Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus Scanner (Pre-Authorized)

Tenable Network Security, Inc. | 8.8.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

5 AWS reviews

External reviews

141 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Michael B.

effective but lacks polish

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
the detail on the vulnerabilities and recommended fixes
What do you dislike?
The graphical user interface. and reports need improvement.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Compliance


    Fletcher C.

The industry standard for vulnerability scanning

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to configure most scans. Software upgrades are very smooth and easy, probably my favorite software to upgrade because of the lack of issues or hassle. In my experience, most companies use it so its a familiar tool no matter where I work. I like that it is a reliable product with a plethora of valuable data that can be used to increase an organizations security posture.
What do you dislike?
Some false positives. Wish it was easier to search specific vulnerabilities and aggregate or sort results data. Would like the ability make notes in the software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A wonderful resource for assessing an organizations security posture. We have relied upon Nessus scan results numerous times to identify vulnerable systems when a new significant exploit has been announced.


    Financial Services

Nessus - One-Stop Vulnerability Management

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Detected vulnerabilities are easily researchable with the embedded links to Tennable's database.
What do you dislike?
The interface is very plain but works better and is easier to navigate then other flashy tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vulnerability management and remediation. Some problems can't be fixed with just installing a patch. For that, there is Nessus.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check int the reporting aspect. It's very good.


    Musadik T.

Best platform for finding the loop holes in the network infrastructure

  • November 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like this tool because of the performance which is high and awesome.Nessus is the best tool where it used to scan the network infrastructure, Linux servers and windows servers which it finds the vulnerabilities and missing patches there will be less numbers of the false positive missing patches.
What do you dislike?
Till now I did not found any dislike but the main thing is that the cost is more expensive.for individual user we need to buy this product there will be the huge cost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used this tool because of the performance and the functionality which high and awesome this tool scans for the vulnerabilities and missing patches from the network infrastructure.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I advise to use this tool because of the performance and the functionality is very high and awesome.


    Information Technology and Services

Really like the technology and capability, but disappointed by feature limitations

  • November 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus has always been the most well-rounded vulnerability scanning solution. It does a better job across various OS, application, etc. platforms where other scanners often fall short.
What do you dislike?
Tenable has crippled Nessus Professional by disallowing scans to be configured/managed via API, and restricting the ability to create multiple users. As a professional services firm, these capabilities have made the use of Nessus Pro more challenging.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Identifying vulnerabilities.


    Attilio F.

Comprehensive and customizeable

  • November 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Comprehensive scanning and ability to see the exposed vulnerability and the corresponding remediation - also the single remediation suggestion that would get the most value that
What do you dislike?
Loss of the API from previous version - we could get powershell scripts to obtain specific report results
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Patch management confirmations and exceptions - the ability to identify what hosts are being excepted out of patch management has been able to allow us to perform a more accurate risk assessment
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For performing the PCI assessment, this product made the checking of our hosts and that of the hosting provider's equipment so easy. Remember to VERIFY all of the hosts in the environment first, verify they are alive, use nessus to check for "undocumented hosts", and then run the vuln scanner. Always use creds to check the hosts for completeness.


    Computer Networking

Great Insight Into Our Network!

  • November 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the feature of having multiple scan scheduled for different areas, for e.g. local desktops, linux, windows, etc.
What do you dislike?
User interface gets stuck at times and keeps spinning and not accessible until restarting of services on local machine
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Network vulnerabilities, patch management
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great product and easy to implement and use


    Dylan B.

Nessus at Providence College

  • November 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus Professional has a very easy-to-use interface and requires little technical expertise to operate. Scan scopes are easy to define and results are searchable and exportable.
What do you dislike?
Nessus generates a large amount of false positives, particularly on Linux systems for applications like Apache, Tomcat, etc. It generally only reads the banners, and even if you run an authenticated scan, it often times does not detect patches that are backported by the distribution. This leads to a lot of heartburn when working with server administrators.

On a separate note, Nessus does not have in-application remediation tracking like some other vulnerability scanning platforms.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Minimizing "technical debt" is the largest benefit. The institution has not always had an ongoing vulnerability management program, and as such, a large amount of vulnerabilities and other issues had piled up over time. Nessus has allowed us to gain insight on these issues and move towards a more mature process.


    Government Administration

Nessus Pro Review

  • November 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus really makes it easy to see problem areas in your environment. You can quickly allocate resources to mitigate those areas where critical vulnerabilities exist. Being able to schedule scans and having the reports emailed to you creates an automated workflow without ever logging in.
What do you dislike?
Functionality is awesome. I would like to be able to change my theme. I really like the darker themes because it's easier on the eyes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We now have visibility of vulnerabilities across our environment. We're able to measure the effectiveness of our patch deployments. Another benefit is that we can detect new vulnerabilities when Nessus updates the plugins.


    Medical Devices

This is a great product

  • November 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ability to show to my clients and prospective clients their vulnerabilities that they think dont exist.
What do you dislike?
I would like it to be web based instead of application based
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Client security holes that will allow them to sleep at night!