Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server (10 Connected Devices)

OpenVPN Inc | 2.8.3

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

114 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Significantly decreases performance of my laptop when in use

  • October 11, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Not many popups and no additional software that I'm forced to download, doesn't have tons of patches or updates which prevent usage for periods of time.
What do you dislike?
When Open VPN is running, my laptop's performance is drastically reduced and I can't seem to figure out why.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This product allows team members to work from home without disrupting normal workflow.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
See if you can find any alternatives that don't tax performance quite so much. I used it as little as possible.


    Information Technology and Services

Clunky, but works

  • October 06, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Works well and it’s free. Clients for all major OS’ and even mobile devices. Server built into both Synology and QNAP NAS boxes.
What do you dislike?
Server is only available for Linux and can be cumbersome to setup. Client setup can be clunky as a result having to use config files.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Remote access to office LAN resources. Once properly setup, works exactly as designed.


    Information Technology and Services

VPN that is reliable and fast.

  • October 06, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that this product can be used with multiple diffrent venders verses just one. Can be used on any operating system and is mobile. Keeps password so you don't have to login every time. Works with iOS even when apple breaks things on each update with Wi-Fi
What do you dislike?
The setup isn't easy and must use the application on all devices. iOS and Android devices must open app to start and end VPN connection.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Making sure that when on a public connection that our data stays safe.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you make nots if the setup information on this product. It's a bit difficult to setup on mobile devices and needs a separate app to use.


    Sam S.

Very Secure, excellent Value!!!

  • October 05, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
That it's free, and more secure than older Cisco products using a <2048-bit key. Don't need any special hardware, and old server will do with a few NIC cards. I highly recommend from an admin/power user perspective, as you have an extremely secure & reliable VPN tool here that is self-healing and can work well in production environments on a shoe-string budget.
What do you dislike?
User interface is very minimal, the Windows client has been improved but is a little confusing for some users since it resides in the system tray and relies on alt-clicking to connect, etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Network security and remote access. Site-Site VPN with no specialized hardware or monthly fees. Works well across multiple platforms, allows me to connect remote Mac clients, Windows 10, and even Linux all through one piece of software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's not super user friendly but it works very well and is completely free. Hard to beat in the VPN segment, given cost/security/reliability.


    James P.

Excellent, Open-Source, and Affordable

  • October 03, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love that OpenVPN takes the complexity out of establishing remote connections and makes things super-easy, reliable, and a breeze to troubleshoot.
What do you dislike?
Under macOS, I'd prefer the OpenVPN client to be baked into the operating system, rather than a separate user-mode application, so that connections can be established BEFORE login occurs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Connecting to internal systems located in various parts of the world without the need for a Public-facing Internet connection
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The server portion is free and open-source, easy to implement, and the clients are mostly straight-foward, though may not fit your enterprise deployment strategy.


    Adam A.

Good VPN for small operations.

  • September 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Low cost. OpenVPN is easy to configure and deploy.
What do you dislike?
Special software package required on every OS(no native support).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure tunnels for mobile productivity. Secure access to network resources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider if open source software fits your requirements first.


    Joshua S.

Works fine for what I use it for. No problems.

  • May 03, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that I can simply connect to the Open VPN. Once I'm connected I have no problem accessing our database remotely. It doesn't disconnect while I'm using it and it doesn't even seem to slow down the data base.
What do you dislike?
I dislike that I have such a long password and that there doesn't seem to be an obvious option for having the password stored in the system. I save the password in MS Word and then have to copy paste it to connect. Seems like a waste of time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When I need to work out of the office and still access the data warehouse I use this tool. It allows me to be more flexible in my work location.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Works well. No hassle.


    Information Technology and Services

In combination with Sophos UTM SSL VPN

  • March 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to configure on mobile devices, you can easily just email yourself the ovpn file or if you have a tablet device, just browse to the UTM User Portal and grab it yourself. I haven't used OpenVPN with any other vendor except for Sophos, but if it works this way with other vendors then it is a great solution. Simple connection once installed with the automated configuration. While some do complain about it, I like that it prompts for credentials every single time you try to connect with it, but once connected you can stay on for days depending on the policy. Why is this important, because PPTP and L2TP/IPsec systems usually have a method to remember credentials. To me this a huge security problem, if a laptop was stolen, or breached, these credentials exist without any sort of effort by the criminal entity.
What do you dislike?
Having to manually up the configuration each time a change is made on the UTM configuration, but it would seem there is no way to avoid that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Crypto Ransomware becoming more and more prevalent, and actively breaching Remote Desktop Services and other remote applications that SMBs and Enterprise organizations use, having a secured VPN is critical to keeping these resources private and removing the need for any sort of DNAT.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a reliable connection to your office network and you are running a Sophos UTM with UTM 9.x or even the XG Firewall SF-OS v16+, then OpenVPN is the product Sophos utilises for its SSL VPN. It is easy to deploy to users as they can just login to the UTM User Portal with their own Active Directory credentials (or local creds, depending on your auth methods) and download the full installer with their personalised configuration, or an update file if anything changes. The only downside is that this software/program will not run at time of login from a Windows laptop, so if you need scripts from a domain environment to run before or during login, this wont solve that issue.