Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CloudGuard Network Security with Threat Prevention & SandBlast BYOL

Check Point Software Technologies | R80.30-273.942

Linux/Unix, Other Gaia 3.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

265 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Superior holistic management

  • November 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Management integration is holistic as centralised management has been core to the solution for decades. Where other vendors have bolted management on over time, Check Point has always made it central to everything that they do.
What do you dislike?
Lack of local, in-state support. Competitor vendors have a strong presence in the Adelaide Market, but Check Point has always been limited with its commitment to staffing local technical resources.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work for a systems integrator and have designed and deployed solutions over many years with Check Point components. Problems solved with Check Point NGFWs have included securing the edge, data centre segregation, SWG replacement, Remote Access and many others.


    Education Management

MAESTRO & Virtualization

  • November 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The scalability of the MAESTRO system combined with the virtualization feature. Also the possibility to mix different hadware branches in one MAESTRO cluster (security group)
What do you dislike?
The Checkpoint NGFW OS is a historically grown OS. It has been on the market for long time and many releases. So it is a very complex system. All features are done in software - no extra hardware chips are installed. Because of this, the NGFW OS is very prone to bugs - and the occurence of these bugs is a bit too often. They have a good support, but the bugs are very deep in the system - in 80% of the tickets I needed the L3 Support in Israel/USA.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are now in position to expand the needed ressources nearly in time. With the MAESTRO solution you are able to add different hardware types (since R81.10) to the cluster and let them act as one system. All load sharing and hardware reservation is done automaticly.
With the virtualization feature you don't need 5 hardware firewall instances anymore. You can manage them from the same Management Console and the ressources of your firewall cluster won't idle - they are always there, where you need them.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If there are bugs - hope ;)


    Jose Manuel G.

Checkpoint NGTX firewall review

  • November 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Centrally managed devices from one device, so ease of configuration
One of the best protections on the market with reasonably good price
I like the logs and reporting in Checkpoint. It have a lot of information that other vendors don't have
What do you dislike?
SMS normally is an application not web app so you have to install it in compatible devices (windows machines)
It's quite complex to understand some terms when you have no knowledge about the product
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are protecting our users against known and also unknown threats.
We are also using VPN blades to have remote connectivity to our datacenter via our users and also Site2Site VPNs with other parties.


    Hospital & Health Care

They need to Catch up. THe product seems very dated

  • November 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The SMS Manager for Policy Management and Logging is a great feature.
What do you dislike?
The support from TAC is horrible. Site to Site VPNs to other vendors are not stable and missing feature like DBD. IPS has throughput issues. Some features are missing but others exist just are not stable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure the edge of the network. Allow remote access for remote work. We have defending the organization from many threats and we have also been able to limit remote access to only what users need.


    Agarwals S.

Really easy to maintain and affordable price

  • November 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Check Point firewall is reliable perimeter security product. We're using Check Point products for over 5years as a perimeter firewall. also to maintain the secure network we are using internal firewall too. Both are helps to secure our critical infrastructure, any originations should take the necessary steps to prevent the critical cyber and DDoS attacks. Check Point helps to identify those. To maintain the high availability we have cluster setup. Due to the changing patterns, we need to have a proper perimeter security to protect our organizations. Also during the pandemic period staff used to connect the corporate network from home. so checkpoint secure VPN connectivity help to reach the network securely. Checkpoint is excellent product,
What do you dislike?
Noting to dislike as we are happy with checkpoint product
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Checkpoint helps to resolve lot of problems, such as providing our organizations with known threats. Allows hosting the externally accessible websites securely. Our main goal was to connect the branch offices with head office. checkpoint helps to connect with another branch network since we are having a couple of branch offices. Very easy understand dashboard. Provides detailed view.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I like to recommand this product


    Banking

It Has No Third Party Companies To Cover Company. Let's Handle As One.

  • November 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is based on application level. That is why it is one of my favourite firewall brand. On the other hand, it has really huge costumer service network. There is too many articles to work with and troubleshoot.
What do you dislike?
It can work very slow in application level. However, it is also confortable to work with. This is something negative but it has a lot of benefits as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Enhance decision making
Improve customer relations/service
Improve business process outcomes
Create internal/operational efficiencies


    Information Technology and Services

Smart and Short Review on Check Point NGFW

  • October 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Check Point Firewall is a matured NG Firewall, where most of the features proved as Industry best standards. SSL VPN with Posture Assessment, Logging, Reporting, and Application Controls are the most delicate features of Check Point NGFW. Periodic Software upgrades from Check Point show credibility on the Development and commitment towards security.
What do you dislike?
There are not many points on Dislike about Check Point NGFW product. But, the Technical Support service is not speedy enough sometimes which needs to taken care.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Check Point Firewall enables us to address the compliance requirement. It Protects against multiple attacks at perimeter level. Easy to manage and to create the policies or configurations.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Clear Log and very stable software

  • October 26, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
If you have an HA Setup you will have zero downtime. Teams and VoIP traffic will also not get stuck; you would notice anything while switching to the backup module.

The quality of the patches and hotfixes is great. We never had any issues during or after patching. All patches and hotfixes are well documented and if you have any issues the KB is very helpful.

The log is very clear and can be filtered very easily. If you need to analyze not only the connection you can use the CLI to dump TCP packets.

The activation of additional features is very easy and well documented.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, the firewall has its peculiarities which you have to know especially when you want to set up a Site2Site VPN with a third-party vendor - specifically if you want to set up IKEv2.

The debugging of VPN tunnels is very stressful. Sometimes you don't know what the firewall negotiates with the other site, so you have to use the command-line for the VPN debugging. However, if you use both sites, the setup is very easy.

The speed could be better when installing policy changes. In the beginning, we didn't have all features active. Now, it is all active and it takes some time to install. This is sometimes annoying if you forget a small change.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In the past few years, the attacks and risks have grown. That's why we introduced a NGFW. All the securtiy risks can be minimized with the product. Especially if you route the whole network traffic over the firewall. You can filter malicious sites and traffic and can analyze the entirety of traffic. The URL filter works much better and is much stronger than our other previous solution.

In the case of migrating or patching, it is very easy due to the fact that you can transfer the whole ruleset and settings from your old device. Patching is very easy and we've never had problems.


    Information Technology and Services

The best NGFW I've ever tried

  • October 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is a complete product that fully meets expectations and needs
What do you dislike?
Some routine tasks are very complex, such as managing licenses
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Full protection and visibility of what goes through the network
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a complete product that fully meets expectations and needs.
Easy implementation.


    Computer & Network Security

Check Point NGFW

  • October 20, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Robust solution.
Easy to mange.
Like very much idea of separate management device.
Good backward compatibility.
What do you dislike?
Embedded GAiA devices are little different from regular GAiA devices.
Would like better route Site to Site IPSec VPN implementation , would like to configure it from inside Smart Dashboard
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Protecting the internal networks, VPN
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Robust solution.
Easy to mange.
Like very much idea of separate management device.
Good backward compatibility.
Embedded GAiA devices are little different from regular GAiA devices.
Would like better route Site to Site IPSec VPN implementation , would like to configure it from inside Smart Dashboard