Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Fortinet FortiGate Next-Generation Firewall

Fortinet Inc. | 7.2.0

Linux/Unix, Other 7.2.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

19 AWS reviews

External reviews

110 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Happy customer

Effective and easy to set up

  • August 06, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Provides as good if not better coverage as our on premise NGFW. Easy to deploy and set up.
Unique Master-Slave sync in HA mode as well as API calls to the AWS infrastructure which means we don't need to run a lambda to supervise the state of the master and change the routing. The API calls take care of this.


    Computer Software

Working as a security wall

  • August 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
FortiGate is powerful firewall with affordable price. comparing with other market products fortigate firewall price is low. also very user friendly firewall. not much difficult options are there, easy to implement and manage, lot of powerful security features are there such as VPN connectivity, VLAN network segregation, ACL rules creation, real time monitoring.. etc.
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike, we are happy with fortigate, overoll our experience with fortigate is positive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fortigate providing high secure working environment to us, almost two years we are using fortigate and which is really great firewall. very user friendly firewall. connected with fortigate analyzer, so real time we are monitoring the traffic
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would like to recommend


    Computer Software

Powerful firewall

  • August 02, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
FortiGate is powerful firewall, having amazing security features, comparing with other market products fortigate price is low, annual licensing fee also low. so very suitable solution for small and medium size business people, fortigate has all kind of security features like VPN creation, VLan Segregation, multiple WAN adding feature, fail over setup, ACL creation .. etc. fortigate secures our organization from cyber attacks, very user friendly firewall.
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike, we are happy with fortigate firewall.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using fortigate more than two years, which is linked with same configuration fail-over device, both are running active, passive method. also all our branch offices are connected with IP VPN setup. which works fine. and providing secure connection. and other great feature is VPN client, we are having a small VPN client also, which helps to work from home concept. users can work from home by accessing office network servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would like to recommend fortigate


    Computer Software

Powerful Firewall for Business organizations

  • August 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
FortiGate is powerful. Providing secure network environment.Comparing with other firewalls fortigate is best and cheap. having great security features. we can create VLANs, VPANs, security rules, NAT.. etc
very user friendly interface. Implementation,monitoring is easy. creating rules also not much difficult, no need much technical knowledge. user interface is easily understandable
What do you dislike?
Noting to dislike, We are happy with fortigate.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have been using fortigate more than 3 years. which is connected with fail-over device. both are running fine. also our branch offices connected via fortigate firewall. we have IP Vpn setup also. some users connecting via VPN client. overroll fortigate gives secure office environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would like to recommend fortigate


    Carlos S.

The protection you need for your network

  • July 31, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Within the world of Firewalls Fortinet has always been among the leaders, currently is one of the best applies the technology NGFW.

Fortigate devices offer high level perimeter security, the latency that introduces to the network traffic is minimal.

The subscription services provided by Fortiguard allow you to protect users when the access to the Internet as well as protect the servers you have published.

In my company we have an Exchange server and with the help of Email Filter we have been able to greatly reduce the amount of spam we receive.
What do you dislike?
The configuration of a Fortigate if you do not have experience can be problematic, there are other Firewalls whose configuration is simpler

Another problem that I see to the Fortigate is that they do not have an offline configuration tool, this is annoying because if the Internet connection is very slow the administration of the firewall remotely can be a headache
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
If configured correctly this Firewall can have the guarantee that your perimeter will be well protected.

It is really interesting the amount of configurations that can be done, for example in the company where I work, we have done, among other things, the following:

- WAN Interface Configuration
- FailOver Configuration
- Policy configuration with Web Filter and Application Control
- Publication of servers to Internet
- SSL VPN and Site to Site
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have doubts with a configuration use Fortinet's Cookbooks, they are of great help.


    Angie L.

One of the best UTMs on the market

  • July 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A UTM Firewall is a necessity for any company that has access to the Internet, the threats on the network are many and you must be properly protected to avoid being a victim of any of these attacks and to keep the business safe.

There are many UTM Firewalls, Fortigate in particular is one of the best according to various tests. I have had the opportunity to manage Fortinet devices and I can attest to their excellent protection.

Fortinet UTMs provide protection against: Viruses, Intrusions, advanced attacks, Bots attacks, loss of information, Spam, among others.
They also allow you to perform content filtering, application filtering, VPN, service publishing and many other things.

For me, Fortigate UTMs are essential for the perimeter protection of any company's network.
What do you dislike?
Although the performance of the Fortigate UTMs is excellent, I have had problems with some devices in wich the hard drive has been damaged so I had to open cases with Fortinet support and make RMA. In these cases they give you a "used" device but in good condition. It seems to me that they should return a new not a refurbished one.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With a Fortinet UTM, we have been able to greatly improve perimeter security in one of the company's branches, we have been able to improve bandwidth consumption as we have been establishing blockages of web pages and applications, we have reduced the amount of spam received thanks to the Email FIlter, we have also avoided the leakage of important information through the mail with DLP protection.

On the other hand, it has been possible to establish communication with the main office by means of an IPsec VPN, this has greatly helped to improve the company's processes.

Based on the above, it seems to me that Fortigate UTMs offer a comprehensive protection and communication service, which is essential for any company


    Jose Antonio B.

easy management UTM

  • July 23, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
its easy management, i like the way you change something and it gets applied in the same moment, the same way you can revert something really fast, no need to apply settings, also its multi operating system, since it uses a website to manage the configuration.
What do you dislike?
theres not much to dislike really, it does what it says it does.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
enterprise security, also cloud security, we tried other solutions to use on Gcloud, but this was the more user friendly and works like expected.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you are using gcloud servers, give fortigate a try, it will help you alot with the security


    Angie L.

A little difficult to manage, but has good performance

  • July 20, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I had the opportunity to manage a Fortigate at one of the company's remote sites for which I work and the experience has not been very good.

The configuration of a simple policy involves a number of huge steps to configure it, with other Firewall is simpler

However, once everything is set up, the device performs well and does its job efficiently.
What do you dislike?
The configuration of policies are very tedious, everything has to be done via web or SSH as it has no other offline administration tool.

The visualization of the logs is very poor and there is no way to store them for a long time, to generate reports and better visualize the logs you have to acquire the Fortianalyzer which is a separate device.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
After configuring all the necessary policies and activating the Fortiguard security profiles, the device maintains a high performance and does not generate network slowness.

IPsec VPNs can be established against Firewalls of other brands without any inconvenience.
Email Filter helps reduce the amount of Spam emails you receive

You can effectively analyze traffic and deny access to unauthorized Web pages and applications
Once you adapt to the device, you realize how effective it is to protect the network
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read the help guides created by Fortinet with examples of configurations so you can understand better how to configure the device


    David S.

One of the best Firewalls on the market

  • July 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have used this firewall for a long time and it has met all my expectations and those of the company I work for.

In general terms it fulfills the functions of a UTM, you can create policies to allow or deny traffic to certain destinations, you can analyze the traffic to apply the various security services that are purchased with the license, publish services, etc..

If you have an Exchange mail server, it can be analyzed to stop possible viruses contained in the emails and stop spam emails.
What do you dislike?
What I do not like about this Firewall is that the configuration is very tedious, to configure a simple policy is necessary to enter and exit different menu, I have used other firewalls and the configuration is much simpler

Another aspect that I don't like is that it doesn't keep a historical record of the logs, in order to do this it is necessary to acquire a Fortianalyzer which has a very high price.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With the help of this Firewall I have been able to mitigate attacks to my perimeter network, I have been able to control Internet traffic by users which has greatly improved bandwidth consumption.

Overall, this Firewall has met all our expectations and has greatly improved the security of our network.


    Jorge C.

Good UTM for a decent price

  • July 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fortigate is a good UTM Firewall, for me this firewall do his job, it protects the perimeter of your network using the NGFW technology, however, the configuration is a little bit cumbersome

With this device you can do content filter blocking the access to web pages using the categories provided by Fortiguard, you can restrict the access to applications that are not allowed in your company, you can publish services so they can be available from Internet, you can also create VPNs IPsec with another device and you can make a VPN SSL to gain secure access to your network from your home.

You can do many other things, you just have to check the “Cookbooks” that Fortinet offers
What do you dislike?
You can do many things with this Firewall, but what I dont like is that the configuration is a little bit tricky, you have to go to multiple menus to do a simple thing, apart from this, does its job efficiently
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With this Firewall I was able to solve problems related to the use of bandwidth, the use of unauthorized applications, the use of proxies and so on

But the most important things were:
- I was able to protect the perimeter of my network.
- I was able to do IPsec VPN with the other branches
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Choose the correct Fortigate unit based on the number of concurrent sessions not the number of users