Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami | 5.3.2-2 on Ubuntu 16.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

116 AWS reviews

3-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    okbutfrustrated

How to recover MySQL root?

  • January 14, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Seems can't. Product seems to work solidly, but we inherited this from people who are no longer around. And now we need to reset things.

Followed Bitnami's directions

/opt/bitnami/mysql/bin/mysqld_safe --pid-file=/opt/bitnami/mysql/data/mysqld.pid --datadir=/opt/bitnami/mysql/data --init-file=/root/mysql_cmds --lower_case_table_names=1 2> /dev/null &

But not working

# mysql -u root -p
Enter password:
ERROR 1045 (28000): Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)


    rtUT

After trying to add elastic ip now my public DNS won't load...

  • January 31, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

After trying to add elastic ip now my public DNS won't load...I tried everything fro adding a http port. I tried digging around the web


    marc

File permission FTP wordpress plugins problem

  • January 15, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

You face file permission problem with wordpress and it's plugins. Some of them can't create folders and files. You can't change style (css).

I think bitnami should provide ftp in the image so that we can use it when installing / updating plugins.


    QuickRedFox

Canned App 101 - Part II

  • June 10, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We should have known after JD's review, but we just had to try for the heck of it. We used the Bitnami stack before for Redmine, and that is one stack they get right!

But this stack is a train wreck, and to think nubies just flip the switch and this thing is going to work is a joke. Even for advanced users, you have to configure the AWS SG to SSH. PHP 7.0 is end of life :/ and don't reboot or stop/start or you'll have to start all over. As we had to a few times.

Yet there is a bright side. We discovered aMi STACX on AWS MP with their WordPress stack.

Literally, just like the product video, we were up and running in less than 5 minutes. No joke! Everything just worked and performance was fantastic. Even phpmyadmin worked and the port was even configured to use HTTPS.

I guess in the end Bitnami saved us a lot of time, as we found an alternative that just worked as we expected. Bitnami works if you have time to hack at, or you are very experienced with Bitnami, or you just need a free solution to play with.


    Lee S.

Permission Errors

  • September 20, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Installs and launches great, however cannot run any Automatic updates. File permissions errors across the board makes it EXTREMELY CUMBERSOME to manage. NOTE: Default Directory Permissions (775) / File Permissions (664) --- I ran chmod to change to (755/644) and still receive errors.

ERROR:
A definition of a siteurl or homeurl was detected in your wp-config.php, but the file is not writable. Set your wp-config.php to writable and reload this page.

ERROR:
Update Failed: Download failed. Destination directory for file streaming does not exist or is not writable.

Also, unable to Delete Jetpack to save my life. Even via FTP, deletion returns:
Error: set attrs for /opt/bitnami/apps/wordpress/htdocs/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/json-endpoints/jetpack: permission denied

..c'mon man!


    Taylor M.

LetsEncrypt Didn't Work

  • March 21, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was looking for an easy LAMP install that I could use with LetsEncrypt for certs. I went through the initial install and everything went great, it wasn't super straightforward on how to find my application password but a little googl'ing helped point me in the right direction. I got Wordpress running just fine with no problems but couldn't get LE to do the auto installer... instead I would have to manage certs manually. Decided to build my own LAMP stack where LE works great.


    Razvan

Well organized

  • July 02, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The AIM is well organized and everything is in /opt
Too bad I had to look for passwords on forums.

It would have been nice to have this in a .password file so one make use of them easely


    AoiMaeda

better to have yum

  • April 13, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Easy-to-use for free, which is great. But better to have installed yum. Also nice to clear the layers of the wordpress program files.


    Mark Lam

so far so good

  • December 29, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

If we can change the default user account when install the wordpress, may be it can become more convenient


    Pui Chan

A tough time for non-technical user

  • August 19, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have been a CMS user for years but it's the first time for me to set up a CMS website. I needed to google around for tutorials. The one click solution is actually not that straightforward. There are a lot of hard bits involved. I had a tough time setting up the PuTTY (to SSH to the instance on a windows desktop). Having said so, I guess it is the best thing available in the market allowing a beginner to set up a CMS website. Just be prepared that it may not be that easy.