Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

66 AWS reviews

External reviews

207 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


3-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Varun J.

Best version of RED HAT Folk

  • October 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- RED HAT
- I love and support RED HAT System
- Enterprise support
What do you dislike?
- UI and UX could be better
- App store like ubuntu
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Used as development and deployment OS


    Religious Institutions

CentOS is great for running server applications and general workloads

  • October 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love how easy it is to maintain packages
What do you dislike?
The clunky desktop packages (no fault of centos really, but)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS allows me to not have to have licenses to enterprise grade software (RHEL)


    jordi g.

Sistema operativo principal para sistemas vitales.

  • October 30, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Es muy fuerte - Muchos repositorios y paquetes para cualquier programa de software. El supervisor de paquete tiene el máximo del software que desea ejecutar el dispositivo e incluir depósitos adicionales es sencillo. Centos es de primera clase excepcional y al igual que con la mayoría de los sistemas para cumplirlo. Llegó aquí en tres modelos principales. La seguridad es máxima.
What do you dislike?
Ciertos aditivos pueden no estar disponibles de manera adecuada. La GUI es minimalista y puede ser más alta para los clientes finales. Ahora no estoy tan familiarizado con el dispositivo RPM, proveniente de las distribuciones totalmente basadas en Debian en mi último proceso . La GUI es minimalista y puede ser más alta para los clientes finales. Puede ser un poco lenta para aprovechar las variaciones contemporáneas del programa de software, pero esto es más a menudo debido a la necesidad de mantener la seguridad y la integridad.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cuando construyo un entorno completamente nuevo para poder alojar ofertas de infraestructura, deseo aplicar un sistema operativo que sea sólido y algo que se admita por bastante tiempo parches de seguridad y actualizaciones. La documentación que se tiene en Internet para CentOS hace Suaviza a la mano a diferentes personas en mi organización. Usamos los servidores CentOS Linux para alojar varios de nuestros sitios web orientados al usuario. Con CentOS podemos usar la función máxima de RedHat Linux, pero sin gastar lo que sea, tiene todo el dispositivo que queremos y el reemplazo es rápido y normal Asegura el backend del máximo de los grupos de telecomunicaciones con los que he trabajado en mis 18 años de experiencia
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Hay muchos sistemas operativos basados ​​en Linux, sin embargo, Centos es el más estable y confiable de ellos. Defiendo a CentOS por su fácil instalación e implementación, para mí es el jefe de sistemas operativos de Linux, muchos fabricantes o paneles pueden certificar que está bien. Adecuado con el máximo software suelto que existe. Es muy estable y relajado. La confiabilidad nos ahorra tiempo. Hemos podido desplegar diferentes soluciones web utilizar como base este SO, tenemos tiendas en línea desarrolladas sobre PHP y Magento


    Jason Floyd

Doesn't work with user-data script!

  • May 08, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

These official CentOS images do not work with user-data scripts! just a simple script like below will fail:

#!/bin/bash
echo "asdf" > /tmp/foo.txt


    Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Prefer Fedora

  • February 15, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Basically CentOS is RHEL without technical support. My research group use it for the excellent stability and compatibility. I use it for running in-house scientific computing codes.
What do you dislike?
Most components (linux kernel, glibc, etc.) are quite old, which can be trouble . I personally prefer Fedora if I have to use rpm Linux distribution. From my personal experience Fedora is not less stable than CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Operation system, I use it for scientific computing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Suit for small organizations that cannot afford RHEL.


    Amol B.

CentOS + Genomics' Research = Not So Fun

  • October 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This Linux OS is basically a rock solid system for business enterprise type of capability. It is scalable, provides a robust set of features and after the environment is setup, there is not a tremendous amount of maintenance necessary.
What do you dislike?
The configuration of this OS is quite painful. Documentation is pretty sparse and you have to rely predominantly on what can be searched via forums. What normally would take me a afternoon to setup with a competitor's OS, would normally take me 2 days. Repo's are hard to work with too and it is a general chore to setup.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We utilized this OS to store large sources of genomics data and then use that information with machine learning. Maybe that is why it took some time to setup and work with because my lab was use to a different OS and our lab director decided for better stability and version control to work with Cent.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It really depends on what is trying to be achieved. They are plenty of platforms to consider. Ours was trying to develop a in house cloud based computing and liked Cent's expandability. We explored other options too like OpenStack and even Red Hat.


    Thomas Jones

At least It's better than their CentOS 6 AMIs...

  • October 21, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

To be honest, the AMIs from CentOS.Org are generally disappointing. While they're great starting points for creating more useful AMIs, they're not otherwise well-suited for generic use.

While it's nice that they're finally releasing AMIs with cloud-init, it's a bit disappointing that the AWS cli tools aren't included. It's really not that hard to export the SRPMs from an Amazon Linux instance and build them for other instance types. So, really not sure why CentOS doesn't include them. It's literally five minutes worth of work (if'you've scripted the process out). That they don't even include the awscli package from either pypi or from S3 is even more disappointing - as there's next to zero work to install that package.

Why is this a gripe-point for me? No AWS CLI tools greatly limits what you can do with your AMI: there's little point attaching an instance role if you've got no tools to make use of that role; if you want to make use of the HVM optimized drivers, no AWS RPMs means you're kinda boned, too.


    Vasili Syrakis

Can't launch via API

  • September 03, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I would rate 5 stars if it could be used to launch EC2 instances via the API... Apparently I need to accept terms and subscribe (which I've already done).


    Tim Gerk

Not the same as CentOS 7 Minimal distro, Not updated.

  • May 18, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I feel misled. Systemd and firewalld are not installed or enabled on this image. Whether or not I like these changes from earlier major CentOS versions, I did not expect the AMI to diverge from the canonical minimal distribution.

Despite the title, the AMI is not up-to-date when started. You will still need to yum update and reboot first thing.


    FocalX Solutions

Upgrade need quite some learning curve

  • November 08, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Upgrade between CentOS 6 to 7 is quite some different than 5 to 6 or even 4 to 5. CentOS 7 has some fundamental changes that require you to re-establish your admin routine.
Some of the big changes include but not limited to:
1. systemd replacing System V Init
2. MariaDB replacing MySQL
3. firewalld replacing iptables ip6tables
4. Kernel 3.1
5. XFS supported by default instead of ext4
6 Docker container support

Unless you have been following Fedora closely, you may have quite some learning curve before get use to admin CentOS 7.

Also, EPEL repository is still quite empty. So, for production, I would recommend to stay with 6.5 for a little longer.


showing 1 - 10