Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Chef Automate (First 10 nodes free)

Chef | 1.8.85

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

18 AWS reviews

External reviews

27 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Retail

Chef makes managing IaaS resources easy

  • June 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Chef provides us with the ability to manage infrastructure (specifically servers or IaaS resources) in a scalable way across platforms and locations. Its ease of use and common language across operating systems give the ability to easily bridge gaps between teams and understanding, thus breaking down knowledge silos and facilitating the ownership of infrastructure code by traditional application teams.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the learning curve can be steep for organizations that do not have an in-house subject matter expert.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Chef provides a great platform for enabling the management of on-prem or cloud virtual machines. It uses a DSL based on Ruby to make the management of these resources easy to capture, in code, in the same way regardless of platform or operating system. This is specifically useful when working to scale across a multi-platform organization because it gets everyone speaking the same language while giving automation coverage that is managed singly regardless of OS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When implementing Chef, it's important to remember this is not something that can be rolled out overnight. There are several pieces to the puzzle, and making sure you get it right from the start instead of rushing a production solution is key to your success with the tool.


    Sarthak S.

Progress Chef is an excellent tool for devops automation.

  • May 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Progress Chef is an amazing tool for devops automation. The ease with which we can configure the instructions using receipes and cookbooks are the best feature. It is implemented using Ruby language which is super easy to understand and use as well.
What do you dislike?
The chef workstation for development for cookbooks and recipes should possible be replaced by something of a UI based. Something similar to Jenkins which can provide easy configuration options.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using Progress Chef to automate our server patching tasks. As part of security remediation, patching is one of the tedious task which we could automate completely thanks to Chef.


    Mike F.

Easy to learn and implement

  • May 26, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to pick up the concepts and even easier to implement
What do you dislike?
Moving between versions can be a headache.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Compliance reporting and easier configuration management


    Consumer Services

Chef Configuration Management tool

  • April 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Most of our client uses Chef to deploy new code in an automated fashion. We also use it to update existing configurations and push those changes in an automated fashion to large groups of servers. Having the ability to deploy simple or full system changes out to a large group of servers with little human interaction has been a game changer for our company allowing us to deploy at scale and grow our infrastructure as our company grows.
What do you dislike?
It is very complex tool and The Chef-client agent needs to be run on the nodes frequently to update the details of it state to master. And also to index the nodes based on tags.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Chef is really great when teams are attempting to migrate over from legacy systems. In our case, it was a switch over from AIX to Linux. Thus, it was a great opportunity to use Chef to build out deployment cookbooks that could then be used win order to set up the new servers in preparation for the upgrade.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes, Centralized Configuration Management; Chef really excels at that as it provides a wide range of features that are well thought of, such as data bags, encrypted data bags, roles, shared repositories, cookbooks versioning, environment locking..etc


    Timothy R.

We have had less production issues since using it to automate our provisioning

  • December 26, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use it for provisioning Adobe Experience Manager web application environments.
How has it helped my organization?
It has given us more resiliency in all the stuff we now manage with Chef, which was previously sort of manually maintained. Now, we are able to drive all of that through version control and automation, which is a lot faster.
What is most valuable?
It has been very easy to tie it into our build and deploy automation for production release work, etc. All the Chef pieces more or less run themselves.
What needs improvement?
There is a slight barrier to entry if you are used to using Ansible, since it is Ruby-based. However, it is just a different product and requires you to acclimate yourself, just like any other product would.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
We have had no stability issues.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The scalability works. We haven't scaled it too high. We have a few different servers in different places.
We have been looking into the high availability offering, but we haven't actually stood it up yet. We are hopeful about it though.
How is customer service and technical support?
We have had to open a few Amazon support tickets. However, they have typically not been Chef-related, they have been Amazon service-related.
The technical support has been great. Our tickets have all been closed out quickly.
Which solutions did we use previously?
Our environments used to be on-premise, then we were moving them into the cloud. Since they were big and complicated, we decided we needed a manageable provisioning system instead of doing it by hand every time.
What was our ROI?
We have seen ROI. It has decreased a lot of man-hours that we were previously spending doing stuff which we now manage with Chef. It has decreased when we have a production issue, since we are able to fix it faster. We also have had less production issues since using Chef to automate our provisioning.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
I wasn't involved in the purchasing, but I am pretty sure that we are happy with the current pricing and licensing since it never comes up.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We considered Chef, Puppet, Ansible, and homegrown solutions. We had a couple people who used to use Ansible and some people who had previously used Chef. I think we just settled on Chef after trying it because we liked that it was Ruby-based, and there were a lot of community cookbooks already. This lined up parallel with what we wanted to be doing.
What other advice do I have?
I would recommend Chef. It is very user-friendly. There are a lot of community resources which make it easy to onboard. It also plays nicely with existing automation tools and other things which you are probably already using.
Chef works with Adobe Experience Manager, Terraform, and AWS CLI tools. We have been pleased with the integration.


    Joel B.

It integrates with many products in ILT and data management areas with each of them providing cloud computing

  • December 10, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have used in my current company for three years, and with other clients for more than ten years.
How has it helped my organization?
My clients are happy, which is the most important thing.
What is most valuable?
The most valuable feature is automation.
What needs improvement?
The AWS monitoring, AWS X-Ray, and some other features could be improved.
For how long have I used the solution?
More than five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
We have some issues in Brazilian region with stability. However, in US region, we have no issues with stability.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
Scalability is pretty good. We have nothing to complain about, except the price.
How is customer service and technical support?
I would rate the technical support as a ten out of ten.
Amazon is a great partner.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration are pretty good in the AWS environment. The problems are usually on our side, not on AWS' side.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The price is always a problem. It is high. There is room for improvement. I do like purchasing on the AWS Marketplace, but I would like the ability to negotiate and have some flexibility in the pricing on it.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
I don't like some of the products offered by VMware. I like the automation offered by Chef and Puppet.
We chose Chef because some clients have some legacy systems and decided to work with them. We don't really like work with VMs, but when we have to, we use Puppet.
What other advice do I have?
I have used the on-premise and AWS versions. I prefer the AWS for troubleshooting.


    Mike

Watch "sudo automate-ctl tail" until it calms down, THEN initialize.

  • August 15, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I initially also had the same issue with the 500 error when attempting to download the starter kit. After playing with this a bit, I discovered the cause. The system was not fully initialized.

No upgrade is necessary for this AMI to succeed. Just wait until "sudo automate-ctl tail" calms down i.e. not scrolling so often, then perform the initialization step.

STEP 1: CREATE / LAUNCH AWS AUTOMATE INSTANCE:
STEP 2: LOGIN TO AWS CHEF AUTOMATE:
$ ssh -i ec2-user@
STEP 3: WATCH CHEF AUTOMATE LOGS UNTIL THEY CHILL OUT
$ sudo automate-ctl tail
STEP 4: CONFIGURE CHEF AUTOMATE (after automate-ctl tail calms down):
https:///biscotti/setup
STEP 5: LOGIN TO CHEF AUTOMATE
https://
STEP 6: PROCEED WITH LEARN CHEF RALLY CONTENT


    Chris

Great for learning Chef Automate

  • May 28, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Others have left poor ratings and reviews, but its really due to their lack of drive to learn Chef, much less debug. The first thing I did after launching this AMI, was upgrade chef-server and chef-automate on the instance. Simple Google searches will reveal an easy process to do this.

SSH into your instance (it's an Amazon Linux AMI, btw) to perform the upgrades as I mentioned. From there, activate your Automate instance as described in the "Usage Instructions" listed for your instance in the EC2 console.

Return to your Learn Chef Rally exercise to bootstrap any nodes that you'd like. In all, this was a very painless process to running on Chef Automate!


    Earl W.

Automation meets DevOps

  • April 30, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It works on most platforms windows and Linux many flavors. Robust offering
What do you dislike?
Server head must be Linux. Not a bad thing.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Server build similar to Desired State
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A proven leader in Automation software


    setu s.

Repeatable Infrastructure has been made easy

  • April 16, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
IT infrastructure can be saved /reused as when required. Less time to create infrastructure
What do you dislike?
Difficult to learn the language for beginners
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1) Faster time to market
2) Less human error
3) Robust infrastrcuture