Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 6 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

34 AWS reviews

External reviews

194 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


3-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Religious Institutions

CentOS is great for running server applications and general workloads

  • October 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love how easy it is to maintain packages
What do you dislike?
The clunky desktop packages (no fault of centos really, but)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS allows me to not have to have licenses to enterprise grade software (RHEL)


    jordi g.

Sistema operativo principal para sistemas vitales.

  • October 30, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Es muy fuerte - Muchos repositorios y paquetes para cualquier programa de software. El supervisor de paquete tiene el máximo del software que desea ejecutar el dispositivo e incluir depósitos adicionales es sencillo. Centos es de primera clase excepcional y al igual que con la mayoría de los sistemas para cumplirlo. Llegó aquí en tres modelos principales. La seguridad es máxima.
What do you dislike?
Ciertos aditivos pueden no estar disponibles de manera adecuada. La GUI es minimalista y puede ser más alta para los clientes finales. Ahora no estoy tan familiarizado con el dispositivo RPM, proveniente de las distribuciones totalmente basadas en Debian en mi último proceso . La GUI es minimalista y puede ser más alta para los clientes finales. Puede ser un poco lenta para aprovechar las variaciones contemporáneas del programa de software, pero esto es más a menudo debido a la necesidad de mantener la seguridad y la integridad.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cuando construyo un entorno completamente nuevo para poder alojar ofertas de infraestructura, deseo aplicar un sistema operativo que sea sólido y algo que se admita por bastante tiempo parches de seguridad y actualizaciones. La documentación que se tiene en Internet para CentOS hace Suaviza a la mano a diferentes personas en mi organización. Usamos los servidores CentOS Linux para alojar varios de nuestros sitios web orientados al usuario. Con CentOS podemos usar la función máxima de RedHat Linux, pero sin gastar lo que sea, tiene todo el dispositivo que queremos y el reemplazo es rápido y normal Asegura el backend del máximo de los grupos de telecomunicaciones con los que he trabajado en mis 18 años de experiencia
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Hay muchos sistemas operativos basados ​​en Linux, sin embargo, Centos es el más estable y confiable de ellos. Defiendo a CentOS por su fácil instalación e implementación, para mí es el jefe de sistemas operativos de Linux, muchos fabricantes o paneles pueden certificar que está bien. Adecuado con el máximo software suelto que existe. Es muy estable y relajado. La confiabilidad nos ahorra tiempo. Hemos podido desplegar diferentes soluciones web utilizar como base este SO, tenemos tiendas en línea desarrolladas sobre PHP y Magento


    Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Prefer Fedora

  • February 15, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Basically CentOS is RHEL without technical support. My research group use it for the excellent stability and compatibility. I use it for running in-house scientific computing codes.
What do you dislike?
Most components (linux kernel, glibc, etc.) are quite old, which can be trouble . I personally prefer Fedora if I have to use rpm Linux distribution. From my personal experience Fedora is not less stable than CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Operation system, I use it for scientific computing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Suit for small organizations that cannot afford RHEL.


    Matt B

Good, except for the small partition

  • March 16, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

FIXED: So I talked with AWS services yesterday. They helped figure things out. The old images used non partition drives, which allowed the resize2fs. I found this http://blog.backslasher.net/growroot-centos.html which allows you to create a new AMI, isn't great having to maintain another thing, but it works. You can save that AMI off after running those commands on that link and that allows you to then resize the drives easily.


    Amol B.

CentOS + Genomics' Research = Not So Fun

  • October 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This Linux OS is basically a rock solid system for business enterprise type of capability. It is scalable, provides a robust set of features and after the environment is setup, there is not a tremendous amount of maintenance necessary.
What do you dislike?
The configuration of this OS is quite painful. Documentation is pretty sparse and you have to rely predominantly on what can be searched via forums. What normally would take me a afternoon to setup with a competitor's OS, would normally take me 2 days. Repo's are hard to work with too and it is a general chore to setup.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We utilized this OS to store large sources of genomics data and then use that information with machine learning. Maybe that is why it took some time to setup and work with because my lab was use to a different OS and our lab director decided for better stability and version control to work with Cent.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It really depends on what is trying to be achieved. They are plenty of platforms to consider. Ours was trying to develop a in house cloud based computing and liked Cent's expandability. We explored other options too like OpenStack and even Red Hat.


    MikeBox

It is possible to resize the root drive, but not kosher

  • August 05, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

See the earlier posted comment; read closely the steps described here: https://forums.aws.amazon.com/message.jspa?messageID=547507#547507 Essentially, you need to be careful to note the starting sector (probably 2048) and live-format (no data destroyed) on the disk partition and then reboot. I was also stuck on the 8gb problem as others posted, and got around it with this method.

1 person found this helpful

    Axel Piérola

no access to the root

  • April 15, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Root access is not active, someone has been able to enter?
Access gives you is for the user "centos" then with the command "su" to "root" for a password.
The documentation says "This image is built to allow remote ssh login only as 'root' user With the key specified at launch time instance" but at no time asked me a key.
Someone could solve this?
Thank you


    NCBI - SRA

Not "Cloud Ready"

  • June 24, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is specifically about the AMI, not the CentOS 6.6 product itself. It unfortunately suffers from the following faults:

1) 8GiB fixed root (/) partition
2) No cloud-init
3) Clumsy root ssh key handling - instead of using cloud-init, it uses /etc/rc.local in a while loop to check for the SSH key. You can leave an old key in there very easily.
4) As of this writing (late June 2015) it has not been made compatible with the t2.large & c4.* type instances.

The first three points could actually be fixed by installing cloud-init and configuring it. For my organization I've rebuilt the AMI with:

# yum install -y cloud-init
# yum install -y dracut-modules-growpart cloud-utils-growpart
# to /etc/cloud/cloud.cfg, add:
growpart:
mode: auto
devices: ['/']
ignore_growroot_disabled: false
resize_rootfs: True
# dracut -f

Then create a new AMI. On boot, the cloud-init "growpart" module will grow the root partition to the total EBS size. Clearly, if that's not what you what, change or ignore that advice.

You can also fix this manually with a repartition and a reboot, but this will not automatically work as a new image.

# fdisk /dev/xvda <<END
u
d
n
p
1
2048

w
END
# reboot
# (after reboot)
# resize2fs /dev/xvda1
# df -h / # should now be entire EBS volume

1 person found this helpful

    Nandakumar

CentOS 6 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

  • May 20, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Hi,

We are really happy to say this image, which is more convenient for us. Then we are expecting lvm image from the Centos end.


    Darryl Kuhn

Partition Size

  • February 02, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

As others have written it's a pain to resize the root partition of this AMI - but it is doable. It took me quite a bit of googling but this post https://forums.aws.amazon.com/thread.jspa?messageID=539484 by eyefreight-admin contains the steps necessary to resize the partition successfully. One note what that I had to run resize2fs after completing the steps and rebooting. Hope this helps the next person down the line.