Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 12

Amazon Web Services | 20191112

Linux/Unix, SUSE Enterprise Server 12 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

16 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Maximiliano P.

A robust enterprise linux distribution

  • June 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The GNOME experience for GUI is excellent. Also the zypper repositories management is straight forward. I've used it for MicroStrategy server and it was a good experience overall. SUSE joined the openstack project. It is healthy to have another player on GNU Opensource disputing the throne of Redhat. Using Redhat content delivery is also a great feature.
What do you dislike?
If you are more familiar with RedHat/CentOS you find some annoying differences that you need to get used to (E.G. apache2 vs httpd). Also the GUI experience is resource intensive. But overall no big complaints.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've implemented MicroStrategy Intelligence Server, Apache & Tomcat with mod_jk and a custom JSTL Based app for authentication againts Teradata sources. We implemented multiple environments for dev, prod, uat, etc on virtual servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
No advise, but personally I'd rather work with Red Hat.


    Information Technology and Services

SUSE is the best OS for people who like the GUI

  • April 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SUSE works well for beginners to learn the Linux OS as it features an (YaST) tool which is a GUI interface to install packages, manage storage, among other things.

SUSE also works very well on the IBM Mainframe running z/Linux.
What do you dislike?
I haven't encountered anything that I have had issues with in regards to SUSE.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
SUSE has made it easy for me to maintain and manage servers running on Mainframe.


    stephen k.

Enterprise quality Linux distro that you can depend on.

  • April 05, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The support is top notch with custom vetted secured packages.
What do you dislike?
Since it's corp oriented distro you are not going to get the latest kernels or packages. It's probably better to stick with ubuntu or debian
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
System admin and light servers for http server and print servers. And hosting containers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If it's too much risk to try it right away, openSuse is out there for ones to test-drive this product before deploying to production.


    Telecommunications

Upgrowing Linux Enterprise Server is a Linux-based operating system

  • April 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Suse have its own specialty on delivering high-quality Linux and open-source programs and services to customers.
What do you dislike?
There is not much dislikes for suse. Its complete solution for linux based operating system and products. But little upgrade also required on interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Suse has solved problems on delivering high-quality Linux and open-source programs and services to customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend Suse over redhat performance wise.


    Matt W.

Suse in a DC Datacentre

  • April 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Formed from the roots of a community developed OS, the operating system is very resilient and fails hardly ever. Software is also very easy to install. Excellent control centre.
What do you dislike?
The only thing that i dislike is some software doesnt come packaged for SUSE
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using SUSE to run webservers. The low footprint and resource usage allow us to have many containers running SUSE


    Mitch S.

I have used SUSE on my servers for decades.

  • March 20, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Yast is a decent UI for server management. The SUSE and linux documentation is served pretty well. It is a very stable system. Not much down time. Installation and upgrades usually work pretty well with not too much for problems. Mostly, I am a great linux fan and SUSE is a decent distro.
What do you dislike?
Yast could manage a multitude of things that it does not. Some applications have obscure bugs that take a while to find and fix and/or work around. Most of the problems I've encountered are difficulties with linux not SUSE based.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The primary packages we use are survey tabulation, statistical analysis, and the LAMP stack. These allow us to conduct large market and employee research studies. SUSE helps me to keep this software and my servers running well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look around at the different distros and pick one to suit your needs. SUSE works well for me.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

SUSE linux for enterprise

  • March 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fast os machines for heavy jobs using huge memory
What do you dislike?
networking issues sometimes with slowness
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running big jobs
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Fast os machines


    Higher Education

Mature and Solid Linux Distribution

  • February 02, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server is designed for enterprise servers, mainframes and workstations. But this can also be installed on desktops. I have a VM running SUSE Linux Enterprise Server that i use as sandbox machine. Installation is easy and can be made automated using Auto YaST package utility.
SUSE has grown over years and has made it's way battling big rivals like RHEL. I have been working with Linux distributions since a decade now. I was not a big fan of SUSE in initial years but now that i use it, i am satisfied that we are using SUSE in our project.
What do you dislike?
Not much to dislike about SUSE, But sometimes it's not straight forward to find exact solutions on online forums. Also, expect to face some difficulties if you want to use windows utilities on SUSE.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using SUSE Linux Enterprise Server as OS for our virtual infrastructure containing around 300 virtual machines and 12 physical servers. The installation using Auto YaST was amazing and patching process is quite straight forward.


    Edwin T.

Entreprise and escalable OS

  • November 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Suse server pa is an operating system very stable in their latest versiónes, the little change in bookstores makes it easy maintenance, the structure of the file system is very solid allows maintain data even after several reboots failures electric.
What do you dislike?
In the past editions the support for hardware was not very stable, sometimes it created system failures irq errors among others. Just as the different file systems do not have the maturity of the current versions. system libraries not had a stability as stable as now, the packaging system had some flaws for updates.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
in my previous work, SUSE was the only operating system that allowed me to integrate all features necessary to migration mail server, features as lists, anti-spam, antivirus, webmail by almost automatic. the system updates not affecting settings years later. the great support hardware allowed integration with storage unit. tools check are fast as compared to competitors for this type of implementations.


    Computer Software

fast and cost effective

  • July 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Reliable, Cost Effective, Fast
Easy installation, good graphic tool for administering the server
What do you dislike?
implementation standards should be prior to roll out
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Run mission-critical SAP applications
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recomend it as I did not face with problem in it.