Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 6 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 1901_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Create Your Own Review

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

34

Sort by

Filter by


3-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Matt B

Good, except for the small partition

  • March 16, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

FIXED: So I talked with AWS services yesterday. They helped figure things out. The old images used non partition drives, which allowed the resize2fs. I found this http://blog.backslasher.net/growroot-centos.html which allows you to create a new AMI, isn't great having to maintain another thing, but it works. You can save that AMI off after running those commands on that link and that allows you to then resize the drives easily.


    MikeBox

It is possible to resize the root drive, but not kosher

  • August 05, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

See the earlier posted comment; read closely the steps described here: https://forums.aws.amazon.com/message.jspa?messageID=547507#547507 Essentially, you need to be careful to note the starting sector (probably 2048) and live-format (no data destroyed) on the disk partition and then reboot. I was also stuck on the 8gb problem as others posted, and got around it with this method.


    Axel Piérola

no access to the root

  • April 15, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Root access is not active, someone has been able to enter?
Access gives you is for the user "centos" then with the command "su" to "root" for a password.
The documentation says "This image is built to allow remote ssh login only as 'root' user With the key specified at launch time instance" but at no time asked me a key.
Someone could solve this?
Thank you


    NCBI - SRA

Not "Cloud Ready"

  • June 24, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is specifically about the AMI, not the CentOS 6.6 product itself. It unfortunately suffers from the following faults:

1) 8GiB fixed root (/) partition
2) No cloud-init
3) Clumsy root ssh key handling - instead of using cloud-init, it uses /etc/rc.local in a while loop to check for the SSH key. You can leave an old key in there very easily.
4) As of this writing (late June 2015) it has not been made compatible with the t2.large & c4.* type instances.

The first three points could actually be fixed by installing cloud-init and configuring it. For my organization I've rebuilt the AMI with:

# yum install -y cloud-init
# yum install -y dracut-modules-growpart cloud-utils-growpart
# to /etc/cloud/cloud.cfg, add:
growpart:
mode: auto
devices: ['/']
ignore_growroot_disabled: false
resize_rootfs: True
# dracut -f

Then create a new AMI. On boot, the cloud-init "growpart" module will grow the root partition to the total EBS size. Clearly, if that's not what you what, change or ignore that advice.

You can also fix this manually with a repartition and a reboot, but this will not automatically work as a new image.

# fdisk /dev/xvda <<END
u
d
n
p
1
2048

w
END
# reboot
# (after reboot)
# resize2fs /dev/xvda1
# df -h / # should now be entire EBS volume


    Nandakumar

CentOS 6 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

  • May 20, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Hi,

We are really happy to say this image, which is more convenient for us. Then we are expecting lvm image from the Centos end.


    Darryl Kuhn

Partition Size

  • February 02, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

As others have written it's a pain to resize the root partition of this AMI - but it is doable. It took me quite a bit of googling but this post https://forums.aws.amazon.com/thread.jspa?messageID=539484 by eyefreight-admin contains the steps necessary to resize the partition successfully. One note what that I had to run resize2fs after completing the steps and rebooting. Hope this helps the next person down the line.


    Production

Still some major unsolved issues.

  • October 29, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

- root login only out of the box - this can be fixed, but it's more foot work for every users.

- Still very, very difficult to resize root partition. This is very painful, the only practical workaround is fix this partitioning situation manually and keep those large AMIs ($$$). CentOS on HVM is the only linux OS I am aware of that insists on partitioning the root partition like this when the root partition is resized (to 100G in this case):

root@ip-172-31-20-225 ~]# lsblk
NAME MAJ:MIN RM SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
xvda 202:0 0 100G 0 disk
└─xvda1 202:1 0 8G 0 part /

This makes nearly impossible to automate the deployment of those images on a larger root partition. The disturbing thing is that this is done right with the Paravirtual CentOS AMIs and root partitions can be resized at instance launch time and adjusted with simply running 'resize2fs'. This is maddening for those of us that cannot live with a default 8G root partition because we run software that insists very hard on using more space there.

Hope this can be addressed eventually.


showing 1 - 7