Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Deep Learning AMI (Ubuntu 16.04)

Amazon Web Services | V34.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

10 AWS reviews

External reviews

12 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Houssam

pytorch_36 breaks

  • April 21, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Also unlike the description, the pytorch versioning running there was 1.0.0 not 1.4

Updating the torch version lead to some technical issues. Terrible.


    Marc

This AMI Breaks Horovod under tensorflow_p36 env

  • September 24, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

So this AMI SHOULD NOT be used for Horovod from what I can see - there are multiple versions of openMPI installed and it really breaks everything.

I'm not sure I see why there packages installed globally and also under conda environments, it causes big problems.

I'm happy to be proved wrong but after 12 hours of messing about with it I've decided to build my own image which I shall share!


    Prahlad K.

Very good Machine image for Deep Learning enthusiast

  • July 01, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is a very quick way to get an environement ready for deep learning or machine learning models for all type of scales.You can get eras,pytorch or tensor flow all setup with environment ready to code on any aws instance such as ec2 which really saves time of setting up an instance.Also if you are using it for temporary purpose and want easy and quick setup for DL then AWS deep learning ami is really very good.It has various variants as per your requirement with different pricing tiers.
What do you dislike?
No its all good about aws deep learning Ami's.Good quality and full of required packages.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used aws Deep learning ami for one of my ec2 instance which I used to develop and train deep learning model on cloud.I didn't even spend 5 mins getting everything up and starting to work on the model due to this ami as it had everything preinstalled on it.I am really looking forward to use this in near future again.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I really recommend using aws deep learning ami's to all the Machine learning and Deep learning experts wanting to do an easy and faster setup on cloud with all their necessities installed on any of their instance on aws cloud.I really liked it too much and will be surely using it in near future for my DL related works.


    emilia

tensorflow_p36 doesn't work with GPU

  • May 01, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

You pretty much need to set it up everything yourself. Here is what you get out-of-the-box:

(tensorflow_p36) ubuntu@ip-172-31-6-11:~$ source activate tensorflow_p36
(tensorflow_p36) ubuntu@ip-172-31-6-11:~$ python
Python 3.6.5 |Anaconda, Inc.| (default, Apr 29 2018, 16:14:56)
[GCC 7.2.0] on linux
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import tensorflow as tf
>>> sess = tf.Session(config=tf.ConfigProto(log_device_placement=True))
2019-05-01 23:37:47.936444: F tensorflow/stream_executor/lib/statusor.cc:34] Attempting to fetch value instead of handling error Internal: no supported devices found for platform CUDA
Aborted (core dumped)


    jlh

Doesn't work

  • April 02, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I've used previous versions <=v20.0 quite often and they worked okayish. In v20 the unattended upgrade process hangs itself and doesn't terminate even if you wait a long time. So you actually have to kill a bunch of processes before you can install additional packages. But now v22.0 doesn't even start due to a missing snapshot.


    Rob J.

Best AMI software

  • January 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is a great virtual appliance that helps communicate between software's
What do you dislike?
It's a bit high tech when it comes to the user ability. You should have experience with similar software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When using AMI it allowed us to communicate between software internally much faster.


    Consumer Services

An exceptional learning experience

  • January 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to dive in deep to gain a learning experience with the system that lasts throughout your project needs.
What do you dislike?
The UI could use a little shaping (improvement.)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The ability to use this to train a teem and give them insight on the needs of the business world. AWS truly gives the insight needed for those diving into AWS
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use when needing to gain a wonderful learning experience, you won't regret it!


    Automotive

AWS Deep Learning AMIs Review

  • January 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The AWS Deep Learning AMIs (Amazon Machine Images) let you build custom environments and workflows.There are some open source materials that are very abstract and super easy.
What do you dislike?
Cost is one factor that it is on the expensive side for implementing fully.
It is difficult to switch to different versions of frameworks
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mostly monitoring , and how easily it can adjust with AWS services and gives you the exact problem solution .


    Mengen G.

A very handy tool for machine learning

  • January 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has what I needed for deep learning and machine learning. I use PyTorch and AWS Deep Learning AMIs save me one more step of configuring the deep learning suite. That is also a huge help for people who want to learning deep learning but do not have whole lot of experience of Linux. Love it.
What do you dislike?
I have not found anything I do not like for now.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
That saves me lots of time configuring Linux for deep learning.


    George L.

The AWS deep learning AMI does very well for short term compute loads.

  • January 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I was able to spin up the Deep Learning AMI in just a few minutes, sign into the server, and then upload my program and corresponding files to run workloads. Many packages such as Python, Anaconda, along with Tensorflow etc. are all preinstalled so you're ready to go.
What do you dislike?
I disliked how confusing it was to activate certain packages. There isnt that much documentation and you have to run source to activate certain packages.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am able to solve problems with python easily and not have to worry about installing individual packages.