Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami by VMware | 6.1.1-1-r01 on Debian 11

Linux/Unix, Debian 11 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

130 AWS reviews

External reviews

2 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


1-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Sweet Cornnuts

Not quite easy as it seems, once you dig in

  • January 08, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The install is straight forward, and as easy as can be.

That's when the dream stops and the nightmares begin. For example, if you need to find the password, there is an easy way to do it, as in every case -
once you know how! - the password is logged once, and needs to be gotten to at first install. If for any other reason, you reboot the instance before getting the password - the pw is literally lost forever(in AWS). Again, there is an another way, but that means diggin in, and rolling in the mud when it's snowing out, and freezing. In other words - not pretty!

Another example - if you need to change the WP site URL, which is a matter of 10 seconds in every other install, it's a fairly complicated rigmarole here. I mean the wp-config.php file can only gotten to after being proficient in linux..or shooting commands suggested by strangers..so you are literally hitting 'enter' not knowing if this is going to destroy your instance or fix it like they said.

As I said, It's a fair bit of work, after the install. Be prepared. 1 star all the way - Bitnami does not keep it's promise. If the wp-config file is accessible, maybe I'll change my mind coming back - this is part of a normal install and every living human being trying their hand at WP needs to change URL. Or your Wordpress site WILL GO DOWN AFTER A FEW DAYS - because AWS feels like they need to swap IPs...and the circle jerk continues! I'm out, screw BItnami


    Andiamo

Annoying

  • January 07, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I could already access the instance from the IP, I had to generate the elastic IP but I do not know why the instance does not show IPv4 Public DNS, besides I do not know why I can not install an Elastic Load Balancer


    Pete

Password doesn't work

  • March 13, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Followed Amazon's instructions on setting this up, twice. Each time the generated password (in system log) failed when trying to login.


    NO PASSWORD!

WASTE OF TIME

  • September 14, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Spent a good 1.5 hours trying to find the password. Turns out it never generated. Went with another wordpress install. SUPER ANNOYING!


    Oleg Aleksandrov

file permission wordpress plugin problem

  • April 30, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

You face file permission problem with wordpress and it's plugins. Some of them can't create folders and files. You can't change style (css). Google's PageSpeed module for apache is installed and turned on, that can be unexpected and unwilling.


    Milos

Terrible experience

  • July 13, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

For an AMI (Amazon Machine Image) you would expect that it is truly turn key and ready to go.

It simply isn't. And the documentation that is offered on the marketplace page is completely wrong.

The password CANNOT be found in the system log for the instance. Therefore you get a wordpress installation that you can't even log into! Very useful!

If you're not careful you might not even get an instance with a public IP address (Bitnami makes no effort to warn you about this problem).

If you can't get access to the password for the installations (wordpress, mysql) then what is the point of using this image?


    Barnabas R. Helmy

Really horrendous performance.

  • March 19, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Don't bother. As a startup trying to operate on lean principles, this has cause me more headaches than if I just setup on a basic VPS.


    Aleksey Rogalev

no permissions for wordpress

  • March 14, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

+ a lot of documentation
+ easy to setup

- no permissions for wordpress to change theme-style
- no permissions for wordpress to change plugins
- no documentation for that problem


useless spending a lot of time on that setup


    Brian Kurtz

Too Complicated to Get Up and Running

  • September 09, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

People migrating to AWS from other hosting platforms are likely used to one-click installs of Wordpress from cPanel and other hosting management solutions. Just getting things up and running with an instance, security groups, elastic IP, and Route53 DNS "stuff" is a steep learning curve. Discovering that the Wordpress installation is not in the root directory of the domain and that one has to jump through a lot of hoops in order to get the thing working just adds to the frustration.

I ended up un-installing the instance and went with the YAPIXX instance from Oblaksoft because it is already connected to Amazon's S3 storage for hosting media files with the WP2Cloud plugin and the only extra step in addition to a typical one-click Wordpress install was adding three lines of authorization to actually get the EC2 server to talk with the S3 storage platform. That and firing up the typical security group, elastic ip, and tweaking a file to allow SFTP access to the server files for editing.

1 person found this helpful

    codaham

The default password doesn't work

  • August 20, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I installed the Wordpress for Bitnami instance and followed all instructions. Just one problem - I can't login to the wordpress application. Everything I've tried has failed. The 'user' + the password from the System log just isn't right for some reason...