Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Parallels Remote Application Server (RAS)

Parallels | Parallels RAS 18

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base win2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 4

External reviews

46 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Clare D.

Parallels Remote Application Application is a descent and Secure software for Remote Access

  • April 13, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I use Parallels to remotely access some of our client's servers hosted in the cloud. So far I have not had major issues with it. It works as expected and most importantly it is more secure than other applications for remote access like the windows remote desktop application.
I like that Pararells allows for the creation of different user rights. You can create a username and limit the access rights as needed. One of our major clients uses this feature since all the users access the server but with limited rights.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the application hangs and you are forced to close it up and open it up again. This can lead to wastage of time.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With Parallels, you can have one server that is hosted remotely in the cloud and have everyone access the server directly using parallels. This can lead to proper utilization of resources since you don't need to invest a lot of money in having powerful individual user machines. As long as the server is powerful and high-end, you are good to go.


    Zayral Z.

I work online

  • March 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simultaneous work in different places, perfect for saving time and consulting pre-configured applications.
What do you dislike?
I have no problems with my current system.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Use applications remotely, perfect for using remote devices.


    Information Technology and Services

Parallels RAS for simple solutions

  • March 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The RAS system from Parallels (originally was 2x) is extremely easy to get up and running quickly and has a very nice interface. Especially if you compare it to the more involved solutions. I am not using this currently but the pricing structure was also very reasonable at the time.
What do you dislike?
It has its limitations, for example if you have a lot of applications and limitations on who it's published to, it can be very cranky. In the case I was most recently involved in the applications were published to multiple organiations with specialized differences for each organization using it. That ended up with a significant number of published applications with 4-8 being shared per client. At a point the application stopped properly serving clients and would start denying incoming connections. After a significant number of attempts at correcting the issue we ended up needing to use another solution. I don't mean 10-15, this was a significant number of applications published which is probably a very rare situation for non-hosting companies.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our original reason for using RAS was its simplicity and easy pricing. There is very little to touch once its up and running and the interface was the easiest to use. It can definitely be scaled up and can do some pretty complex things now but at its core its a really nice product and doesn't need tons of consulting hours to get off the ground.


    UffeS

Cannot use it

  • March 08, 2022
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The EC2 instance that this AMI require does not exist anymore .... so not possible to create. IT based on t2 and no possibility to select an existing one.


    Mun Q.

Parallels RAS

  • January 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it is easy to access another desktop for school work.
What do you dislike?
I do not have any problems with this software at all.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using it to access datasets and other apps, such as Python, R, and SAS for school assignments.


    Stefan Z.

Universal remote access with Parallels RAS

  • October 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Parallels RAS brings all your IT infrastructure (servers, applications, shared drives, private cloud, printers) in a browser at a fingertip, with excellent user experience, low latency, and high security. It provides the agility complex businesses need.
What do you dislike?
Although there is a heavy client to access the virtualized items, setup the client in an enterprise environment with serious network security policies in place is complicated, leaving you only the HTML5 access.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Parallels RAS server allowed us easy virtualization of applications, remote access to resources isolated in VLANs through very flexible user access policies. Imagine an application running on a server isolated in a VLAN with limited access. The application bound to the server's hardware resources must be accessible to specific user groups, but the server is forbidden to access. Parallels RAS server would solve such a problem.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Parallels have complex architecture; only IT professionals must set it up. Read thoroughly the installation guide, which is rich and detailed. Start with a basic setup and grow to your expectations progressively.


    Albert O.

Amazing Application if you need to be at two places at the same time

  • August 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part is ints deep integration into the system so that the application runs very smoothly and without any problems. It works really fast and it is easily adapted to the Mac system which means it opening within several seconds.
What do you dislike?
I don't like that we have to decide the percentage of the utilization by the application at the very beginning and it is hard to change it when the application is already installed. It means that you once have to decide how many GB you will dedicate to the application and then no matter how hard and intensive the activity can get, there is no way to change it around.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I've solved the problems of having easy access to Windows remotely which helps a lot at the workstation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Dedicate more GB space at the begining.


    Vallish

Appliance fails to serve apps or desktop

  • August 03, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

After deploying the appliance and going through initial configuration, whenever I try to login via HTML5 webapp or Parallels client, I always get Username or password incorrect error. Same credentials work via RDP so I know that my credentials are correct. Could not find anything in the support forums nor heard back from support on facebook messenger. Struggled for an entire day debugging with no solution.


    Martijn

Not working

  • February 28, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

RDP fails, can't access the machine. I came here because I heard about the product in a commercial. Azure version doesn't work either. Great!


    Airlines/Aviation

So simple and easy to use!!

  • December 15, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I love the most with Parallels is that when I’m not connected directly to the company’s server I can remote into any of the applications that I need to with if not at the office. So it’s great when I’m off sick or at home when a problem arises, I can pull out my computer and remote directly to all my work data. When the server is down at airport and we cannot check in I still have my laptop that we can remote in to get any check in data needed. It also has a really good mobile app too which is a really good plus.
What do you dislike?
There’s not much that I don’t dislike with Parallels, at first it seemed a bit confusing but now it’s so easy.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Some business problems that I am solving with Parallels would be any work related issues that arises when I’m not in the office such as reservations systems issues that need to be solved so I can connect remotely and fix anything that needs to be fixed. The benefits of having Parallels when my works network is down is amazing. I can continue working with ease by connecting to the airports wifi and using Parallels