Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cherwell ITSM as a Service

Cherwell Software | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

147 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Thomas F.

Cherwell - Strong, But Small Fish In Big Pond

  • May 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We decided on Cherwell because of price point and the capability it promised could be delivered. With a bit of customization we were able to continually add value and improve core services. Initial setup was easy and deployment to end users was quick. The ease and speed did come at a slight cost however (see below).
What do you dislike?
The user interface is odd, clunky, and has a large learning curve from a usability perspective. The out of the box functionality did not give us anything close to what we needed, so we had to customize the system heavily. Although we were able to customize, it wasn't always easy and it was difficult to get certain workflows created and in some cases we simply couldn't. An example of this is we needed a multi-directional workflow. If user selects "A" the ticket flows to "Resolver Group A", or if the user selects "B" the ticket flows to "Resolver Group B". In order to accomplish this we had the create 2 separate catalog items, which bloated our customer facing service catalog with extra items. It ultimately negatively impacted customer satisfaction do to customers submitting the wrong request that was routed to the wrong resolver group, resulting in the delivery of the wrong service.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Service requests including hardware, software, applications access, compliance, reporting, trouble tickets, and change management requests.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take time to understand how much customization you will need to build to meet your needs. Conduct a hands on POC and ensure you test as much functionality that you can. Its powerful for the price, but might fall short if you have more difficult automated workflow and customer friendly user interface needs.


    Maciej M.

Ticket client used on a daily basis to submit and work on incidents

  • April 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like regarding Cherwell is the fact that you can create your own dashboard and have one-click access to most important features
What do you dislike?
Unfortunately the layout of Cherwell is awful. It is not inituitive and one often has to spend some time to look for needed buttons. It looks like from 20 years ago.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Part of my work is support and I can use Cherwell to open incidents on work on those that others open.


    Primary/Secondary Education

Seems inexpensive until you buy it and try to get a functioning product.

  • February 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It works, eventually. It's an ITSM product.
What do you dislike?
Where to start... Out of the box, the product requires a ridiculous amount of customization just to function. Customization is handled through a custom markup language so either you need to hire professional services or train staff to re-learn how to do simple web-development tasks.

Works best with a Windows-only thick-client like it's 1997. The server is WIndows only as well, of course, so plan to deploy and manage the server like it's 2008. Who uses the cloud and containers in 2020 anyway?

There is a web client but it's an afterthought. It requires additional development time for this to function as well.

Cherwell discontinued their mobile apps (again, is it 2004 here?)

The knowledge base is pretty much text-only. Creating rich documentation is extremely frustrating.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's buzzword compliant. Our old helpdesk software was not ITSM software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider consulting hours, as well as administration time for managing the legacy systems it depends on before comparing prices to modern services.


    Douglas M.

Cherwell User Feedback

  • November 25, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Cherwell's platform is very easy to configure. One of the best things we like about Cherwell are the Business Objects and how we can easily re-purpose them for other business areas
What do you dislike?
One of the biggest issues we have is the SDL process that must be used when publishing blue prints. This could just be how we are doing this process as an organization as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The UX for the web portal and the lack of responsive design for the portal. We tried to use the OOTB solution and it looks very unprofessional from a UX perspective.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ensure you look at the implementation process and how easy it will be to configure the system.


    Brandon J.

Wonderful platform for nearly unlimited IT creativity

  • November 20, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Being able to quickly adapt the tool to our needs has been wonderful. We've been able to use Cherwell to consolidate, standardize and transform our IT business and this trend is now spreading in the rest of Shared Services!
What do you dislike?
As a hosted customer, we're at the mercy of Cherwell Support and this can sometimes lead to delays that are out of our control. Discovering and having to deal with the occasional bug can be a headache too.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're using a consolidated ITSM tool for all IT teams around the globe for the first time and will soon have all of our Shared Services using the same common tool. This will open up unprecedented views into department productivity which will drive our improvement and ultimately, customer satisfaction.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Think carefully about your decision to host it yourself on-prem or have Cherwell host it for you.


    Construction

Cherwell is our Core

  • November 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Cherwell is an amazing application. What Cherwell doesn't give you out of the box, they give you the ability to build yourself. Cherwell also has an amazing community of customers that Cherwell what I define as the best ITSM tool on the market.
What do you dislike?
Unfortunately, we are not able to trust that the upgrade won't break random functionality. The new content is amazing, but comes with a handful of bugs with every new release. Cherwell will put out a .0 release and the Cherwell community knows this is usually not a good release, and .1 will come out within weeks, typically we wait until .2 or higher. An upgrade for us, takes a minimum of 30 days prep, testing in non-prod and crossing fingers upon production implementation that all will go well.

The Cherwell Reports are not very user friendly. I consider myself a Cherwell expert, and I find it challenging to create reports. We have disabled access to report managers to our users to avoid them trying to figure out how to use it. We are able to get the data that we need using searches, widget, and PowerBI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using Cherwell, we have been able to automate many of our processes. We have added automation to our hires and terminations bringing processing times down from hours of manual labor to minutes of automation. Cherwell is awesome at allowing the user to customize per their business needs.

We have also have improved our application access process using Cherwell by using approvals to reach out to specific approvers if a customer requests access instead of the approver having to enter the request themselves. This saves our approvers countless hours by not making them have to manually enter the data.


    Higher Education

ITSM within reach

  • November 19, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The tool simplifies complex processes through the use of managers and editors that make it simple to enact processes on the fly. The tool has a bunch of different out of the box capabilities that other vendors just don't have.
What do you dislike?
Because the product has grown over the years from a desktop experience to a web experience, much of the platform is still catching up to what a web native client could offer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Incident, Service Request, Service, Problem, Change, CMDB, Knowledge and more. Most ITSm processes have reached SOME level of maturity through use of the tool.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get involved with the community!


    Aidan W.

Cherwell - A Great Service Management Solution

  • November 19, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Codeless configuration. Can add more than just ITSM to the platform such as HRSM and Facilities Management.
What do you dislike?
Not enough support from Cherwell on their released mApps. They seem to be an after thought when the platform goes through a major upgrade.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automating employee onboarding and offboarding. Previously this was done entirely via email communications which was a waste of time and hard to track.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can shoot yourself in the foot with Cherwell if your implemention is not well thought out or rushed.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Powerful Platform

  • November 19, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As a developer on the platform you can spin up proof of concepts and applications much faster than writing equivalents in other languages. It has a growing community and new integrations and functions are being created within the platform all the time.
What do you dislike?
Some upgrades are pretty painful, including recent data center migration and the eventual loss of VPN tunnels. The licensing costs are quite expensive and is the limiting factor for us to use Cherwell as an enterprise platform due to the cap on users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's great for digitizing existing forms and workflows providing transparency for all. It's also a flexible central hub for data such as asset data in the CMDB
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Implementing ITSM processes and lifecycles prior to the tool will be important, don't use the tool to implement processes, only support processes.


    Insurance

Cherwell great for automation

  • October 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Cherwell has been great in automating our processes across the ITSM board.
What do you dislike?
The only thing that is frustrating is the maintenance with multiple developers. It is easier I think with less than more.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are more streamlined. It's great having all ITSM tools under one umbrella.