Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Kali Linux

Kali Linux | Kali Linux 2022.2

Linux/Unix, Other 2022.1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

7 AWS reviews

External reviews

45 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Omega.T

The Best Operating System for Penetration Testing!

  • March 17, 2022
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Kali Linux is hands down the Best OS for Cybersecurity Researchers & Penetration Testers while providing the best of tools pre-installed and supporting a wide range of products from Bare Metal to Cloud to Mobile Being the Best OS for Penetration testing


    Adeel S.

Best Penetration Tester Tool

  • March 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
A lot of Penetration Testing tools such as web pen testing, network pen testing, wireless pen-testing are available in one place. Tools can access through Graphically or commands. Most of the tasks perform through kali Linux. Offensive Security maintaining the Kali Linux, adding day-by-day features. A good tool to learn penetration testing, and sharpen your ethical hacking skills.
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike about Kali Linux, because they are adding features day by day. But sometimes packages and old libraries create issues, but you can easily find out the solution from documentation and community help.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As a Penetration Tester, Bug Hunter daily routine performs many tasks through Kali Linux. These are following tasks are performing,
- Vulnerability Assessment
- Penetration Testing of Web, Network
- information gathering
- Exploitation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I'll not recommend Kali Linux to everyone, who wants to start a career in penetration testing and learning new things. I'll recommend this tool penetration tester, ethical hacker, security analyst, network admin, bug hunter and Vulnerability Analyst. A lot of tutorials and community guides are available for everyone, just go and start learning new things.


    Harsh P.

One of the Best Oprating System for Offensive Security Resercher

  • March 02, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Kali Linux is the best os for security researchers who are working in the cyber security domain main key point is that in kali Linux, there are lots of inbuilt tools that give a fast and reliable result to recognize any target
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike about this product because I use it in my day-to-day life for my work, and I can't find any problem with this product although it's a fast os compared to others.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used it in my core os, and I solved my all the security defensive work with this os. like recon of target , penetration tesing, etc


    Matt

Nice to see Kali on AWS

  • February 17, 2022
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It's great to see a Kali AWS image available for use - the only downside is it's missing a lot of basic tools that would normally be installed in the desktop versions. If those tools were installed this would be a 5/5


    Piyush J.

Kali Linux for OS

  • February 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is the best hacking Operating system from linux which has excellent terminal interface. It has excellent set of tools related to network configuration and stuff like that.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing to be disliked about the operating system thats a great OS which can be used to hack the differnt websites and create and compile the code as it has all the script writing tools.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using it for our day to day task in office as it has all coding related tools and stuff also we manually create scripts in bash shell which is compiled by its OS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes it is good to use


    Siddharth V.

Best OS to learn about cyber security

  • January 26, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has hundreds of tools towards security for eg, wireless security, information security etc. Can be used for pen testing, digital forensics etc.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it malfuctions and it is a bit slow.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The first thing is that it helps for learning about cyber security and tools related to it

1 person found this helpful

    Kevin T.

The best tool for cybersecurity professionals

  • January 14, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Kali Linux is a powerful tool, what I like the most is the simple way in which the tools come ready to be used, it is only enough to know the use of the terminal well to take great advantage of the set of tools that the system brings In addition to this, most of the tools can be customized according to the needs of the user who uses them, providing flexibility and customization for each user.
What do you dislike?
What I mainly dislike about the system is that although it is true that it is very customizable, this customization only exists for a specific purpose, which is to audit security, but the system cannot be used in a more general way, which It forces you to have two machines, one to carry out administrative tasks and paperwork and the Kali Linux system to only do tests, either you use two machines or the user must virtualize, which forces you to have a machine with higher performance and in short, it raises the costs
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The problems that can be solved on a daily basis with Kali Linux, are that it facilitates audits and automates most of the tests that have to be done to the infrastructure, this reduces the time that the IT audit staff spends building tests and scripts because they can do use of the automatic tools that the tool already has.


    Computer & Network Security

The go-to operating system for cyber security professionals

  • December 28, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The collection of ready-to-use tools, and the convenient organization to find the ones you need for the task. The design where the need of security professionals is always kept in mind.
What do you dislike?
The user interface can be improved in the sense that sometimes it can still feel like a "student project", in comparison with some other more "mainstream" or business-facing operating systems (Windows, Ubuntu).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Penetration testing. Web and network testing and assessment (both related and unrelated to security). Kali is free of cost but has excellent community resources as technical support.


    Sagar F.

Kali linux - Best operating system of hacking and pentesting

  • December 26, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Kali Linux is one of the best Linux distribution to get start cybersecurity and penetration testing. It has lots of preinstall tools for everything related to cybersecurity. You can access them by Graphically or commands through a terminal.
What do you dislike?
The installation process of this os is complicated than others. Also, if you want to install additional tools and files which you download from the internet or anywhere, you can not install them graphically as installed in windows or macOS. You have to run the "clone" command in the terminal then it installs into your pc .
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Because kali Linux has lots of tools preinstall which helps me in bug bounty hunting or testing of softwares, in other operating systems like windows, I don't get any preinstall tool for that type of stuff. And also, the terminal of Kali Linux is more powerful than windows command prompt or PowerShell.

The core benefit I realized from kali Linux is that any virus or malware can not affect your os or system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to learn ethical hacking and want to do practice somewhere you can go for it, but before, you have to learn commands and about Linux thoroughly from somewhere.


    Satykam A.

Best Linux distribution for Penetration Testers

  • December 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free, Debian Based, fast, lots of pre-installed tools, continuous updates, repositories
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike about kali linux. sometimes while doing apt-get update the download is slow so we need to manually change the mirrors this can be improved.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Vulnerability Assessment and penetration testing, Red Teaming and forensics.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
First go through all the documentation in kali linux official website before installing and configuring it