Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami by VMware | 5.8.2-8-r01 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

128 AWS reviews

4-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Tomer Koren

help suction not very good

  • November 11, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

No essy to find things You need patience to find the solution
Still a nice prodact
Quick and easy installation
Quick and easy installation
Enjoy


    mykeylynx

works great!

  • August 24, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

With a micro tier definitely use it with a SSD. I tried it with a magnetic drive and it's really slow.


    Vince

Reasonably easy to implement

  • July 23, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I will start by stating that I am a self taught coder, and only have moderate technical skills. I was able to get an EC2 instance up and running with the Bitnami Wordpress image in just a few minutes, and had my website ported over in a few hours. It was relatively easy with few issues. My only suggestion is that Bitnami make follow up directions for standard setup issues more readily available. For example, I did have to do a fair amount of searching to learn how to change the default URL.


    christopher zubris

about the best you'll find

  • June 02, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is probably the best "click and go" version of wordpress on ubuntu i could find. I did have trouble getting my domain name server setup with this. If you use the default ec2 (its a very long url in this case) then everything works just fine.
Being new to wordpress i gave up trying to change this and started up a LAMP setup on another instance.

The documentaion is fairly good but not nearly complete enough for EC2 instances. It seemed geared more towards generic ubuntu installs, meaning you already have ubuntu running on your own, ya click the link, download the 'bitnami wordpress for ubuntu' package and run their setup scripts. Some people have posted 'soup to nuts' installs using this setup but it would be nice to see somethign from bitnami. The EC2 specifics were more related to getting the ssh pubkey setup.


    Sergey Kharnam "Serge"

Deployed like a charm, but...

  • May 22, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The default user/password pair for the Wordpress admin console didn't work and it requires to act in tricky way to overcome this. I decided to re-install the Wordpress manually and control end-to-end installation and configuration process.


    Iceberg Th

A wordpress fortress

  • February 06, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Bitnami's Wordpress on Ubuntu 12.04 LTS is great stack. It is a fortress with lots of security measures. So secure that is a bit hard for beginner to work with. I think (checked only by HTML source view from browser, not in mod-enabled folder)that it has a Google's PageSpeed.

It is a bit harder to set W3 Total Cache. It would be nice to see it embeeded in future due to its easy integration with maxcdn.


    Paolo Barbaglia

Easy and express setup

  • December 02, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The wordpress AMI is completely configurable and easy to use. Wordpress is installed and ready to use in a few seconds.


    Eric Lubow

Login Should be Easily Accessible

  • November 27, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

All the docs say that the username and password are what is set at installation time. The AWS version comes pre-installed with Wordpress and it takes time to figure out the admin information. For the record, it's user / bitnami. This should be easier to find.

Otherwise, this is an incredibly useful pre-built Wordpress setup for testing.


    tim 333

Good. Useful does what it says. Had a job figuring out how to connect

  • July 05, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The thing worked fine and produced a version of Wordpress. It took me hours to figure the username and password for Wordpress are set up with are 'user' and 'bitnami' and when you try to connect to the instance you have to connect as 'bitnami' rather than ec2-user. Also when I tried converting to multisite I got some mystery error. Didn't bother spending ages trying to figure that one out


    Ryan O'connor

not bad

  • April 05, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

works well, but I had to hunt around on bitnami's help pages a bit for default ssh user and password and mysql root password. Can you publish those on this page along with the apache config directory?