reliable client to VPC VPN

  • May 16, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The availability of client software for all operating systems and mobile devices means my customers can connect regardless of their setup.
What do you dislike?
I’ve not had any bad experience with OpenVPN.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use OpenVPN to support a legacy 3 tier application running on AWS. My customers run the windows client locally and connect to the databases and other services over the VPN.


    Josh W.

Excellent, flexible solution for our Azure environment

  • May 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The documentation & excellent technical support.
What do you dislike?
Occasionally I have to disconnect the VPN client and reconnect it. This happens maybe 1 time per day or every other day. It could just be my system though.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have secured our Azure environment by requiring users & admins to connect by VPN to manage our servers and other business critical resources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would strongly recommend reviewing the relevant documentation before setting up the Open VPN Access Server.


    Glenn R.

One of the best VPN clients on the market

  • May 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is a great VPN tool. A lot of operating systems natively support VPN, however try to set one up and you will notice the limitations. OpenVPN is incredibly easy to setup and use. We use this tool to allow users to access the same network. Connecting is a breeze and there are no bugs. The software is also very secure. Importing certificates is also easy and with literally ever other VPN tool out there this is not the case at all.
What do you dislike?
When you first install it through a web browser, you will be asked to login. I have found that for some reason this screen just hangs and does nothing. Not sure what that is about but it does not effect the functioning of the software. T
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN is used to allow users to access our internal network without being directly connected.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Stable and easy to use VPN client


    Dub

Wonderful

  • April 09, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It works like a charm. Easy to use and setup!! I will continue to use this while in my travels to connect to websites I can in other countries. Fast too.