Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus Scanner (Pre-Authorized)

Tenable Network Security, Inc. | 8.8.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

5 AWS reviews

External reviews

144 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Touseef H.

Best platform for finding the vulnerabilities in network infrastructure

  • December 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like this tool because of the performance and the functionality which is high using this product we can scan the network devices and servers to find the vulnerabilities and missing patches.
What do you dislike?
Till now I did not found any dislike and also now dislike regarding this product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All the scanning will be fast and it finds the vulnerabilities and missing patches,easy to use and no need of extra training as well as easy installation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend to use this tool because of the inbuilt features.


    Tousif N K.

Robust platform for finding loop holes in the network infrastructure.

  • December 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like this product where I used to scan the network devices like routers, firewalls, switches , workstations,Linux servers and windows servers and also it's used to find the missing patches since from 1 year I am using this product I like the functionality and the performance which is high and awesome.
What do you dislike?
Till now I did not found any dislike but the main thing is the cost where the cost is more.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using this Nessus it has solve my all problems like finding the vulnerabilities as well as the missing patches and we can scan the network devices also.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend to use the Nessus product to users because of the functionality and performance which is high.


    Ashen S.

One of the best vulnerability scanner I've ever used

  • December 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I most like about nessus is customization when using scans. We can add credentials, set IP ranges and ports and etc. We can use different scan methods for different purposes. Also it gives best scanning results and those scanning results can be exported as HTML, PDF or CSV reports. Also the report can be customize when exporting. When nessus gives me a report it also providing the introduction of vulnerabilites, impact of the vulnerability to the host and mitigation methods and reference to find more about the vulnerabilites.
What do you dislike?
What I dont like this Nessus proffesional version is some time it gives false positives. As an example when nessus gives me a scan results of an web application vulnerability scan usually I seach for those vulnearabilities for testing purposes. That required time. If those results are false possitive, all the search time and testing times are wasted.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When I pentesting first tool I use is Nessus. I use different scanning methods for different purposes. As an example I mostly use network scans, web application scans, policy compliance audting scans, and advanced dynamic scans. Nessus also can be used as malware scan Nessus helped me to find lot of vulnerabilities using different scans.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are in Cyber security side. This is a best vulnerabilty scanner that worth your every penny. I've used it. It gives the best scanning resutls so we can follow those results to test vulnerabilities.


    Gihan J.

Nessus is the ultimate time saver for vulnerability scanning

  • November 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As a penetration tester there were times that I had to perform operating system compliance reviews manually. To do that you have to go through all the documented details in benchmarks to get a crystal clear idea before even executing the given command. Reading issue details on over 500+ pages (most of the time) repetitively is a waste of time . Because of the tool 'Nessus' we can just pass the parameters and actually can let our focus on other operations. Nessus will do the job without any trouble. Incontrovertibly, nessus is the number one performer in discovering assets,sensitive data /malware detection,OS/database/mobile apps/web apps/network devices/tablets/hypervisors vulnerability scanning.It's worth to mention the amazing report creation feature of nessus which helped me to identify the critical levels of the vulnerabilities easily.
What do you dislike?
Price of nessus is too much considering the tools in the same domain. Nessus is susceptible to produce false positives and because of that the testers need to put more effort and time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nessus training and certification is a useful way to get familiar with nessus interface and functionalities for a beginner.


    Corey D.

Nessus keeps us safer!

  • November 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to test on demand and as needed.
What do you dislike?
There really isn't anything I don't dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are doing threat assessments in real time. Having this ability helps us recognized issues and make sure they're solved.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Having it hosted internally seems to give us greater flexibility.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Great product

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Makes vulnerability assessment and reporting very painless
What do you dislike?
No dislikes at this time. have always enjoyed
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Patch audits, vulnerability assessments,
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Like the cereal commercial, try it, you will like it


    Computer & Network Security

Nessus Professional Review

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Setup can be very simple.
Support is usually pretty quick to respond to tickets.
What do you dislike?
Lots of Issues over the past year.
No Real Feature Updates. All Features are being updated to Tenable.io & Tenable.sc
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Identifying Patches
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When it works correctly, it's great, but when it doesn't it can really cause a chain reaction.


    Michael B.

effective but lacks polish

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
the detail on the vulnerabilities and recommended fixes
What do you dislike?
The graphical user interface. and reports need improvement.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Compliance


    Fletcher C.

The industry standard for vulnerability scanning

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to configure most scans. Software upgrades are very smooth and easy, probably my favorite software to upgrade because of the lack of issues or hassle. In my experience, most companies use it so its a familiar tool no matter where I work. I like that it is a reliable product with a plethora of valuable data that can be used to increase an organizations security posture.
What do you dislike?
Some false positives. Wish it was easier to search specific vulnerabilities and aggregate or sort results data. Would like the ability make notes in the software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A wonderful resource for assessing an organizations security posture. We have relied upon Nessus scan results numerous times to identify vulnerable systems when a new significant exploit has been announced.


    Ryan K.

Nessus Compliance Scanning

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of use for compliance reporting
What do you dislike?
Drill down on errors should be a little more cleaner.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Compliance Reporting