Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

This is the Official CentOS 7 x86_64 HVM image that has been built with a minimal profile, suitable for use in HVM instance types only. The image contains just enough packages to run within AWS, bring up an SSH Server and allow users to login. Please note that this is the default CentOS-7 image that... See more

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

61
Create Your Own Review

    rio197

Very useful

  • January 24, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Good OS overall. Specifically for this product, clicking on the Wiki URL gave me a "page not found" message. But I'm not a first-time CentOS user, so it didn't bother me.


    Roi

No new image is available to mitigate Meltdown and Spectre

  • January 15, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Looking at the images available, I see no new image is available to mitigate Meltdown and Spectre. This is basic. This is a crucial update and customer are supposed to upgrade on their own


    Max Stepanov

Instance limitations makes this image close to useless

  • November 26, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This image is locked to just a number instance types. If you plan to change instance type in the future DO NOT USE THIS IMAGE!
AWS Support can't do nothing about it!


    dennis

Bug report

  • May 18, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Will the new version of centos7, Did you fix the bug "modify the system time then the system crash" ? Hope to be answered


    Searvo

Create a swap file!

  • May 13, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Please be aware this instance is pretty much useless with less than 1GB of ram unless you create a swap file. This process is really simple and all you need is a 2GB swap partition to get anything done. Currently running nano for all my purposes.


    bdavis

Only issue is kdump won't start on instances with < 2GB ram

  • April 20, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Only issue is kdump won't start on instances with < 2GB ram, tracked this down to the crashkernel=auto setting. Changing to pre-determined value seemed to allow kdump to start successfully.


    cOrtEx

i3.large instance type not available

  • April 11, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

AMIs do not support i3.large instance types
Recent bug report https://bugs.centos.org/view.php?id=12883 was resolved with rest of i3 instances enabled, but i3.large was skipped


    Simple, clean, minimal CentOS 7 image

Simple, clean, minimal CentOS 7 image

  • January 03, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

If you are looking for a simple, minimal CentOS 7 image - here it is. Selinux enabled, no additional packages pre-installed, the cloud-init script does only necessary minimum. Perfect!
As it is mentioned from other posts, this is a marketplace image with some restrictions (mounting, cloning, ...), it doesn't concern us so far.


    dataman

Selinux fails to update, crashes VM

  • August 26, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We didn't used to have any issues with this AMI, not sure what has changed or what I'm doing differently but my steps are pretty simple. 1.Choose Centos 7 AMI 2.20 GB drive chosen 3.Set network stuff 3. Launch 4. Run sudo yum update -y 5. Crashes on selinux-* update stuff Workaround for now sudo yum update -y --exclude=selinux*


    Jeff P.

Incorrect Marketplace restrictions in place

  • March 22, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We started experimenting with CentOS7 Marketplace images, but had a node fail. The Marketplace images have a marketplace restriction which prevents an EBS volume from being mounted onto another node for examination or recovery of data off the root partition:

Error attaching volume: Cannot attach volume 'vol-xxx' with Marketplace codes as the instance 'i-xxx' is not in the 'stopped' state.

This error message, from the Amazon reps on the Amazon Support Forums, indicate that the volume has a restriction against being mounted as a secondary volume.