Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

3CX Phone System

3CX | 3CX Phone System 16.0.5.619

Linux/Unix, Debian 9.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

232 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Telecommunications

Pretty Good, but has some limitations

  • April 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Affordability is great. Works much better than a 10+ year old Call manager system.
What do you dislike?
No "supported" way to create templates. If you want phones to default to 12h instead of 24h time, you have to edit a template then all those phones are flagged as "unsupported" and 3CX support won't help you with anything unsupported.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's modern and works well. It's much easier to customize call routing, phone trees, and the like than our old system. It's easier for users to change their own settings for forwarding or voicemail using the web or app.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's very good for basic needs. I don't feel like it would scale well if you need lots of customization or integrations. We've had trouble with both of those areas, but the basics are good. It doesn't integrate with Active Directory or similar systems for authentication. The only way for users to login is a password that 3CX generates and emails to users, which is not the most secure nor the most convenient.


    Court S.

Good planning up front led to a solid communiction system for normal times and not so normal times.

  • April 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
3CX has proven flexible in our application. We were able to convert sound files and offer an automated story telling system for our patrons. During the COVID outbreak in the spring of 2020 we were able to easily transition staff to remote work by installing the 3CX app on their smart phones giving them their desk extension wherever they are. The ability to manage individual extensions from any web based computer makes life simpler and more efficient. The relative ease of recording and activating different greetings has proven invaluable during the time of the virus crisis. I like the ability and ease of running the system from a PC based operating system and accessing via browser. It is very accessible for our entire IT dept., not just a designated "phone guy".
What do you dislike?
If I had to pin down a dislike it would be that some of the updates to telephone model templates override custom programming we've written into the current templates.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Before 3CX we had a system for offering dial in stories. It was antiquated but it worked. During the switch over to 3CX we found that with some creativity we were able to use the flexibility of the system offer the same story telling service in an integrated packed freeing us up from old hardware and obsolete methods. Among the other benefits we use is the ability for managers to easily manage and forward phones from a web interface.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do your homework. Find someone in your industry or a closely business that uses 3CX and talk with them about what they've learned. If time allows map the system out up front. Since it's PC based it was relatively simple to setup a test system, configure all our phones, groups and routing, test most all of it before going live. On the day of going live we swapped phones on desks, booted the server and basically were operational.


    Gordon S.

A great affordable business phone system.

  • April 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As compared to to the Toshiba and Avaya systems that I have used in the past, 3CX is very easy to configure and administer. The interface is intuitive and works with most of the major brands of IP SIP phones. The pricing structure is also unique being based on number of simultaneous calls versus the traditional license per feature cost of typical PBX systems. 3CX also has the same feature set as the Mitel / Avaya systems but at a fraction of the cost.
What do you dislike?
Some of the reporting could be improved, especially being able to get a report of the number of simultaneous calls in use over a period to understand if you are licensed properly. As this is a SIP system, there are some limitations in button programming over the proprietary such as buttons to forward calls. Some voicemail options could be improved such that you could record multiple greetings though the voice prompt system rather than just the primary greeting. All other greetings have to be recorded through the webclient.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My goal was to replace all the Toshiba, Nortel, and Avaya systems that we had in our offices so that we would have a single phone system for the entire practice. As we have a fiber connected infrastructure between our offices I am able to run the entire practice off a single on premise virtual machine with just phones in each location. This has allowed us to combine our separate Trunks/PRIs into a single SIP trunk which saved a tremendous amount in telecom costs. This system is also so easy to setup that I was able to reduce the amount of contractor time required for implementation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If this is your first full SIP / non-proprietary system be sure to know all of your required features no matter how minor, especially in phone button programming and operation. There are a number of things such as forwarding your extension that will be very different from proprietary systems.


    Ronnie S.

Great System

  • April 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The flexibility of the system is amazing. Tons of options and routing features.
What do you dislike?
Updates can be a pain. I like to stay up to date and get the best feature, but the updates from version to version (not dot releases) can be time consuming.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Phone call routing is the biggest. Voicemail to email is super helpful.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Good PBX and support

  • April 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ability to manage the PBX myself.
What do you dislike?
I dislike that 3cx updates the conference site without providing feedback or a heads up.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Immediate addition of extensions, as needed. Realized cost savings after transitioning to 3cx.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to use and manage. Ease of use is much better than Iwatsu


    Tim J.

Easy to setup -- Easy to use.

  • April 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The 3CX Administration panel has stayed consistent throughout version 9 all the way to its latest release, 16. With that said, its always been easy to find extensions, customize inbound/outbound rules, setup DID's/trunks and work with ring groups. This is by far my favorite things about the system. If I had to rank a 2nd item, the phone firmware and templates that we use is always updating, which allows for easy to push/provision firmware/config updates to the phones on my LAN. Configuring a new phone is also quite easy to use.
What do you dislike?
For multiple sites where I'm hosting, I wish I had the ability to configure one central panel where I could break the extension into multiple groups, all while administrating under the single pane of glass. Configuring STUN for remote employees, especially while we've been in COVID-19 lockdown, has been been a challenge.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Because how easy 3CX server is to administrate I'm able to setup new phones, configure existing extension and use modern features like web client across my company. The benefits are hosting 3CX in all of my sites, means all I have to pay for is maintenance and no hosting fees. It runs on a 2 core, 8 GB VM, which is pretty lightweight for an office under 30 people. 4 Cores, 16 GB should be suitable for 100 people. In short, its very lightweight for the amount of simultaneous calls that can occur.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If they are struggling with other VOIP software out there, I think others would find 3CX easy to use administration and overall use of phones connected through it to be. Its much more affordable than some of the big boys out there.


    Lee C.

More than we asked for!

  • April 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The web interface. It allows us to easily setup up phones and administer the phone system.
What do you dislike?
Not much of a dislike, but wish you didn't have to get the Call Center edition to get more than 16 calls.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
3CX replaced our old PBX system that was end of life and end of extensions. No more having the PBX guy come out and configure a phone. It so nice just to pick up the phone and move to a new location.

Having the 3CX app on my cell phone allows me to be out of the office and still "be in the office" as far as callers know.

The web conferencing feature has really improved.


    MICHAEL E.

Greatest VoiP Phone System Ever

  • April 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Whats not to like. Easy phone provisioning, supports a wide range of phones, Constantly improving it, apps for both iphone and android, webmeeting w/video support, remote control of other user computer systems for tech support and the list goes on and on.
What do you dislike?
Needs more sip trunk documentation for non certified providers like ATT. I know I said non certified but lets be real sometimes you have to use such because some businesses might under contract and will need to use the service until their contract expires i.e. Att Sip Trunks
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Covid -19 over half of our office had to start working from home with out any prior warning, Was able to have them up and running with a full feature phone setup including video conferencing within one day. Its like they are still in the office and the ability to collaborate on day to day issues has been great.


    Adam N.

3CX - The I.T. Managers Phone System

  • April 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its very intuitive for both technical and non technical. I like the vast amount of hardware that can link up to it. My Reseller and Support company are TOP NOTCH. Obviously why they chose 3CX.
What do you dislike?
Nothing that I can think of. I wish I would have moved my current company to this right after I started.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The BIGGEST benefit I have found is the mobile app. In the days of "Shelter in Place" and work from home, the mobile app has proven it worth millions of times over. I could guide my staff to download it and sync it up with ease. From there its like they are at the office.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Forget any other thoughts of phone systems 3CX is the way to go hands down.


    Jason P.

A great system all around

  • April 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ease of installation and implementation of 3CX, Coming from a hosted VoIP from AT&T I am relived at how customizable this system is and being able to perform my own troubleshooting. Everything about 3CX is great. The team at the office like how versatile the system and how easily it adapted to the current remote working situation. The VDNA system we had would have never been this flexible.
What do you dislike?
A few features I wish were easier to adjust like call waiting notices and some minor issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The COVID-19 situation I am so happy we went with 3CX. This has made getting calls to people remotely so much easier and pain free.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great VoIP phone system I highly recommend