Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Multisite Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami | 5.5-0 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

24 AWS reviews

1-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    ComputerGuy

Basic Wordpress Functions Broken

  • August 24, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I should have stopped using this image when, right out of the box, I couldn't even create users in Wordpress. I persisted though and was unable to upload a theme and also could not activate the WP Mail SMTP plugin.

I restarted with the non Multisite Bitnami AMI and this all worked just fine.


    william zeitler

Dismal failure

  • May 26, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have set up maybe 100 Apache websites by hand, untold lines of PHP, etc.

I followed the directions and all I get is 404, regardless of my troubleshooting efforts.

1 person found this helpful

    jbesw

No longer works

  • September 26, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This used be a near-perfect AMI but has completely stopped working on AWS. Hopefully Bitnami can fix this but it's been broken for some time.


    Andrew

Don't waste your time

  • August 24, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

As reported by reviewers for over 2 months, this AMI is worthless. Follow their instructions and you'll end up not being able to login to your WP instance.


    Kiko

False product

  • July 05, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

NOT WORKING!!!

Worst experience ever. No multisite. No networking configuration. Unsecured MySql installation. In any case this is an install-and-go image. Bitnami is the worst software images provider ever seen.

It has been impossible to set up this image.


    Dmitry from Kuoll

Non-functional, could not login, cookies domain missconfiguration

  • June 24, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

After installation it sets the default site to http://***.compute-1.amazonaws.com/
and cookies are not enabled to accessible, so, wordpress disallows login.

Error message:
> ERROR: Cookies are blocked or not supported by your browser. You must enable cookies to use WordPress.

Default configuration redirects from http://www.kuoll.com/ to http://***.compute-1.amazonaws.com/

Edited wp-config, still no solution.

Non-multisite instance by Bitnami works ok.


    Trentin

no t2.micro support

  • August 24, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It will not run on a t2.micro.

They have not included it as a supported platform.

Finding login information for this product is hard.

You also have to hunt for all the config and log files as they are not in standard linux places


    SomeAssyReqd

Poor initial experience

  • May 07, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Deployed the image and followed pages and links from the Bitnami's site and never could get logged into the Wordpress Admin Console ( /admin). Their instructions list a default user (that seemed valid), but the password for an AMI (non-CloudFront) instance failed. I'd love to rate this higher (I've installed Wordpress on CentOS before quite easily, but this was NOT the experience I would have expected for a pre-built image.


    retok

Definitely not plug and play

  • April 18, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

After the AMI is ready in AWS the hunt for information starts. It starts with finding what the login info for Wordpress admin is (to be found somewhere on the Bitnami sites FAQ). Then logging in with SSH to the console is also not intuitive if you haven't done it before. It's more complicated than just entering a user and password. However to be fair, the super secure SSH login is an Amazon thing and not directly connected to the Bitnami installation.

The reason to login to the console at all is if you don't want your Wordpress installation in a subdirectory like the default (/wordpress) then it's getting really complicated. And actually that was the point I gave up. Even though some instructions were provided, they simply don't work. The command you are supposed to enter give a "command not found" error and the so called "manual way" asks me to edit files I don't have in my directory.


    Les

Free Tier Eligible Description Is Misleading

  • March 24, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Signed up for the Free Tier. Selected this product to install because the description said it was Free Tier Eligible in "bold". During the install was promptly warned it would not perform properly if installed at the Free Tier level. Completed the install with no issues as I was curious to see if it would even start correctly but it did. Then I deleted the server as it is useless to install something to test when you know in advance from the manufacturer that it won't run properly.

Tried the install on a Windows Server image that was "Free Tier Eligible" as well and that "Free Tier" image not only said it would NOT run correctly unless you installed it on a server two levels above the Free Tier, the disk image was larger all by itself than my entire Free Tier allocation.

I REALLY HATE bait and switch. Went back to my shared host to do my testing as I can't really use the Free Tier to test as nothing can be installed that's stronger than a pocket calculator at the Free Tier level.

This image and the Windows Server image "may" be great but the Free Tier language in this and the Windows Images is totally misleading. For that reason I give it an F along with the Free Tier program.

To run a couple of test servers at the proper computing level will cost me way more than at a shared host. I may come back when I get ready for production but for a startup incubator type of situation where you are trying to keep your costs as low as possible there are cheaper solutions out there.


showing 1 - 10