Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami by VMware | 5.8.2-8-r01 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

129 AWS reviews

    Simran

WINDOWS 11 FREE TIER?

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

IS IT FREE for Windows version as it say Linux/Unix free tier?
is it compulsory to upgrade to this new version of bitnami


    Markham

WHY DELETE NANO INSTANCE

  • February 11, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

this is just one site, and the minimum requirement is t3.micro!!!
why delete the option of Nano instance, that is not cheap for a single web host.

1 person found this helpful

    Dave

This is for a SINGLE WordPress instance ONLY - you cannot install a second site

  • December 26, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Along with the many other reviews that give this a 1 or 2 stars because you cannot upgrade your PHP version, another major downfall is the inability to install multiple WordPress sites (*NOT* Multisite.)

bitnami has 'discontinued' the ability to install more than one WordPress instance on THEIR stack.

From searching their support site, and finding: "Install multiple WordPress modules" - https://docs.bitnami.com/installer/apps/wordpress-pro/configuration/install-several-wordpress-modules/
-- 404 - "The Page You Were Looking For Doesn't Exist. You may have mistyped the address or the page may have moved."

From their support from May 2019:
"Thanks for using Bitnami. I think it is easier (and safer too) if you install a fresh new Bitnami WordPress module on your current Bitnami installation as mentioned in this guide - https://docs.bitnami.com/installer/apps/wordpress/configuration/install-several-wordpress-modules/154"
-- note that the page now redirects to "Learn About Bitnami PHP Application Modules Deprecation"


    Dev

PHP Version Update

  • December 16, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I am using Wordpress lightsail instance but here phpversion 7.3.18 is being used when will you upgrade to php 7.4 ?


    Meccanica

Solid foundation to build on, needs the ability to upgrade PHP inplace

  • November 30, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We have several wordpress sites up and running with no issues using the Bitnami build. The customer service, knowledge base and community is really great to get answers to questions. I would give this 5 stars if you could upgrade PHP in-place.


    Tom

Wordpress without the stress

  • November 07, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I've been deploying Moodle with Bitnami for years, but my next customer needed a standard website. I tried Bitnami Drupal (fast deploy), but Drupal didn't have enough ready right-out-of-the box for me to work with. Having never tried Wordpress, I had confidence that Bitnami would come through again... and I was right... again. 'Now have a happy customer who is dumping their $50/mo. hosting company for me and I even threw in a beta.theirsite.org sandbox instance to help them grow confidence taking over the Wordpress admin reigns from me. 'Couldn't be doing this without you, Bitnami! Thank you!


    Asi

It's working like they say, but you can't update your PHP version.

  • September 21, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The only way to update your PHP version is by export your site, launch new instance, restore backup...

It was fun when we had 2 wordpress sites, but now we have above 10 wordpress sites on Bitnami and it's time consuming, hopefully Bitnami will provide a way to update PHP.

Wordpress shows in health check the PHP version and say it's outdated, customers ask us to update PHP more often...


    Sahil

No support for t2 micro

  • September 09, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

They don't support t2 micro instance which comes under free tier. I went with a different wordpress AMI available on AWS marketplace.


    Aidin

Nor recommended

  • July 24, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The first installation is easy and you will have a running wordpress website in minutes, however, I don't recommend using this image for production. it seems they have not thoroughly planned for upgrading the underlying components and there isn't any streamlined way to upgrade your installation. If you want to update the PHP runtime or the database, you are out of luck. the only solution they offer on their documentation and community forum is to either install a newer image on another instance, or install their stack manually beside your current installation, either way you are forced to migrate your whole wordpress and backup/restore your database to the new installation!


    genuine user

worst expercience

  • July 23, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

they have so many restriction. not able to change files and general settings. so many restriction and no proper guideline how to change it.