Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Plesk Obsidian on Ubuntu 18.04 (Web Admin Edition SE - FREE)

Plesk | 18.0.29

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

8 AWS reviews

External reviews

109 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    MIGUEL ANGEL M.

The best hosting manager platform in the world

  • October 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
When we talk about the best of the best, we bring to the subject Plesk the most powerful, cost-effective and stable domain and website manager on the market, a power machine when it comes to managing services and web platforms, very light, easy to use, many connection options. and variety of general integrations. A very advanced support service a very detailed documentation and with very easy commands you can do many things quickly and easily with solutions to all types of problems and adapts to all kinds of situations of high or low demand, always ready to give the battle
What do you dislike?
When it comes to talking about the things they don't like about plesk, we can talk about very simple things such as the customization in its new version to make more branding of the company, but among others its price there is very little difference between the admin web plan and web pro that should make a combination of both plans and unite them since together they would be better, another thing that I do not like is the high cost of many premium applications monthly among which is also that you need to add an SDK for mobiles to be able to connect plesk with native mobile applications or other frameworks and be able to access domains and connect websites as applications and thus give users more alternatives
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I always look for a unique alternative to host my websites and be able to manage them from a powerful tool and that is Plesk a tool that can solve all the problems for a person who hosts from a small website to a web application or an e-commerce platform and There is always plesk with the alternatives to provide a unique experience when managing those sites that I do not handle my sites and they are all with plesk because in my opinion it is the best of the best tool making the management of my sites very easy


    Carolina L.

Plesk: A tool to control the hosting environment at advanced levels

  • September 22, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- It has a friendly web GUI.
- It has tools to manage files, databases, emails.
- Git repositories can be added.
- It has pre-installed apps like Magento, Moodle and Prestashop.
- It has indicators to measure the traffic of a website.
What do you dislike?
- The professional edition version is expensive.
- Do not generate SSL / TLS certificates automatically.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- It allows me to manage the organization's domain, as well as additional domains.
- I can maintain the website files.
- It allows me to access our MySQL databases.
- I can measure website traffic.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Plesk is software that will save you time on various tasks for your website. It is friendly and available in multiple languages.


    Keith H.

Horrible SSL management

  • September 18, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like having an admin panel to manage my server. The panel looks like it can do a lot but really most of the stuff is pretty standard.
What do you dislike?
I hate their lets encrypt built in integration because it never works. My site SSL is always going down, and I am always manually updating it. I tired to migrate the site and the Plesk support could not help me. The facebook community isnt very supportive sure there are docs online but none of those helped me either so if you are running amazon lightsail with plesk you are not getting the full experience. I hear that Plesk on digital ocean works much better with LetsEncrypt.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using command lines are a pain in the but for me. I'd rather get a root canal. Even the online instructions on logging in or doing anything with the command line has changed so its not really about following along it is about googling until you can find someone else who had the same problem and solved it before you. Plesk allows me to select different options without having to do command line codes on the server which otherwise I would not be able to operate without it.


    Flavio S.

Plesk is a tool that will give you full control of your website

  • September 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like Plesk because it is a simple tool. All the accesses to the tools are arranged in a menu displayed in the application interface. I like it because it has a file manager that allows you to edit files directly from the application. Also, I also like it because it has a backup manager.
What do you dislike?
I've never been able to use the WordPress toolkit because it doesn't allow me to run any WordPress installation or any plugin. Also, it does not receive updates.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Plesk is a tool that greatly facilitates us to edit files on our website, since we can edit them directly in the application and save the changes. Previously we had to download them via FTP and edit them in some software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Plesk is a tool that will provide you with various advantages for managing your website. It has a free trial, so I recommend requesting it and trying its functions. It has a friendly interface and all its options are well structured.


    Neto A.

An innovative set for the development of its technological departments.

  • September 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is an application that draws a lot of attention, due to its innovative functionalities, which allow to increase the productivity of certain applications with which multiple users entrust, it is one of my favorite software, since they allow developers to increase their labor performance in great amplitudes, being an incredible platform that maintains tools that allow better performance in the departments that are dedicated to these labor branches.
What do you dislike?
It would be useful if you could brainstorm ideas to promote and edit these applications in an easier and more flexible way in their entirety, with new designs and significant improvements on a large enterprise scale, which does not contain these functions in availability, and can be nefarious in large proportions, which requires new modernization in its main and functional panels, for a good job to an enduring and extravagant movement.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Plesk specifically in our developer departments that allow an innovative flow, in every aspect carried out in these work areas, which we can significantly execute and automate the already initialized applications on which we rely on growing these peculiarities, in a well structured, offering complete success, and causing satisfaction on the part of the clients who commissioned such work, all thanks to this systematic innovative service.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is ideal for agencies that are dedicated to innovative web development, which allows an improvement in manual matter, adding possibilities to use the system in a fully automated way and thus acquire a greater balance of purchases and orders than customers. We decide to carry out, in person when you are creating certain websites, modifying them to adapt them to your most favorable environments and at the same time launch them, to make them available to the basic users of your business facilities, since Plesk is your best alternative.


    Nirav B.

facilitates the frequent evolution of web applications.

  • August 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We can take the initiative that I am fascinated by this software for its visualization transfers, from continuous growth to success, of applications, websites, or companies based on hosting, being a quite innovative and independent system, according to its designed functionalities, most of all it catches my attention is its way of running and automating a complete server, in an extravagant and unique way, which makes it a quite sophisticated and next-generation service, in this regard with its multitasking tools.
What do you dislike?
We must emphasize that Plesk must integrate a functionality that is very necessary for the correct fluency of its tools, when we go to terms of total security of the work carried out with this platform, which is that it needs to implement a complete restoration, that is, a bmr, of all your computer system that you have acquired, which does not provide an effective safeguard, giving reference that all the data that a company fostered in its environment from its inception could be lost, being a serious problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We currently use Plesk to manage multiple applications, above all, those of our clients, since we are dedicated to guaranteeing the effectiveness of functions of a system on a successful large scale, to each of the users who are registered on the platform that we have, which this software facilitates the work we do in flexible qualities, since it allows us to execute and automate all the processes of realization of the servers, promising us a formidable source of income, in most of the work that we carry out to the individuals who request it from us.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is ideal for companies that are dedicated to development, since Plesk offers them the tools to carry out fully guaranteed digital work, but if used by the experts that each of these organizations have in their respective departments they contain, for this work in particular, which will offer you flexibility to run, automate, build and grow large-scale applications, including web sites, and hosting companies, which are also a prime target for this software platform.


    the OS is not stable

symbol 'grub_calloc' not found

  • August 21, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

After you install the instance, everything works perfectly.

We uploaded our work and had it running for about a week, when we tried to restart the instance, it never restarted and the issue returned
"error: symbol `grub_calloc' not found. Entering rescue mode...
grub rescue> _"

This is an error from the OS Ubuntu, there is a fix, but i was not able to work on it due to that instance is connected to the AWS market and it didnt allow me to move the vlomun to fix it on another server

Watch from this error and make sure you restart the server during a week time to make sure your HD is fine.

This article may help
https://www.redradishtech.com/display/~jturner/2020/07/30/symbol+%27grub_calloc%27+not+found+--+how+to+fix+on+AWS


    Mike

Misleading Description, Doesn't support t2.micro instance

  • August 21, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

If you don't support t2.micro, why do you mention that you support it ? Wasted so much time through the learning curve only to find its not supported.


    Jon M.

Expensive with no support

  • April 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Relatively easy to use, although setup documentation is poor, had to rely on other blogs to get up and running.
What do you dislike?
Support is non-existent. Had to go through the reseller for support and queries, adding frustration. Features are basic for the price.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing a Linux VPS
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at history of Plesk and the company that recently purchased it. Plesk headed in the wrong direction, raising prices hugely.


    Jason

So far..... so good!

  • January 12, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I've been using this for 2 months. I've only a few domains and really just wanted a simple and low cost hosting control panel that just works.

I'm getting 100% uptime and a fairly low cost Lightsail instance (about £15/month) with UK presence.

As this is free, it's excellent. Assign an elastic IP to your instance and set-up the name servers (with your domain registrar) and off you go.
All 3 domains have SSL (free), and email etc all work fine.

I did try some of the other control panels, but they did give me issues - this just got me to where I wanted to be.