Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 20.04 LTS - Focal

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu 20.04 20221018

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - Focal - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

1,211 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


3-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Computer Software

Very easy to install and operates relatively faster than other operating systems

  • April 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu Handel the junks very effectively which makes it less sluggish and most importantly the environment is very exciting. basically, we can enjoy things more smoothly.
What do you dislike?
Very frequent updates make it sometimes annoying. Yes for sure some inbuilt apps needs improvement and different software compatibility issues should be resolved
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The inbuild compilers are so helpful like for C and python. I can type commands very easily and changes can be seen without restarting as in the case of windows. I am doing my development work with ease
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is faster than windows and it has all the essentials tools and compilers that need for a developer


    Jeremy

Support for M6i-class of instances?

  • March 23, 2022
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Couldn't find any information on this so leaving the question here. Any updates on planned support for latest gen instances coming? Particularly M6i flavored instances.


    Md Mohibul H.

Ubuntu Operating System for system admin.

  • February 01, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Unlike Windows, Ubuntu does not use a lot of resources.
The best part is, you can use it as CLI (Command Line Interface) like a system server and as well as a desktop for normal user.
What do you dislike?
Some user may find it not user-friendly. Especially Windows PC users may have difficulty if they suddenly switch to the Ubuntu desktop. So, desktop computer experience can be improved to make it more user-friendly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using Ubuntu Server to configure several Webserver, Network Monitoring Servers, NTP server for the network, etc.

It is very easy to find solutions in the Ubuntu community if you are stuck or hit some issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
All network administrator should use the Ubuntu.


    Higher Education

Linux, open source and easy to install!

  • November 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is an excellent way to use Linux for beginners. It is better than Windows in speed for programming. It has been around for a long time, which speaks to its quality and usability.
What do you dislike?
I have been using this software since high school computer science class intermittently, and I find it easy to use now, but originally I found it quite difficult to install or understand. With a few years of experience, I find it easier to use.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu solves some of the issues with speed that I have with windows. While setting it up makes the process slower, I find that when I need large computing power, I turn to ubuntu.


    Murali Mohan K.

Ubuntu Review By Murali

  • October 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
UI looks simple and Clear
Ram management is pretty Cool.
I liked the way the entire UI is working
What do you dislike?
Dislike
The UI is very straight forward so will be very less attractive for Design lovers
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I didn't see any problems with Ubuntu as of now. Battery and Ram management are the benefits


    Julio Guillermo A.

Worth and cheap

  • September 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is a very versatile and free operating system.
What do you dislike?
It could have better features like its sister operating systems. But it's still pretty good for the end-user.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am working in software development and the console and commands are very useful for that.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You have to pay attention to its characteristics to know if it is really what you are looking for. There are other more secure or more permissive operating systems. It all depends on what you need.


    Pavan G.

Secure and Free Available Operating System

  • May 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like commands of ubuntu OS.
I am using thia from 2 years and it is very easy to learn commands of ubuntu also, it is secure than other operating systems.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu is easy to learn but for non-technical users is very hard to learn.
Not up to the mark user interface.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have very big issue of security on my server by using ubuntu.
By just running simple command big tasks done in seconds.


    Suryadeep S.

My experience with Ubantu

  • November 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The UI simplicity is amazing and easy to operate . The simplicity in its behavior makes it more reliable for its users.
What do you dislike?
The features and the software installation for the OS sometimes is a hectic thing for this.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using it as reliable and efficient OS under my job conditions.


    Brian M.

Ubuntu R

  • November 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The installation was very quick which got me working! It is super fast with WiFi connections which makes my work easy. It keeps on providing pop ups of applications that i find useful with what I do. The downloading process is also faster
What do you dislike?
Sadly, on the first day i used it, midway my work it crashed. The mouse pointer is slow to move which is nagging. Then please, reduce on the number of adverts, they are disruptive. Some buttons and menus are hard to get until which limits me sometimes. However after using it for along time, i mastered this. It is slow when i am doing various tasks on my computer. The graphics are poor mostly while playing video games
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I easily get free apps to use, but also provides real time results without over scrolling through looking for the right information needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu is easy to use, so fast in strong networks, I have not had any data leak instances but also provides free apps which are user friendly. I have most times updated Ubuntu without my computer turning off. Try it today...


    Medical Practice

Ubuntu was re-written to Linux Mint for a reason

  • September 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a very simple linux distribution which is great for people who want to experience linux who come from a windows
What do you dislike?
Gnome 3.0 is a heavy user interface. Prior to this, Ubuntu was rather fast, however it now requires alot more resources than previously
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using a unix based operating system
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please revert back to a gnome 2.0 desktop environment such as cinnamon