Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress with NGINX and SSL Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami | 5.5.1-1 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

11 AWS reviews

    Francesco G

NGINX with SSL manualy

  • July 09, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Is pretty useless an AMI with Nginx ad SSL that not support auto configuration for the service. I have try it, but mabye I will kill this instance and start over again.


    Nacho Lpz

Broken SSH

  • May 24, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Suddenly I couldn't access to my instance anymore.
After loosing hours, I decide to recover my wordpress site from the backup. So, I created a brand new instance based on this image... and guess what?? It's unreachable!!
Please fix the ssh.


    NativeStack

Everything you need

  • May 20, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

WordPress, NGINX, SSL SERVER CERTS what more do you need?

This is perfect and easy to work with and plenty of docs on bitnami


    N5ZY

Amazing! A semi-novice and now I have a WordPress site and a free SSL

  • May 11, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is really cool and for $0.00 it's pretty exciting!
About all I can remember from a UNIX course 30 yrs ago is ls and vi...
I can't believe that in a day I've managed to create an AWS account, I've created a linux host running WordPress, registered a DNS zone, and I even have an SSL! And so far I've only paid for registering a DNS zone.

Oh, and I've used SSH in PuTTY for the first time.
It was fairly easy, just had to follow the instructions they give here in the marketplace. Actually, I find the hardest part is trying to use the cost calculator for what my fee will be 12 months from now..

Huge thank you to AWS, Bitnami and the Let's Encrypt Authority X3, and WordPress... now I just need to figure out how to renew this free SSL when that day happens.. and setup my Amateur Radio demo site.. (did I mention the Chrome browser now shows a little padlock instead of a warning! Awesome!)

I originally tried the multisite Wordpress but to setup up SSL with that is a chore since I didn't want to pay for the AWS load balancer that is required for the AWS free SSL. Evidently it can be done but I messed up something and just deleted that VM and created a new instance using this one.


    Matt k

Works as advertised, don't listen to untrainted reviewers

  • January 29, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Everything works out of the box if you take the time to read the documentation provided by Bitnami. Yes, it's difficult to make sure all of your security settings are correct for your specific environment to connect to this instance IF IT'S THE FIRST TIME YOU ARE USING SSH IN YOUR LIFE. Anyone with even the smallest amount of experience will have no problem.

I find it amazing that people who don't know what they are doing decide to lash out at a company that is giving them a jumpstart on configuring a set of free tools. If you don't like it, go spin up a bare unbuntu instance and do it yourself.

Thanks for doing the legwork, Bitnami.


    Andrew Skujins

Fails at its only purpose!

  • December 21, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The only reason I used this image was to streamline my Let'sEncrypt SSL - why not?

Used the provided tool:

Executing /opt/bitnami/bncert-tool...

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Welcome to the Bitnami HTTPS Configuration tool.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bitnami installation directory

Please type a directory that contains a Bitnami installation. The default
installation directory for Linux installers is a directory inside /opt.

Bitnami installation directory [/opt/bitnami]:

Warning: Currently only installations using the Apache web server are supported.
Make sure you are entering a proper path, or choose a different directory.


    What is a Pen Name?

Critical Error upon creation, SSL doesnt work

  • December 04, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Fired up another WordPress with NGINX and SSL Certified by Bitnami and Automattic version 5.3 node, logged into the Admin Area and updated the 3 plugins that come with the install.

Then the website crashed, warning message "There has been a critical error on your website."

Weird how it basically comes flawed out of the box.


    MEO

CRAP

  • November 06, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Can't connect to SSH through Mac or the browser terminal. so can't install any SSL on the site unless you start over from scratch. this is the 3rd instance. Stay away from Bitnami. Go to Digital Ocean or Pure Ubuntu


    marc

Love this build!

  • August 03, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is a VERY fast and stable build for WordPress. I dropped my page load time from about 3 seconds on shared hosting to a stable 1.0 second, and CPU utilization is only about 1% on a t3a-micro instance for a moderately trafficked site (about 3000 visits/mth. The SSL installation works like a charm and takes 5 minutes (although note the domain has to be resolved first). Furthermore it's possible via some mods to host multiple domains. I liked it so much I wrote long review and installation checklist, see www.wpacademy.com/aws. Great work, Bitnami!


    Karim

It's a true time saver!

  • March 09, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Thanks so much for making this quick setup it saved us a lot of time creating such a stack for our website! I wonder how to upgrade the stack if a new NGINX version or update to Let's Encrypt comes out? Do we need to just do a normal Linux update via ssh ? or do we have to use a different approach for upgrading this stack provided by Bitnami?

Thanks!

Sincerely,

Karim