Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus Scanner (Pre-Authorized)

Tenable Network Security, Inc. | 8.11.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

5 AWS reviews

External reviews

147 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ian A.

Good Product has a couple of shortcomings.

  • July 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Cheap, effective, quick to set up and easy to use
What do you dislike?
The policy section defining custom policies can be cumbersome and not as intuitive as it should be. Would like to be able to search for plugins in the policies section, and not to have to scroll through thousands of plugins to find the correct one. Troubleshooting is problematic, and support tends to be slow because of the online chat feature.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vulnerability scans for reporting to federal government
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would definitely recommend it for quick set up and ease of use. Free version is a good way to go to evaluate the product.


    Simon P.

Compliance and vulnerability scanner

  • July 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
being new to this kind of software was overwhelming at first but after a few days i got used to tailoring reports so i could see what i wanted
What do you dislike?
the technical phrasing of the reports/policies was very overwhelming to a new user, but after going through the videos and guides on the community support portal i was soon able to manage reports
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
a lot of out of date software and patches to current solutions, able to produce reports to customers to show the extent of work needed to bring them up to a tolerable level
Recommendations to others considering the product:
do not try to generate an advanced report without tailoring single server reports first the amount of data that comes back is overwhelming and you can begin to get lost


    Information Technology and Services

Go to VA scanner

  • April 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Low pricing, trial versions, seamless and simple user friendly UI
What do you dislike?
False positives when it is not able to verify a vulnerability yet reports it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing an enterprise Vulnerability Management program which are having multiple environments
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Simple affordable and user friendly


    Higher Education

Nessus is a good option for keeping your servers secure.

  • March 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The reporting tools are very customizable, making it easy to share vulnerability data with other users in the organization.
What do you dislike?
There are limited options for other application owners across departments to manage their own scan results. This results in some additional manual work by the Nessus administrator.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nessus helps us keep up with potential vulnerabilities on our servers, as well as our cloud-hosted applications. It also ranks problems by severity which helps us prioritize work.


    Touseef H.

Best platform for finding the vulnerabilities in network infrastructure

  • December 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like this tool because of the performance and the functionality which is high using this product we can scan the network devices and servers to find the vulnerabilities and missing patches.
What do you dislike?
Till now I did not found any dislike and also now dislike regarding this product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All the scanning will be fast and it finds the vulnerabilities and missing patches,easy to use and no need of extra training as well as easy installation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend to use this tool because of the inbuilt features.


    Tousif N K.

Robust platform for finding loop holes in the network infrastructure.

  • December 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like this product where I used to scan the network devices like routers, firewalls, switches , workstations,Linux servers and windows servers and also it's used to find the missing patches since from 1 year I am using this product I like the functionality and the performance which is high and awesome.
What do you dislike?
Till now I did not found any dislike but the main thing is the cost where the cost is more.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using this Nessus it has solve my all problems like finding the vulnerabilities as well as the missing patches and we can scan the network devices also.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend to use the Nessus product to users because of the functionality and performance which is high.


    Ashen S.

One of the best vulnerability scanner I've ever used

  • December 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I most like about nessus is customization when using scans. We can add credentials, set IP ranges and ports and etc. We can use different scan methods for different purposes. Also it gives best scanning results and those scanning results can be exported as HTML, PDF or CSV reports. Also the report can be customize when exporting. When nessus gives me a report it also providing the introduction of vulnerabilites, impact of the vulnerability to the host and mitigation methods and reference to find more about the vulnerabilites.
What do you dislike?
What I dont like this Nessus proffesional version is some time it gives false positives. As an example when nessus gives me a scan results of an web application vulnerability scan usually I seach for those vulnearabilities for testing purposes. That required time. If those results are false possitive, all the search time and testing times are wasted.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When I pentesting first tool I use is Nessus. I use different scanning methods for different purposes. As an example I mostly use network scans, web application scans, policy compliance audting scans, and advanced dynamic scans. Nessus also can be used as malware scan Nessus helped me to find lot of vulnerabilities using different scans.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are in Cyber security side. This is a best vulnerabilty scanner that worth your every penny. I've used it. It gives the best scanning resutls so we can follow those results to test vulnerabilities.


    Gihan J.

Nessus is the ultimate time saver for vulnerability scanning

  • November 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As a penetration tester there were times that I had to perform operating system compliance reviews manually. To do that you have to go through all the documented details in benchmarks to get a crystal clear idea before even executing the given command. Reading issue details on over 500+ pages (most of the time) repetitively is a waste of time . Because of the tool 'Nessus' we can just pass the parameters and actually can let our focus on other operations. Nessus will do the job without any trouble. Incontrovertibly, nessus is the number one performer in discovering assets,sensitive data /malware detection,OS/database/mobile apps/web apps/network devices/tablets/hypervisors vulnerability scanning.It's worth to mention the amazing report creation feature of nessus which helped me to identify the critical levels of the vulnerabilities easily.
What do you dislike?
Price of nessus is too much considering the tools in the same domain. Nessus is susceptible to produce false positives and because of that the testers need to put more effort and time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nessus training and certification is a useful way to get familiar with nessus interface and functionalities for a beginner.


    Corey D.

Nessus keeps us safer!

  • November 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to test on demand and as needed.
What do you dislike?
There really isn't anything I don't dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are doing threat assessments in real time. Having this ability helps us recognized issues and make sure they're solved.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Having it hosted internally seems to give us greater flexibility.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Great product

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Makes vulnerability assessment and reporting very painless
What do you dislike?
No dislikes at this time. have always enjoyed
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Patch audits, vulnerability assessments,
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Like the cereal commercial, try it, you will like it