Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

3CX Phone System

3CX | 3CX Phone System 18.0.3.461

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

386 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Katekani Leon R.

Excellent for Voice Solutions

  • May 17, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I can set up the 3CX app on my smartphone and use it if I am away from my desk phone. I like the digital receptionist feature and ring groups, I can even set up holiday greetings on the console management.
What do you dislike?
The Windows desktop app is always disconnecting or failing to register, I am not sure if it is a setting or something wrong with the configuration since I tried to re-provision it. Also with 3CX and Microsoft TEAMS integration, I feel there could be some improvement with availability statuses, sometimes it still hangs on DND even if you are long done with the meeting. This feature is great to avoid receiving calls on 3CX while you are on MS Teams meetings.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is easier to communicate with the 3CX telephone system and instant messaging.


    Mark Donaldson

Works great until release 18 disabled this great PBX phone system

  • May 10, 2022
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

3CX is a great PBX SIP based phone system. In Canada, I use it with voip.ms and a Canada-Central hosted EC2 instance to get it to work fully for a North America toll-free number in Canada. This 3CX system was working great up until the version 18 automated upgrade in May 2022 made the host unreachable. I'm able to log into the admin console. Now, it won't connect and I'm left to figure out exactly why. This hasn't happened before. I may have to refresh all of the SIP trunk connection settings to see if that will fix everything. I'll update my review once I figure out the root cause of the failure to connect to the 3CX system. I use this for my corporate phone PBX and I'm now without a corporate phone until I get it fixed.


    Logistics and Supply Chain

3CX as a cheap and easy VoIP-PBX

  • April 14, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy setup either managed in their own cloud or spun up as a vm or physical machine (~30min)
Easy management of extensions as well as different phone providers
What do you dislike?
Random inteferences during calls (might be a general VoIP-problem as far as my experience goes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
For example automated phone menus as well as call queues or round-robin distribution of incoming calls.
One benefit is the ability to use a webclient even remotely from any PC with microphone and speakers (preferably a headset) or with the smartphone app.


    Jarod M.

Affordable and robust PBX system

  • April 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Deployment of phones is a breeze and with the correct workflow it does not even require removing phones from the box until it is time to plug them in at the user's desk.
What do you dislike?
I wish the upgrade feature was easier. When there is a major upgrade, you must backup the system, uninstall the old version, install the new version and restore the backup.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We're using the provisioning templates to push out multicast paging settings that allowed us to replace old intercom systems with the voip phones.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do the trial and try it out. You'll probably love it.


    Robert C.

Indisputable Value and Performance

  • April 13, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
First and foremost is value. 3CX provides professional grade software features and performance at an incredible price. The software is rock solid and easy to setup, with enough flexibility to customize to integrate into any office environment. The companion mobile app is a favorite feature among my supported user base, as it allows them to work remotely without any telecom workflow disruptions.

I'm also a big fan of the reporting and error checking features provided by the 3CX dashboard, as it provides a detailed gimps into the overall usage and performance of my 3CX installation. This allows me to better understand the usage and plan appropriately for hardware upgrades.
What do you dislike?
It's hard to find a dislike within 3CX, as for every issue I have encountered, the community forums have helped me create a workaround. I would, however, like to see native 911 support along with native remote voicemail options. At time of writing, I had to setup a dedicated number that redirects to voicemail, compare this to a traditional method of being able to hit a key combination at time of voicemail prompt so the user can enter an admin state. By far not a deal breaker and the community was able to help me with the dedicated extension workaround, as they are always happy to assist.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Coming from an old Nortel system, 3CX provided us with the flexibility and scaling we required for our business to grow. Our old system also proved to be difficult to support, as the software was no longer being developed or updated. 3CX is always coming out with new features that continue to make our investment into 3CX even more valuable as time goes on.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For ease of integration, review the directly supported trunk/SIP providers. Our provider was not supported and caused a few issues with SIP packet support by our provider, no fault of 3CX. We were able to resolve the issue by contacting our SIP provider and verifying what they expected as a SIP header and modified our installation to support such. Ultimately, it was an easy fix, but going with a supported SIP provider would have made the installation a lot easier.


    James P.

What a GREAT phone system!

  • April 13, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The system was very easy to install. We are currently using almost 200 extensions and this system is a breeze to add new stations. The price was also something that was too good to be true. Don't be fooled by the low price point. This system can hold it's ground with the bigger players at less than half the price!
What do you dislike?
The cell phone app is a little buggy. It will drop calls randomly that are passed through to it from the system. It is just a minor annoyance though and definitely not something that I would consider something that would make me rethink our purchase.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We accomplished things with this system that we could have only dreamed about with our older system. We don't have to bring a contractor in to add an extension which adds cost. Our company likes to be very self sufficient and this system allows us to do just that. We have had the system since October 2019 and are still finding hidden gems that we did not know existed and our implementation consultant did not highlight. By no means is that a knock on our consultant as there are SO many things available in this system, it is impossible to cover them all.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't dismiss this product because of it's price point. We kept waiting for "the other shoe to drop" and when we were going to get hit with add on pricing to provide us the features the bigger names provide. It never happened. We have a system that will do everything we want in a business class phone system, and more, and still have money back from what we would have spent had we went with a bigger name brand.


    Jeffrey O.

Great product with lots of features and tons of savings

  • April 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love all the options and ability to expand product. WIth 3CX our staff have been able to provide excellent care for the patients we serve. Choosing 3CX has been one the best decisions i have made. The return on investments is what i liked best.
What do you dislike?
3CX has met all of our needs. You will not be disappointed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have been able to meet all of our phone needs with expanded capabilities all for a significant reduction in cost.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You will not be disappointed with the discussion to choosing 3CX. The return on investment will be much shorter than you think and the quality will amaze you and your staff.


    Andrew B.

MSP Network Engineer with 10 Years VOIP Experience

  • April 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As an MSP engineer I have used a lot of VIOP systems from Altigen, Cisco, Nextiva, Star2Star, Zultys, and Avaya both on premise and in the cloud and the one thing that 3CX has and that all of them lack is that 3CX is server software that fits into existing IT infrastructure so easily. I can run it on premise or in the cloud on Windows or Linux and all of my existing monitoring, networking, and back up work flows work with it. That makes deployment and troubleshooting easy and really helps to cut the cost. It also allows for flexibility when building redundancy and fail over which is wonderfully easy to do.
What do you dislike?
My only real complaint is that the mobile app does not support the shared park keys. I have gripes about how individual phones work, mostly Fanvil and snom phones, but if you go Yealink you won't have an issue.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Not having to have an outside phone vendor is a big win. Reduced operating costs and reduced implementation costs are also big wins.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yealink phones make your deployments so much easier and they support just about every feature you could imagine via templating.


    Andrew B.

3CX is all about home working

  • April 10, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Being able to access the phone system from anywhere, either as a user and remote working from anywhere in the world, or as the administrator provisioning users for softphone usage for workers not able to visit the office.
What do you dislike?
The system is great, but the only downside is the mobile phone apps do eat a lot of battery, but I only enable the app if I am unable to use my laptop.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Obviously at this time (April 2020) we have a lot of users who have been forced to work from home. So having a system that allows them to work as if they are in the office and not rack up either landline or mobile phone costs is brilliant.

All the features are available as if there were in the office, including Call Queues for our service and IT team, Voicemail to email functionality, so they can listern to the voicemails without having to dial in.

We have also been able to utilise the Video Conferencing and not have to rely on heavily used systems such as Teams/Zoom/Webex which has given us some benefits of a less used system, especially with video streaming.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Fixed price on the number of concurrent calls, ease of use including initial deployment, rolling out of new phones, utilising voip standards, ability to work from anywhere as if you are in the office.


    Gordon S.

A great affordable business phone system.

  • April 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As compared to to the Toshiba and Avaya systems that I have used in the past, 3CX is very easy to configure and administer. The interface is intuitive and works with most of the major brands of IP SIP phones. The pricing structure is also unique being based on number of simultaneous calls versus the traditional license per feature cost of typical PBX systems. 3CX also has the same feature set as the Mitel / Avaya systems but at a fraction of the cost.
What do you dislike?
Some of the reporting could be improved, especially being able to get a report of the number of simultaneous calls in use over a period to understand if you are licensed properly. As this is a SIP system, there are some limitations in button programming over the proprietary such as buttons to forward calls. Some voicemail options could be improved such that you could record multiple greetings though the voice prompt system rather than just the primary greeting. All other greetings have to be recorded through the webclient.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My goal was to replace all the Toshiba, Nortel, and Avaya systems that we had in our offices so that we would have a single phone system for the entire practice. As we have a fiber connected infrastructure between our offices I am able to run the entire practice off a single on premise virtual machine with just phones in each location. This has allowed us to combine our separate Trunks/PRIs into a single SIP trunk which saved a tremendous amount in telecom costs. This system is also so easy to setup that I was able to reduce the amount of contractor time required for implementation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If this is your first full SIP / non-proprietary system be sure to know all of your required features no matter how minor, especially in phone button programming and operation. There are a number of things such as forwarding your extension that will be very different from proprietary systems.