Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

This is the Official CentOS 7 x86_64 HVM image that has been built with a minimal profile, suitable for use in HVM instance types only. The image contains just enough packages to run within AWS, bring up an SSH Server and allow users to login. Please note that this is the default CentOS-7 image that... See more

Customer Reviews

33
  • 33
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0
Create Your Own Review

5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

Great CentOS!

  • By kim jong teak
  • on 01/22/2019

Thank you so much for providing such a good OS.
We will continue to use it in the future.
I love you.


Great for cPanel DNSONLY

  • By RocketWeb
  • on 10/22/2018

I've launched an instance and installed cPanel DNSOLY version with great success. I condigured a t3.nano instance and had had it working seamlessly for about one week.


Top-of-the-line Linux Distro

  • By Joshua Quek
  • on 07/26/2018

Probably the most stable distro for linux, have been using it for multiple deployments and it has always been stable and predictable. Unlike Ubuntu and Debian, I havent encountered any dependency hell issues with this using yum. This is really the best linux server OS to use after RHEL.


The Gold Standard of Open Source

  • By Jonas Steinberg
  • on 06/29/2018

I really cannot thank the CentOS team enough. As an admin now with about 4 years experience, I have used CentOS for every job I've had as either an infrastructure foundation or as a personal dev box/VM and it is always stable. The AWS cloud offering is no different. I really, really appreciate the work they do and would recommend, without hesitating, that any enterprise small or massive use CentOS for all its OS needs.


Highly recommended.

  • By JBNobrega
  • on 06/03/2018

My thanks to the CentOS team for keeping images up to date.
It has all the minimum necessary to customize an operating system.


Works extremely well

  • By Leif
  • on 05/04/2018

I can't really ask for anything else, this is an extremely basic CentOS with nothing superfluous added onto it so it gets my five stars.


Excellent!

  • By Hunter F
  • on 02/26/2018

I'm using this to run Plesk Onyx on one of the new m5 EC2 instances (since the instance store with Plesk pre-installed only provides support for m4 or earlier). Everything is blazingly fast, even after weeks of uptime, and with reserved instance pricing I really feel like I'm getting a great value.

I would highly recommend this image for hosting any web application and for those seeking a highly stable, high performing, yet lightweight OS, capable of handling most anything a typical user would need.


Simple, clean, minimal CentOS 7 image

  • By Simple, clean, minimal CentOS 7 image
  • on 01/03/2017

If you are looking for a simple, minimal CentOS 7 image - here it is. Selinux enabled, no additional packages pre-installed, the cloud-init script does only necessary minimum. Perfect!
As it is mentioned from other posts, this is a marketplace image with some restrictions (mounting, cloning, ...), it doesn't concern us so far.


Works great after a little setup

  • By DELIVER Plus
  • on 10/22/2015

We were looking for a bare bones install to play with CentOS 7 before deploying in a production environment and this image is perfect for that.

The AWS instructions say to connect as root but the image forced us to connect as centos. Once we were in, we were able to use sudo to set a strong password for the root user and su to root. We realize that logging in as root in a production environment is a bad thing but for testing we expect full root access. Glad this image gave us that ability...hope it doesn't get taken away.


nice tool

  • By obamacs
  • on 10/08/2015

I am new user,I am studying how tio use this ,what i can say is that the service of AWS is excellent

Obama cs