Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Free Edition

NAKIVO | 10.11

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 22.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

214 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Tamara J.

Fast backups & reliable restores

  • February 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
1) Runs as a Linux VM, so does not consume a Windows license. Nakivo can run on Windows if you are in a Windows-only shop, but if you have a mixed Windows / Linux environment, Linux can understand both NTFS and EXT4, so you can do individual file restores for both platforms.

2) Relatively low resource requirements. My Nakivo VM is backing up around 40 VMware guests, but only needs 2 vCPU and 4GB RAM.

3) Simple and intuitive web interface. I've even run it on my phone.

4) The dedupe functionality does not consume much CPU / RAM.
I can't say that Nakivo has the best dedupe I've ever seen (EMC Avamar holds that crown), but the low CPU/RAM resource consumption makes up for that.

5) The Backup Copy Job makes it easy to have an offsite backup for DR purposes.
I use this feature to provide cross-site offsite backups between two data centers.

6) The VMware replication feature is great for test labs. I've used it to rapidly deploy multiple VM's for testing, so it saves me a bunch of time.

7) Flash VM Boot makes it really quick to recover from hardware failures. I had an old VMware server die on me last year, and the dozen or so VM's on that machine were up and running on an alternate host 5 minutes later.
What do you dislike about the product?
The individual file restore process is a bit clunky.

I'm not a big fan of the whole strategy of downloading individual files from the web interface, and then using a separate procedure to copy the files to the machine that needs the files.

In a perfect world, I would like to be able to kick off individual file restores directly on the client machine, but I realize that is not really feasible in an agentless environment.

I've been working around this by exporting the mounted backup image from the Transporter directly to the client machine, and then using the client machine to copy from the NFS or SMB export, as described at https://helpcenter.nakivo.com/display/KB/Direct+Recovery+of+Files+to+a+VM

NOTE: Apparently, in-guest file restore is on the roadmap for Q2 2018, so this might not be an issue for much longer.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Easy to make both onsite and offsite backups, with simple and reliable restores.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are still using legacy in-guest backup solutions (Netbackup, Commvault, TSM, etc), look at Nakivo for backing up your VMware/Hyper-V environments.


    Carlos Mauricio H.

Nakivo Backup is awesome

  • January 31, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
is very simple to configure and web interface is excellent, and price is very accessible
What do you dislike about the product?
all features is very good for me,, after try many other solution
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backup for VM for customers


    Athanasios K.

Nakivo Backup and Replication,easy to use

  • January 31, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The friendly interface and the easy installation
What do you dislike about the product?
The fact that the product does not check for any malware before replication
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Availability issues for 24/7 as well as VM backup


    Stu H.

Our "go to" for backkup and data recovery

  • January 31, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy to set up and use, no agents on vm's or hosts. We have a few backup products but Nakivo is the one we turn to when we need to recover data. We quickly find the data we need be that a file or a complete vm. No training needed as it's very intuitive. On top of that, it's competitively priced.
What do you dislike about the product?
Support is very good, but not immediate. This hasn't been a problem for us but it is something for Nakivo to grow.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed an easy to use, flexible backup system and Nakivo is the answer. We can easily save backups to AWS S3. All around we are very happy with the product.


    James L.

Easy to use, yet POWERFUL!

  • January 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The Web interface is very easy to understand and use. Reliable backup and restore of my VM's. This took care of all of our needs for backing up and restoring.
What do you dislike about the product?
The initial setup process of getting my backup location set gave me some trouble with connecting to the share. But I was able to get it working.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
When a VM goes down, Nakivo saved the day!


    Marty T.

Vmware Backup Sucess

  • January 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like the logical and modular nature of the product. With 30 years of IT experience I've used a ton of backup products and some flavors just drive you nuts and other feel easy from day one. Nakivo just makes good sense. (note this is an interal use application by a partner)
From a product standpoint the key features I wanted for snap shot backups, good performance and excellent reporting were all found and easy to setup on the product.
What do you dislike about the product?
All bakcup products have some learning curve and testing activity that I always try to short cut but spending a little time on this task is just sensible and required. Some pricing combinations were more money than I wanted as we use a 2nd VMware server for some test platforms and the pricing added some cost to use those but not unfairly, just wish it was less.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our Vmware server were backed up at the OS level but with Ransomware server level attacks growing I wanted to move to a vmware centric backup instead for the added issolation of the process and backup destination and Nakivo provides that nicely with our Synology based application (1517)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Test the product as the rusults will lead you to like and trust the product


    Ariana Jose V.

Excellent product

  • January 29, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Omg the installation is very simple and efficient. The perfomance of Nakivo is awesome, now configuring the system is extremely easy and straight forward.
What do you dislike about the product?
I like everything about the product. The only thing that I would improve is the update process. Updating the virtual appliance requires a manual process of uploading the update file. I would prefer there be a method to do it all from the web interface.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am able to backup local. The software is easily customized to back up what you need and skip what you do not need. This saved us money in offsite storage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for it, is a great program that will solve a lot of problems for your company.


    Radim N.

Great product

  • January 29, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy configuration, clear user interface. Simple for implementation.
What do you dislike about the product?
At this moment i do not know, if it will be possible to monitoring NAKIVO with PRTG network monitoring software.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Use it for backup for our custoomers where we outsorcing IT.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
-


    Media Production

Nakivo + Synology NAS = Easy setup

  • January 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The ease of setup was great. The web-interface is simple and intuitive. Offloading the backup processing to the NAS has really made a difference with overall job speed and performance. Sales support was great and very responsive to any issues I might have had with my desired configurations.
What do you dislike about the product?
The only suggestion I can make is the ability to combine multiple USB drives into one repository. It makes it simpler when swapping out drives for offsite backups.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The solution we were using was good but very clunky. The Windows thick client was terrible and DR setup was time consuming. With Nakivo, we can replicate our Synology NAS's and be ready to failover at anytime.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Leverage the software on a good supported NAS


    Adam R.

More Bang for your Buck

  • January 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy install, quick and simple. This is a great solution to backup your VMWare environment. Great individual file level recovery all the way up to recovering an entire Virtual Machine. Flash VM Boot allows you to instantly recover to a point in time saving time in recovering.
What do you dislike about the product?
I have not found anything to dislike at this time as I come across issues I can talk to support and they are able to help me work through processes that I am not familiar with.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This product allows us to backup locally as well as to a cloud service platform such as Amazon.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy install and simple to use interface. Great price and features compared to other solutions out there.