Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Database Performance Analyzer - Subscription (Linux)

SolarWinds | 2023.4.300

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

153 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

DPA is a pretty great tool

  • December 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The best thing I've used it for was looking for root blockers and monitoring deadlocks but just from the features that I looked at while in the trial period it can do so much more. It was easy to use and the setup didn't take much time. I know that a lot of time can be put in on it but that is something else I liked about DPA. If you are willing to spend the time and develop it, it could be a one stop shop
What do you dislike about the product?
There wasn't much that I didn't like, there were times went the program seemed slow however that could have been due to the limitations on the database I was trying it on
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were having issues with deadlocks happening during the middle of the day and DPA helped to quickly identify where they were coming from and who was causing it. (It was someone running 52 different reports in Orion for hardware monitors at the same time.) The benefits to me seem to be endless plus if given the opportunity within my current company I would like to see about getting it implemented
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a great tool for analyzing your database with. I would highly recommend it.


    Hospital & Health Care

Tested in a POC environment

  • December 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Adding DB to the stack to find performance issues.
What do you dislike about the product?
Systems team did not find the interface user friendly. They had no experience with SolarWinds.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were able to diagnose and issue with our SolarWinds NPM database and reconfigured the hardware setup.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good product that requires more diligent training of staff.


    Kyaw T.

Productivity gains from quick troubleshooting.

  • December 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We purchased Confio Ignite (now DPA) as it was called back, hoping to alleviate the time taken when performance issues occurred. Due to budget constraints, we have only one SQL Server DBA which was borderline OK as far as workloads go. However, we would fall behind whenever performance issues popped up or when troubleshooting needed to take place. DPA has worked wonders for our DBA and enables him to rapidly pinpoint where the performance issue is with a SQL Server database. We have also started to use DPA to provide alerts when things are not 100% OK in our SQL Server environment.
What do you dislike about the product?
The graphs showing top SQL statements and top waits, etc. are difficult to interpret because the colors used in the bar graphs are shades of the same color. It is often difficult to distinguish between the shades to determine which queries are the top offenders when the shades of red or green or blue are so close together. Note that this is not the case when you log in to look at details. However, the high level charts in emails are difficult to make out. I feel I should not have to log in to be able to make out the details - I am busy enough as it is.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1. I get quick resolution to performance issues that used to take a lot longer to troubleshoot.
2. I get alerts in advance of something bad about to happen. We do not have to wait for application users to alert us to issues.
3. We have started to use DPA for our Oracle standard edition as it works so well with SQL Server. Although we have Oracle Enterprise Manager for our Oracle Enterprise databases, this does not cover monitoring Oracle Standard Edition databases.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are a lot of features in DPA that make it worthwhile in itself. Try the free trail to get a feel for it. Additionally, SolarWinds has built an ecosystem around it. We run SQL Server on VMware and having the ability to monitor the VM on which SQL Server is running is very useful for a DBA (the VMware module adds VM stats to DPA - it is a separately purchasable module and not part of DPA). It lets the DBA independently monitor and verify the performance and state of the VM w/o having to bother the system administrator. This lets the DBA determine whether or not the host VM is having resource issues, etc.


    Computer Networking

DPA review

  • December 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
User interface working method and knowledge base
What do you dislike about the product?
Didn't understand perstack and DPA relationship
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am not using but studied about the status
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for this database analysis it will be very helpful


    Defense & Space

Easy to use Database performance analysis tool

  • December 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Everything is broken down with time based stacked graphs
What do you dislike about the product?
The expense if you have a lot of databases
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Quickly find out where the problem is.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The price gets bigger if you have many databases but it's one of the best tools to quickly isolate where the problems are in your database with wait times. Easy to find the query where all the time is being wasted.


    Retail

User friendly and simple

  • December 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
easy information presentation. Very user friendly UI. Doesn't lag. Liked the drag and drop feature. Easy to go through the charts.
What do you dislike about the product?
the best tool used so far. This was my first time using a DPA so hard to say if it was missing something.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To monitor metrics of entire environment.


    Ryhlen S.

Easy to read and Monitor Database

  • December 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The detail that DPA provides, very easy to setup, easy to integrate with our current monitoring system. Easy to use.
What do you dislike about the product?
The Web Page that the DPA uses is visually bland. Should be more colorful.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
able to identify processes that are using memory and have discovered issues with disk speeds
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very good decision when monitoring our Databases


    Ethan B.

Solarwinds DPA must have

  • December 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The amount of information given to you in one place. They make it easy to track down the issue at hand. You need need to do any other queries for trying to find the issue you have. Bring up Solarwinds DPA and you can get all the information you need. There is even a new feature that you can use DPA information and show it along side information from other modules so you have data to compare at a particular time frame.
What do you dislike about the product?
Is there something I should dislike? The Solarwinds interface can be slow at times and I know there are ways to make it more responsive but have not gotten to optimization yet. Sometimes there can be an overwhelming amount of data. They do a really good job at delivering you anything and everything you need, just need the time to sort it all out.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Database bottlenecks have been much easier to locate. We recently just had an issue with a system constantly going down and we created a performance analysis comparing data from the server hardware, system, DPA and the network to find the issue. Being able to see all the data we needed including the deep dive into the DB helped us pin down the exact issue and rule out what was not the issue.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
need to give it a try and see all the information it can give you. If you have at least one DB install this software and see what information you can get you never seen before.


    Retail

Life Saver

  • December 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I liked being able to monitor SIDs on database instances.
What do you dislike about the product?
A small dislike but it would be the cost of the product. Oracle instances come with a premium cost vs SQL instances.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This will be beneficial for those with minimal database experiences. In tough situations, it is good for a non DB person to be able to dive into this product and see potential issues like long running queries that need to be killed that cause service degradation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This product is great for a team that wants to add it to their Solarwinds Portfolio, especially if Database monitoring is a need. There are other Database monitoring tools, but this will allow a small IT team to have one pane of glass for troubleshooting.


    Airlines/Aviation

Interesting way to monitor your databases using Wait-Time Analytics.

  • December 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The wait-time analytics is great. The software easily points our where issues are with poorly written queries. Integration with the rest of the SolarWinds suite is also very helpful as we can place performance statistics from multiple modules onto the same graph. Adding storage metrics from the Storage Arrays with OS metrics, and DPA counters make mapping out potential issues easy.
What do you dislike about the product?
Cost. The price per database is too high. We would like if SolarWinds offered an enterprise license. Also the trial period is too short at 14 days, it doesn't give enough time to fully vet the product. Aligning the trial with their other products at 30 days would be better.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use DPA to monitor our Enterprise Monitoring Database. This software easily shows which queries are generating the most amount of wait-time. We monitor the database that is doing the monitoring for the enterprise. When we perform upgrades we can tell right away if there are performance issues.