Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Fortinet FortiGate Next-Generation Firewall

Fortinet Inc. | 7.2.1

Linux/Unix, Other 7.2.1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

19 AWS reviews

External reviews

113 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jose Antonio B.

easy management UTM

  • July 23, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
its easy management, i like the way you change something and it gets applied in the same moment, the same way you can revert something really fast, no need to apply settings, also its multi operating system, since it uses a website to manage the configuration.
What do you dislike?
theres not much to dislike really, it does what it says it does.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
enterprise security, also cloud security, we tried other solutions to use on Gcloud, but this was the more user friendly and works like expected.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you are using gcloud servers, give fortigate a try, it will help you alot with the security


    Angie L.

A little difficult to manage, but has good performance

  • July 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I had the opportunity to manage a Fortigate at one of the company's remote sites for which I work and the experience has not been very good.

The configuration of a simple policy involves a number of huge steps to configure it, with other Firewall is simpler

However, once everything is set up, the device performs well and does its job efficiently.
What do you dislike?
The configuration of policies are very tedious, everything has to be done via web or SSH as it has no other offline administration tool.

The visualization of the logs is very poor and there is no way to store them for a long time, to generate reports and better visualize the logs you have to acquire the Fortianalyzer which is a separate device.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
After configuring all the necessary policies and activating the Fortiguard security profiles, the device maintains a high performance and does not generate network slowness.

IPsec VPNs can be established against Firewalls of other brands without any inconvenience.
Email Filter helps reduce the amount of Spam emails you receive

You can effectively analyze traffic and deny access to unauthorized Web pages and applications
Once you adapt to the device, you realize how effective it is to protect the network
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read the help guides created by Fortinet with examples of configurations so you can understand better how to configure the device


    Jorge C.

Good UTM for a decent price

  • July 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fortigate is a good UTM Firewall, for me this firewall do his job, it protects the perimeter of your network using the NGFW technology, however, the configuration is a little bit cumbersome

With this device you can do content filter blocking the access to web pages using the categories provided by Fortiguard, you can restrict the access to applications that are not allowed in your company, you can publish services so they can be available from Internet, you can also create VPNs IPsec with another device and you can make a VPN SSL to gain secure access to your network from your home.

You can do many other things, you just have to check the “Cookbooks” that Fortinet offers
What do you dislike?
You can do many things with this Firewall, but what I dont like is that the configuration is a little bit tricky, you have to go to multiple menus to do a simple thing, apart from this, does its job efficiently
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With this Firewall I was able to solve problems related to the use of bandwidth, the use of unauthorized applications, the use of proxies and so on

But the most important things were:
- I was able to protect the perimeter of my network.
- I was able to do IPsec VPN with the other branches
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Choose the correct Fortigate unit based on the number of concurrent sessions not the number of users


    Daniel H.

Perimeter security equipment adapted to the requirements of any small, medium or large organization.

  • June 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
FortiGate firewalls are versatile teams that offer you a multitude of options and customizations to protect your network and especially see what is happening in it. Your FortiView function is extremely informative, you have a panel where you can choose different views of how you want to see the traffic that goes through the FortiGate, you can see the traffic from the LAN, see the traffic from the WAN, as well as you can see everything. Besides that it allows you to be more granular to observe which policies or interfaces are consuming a greater bandwidth or if a team is making concurrent requests to a malicious website somewhere in the world. With FortiView you can observe all the traffic and any anomaly. I am fascinated by the section of security profiles, there is the essential FortiGate that are the famous UTM antivirus, web filtering, application control, DNS, proxy, IPS, WAF, SSL, as other UTM fundamental for security in a network . You have a section devoted to log where you can also see all the blockages that the team has done granularly. FortiGate incorporates in a single box several Fortinet products, such as FortiWAN, Fortianalizer, Fortimanager, among others, each of them compose a small module in each fortigate that makes the box...
What do you dislike?
Without any complaint everything seemed perfect.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Application of security policies.
Security in the network infrastructure.
Threat Analyzer
VPN.
Redundancy of Internet links.
Apply traffic shaper to networks.
Supervision of ports or services between vlans


    Ernesto S.

Security with fortigate firewall equipment

  • June 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Firewall equipment are teams that are responsible for protecting the corporate LAN network from everything that is Malware, spyware, among other threats that affect the internal network. Fortigate gives us different solutions to solve vulnerability flaws, with the UTM solution the fortigate teams gives us the solution of block of pages restriction through preconfigured categories with the fortigate server that is in the cloud, the licensed equipment is synchronized with the nbe to perform the updates.
What do you dislike?
The use of fortigate equipment in the company Alo24 is for the protection and application of different navigation policies implemented by the administrator, the fortigate equipments also provide services for remote VPN connections, load balancing as SD-WAN and restriction of logical ports for maintain a restricted and sealed network.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With the help of the fortigate teams we have had a secure network and improving the vulnerabilities of the lan network, the fortigate equipments are implemented in all the branches of the company as a security solution.


    Carlos C.

Enterprise-grade firewall backed by millions of companies and representative of the Gartner quadrant

  • May 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fortigate brand that is characterized by firewalls that provide security at the network level in business areas, leading the Gartner quadrant in 2018 as the best UTM security solution against major commercial brands such as Cisco and Palo Alto.

As a firewall it stands out as one of the few firewalls in which its installation and implementation can be done without the need for Fortinet support. On a personal level, when our 500E and 200E firewalls were implemented, the installation and configuration was carried out in the company without requiring external support. It had to replace two Fortigate 110C for a 500E and a 200E. The implementation was based on raising the requirements of security policies including web profiles through the active directory, this was achieved by installing the Fortinet Single Sign-On on the domain controller server and making the respective configuration in the Fortinet in "User & Device "section" LDAP Servers "is added the IP address of the main domain controller, LDAP port, common identifier name, distinguished name, authentication type (Simple, Anonymous, Regular), domain administrator user, user password and validates connectivity.

Based on this requirement, each user has a navigation profile from a literal F (the lowest) to the literal A (Presidency), according to each profile adjusted security profiles called UTM, adding in each policy the following UTM: Antivirus, Web Filter, DNS Filter, Application Control, Data Leak Prevention, Proxy Options and SSL / SSH Inspection. With the application of these UTM users are prevented from entering malicious websites, idle or with virus content, and applications that function as web, also prevents the download of executable files, musicás, videos, among others, also includes navigation with security certificates for the analysis of HTTPS packages. This strengthens Internet browsing within the organization by adding an extra level of security. In addition, this configuration applies to mobile devices.
What do you dislike?
I have not had any problem with the Fortinet firewalls, rather every time a new FortiOS update is included in the firewalls of the company, the last update applied was 6.2 which improves the components of SD-WAN, Security Fabric, Fabric Connectors, MultiCloud, DevOps, Secure Access and other new 120 functionalities.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
An Internet browsing based on web profiles included in a hierarchy from the lowest (F) to the highest (A), also replaces a Fortigate 110C team that falls short with the operation of the company because when adding a UTM processor consumption increases inhibiting the device and discarding all communication to the internet. It creates a communication with the active directory, navigation profiles with mobile devices, including SSL VPN.


    Franco A.

My experience implementing fortigate in my company.

  • May 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fortigate teams are the firewal teams par excellence in the vast majority of companies where the network infrastructure is quite broad. Fortigate computers are teams that provide large amounts of options to apply security in the internal network. One of the most important options FortiGate equipment is the application of the UTM for their latest firmware versions, this option UTM is to classify web pages by category that are updated based on given data fortinet that is in the cloud . With the application of these UTM you can carry out webpage blocking policies by category, also with the DNS filter option. These are options that firewall equipment has to apply security in the infrastructure.
What do you dislike?
With the implementation of the fortigate equipment at the branch level, we have not had any major inconvenience in the connection part of the equipment since the equipment is correctly identified where it is not easy for us to make both the network and power connections. . At nievel administration tam, mpco we have detected failures since it has a very graphic interface where you can make the configurations without problem, with a solid knowledge in the area of ​​networks we will not have big problems for the administration of these teams.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With the help of the fortigate teams, we have implemented security both in the area of ​​malicious web pages and the blocking of web pages that, due to company policies, should not be available to employees.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Improve the firmware update issue.


    Oscar Z.

Experience with Firewall fortigate team from fortinet manufacturer.

  • May 24, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Firewall equipment are edge devices that are in the entrance of the local network of any company where they enter the internet services to apply protection to the local network. The fortinet teams are firewaal teams by preference, these teams provide us with different extensions, applications and different options to apply security, among them we have to highlight the UTM that are categorical and security options that are applied to the users to apply protection, among the utm we have WEBFILTER, DNSFILTER, APLICATION CONTROL, among others that are applied through the installation of a certificate that provides fortinet.
What do you dislike?
In my time of experience as an administrator of these equipments of the manufacturer fortinet I have not had problems to install them nor manufactures them, they are functional basents and with very easy to understand graphical interface, these equipments meet the demands of the company, a team fundamental for the security of the information and bineestar of the information
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This team has helped us in applying security to the network and internal, it has also helped us in the matter of remote access through VPN access to users who work from their homes, the user's configuration and key in the computer is performed and then remotely the users connect through a forticlient client to access.


    Gabriel R.

My experience managing fortigate.

  • May 20, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In the company Serfiprima we implemented a fortinet of the manufacturer Fortinet as a firewall team. Fortinet computers are the computers by firewall preference. With the fortigate configuration options we impose security and restriction of pages, user locks, vpn accesses, among others. When we apply security the UTM we speak of blockages of pages by categories for example web filter and dns filter we apply restrictions between those category, also blockages of applications. These UTMs apply to only licensed equipment. They make mach with the fortigate database that are in the cloud.
What do you dislike?
With the time of implementation and administration of fortigate equipment I have not had failures with the equipment, without a doubt they are teams that work at a high intensity and without problems, with all the solutions they provide us. The complicated thing is the process of updating fimware configurations are lost when increasing of version, it is necessary to be on the lookout when they make these updates.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With the application of the fortigate we have implemented the security branch making restrictions of prohibited pages, as well as providing VPN access for users who need to connect to the internal network to use the resources of the internal network.


    Gerardo F.

My experience applying security with the Fortigate team Fortinet.

  • May 17, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In the insurance company mpiramide we have implemented as a firewall the fortigate team of Fortinet as a security barrier against the WAN network. Fortigate equipment provides security configurations to provide a secure environment in our business network. Fortigate gives us different methods of protection, one of them are the UTM that are categories of blocking pages. With the fortigate it also gives us remote access via VPN that is configured as a server on the computer and the clients manage a client called forticlient.
What do you dislike?
Implementing fortigate I have never had problems when assigning a permit or navigation policy. I configure the data links and the internet links dedicated to the equipment in order to do the filtering correctly, it has not fallen on the part of the team, until now the fortigate teams have responded as necessary to the company.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
with the help of fortigate I have implemented malware security in pages infected with a virus, it has also helped us to block pages that can not be accessed by company policies such as social networks, obscene pages, policies among others, this is achieved with the implementation of the UTM in each policy. We also solve remote connections using SSL VPN or IPSEC connections.