Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 12

Amazon Web Services | v20200615

Linux/Unix, SUSE Enterprise Server 12 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

24 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Education Management

I've been using SLES for >7 years, never had any problems with it

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's a stable enterprise environment.
The support is easy to reach, fast and helpfull.
Patches are released regulary and very fast.
When installing SAP products, we feel they beat the competitors.
There's a great community behind suse.
There's ample documentation available.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the documentation can be a work in progress. I've noticed this with some autoyast documentation that is sometimes a tad bit outdated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We run our complete SAP landscape on suse linux enterprise server, suse is a preferred SAP partner and it shows!
If you follow SAP and SUSE's manual, the installation of SAP products is a breeze.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure to read up on all versions, modules and extensions so you buy exactly the package you need... If managing bigger clusters, take a look at suse manager aswell!


    Education Management

Recommend Suse Linux

  • November 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The facility of install and configure, speedily many kinds of services or package and gui is friendly
What do you dislike?
the version some packages was some old or didn't have the last
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The implement web service for testing, and the benefits of save of time in implementation


    Financial Services

SUSE Linux Enterprise Server Review

  • October 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server (SLES) is an enterprise-grade Operating system validated for running various enterprise applications.

It is widely available On-premise, on various clouds (AWS, Azure, GCP, IBM etc.), edge computing.

It is preferred Operating system for various enterprise applications like mainframe modernization, SAP.

It is open source, easy to modify, customize for various needs and security requirements.
What do you dislike?
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server can have a longer support cycle and a more secured kernel.

It can have be more cost effective for test and PoC use cases.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For migrating on-premises workloads to the cloud, we are using SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for various applications.

For greenfield workload deployments as well, we choose SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for production-grade workloads.

Using pay as you go model on Clouds for quick testing and PoCs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One of the leading operating system for production-grade workloads. Easy to work with.


    Hospital & Health Care

Very good for SAP SYSTEMS

  • October 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best administration for SAP systems which is very good
What do you dislike?
Gui based is the main drawback of the Suse system
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
So many business benefits..like easy to administration


    Telecommunications

Excellent Quality, Stability and Performance

  • October 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked this system for the stability, performance, and UI it offers compared to competitors. The system is simple and the interface is very user-friendly. Suse is best for the Community rules, it's an easy-to-install software, and it's excellent out of the box experience.
What do you dislike?
The incompatibility with Office and other Windows programs. Rather than this everything else is on TOP.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security, stability, and also performance. It uses the resources very efficiently and we used the SUSE® Linux Enterprise High Availability Extension and never had a downtime.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend it as it is very stable and had a great performance.


    Government Administration

SLES

  • August 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the robustness and ease of use of SUSE Linux Enterprise Server. The support is very good and also the documentation.
What do you dislike?
SUSE Lineux Enterprise Server solves my issues, I don't have any particular thing that I dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for several things, containers, web applications and databases for example.


    Retail

Nice and stable Operating System for SAP Applications on IBM Power

  • July 06, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like Suse linux Enterprise Server because of the variety of Custom OS versions for different CPU's like IBM Power and Intel and different applications running on it and also because they deliver both on-premise and cloud-based services. We have Suse Linux Enterprise server running on 6 IBM Power systems, installation is running very smooth. I defenitly like the administration portal for the subscriptions. I also think installation of Upgrades for this OS is really easy. Suse support is great and their community is growing rapidly with very fast response to resolve issues.
What do you dislike?
I really do not have much in a list regarding dislikes. I suppose if I had to pick one thing, it would be the fact that some IBM RST packages are hard to find and manage. I don't like it that some application vendors do not support Suse in their compatibility matrix.
The updates is more a Linux global thing, if you patch once a month you will get a whole bunch of updates. I would like to see cumulative updates like Windows update in Microsoft windows servers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As we use Suse Enterprise server for our SAP Environment we needed an operating system that has high compatibility with SAP on IBM Power system. We found Suse Enterprise Server for SAP applications for this usage. We are very pleased with this OS, because it is easy to deploy and maintain. Also when using Suse Manager to distribute updates in a Dev, Test, Acceptance, Production environment through a Content lifecycle project.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Suse linux Enterprise Server is well suited for production enterprise systems. You need to pick a linux distribution thats most compatible with the application you need to use. For us Suse enterprise linux is the one! This goes without saying, but make sure that SLES supports all of the various applications that you would want to host and buy a support contract. The licensing portal (Suse Customer Center) is very easy to use, I've never had to use it but I know that my coworkers have found it very valuable in the past. Suse linux Enterprise Server is perfect for any size business and should definitely be in the shortlist of operating systems for just about any business critical system. just do it, it is one of the highly secured Linux environments available out there in the market.


    Automotive

If you are going to use a Linux operating system, let it be SLES.

  • December 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
If you need an environment that requires uninterruptedness, it will be very useful for you to use suse enterprise. If you have too many servers, you can use it with susemanager to manage it very easily.
What do you dislike?
The prices are expensive. Especially because they are released very often, they want a lot of money from the versions that enter LTSS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Continuity and management of Linux servers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I suggest you prefer this over other distributions


    Maximiliano P.

A robust enterprise linux distribution

  • June 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The GNOME experience for GUI is excellent. Also the zypper repositories management is straight forward. I've used it for MicroStrategy server and it was a good experience overall. SUSE joined the openstack project. It is healthy to have another player on GNU Opensource disputing the throne of Redhat. Using Redhat content delivery is also a great feature.
What do you dislike?
If you are more familiar with RedHat/CentOS you find some annoying differences that you need to get used to (E.G. apache2 vs httpd). Also the GUI experience is resource intensive. But overall no big complaints.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've implemented MicroStrategy Intelligence Server, Apache & Tomcat with mod_jk and a custom JSTL Based app for authentication againts Teradata sources. We implemented multiple environments for dev, prod, uat, etc on virtual servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
No advise, but personally I'd rather work with Red Hat.


    Information Technology and Services

SUSE is the best OS for people who like the GUI

  • April 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SUSE works well for beginners to learn the Linux OS as it features an (YaST) tool which is a GUI interface to install packages, manage storage, among other things.

SUSE also works very well on the IBM Mainframe running z/Linux.
What do you dislike?
I haven't encountered anything that I have had issues with in regards to SUSE.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
SUSE has made it easy for me to maintain and manage servers running on Mainframe.