Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Chef Automate (First 10 nodes free)

Chef | 1.8.85

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

18 AWS reviews

External reviews

45 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mike

Watch "sudo automate-ctl tail" until it calms down, THEN initialize.

  • August 15, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I initially also had the same issue with the 500 error when attempting to download the starter kit. After playing with this a bit, I discovered the cause. The system was not fully initialized.

No upgrade is necessary for this AMI to succeed. Just wait until "sudo automate-ctl tail" calms down i.e. not scrolling so often, then perform the initialization step.

STEP 1: CREATE / LAUNCH AWS AUTOMATE INSTANCE:
STEP 2: LOGIN TO AWS CHEF AUTOMATE:
$ ssh -i ec2-user@
STEP 3: WATCH CHEF AUTOMATE LOGS UNTIL THEY CHILL OUT
$ sudo automate-ctl tail
STEP 4: CONFIGURE CHEF AUTOMATE (after automate-ctl tail calms down):
https:///biscotti/setup
STEP 5: LOGIN TO CHEF AUTOMATE
https://
STEP 6: PROCEED WITH LEARN CHEF RALLY CONTENT


    Chris

Great for learning Chef Automate

  • May 28, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Others have left poor ratings and reviews, but its really due to their lack of drive to learn Chef, much less debug. The first thing I did after launching this AMI, was upgrade chef-server and chef-automate on the instance. Simple Google searches will reveal an easy process to do this.

SSH into your instance (it's an Amazon Linux AMI, btw) to perform the upgrades as I mentioned. From there, activate your Automate instance as described in the "Usage Instructions" listed for your instance in the EC2 console.

Return to your Learn Chef Rally exercise to bootstrap any nodes that you'd like. In all, this was a very painless process to running on Chef Automate!


    Earl W.

Automation meets DevOps

  • April 30, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It works on most platforms windows and Linux many flavors. Robust offering
What do you dislike?
Server head must be Linux. Not a bad thing.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Server build similar to Desired State
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A proven leader in Automation software


    saad

It doesn't work

  • April 17, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have tried multiple times to create an instance of this AMI and set up chef, but it doesn't connect.


    setu s.

Repeatable Infrastructure has been made easy

  • April 16, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
IT infrastructure can be saved /reused as when required. Less time to create infrastructure
What do you dislike?
Difficult to learn the language for beginners
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1) Faster time to market
2) Less human error
3) Robust infrastrcuture


    Chef-Server-10-Free

Do not use.

  • April 05, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Similar to other people, I tried this for the Chef training course and had no end of gateway and sign-up and then SSL issues so I wasnt able to use it. Unfortunate. Please review this AMI.


    Deano

Bad Gateway - and how to fix

  • March 04, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I had the same Bad Gateway errors as the other reviewers. I did a little digging and found a fix.

ssh on and then

sudo chef-server-ctl upgrade


    Information Technology and Services

Chef to automate your infra

  • February 05, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to understand, configure the management of your infrastructure
What do you dislike?
available documentation is less as compare to other tools,
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we need to deploy a software developed by our developer, our infrastructure is very complex with different OS, environment, DBs, explorers, with the help of CHEF we did this within stipulated time without any issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to learn, implement, configure, distribute over the landscape, Ruby is the main attraction, can cook the best food for you with its available cookbooks for your infrastructure to automate


    Phil A.

Longtime user and fan of Chef

  • December 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Chef DK allows you to have a full CI/CD workflow for your infrastructure as code. With chef you can stick to the community cookbooks and boilerplate resources or you can make it do anything you like with raw ruby.
What do you dislike?
As everyone says it can be a bit daunting to get started. Most new development seems to be targeted at enterprises.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With Chef, there's no excuse not to have your entire infrastructure as code.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's worth spending a bit more time up front to understand the product than you might with other configuration management solutions. The benefit is much more power and a massive community.


    Food & Beverages

Exective chef at a university

  • December 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Being able to feed people with simpe ingrednts
What do you dislike?
At times the lack of knowdgle of the time it takes to make a dish
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Meeting food cost
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Not at this time