Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Chef Automate (First 10 nodes free)

Chef | 1.8.85

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

18 AWS reviews

External reviews

41 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Vagrant User

  • December 22, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I won't state how much I like chef due to its automation, but I'd like to say that in comparison with puppet and ansible, it gives better control as it allows you to "develop" your system. The dependencies system that's out of the box due to Ruby is really good! As a vagrant only user, chef-zero was the product that I really needed!
What do you dislike?
- I have to write ruby
- As a vagrant user, it feels it has quite some overhead when the system bootstraps
- It takes more time to write something "quick and dirty", while ansible performs better for MVP cases
- As a vagrant user, it feels ugly the way I have to manage my secret files, databags are not the best case
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a team leader, I've manage to create a unified environment for my team members, and having it on git, we are having the opportunity to all extended based on our ongoing needs. Using chef like that, It also gives me the opportunity to have a "shared communication protocol" with the devops side, and not missing any details that have been developed throughout the development phase.

As a business perspective, it has make the dev environment "disposable", as everything that's needed run in the Dev's VM and their laptops have no value now, or worrying if they got stolen
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make it being easier to bootstrap new projects - MVPs, maybe use some template bucket?


    User in Information Technology and Services

good work in setting up instance in cloud

  • December 22, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
After use the chef, it's easy and take very less time to set up a production instance(from 2 weeks to 3 hours). It's easy to learn by official docs.
What do you dislike?
a little expensive for side project / start up project
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
set up different environments(DEV/QA/PROD) by chef. Migrating the existing environment to the cloud and also build new environments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
it's good enough when build a cloud environments. And it's a good option on migrating the existing biz to the cloud.


    Almighty Y.

Chef let IT infrastructure implementation like an art planting.

  • December 22, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Chef is cross platform management solution.
2. make automation easier.
3. Just like cooking, follow the menu instruct to make a delicious meal.
4. Node role define flexible, easy and good for work.
What do you dislike?
1. module enhance not easy.
2. knife tool function may be could more and more.
3. Could not direct access to node console.
4. System configuration were handle by admin node(chef server).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
not yet.


    User in Internet

DevOps Engineer at Refinery29

  • December 18, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Chef is an all around wonderful provisioning system. I see the biggest advantage of Chef over its competitors, namely Puppet and Ansible (I don't have experience with any others), is the company and the community it facilitates. The most helpful part of the community is the wide, seemingly all inclusive, range of open source cookbooks available, which for the most part can be used out of the box to provision any system you might be building.
What do you dislike?
Developing new cookbooks—even more so when extending existing ones—for Chef requires a deep knowledge of how Chef works and of Ruby. Just knowing what you want to do is not enough.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used Chef at Elephant Ventures to build provisioning scripts for managing systems used to develop, and ocassionally deploy, web sites for our clients
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If cookbooks exist for everything you need, use Berkshelf with Chef to provision your systems. If cookbooks do not exist for your purposes or you need finer grained control than what existing cookbooks provide, use a different tool. I highly recommend Ansible, having built Refinery29's provisioning system using it, and have mostly heard good things about Salt, but have yet to try it.


    Sandip R.

Chef is one of best automation tool

  • December 18, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We used chef configuration management is doing good job so faar.
What do you dislike?
Process of deployment configuration is something tricky to understand but once learned is one of the great tool
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have Internal product that we deploy on four different servers using chef and doing various configurations for each.


    Internet

Chef is just awesome

  • December 16, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Because it's in Ruby and i love ruby.
Better Documentation
Platform support and use cases
Explicit dependency management
Esp rich marketplace of cookbooks
Chef Server management UI is awesome
What do you dislike?
Slow learning curve for beginners
Not as easy to pick up as YAML.
Knife Searching should be faster
Love to see setup more quicker
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use chef for configuration management.

There are lots of problem we solve using chef but we really enjoyed some of benefits from the tools
Berkshelf, Foodcritic, ChefSpec & Test Kitchen


    Retail

Best Configuration Management System

  • December 14, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have been working on Opscode Chef, though named is changed to Chef. I must say having worked on this technology for last 4 years now and also having worked on other configuration management system like puppet, anisble and salt. I always like chef for it's flexibility and easy to use features.

Chef does not imposes develoepers/devops to learn and understand any new platform, if some one can understand the basic of ruby, should be more then enough.

The community support is best part of the chef.

Documentation is the thing which you can rely on. There are many open source where it's documentation is not so good and supportive. Does not hold good with chef. Apart of official docs one can find many other posts on blogs on chef.

Over a period of time, chef has become a self sustained in pendent platform itself.
People of built tool of other tools to help many developers and devops.
What do you dislike?
Couple of tools which are out of the box, yet to see the stable release.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am running my entire e-commerce ERP and CRM solutions and running my entire aws stack using chef.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Considering the community support and the amount of the developer involved I can recommend others considering chef to other configure management system


    Fábio S.

Infrastructure setup and maintenance automation for our PaaS offering

  • May 29, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The powerful recipes system, version control and distributed capabilities. Chef allowed us to automate most, if not all the automated provisioning and change management systems in the underlying servers of our PaaS offering through Ruby scripting, shell scripting and Powershell scripting.
What do you dislike?
Ruby scripting. Ruby is a language that, in my opinion, is declining in relation to more straightforward ones like Python. Chef relies a lot in Ruby, which, in a company like ours, is a skill that is hard to find, and there are some features that are only found in external gems which have not been maintained for a while now.
Unfortunately the document is sparse and you'll have to comb through the internet to find answers to some common use cases.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automation of the provisioning of our PaaS offering servers and change management (patch installation, platform upgrades, performance metering). Chef, as an open source solution backed by an Enterprise version, allowed us to start small and scale very quickly to around 600 servers now.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be proficient in Ruby. Understand the concepts behind it and go for a subscription that will help you get up and running quickly. Unfortunately the document is sparse and you'll have to comb through the internet to find answers to some common use cases.


    Justin S.

The best of breed

  • May 02, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
100% open source
The right community and mindset
Jez Miller
Microsoft is partnering with chef and you'll see integrated TFS and visual studio stuff soon
Chef continuous deliver tool shows they know what they are doing
What do you dislike?
Nothing, the support is top notch. They are an awesome company that I fully recommend.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Configuration as code
Configuration management
Continuous delivery
Infrastructure standup and tear down
Blue green deployments
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Stop looking here, puppet is just mimicking chef's model now...don't pick the company struggling to keep up.