Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Free Edition

NAKIVO | 10.11.2

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 22.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

245 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Charles G.

Great back up software for AWS and more

  • July 02, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like the integration with my storage device. The software package is very easy to deploy. Opening support cases is very easy as well.
What do you dislike about the product?
Would like to have the ability to backup physical machines, in order to do all my backups from a single solution
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed automated offsite backups for our AWS deployment.


    Martin G.

Full backup solution with easy to use web interface

  • June 28, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Fast deployment process on linux with easy to use web configuration. You can set everything up in 1 hour and be ready to backup your mission critical systems. Whole solution is very lightweight, right now we are using backup proxies with 2c and 2GB ram, and they are capable to process multiple jobs even with compression option enabled, without an issue. Web interface is big plus with compare to Veeam. API can be used for automation tasks like quick restore/backup, and modification of existing jobs. Multiple options for notifications, data compression/deduplication and network acceleration are very useful. Also big plus si the possibility to backup VMs on free ESXi - tested on version 6.0, 6.5 and even 6.7. Great solution for B&R infrastructure.
What do you dislike about the product?
Missing option to backup on tapes, and backing up Openstack VMs. Some graphical statistics would be very useful for individual VMs backup size, maybe even forecasting the backup size using collected data.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Quick reaction time thanks to web interface, great price and notification options. Automation through API can save a lot of time, even controlling Nakivo using third party automation tools is very important in big size infra with multiple customers. Saving a lot of HW resources that are allocated to Backup components. Quick response from Nakivo support with built in chat, even in on promise deployments.


    Mental Health Care

Very good product

  • June 18, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
ITs very easy to setup and navigate, I like how it integrates well with our synology appliances
What do you dislike about the product?
I like everything you guys could probably add more support staff
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
File level back ups and DR.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get it, you wont regret it!


    Angelo L.

Great VM Backup from my QNAP

  • June 18, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Very easy and powerful UI that takes advantages of the QNAP platform.
Fast, simple and excellent bandwidth usage.
Saved me with a very simple resort of my VM on the ESXi Cluster.
What do you dislike about the product?
Pricing license, but a very supportive team will solve any problem.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backup of development and test VM from a cluster of ESXi servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just do it !


    Ulrich J.

Fantastic product! Easy, Fast, Simple and effective

  • June 18, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Awsome product, Easy, Fast, Affordable
Easy - We got the software up and running within minutes.
Simple management - It took me about an hour to set up 50 backup jobs.
Fast - 24 hours later, everything was backed up.
Good compression: 11TB data takes up only about 7.5TB of space. We have enabled de-duplication and fast compression.
Unofficially supports backup of ESXi 6.7
What do you dislike about the product?
No storage stats for backup jobs and groups (source storage size, backed-up storage size, retention size)
No backup of physical machines
No Office365 backup
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It started with the need for backup of ESXi 6.7, which most other vendors could not at the time.
Then when we tried the software, it was so much easier, simpler and faster than the other software we have tried before.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just try it, it is highly recommended to run a trial.
Since it only take 10-15 minutes to download, install, configure and setup a backup job, there is no reason not to try it out.


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

A reliable and accurate application

  • June 18, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
A reliable and accurate application that fulfills what it promises. Intuitive and easy to configure this application ensures control of the backups of your company.
Perfect solution to ensure the security of data of all types of company.
What do you dislike about the product?
After all the tests in the implementation of the solution and having experience in the installation and configuration of backup solutions, I have not found any negative points in this solution.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ensure backups of my entire VMWARE platform with the possibility of recovering entire machines or part of it in minutes
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The best and fast backup aplication I know.


    Alexander H.

Fast and Lightweight - Easy to setup

  • June 15, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The ease of setup. Nakivo Backup and Recovery is pretty much ready to go right out of the box. I've installed this on both a Windows platform and a Synology platform. It works very well on both. Install it, add inventory, create jobs and you're up and running in no time.
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing at this time. Nakivo is an easy to use, off the shelf backup application that is cost effective. I have not run into anything at this time that would be off putting.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Nakivo Backup and Recovery is a cost effective backup solution that literally just works. VM backups are easy to setup. Being able to backup all my VMs and not have it cost me an arm and a leg is fantastic.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely take a serious look at Nakivo. They are certainly an up and comer in the backup field. They will save you a bundle over others.


    Brent W.

Nakivo, works great for backups. Recovery is a different story.

  • June 14, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Nakivo is a lightweight VM backup solution. We started out using the Windows based installer a few years back but have since switched over to the Nakivo VA. For a smaller sized business it's handy that it takes up a small footprint and resources on the ESXi host. Using default settings the entire VA takes up 2 vCPU, 4GB of RAM and 30GB drive space.

Pros:
1) Easy setup either through installer or VA
2) Lightweight
3) Easy setup for notifications. Emails on success or failures.
4) Newest version has chat support built in
What do you dislike about the product?
Here's the part that becomes frustrating. While the recovery process does work, there are times you need to jump through hoops to get it functioning. We recently had a VM datastore corrupt after a RAID drive failed (completely not Nakivo related, just providing back story), and we had to recover from USB backups from Nakivo. We luckily were able to setup a test ESXi and run a Flash Boot from Nakivo to verify integrity of backup before recovery. We then started a recovery to the ESXi. The process was quite slow, but understandable on an older server and USB 2.0 (NAS recovery is faster) but at this location that wasn't an option. Took about 47 hours to recover a 2TB VM. Recovery was successful but working with restoring some newer data files, some files were deleted on the recovered VM. This is where the issue starts. We went to run a Flash Boot again to the same ESXi we had previously tested on, but this time it would not allow us to select a datastore as the remaining space on the datastore was 1.8TB, but the VM backup was 2TB.

At this point we contacted support and spent 4 hours troubleshooting. Support was not helpful at all. First we were told NFS wasn't supported for Flash Boot, then we were told VMFS/ATA wasn't supported (but remember we did successfully Flash Boot to the same ESXi before the recovery when there was over 3TB of space.) Long story short I was told they don't know, you should only need a small amount of space, and the last option was to reboot the ESXi servers. Flash Boot does not work across 3 different ESXi servers. Basically Nakivo is good for backups and recovery, but don't expect anything from support.

Cons:
1) Slow recovery vis USB (not really Nakivo's fault)
2) Flash Boot only seems to work with more space than the full size of the VM
3) Support
4) Getting sales calls when trying to re-download VA/installers
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Nakivo allows us to keep backups of our VM's for recovery purposes. It may be slow to recovery depending on your backup media, but is still a lot faster than trying to rebuild from scratch.


    Brian S.

The Only One That I Can Count On!!!

  • June 13, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Fast backups, restores. Nice boot snapshot feature for peace of mind. Easy install and setup.
What do you dislike about the product?
Only con is the product and licensing is a little difficult to understand. Not a problem though; just email of the nice support agents. Pretty fast response time.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have tried many other VM backup solutions. I also make sure to have 3 different backups using differemt products for fail proof restores. Many times Nakivo was the only restore that worked. All others have failed me in my time of need. Price is very fair, fair enough that it is an easy sell to my clients with limited budgets.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great product, great price.


    Information Technology and Services

Nakivo backup and replication

  • June 13, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Very easy and simple managing interface as well as deployment on qnap appliances.
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing that I really don't like. We have been using Nakivo for a year and we haven't had any bad experience with it so far
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backing up our hyper-v vm's to our qnap and being able to restore them when they fail.