Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Free Edition

NAKIVO | 10.11

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 22.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

216 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Marko O.

Perfect backup soulution for virtualization

  • January 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Incredibly fast deployment ! Provides preconfigured virtual appliances for Vmware and Hyper-V.
Just import VA and start backuping. When backup is running there is low impact on resources.
For small deployments best soulution is to deploy full bacup system on supported NAS device.
I installed it on Synology and everything works from there
(management, transporter and repository in one box).
The ability to have unlimited transporters and repositories makes this backup solution also very useful in larger deployments. Working with console and scheduling backups and replication is very simple
What do you dislike about the product?
There are no cons for me right now. Everything I need in backup is here….
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Minimize server downtime with replication, perferct solution for free SMB backup (esxi free version).
Full backup soulution within single NAS BOX.


    Thomas G.

It just works!

  • January 16, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We were searching for a backup solution for our customers - of course we had a brief look at all the well known and widely used solutions. As NAKIVO is now able to backup Hyper-V in addition to VMware we gave it a try. I have never seen a backup solution that is so easy to set up - I'm working with this kind of software for over 25 years. It really takes only minutes to get it up and running as mentioned already in other reviews. Backing up is one side - we have also tested the complete site restore of a machine with 8 VMs - everything works as expected. And the possibilty to install NAKIVO as an application on top of a standard NAS is really awful. So for a small environment it takes about one hour to set up a NAS together with NAKIVO.- and you are protected.

Simple to install, easy to understand, possibility to install on Windows, Linux, NAS. Price is in comparison to other products on the market very interesting and makes it possible to use a professional solution even in small businesses.
What do you dislike about the product?
At the moment I do not see any cons even in comparison to the most used solution(s) out there.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Protecting VM environment.


    Milton C.

easy installation, configuration and administration

  • January 16, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?

I use a nas and I installed it in the app center, in 10 minutes I was already running a backup. the restoration is very easy. you do not need to be an expert in these tools to use it
What do you dislike about the product?
from colombia I could not buy it online and it came out 20% more expensive when buying it from a local reseller
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
So far I have not had any problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
when using it in a nas everything becomes easier


    Philippe L.

Outstanding VMware ESXi free backups for SMB on Synology

  • December 24, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Installation options (Linux, NAS - eg. Synology, others, Windows, more!). Ease of use. Great SMB pricing (several tiers of pricing depending on requirements). Excellent pre-sales support. Superb performance. Intuitive interface.
What do you dislike about the product?
GUI feels slightly unpolished, and it would be advantageous to have a more size responsive interface for mobile platforms.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have a few SMB folks using ESXi free (hypervisor only), and after a short trial using a test VM, we found Naviko to be an exceptional product. The web GUI is very easy to navigate, and the number of installation options is outstanding! We chose to keep the backup instance off of the ESXi platform, and installed Naviko on the Synology DS218+. Super easy installation, and the product does quick work of backups. The quality of software for the price is simply unbeatable for SMB use, and I imagine Naviko does equally well scaled up to the enterprise level.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The flexibility in options for installation is outstanding, and the ability to run it on a dedicated off-the-shelf NAS such as the Synology or QNAP is an exceptional bonus. The pre-sales staff was very easy to work with, and were very responsive to all of my questions. I've tried a number backup options, free and licensed, and Naviko was an excellent solution at a very reasonable price. The documentation is excellent, but in reality the software was so intuitive that I didn't need to read it to complete my first backup.


    Symeon C.

Arguably one of the most user friendly VM backup solutions available.

  • December 21, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The fact that it can run as an application on our Synology NAS box without requiring a dedicated workstation or server, thus saving network bandwidth and backup time taken.
What do you dislike about the product?
Currently I have nothing negative to say about this product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
After suffering the bitter sting of multiple failed backups with a competitive solution, we revisited our testing of the leading ESXi backup solutions and were really impressed with how easy and quick NAKIVO was to get running on our Synology NAS. Within the first couple of days of using the trial, the clear and very helpful feedback given by the solution identified some hidden issues with our VM’s, that if not corrected would have certainly caused data corruption.


    Alessandro S.

A perfect product for your Vmware backup

  • December 18, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
- Application aware feature works brilliant
- Forever incremental backup to reduce network traffic e backup time
- Product support
- All features at low price
- Could be integrated with many storage appliance
What do you dislike about the product?
- User interface could be better, a little old style
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backup at low price
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I tried it for a lot of time and I can afferm that is a wonderful product. I am integrating it with a WD appliance so I can separate the backups from VM repositories. It's perfect also to restore Mailbox items of Exchange Server (very important for us).
Support team always available to support me.
Absolutely satisfied!


    Jens S.

Very Impressive Solution!

  • December 11, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is easy to setup and offers great performance. In addition, we really like the built-in chat option that allows you to instantly talk to Nakivo support. I am really surprised that other companies don't offer the same. It really reduces the learning curve for the product and we were able to get some answers within seconds. We also love the native integration with Synology. Basically, you can have it up and running within minutes. Also loved the ability to download it as virtual machine which would reduce the workload on our windows server once we switch to Nakivo. Last, but not least, we like the current licensing and maintenance cost.
What do you dislike about the product?
The interface itself could use some face lifting. While it is somewhat easy to use, it isn't looking that great. But that's really the only con I could come up with and it isn't really important for a backup solution, is it?
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My organization is currently using Veeam Backup & Replication, but since I also recommend solutions to our customers as part of my enterprise architecture consulting work, I like to keep up to date with other products. In general, we are quite happy with Veeam, but many of the latest features are geared towards large customers. This might be great for some of our customers, but for small customers these enhancement also increase the price for features that we don't need. As such, I was really impressed that Nakivo is offering features that many smaller customers have been asking for. For example, you can download Nakivo Backup & Replication as a standalone virtual machine or even as an application installation for smart network storage solutions (e.g. Synology). Why is this important to me? As a small customer, it helps us saving cost for yet another operating system. Furthermore, these options typically also reduce resource needs (CPU and memory). Again, this might not matter for larger customers without resource restraints. What should matter to all customers is that Nakivo Backup & Replication is easy to use and includes enough bells&whistles to keep your data safe. More importantly, it does so at the same speed our existing Veeam solution does. So, yes, we are seriously thinking about switching over.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should really test it out. While it might not have all the bells & whistles like Veeam, it probably has all the features you really need.


    Mircea C.

Great product

  • December 07, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Setup was very simple, backup is reliable and consistent, with all the expected options you'd want from a virtual backup and restore solution. Great support. Free edition for two vm's which is great. Fair price too.
What do you dislike about the product?
There is nothins to dislike about Nakivo in my experience so far.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Fast, reliable backup to the virtual infrastructure.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Nakivo on Synology

  • December 04, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
easy to install and configure and to maintain.
What do you dislike about the product?
update outside syno shop. But quite easy to do.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
VM backup without a loud solution. Good support.


    Civic & Social Organization

Enterprise product with SMB Pricing

  • November 30, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Nakivo excels in Simplicity, and very Intuitive. Excellent product with enterprise functionality and SMB pricing.
What do you dislike about the product?
Support could be improved as they struggle a bit in their language in a remote session.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Nakivo is used for backup and replication and its also helping us maintain a DR site
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please improve your support team' s english