Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Bitnami LMS powered by Moodle(TM) LMS

Bitnami | 3.10.4-0 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

11 AWS reviews

External reviews

271 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Business Supplies and Equipment

Moodle is a great LMS

  • April 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is easy to use. UI and Ux are great and easy to navigate.
What do you dislike?
The simplicity sometimes lack functions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Training employees that are working from home.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Moodle is great mostly because of the ease of usage.


    Akhilesh A.

Moodle LMS review

  • December 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This one of the best LMS available.
Easy to use interface for both teacher and students.
Ypu can take quize and submit assignments very easily.
What do you dislike?
Only 2GB space is available which is not sufficient for a class size greater than 60 students.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Taking quiz and keeping track of students. Also sharing notes content and video lecture through moodle.


    Higher Education

The Best LMS in the World - DEFINITELY!

  • August 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like every single option that Moodle offers. The stability of the system is amazing. Everything is top notch, there are literally no Bugs at all, even myself as a Advanced user, I have never ever encountered a Bug. Kudos to the QA team of Moodle :)
What do you dislike?
It takes some time to fully incorporate ideas, and maybe the UX is a bit off. I kinda liked the old Moodle.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Every single type. Educational, Training, ...

Also, I did managed to implement the first fully implemented Moodle system in a country!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is the best LMS available. I highly recommend it, especially now with the COVID-19 outbreak.


    Madusanka B.

Total solution for distant learning

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is learning management system which is open source.After configuration we can customize our site by using themes and images. And also, we can personalize our dashboard too. The main feature of Moodle is shearing course materials, by using this we can deliver documents to hundreds of students with a simple update.Manager, teacher admin and student are user levels of Moodle, which can control accessibility.
Real time chat solution and Announcement are helping the increasing relationship of lecturers and students. Mobile version of Moodle is a very useful app for who work with Moodle. This learning management system providing best security features for protecting our date. Logs and reports are help helpful for getting an idea of what users done in the system
What do you dislike?
Moodle can't Configured to own server without the previous knowledge and IT background, And also it has given limited access for free version, Excluding these things Moodle provides good service to the education industry.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As an education base company before use Moodle we deliver to all course materials and assignments by hard copy, as a result of that we have to allocate big number of cost to document printing. After stating Moodle we can save that total amount to the company. And also now we have a strong communication system with our students.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend Moodle because of it including all feature for distant learning.


    Dana W.

Highly customizable LMS with tons of add-on, fully-integrated features

  • June 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is highly customizable allowing you to completely redesign how your course looks, how it is organized, and what tools are fully integrated into the LMS. There are a ton of free themes available for various age groups or purposes that give you a lot of flexibility as to how you want to organize (by topic, week, unit, etc.) and present your site (for K-12, university, public online courses, etc.) . There are also a ton of tools that are fully-integrated (not LTI like other LMSs) so that the students never have to leave your site to complete their work or lessons. There are fully integrated games and other learning experiences that make it easy for students to review vocabulary terms or practice skills. Within most activities/tools, you have almost complete control with a lot of options and settings to customize your delivery or how you want to integrate the activity into your course.
What do you dislike?
Since integrating certain types of assets requires SSH connectivity to the server, I've found that it was easier to simply maintain my own moodle server, but this requires a tremendous amount of knowledge and skill to maintain a secure server. This is not something that someone without a strong computer security background should attempt. While there are tools (like bitnami) that make it easier to get a Moodle site up and running, some of the customization and more interesting plugins require a little back-end knowledge or access to get working right. However, if you're just looking for relatively standard features (lessons, files, progress bars, games, etc.) - that's all easy to install onto your site and easy to configure. I have a few issues with specific plug-ins where they are not as flexible or don't follow the "standard" Moodle way of doing things, but that's not necessarily Moodle's fault. However, I feel like it is Moodle's responsibility to provide (and enforce) a common set of tools. For example, Moodle has the ability to support drag-n-drop reordering of widgets/items on the site and yet not all elements of Moodle take advantage of this. Like the gradebook, for example, I can't easily reorder items or move them into other sections (additional dialogs pop up, and then you have to scroll through dozens of items to find the right place) - when simply drag-n-dropping them should move them to a new order or to a new category without any additional issues. Of course, I've not seen other LMSs with better tools, so I don't fault them too much for this!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I teach programming at the university level and the most important feature for me in Moodle is the Virtual Programming Labs - they allow me to create short or long auto-graded programming assignments that are fully integrated into the Moodle platform. My students have truly benefited from these experiences as they get immediate feedback on whether their code is correct or not. There are some limitations to this plug-in, but it has overall been a fantastic tool that has taken a LOT of grading and evaluation off of my plate.

Students have commented on how they like the organization of Moodle over the other LMS my University uses and I certainly like its transparency. I like how easy it is to post something to Moodle and see that it is "live" or "hidden" from students - everything is right there, at the surface level, nothing is hidden or linked in some odd way. I am able to easily show my students their progress with check-offs next to each item and overall progress bars. My students are game development students, so they like being able to "complete" objectives.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your school is using Moodle, then it is a great, easy tool. The flexibility and plug-ins will satisfy just about any need you have and the fact that they're fully integrated into Moodle, your students will find it seamless to use and intuitive to navigate. It's great for organizing and posting content - everything is on the top-level and immediately accessible, nothing is hidden from the faculty member or doubly linked or in multiple places. Take a few moments to explore the plugins library - it is an amazing set of tools that provide an enormous variety of ways for students to get involved with the content!

If you're building and administering your own server, Moodle can be quite an undertaking (not that any other LMS would be easier). Definitely use a tool like Bitnami to help you install and manage it or contract through an ISP that will support Moodle for you - this will solve 95% of your administration issues with Moodle and make maintenance much easier. But, for the flexibility of being able to install anything you want/need and configure the site to your heart's desire, using Moodle can be amazing!


    Tharek J.

Best E-learning tool with totally free

  • April 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is best web base distance learning software,As result of web base it has high availability and we can login any where of world.Moodle is very organized software which we can easy to understand.It user interface is very user friendly and simple.And also we can customize theme with our institute logo,
Moodle mobile app is available for iOS and Android,Only installing that app we can do every our education work with just finger touch.And also we can install additional plugins to is ,Such as quiz modules,assignment and live video plugin .Normally moodle has good user management system. Using users such as administrator, teacher and student, we can give permission level by level, Not only this thing, but also we can manage the calendar, assignment deadline, assignment marks, and much more.
What do you dislike?
If someone goes to free version on Moodle, Users and capacity have limits, But if you did configuration to any server, you can use it unlimited.Overall Moodle is the best tool for distance learning with all functions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Before we use Moodle, our all student education purpose work are defending on paper base work.We face lots of problems with that.Such as document missing, Bulk of papers and course material sending issues, After we were starting use Moodle that all problems are solved.Now we can work with on time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't waste money and time to develop new software for e-learning and mange student educational works ,It is free ,Just config and use it with all function what you need


    John L.

Moodle works great for most educational needs

  • April 05, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love the customizability of Moodle for a variety of educational applications and the thought that has gone into the design and features. I also love that it is FREE, open-source and has a worldwide reach.
What do you dislike?
I dislike that MoodleCloud, which has a free site hosting offer, does not allow you to use validated plug-ins. It may be that this forces individual/institutional users to go to commercial hosting providers or host the installation themselves on a private server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Moodle for educational purposes as an adjunct professor and I have started a business that works with organizations to assist them with setting up and create virtual environments such as a virtual conference.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In addition to using Moodle at my post-secondary institution, I have independently created Moodle courses on a home installation. Set-up is a snap, and every time that I do, I learn more and more about the features included in Moodle. They have a great support community and documents database. Best of all, Moodle is open-source software, and FREE!


    Higher Education

Channel to deliver knowledge

  • March 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I worked with moodle in my exchange in Portugal when I spent 6 months studying in a college there. All my classes were registered on moodle and the teachers provided the materials weekly on the platform. Moodle is an easy way to host learning material and to pass challenges/homeworks for the people who are learning. The student can find in one place notes, curiosities, challenges, homeworks and all types of materials that the teacher wants to share in one place.
What do you dislike?
Moodle is not so much a friendly-user, it could be more customizable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
How the material is totally centralized, I just need to go in Moodle and see what is new.


    Higher Education

Moodle - great platform for learning

  • December 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's great if you need to personalise it. It's really interactive and user friendly.
What do you dislike?
Lack of dashboards for students to see their progress.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A lot of plug ins can be used to enhance users' experience. It's also easy for students to use.


    E-Learning

Easy to coordinate and place e-learning course on, for students to use.

  • November 12, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple, easy, straightforward structure. I like the fact I can quickly edit courses and cohorts. This helps me place the important aspects of a course in an organized fashion.
What do you dislike?
N/A I like everything about the program, maybe the interface could use a more warming look.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Elearning courses and saving time on doing it myself. Time-saving, easy to manage, fast to fix mistakes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Play around with it, and find all the easy to use features.