Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Blackboard Learn for REST and LTI Developers

Blackboard Inc | 3900.46.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (Focal Fossa) - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

6 AWS reviews

External reviews

647 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

Blackboard Learn: ease of remote/online teaching!

  • August 03, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have found Blackboard Learn to be incredibly easy to organize. With weekly content folders, students can access the course one "chunk" at a time, which prevents their getting overwhelmed with too much content.
What do you dislike?
One of the pros to Blackboard--that the instructors have a lot of options in how to set it up--can actually be a con for students who then see a different version of Blackboard in every class they take.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Now that I teach my in-person classes as hybrids (meeting one day in person, then putting the other 50% of coursework online), it is crucial to have an LMS that is easily navigable for BOTH instructors and student users. Blackboard is that easy to set up and use!


    Higher Education

Blackboard Learn in Higher Ed

  • April 20, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The option to customize and standardize every course across campus, which provides a consistent experience for our learners, has increased student success and satisfaction for the college.
What do you dislike?
The cost. However, our costs have normalized over the past year and the team at Blackboard was willing to work within our budgets. Also, the mobile app/experience for both faculty and students needs work.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are offering fulling only, hybrid, synchronous, and f2f courses through Blackboard Learn, which ensures as an institution we stay viable and sustain our ever-shrinking budgets and enrollments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider moving to Base Navigation and the Ultra Experience. Also, build consistency across courses by creating a template.


    Education Management

Easy to navigate

  • March 15, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Has an icon to assist in case you need help or have questions about something
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it's under maintenance during a time I need to use it
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Helps me complete course work and check grades
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to manage


    Vicki S.

BEEN USING FOR A LONG TIME - Good, Bad and the Ugly

  • March 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Reliable. Good partner. Easy to use. Great integration.
What do you dislike?
Honestly, communication from Bb is not good. Technical support lacks urgency.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Deliver education content to students and staff.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do your research! Take into account all aspects. What is the return on investment?


    Felipe B.

thoughts on Blackboard

  • February 28, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard was relatively easy to use. The interface was simple.
What do you dislike?
The whole aesthetics of Blackboard were plain ugly. It had a very antiquated look and feel.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used Blackboard Learn to administer my courses at University.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Blackboard Learn has a very intuitive and easy to use interface.


    Jack C.

How is this platform this bad ?

  • February 07, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We are now in 2022, with remote learning at its peak; Blackboard Learn is by far the worst platform I have used so far. Any other platform feels way less buggy and reactive, while blackboard looks stuck in 2012. Their CTO must be a gem!
What do you dislike?
Interface, UX/UI, student/teacher interface, almost everything blackboard does.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I need to use it to follow my courses online because of the pandemic. Whenever I use it, I hear the teacher talking about the software being unusable and way too slow and buggy. Old technologies are still being used while we are in 2022. How hard is it to make a decent whiteboard just to start with it? The name is Blackboard, after all.


    Alejandro G.

A lot of options, but difficult to use

  • February 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Well, I work in a university that changed from Blackboard to Brighstpace. I did like of BB that it has a lot of configuration options regarding grading: you can assign peer-to-peer assessments and edit a quiz question with absolute ease.
What do you dislike?
The interface. There are many little buttons in the configuration menu, some of them are hiding and are difficult to spot, so you can´t use them easily or quickly find the option you need at a particular time.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Teachers were using BB mainly as a depository for their classes archives. It allowed the administrative departments to file their essential archives, such as meetings and videoconferences. In the confinement time of the covid-19 pandemic, we used BB collaborate for virtual classes.


    Tami P.

Easier than unjamming the photocopier!

  • January 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Two things -- First, it enables a paper-free classroom. I don't have to make photocopies, and I don't have stacks of physical papers to grade. Second, it disconnects due dates/times from class sessions. I can have them do work before we meet and adjust what we do in class based on the results.
What do you dislike?
Students tend to find it challenging to navigate at first, so I end up spending a significant amount of time teaching them Blackboard. I'd love to see the mouse-over explanations of things that many websites have now.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The Blackboard "My Grades" feature has virtually eliminated emails about grades after they are posted. We're able to take care of any questions before the end of the semester, and therefore, explaining why grades were what they were no longer cuts into my vacation time. Huge win!


    Higher Education

Blackboard is easily navigable for students and faculty

  • January 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard's use of Discussion Boards allows for many insightful conversations within a forum between students and faculty. It is very easy to find items that have been posted, and everything is highly organized.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes when a faculty member or professor posts items, the students do not receive a notification. This makes it easy for important documents to be missed by students.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Blackboard Learn has been integral in solving and aiding the current Online Learning issue that we face worldwide. It has been a significant player in how students are learning today.


    Renee K.

Teacher review of Blackboard

  • January 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to look up parent contacts for students. I appreciate the site's ease of use and being able to pull information up quickly. It is similar to google classroom but without the ability to assign and grade work.
What do you dislike?
The site has to be used in collaboration with other sites like Google Classroom because it does not have all of the components necessary for virtual assignments.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Blackboard learn helps me be able to reach out to parents and send quick updates or reminders without having to call or email every parent. It has helped keep good communication open with parents.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely use this to keep communication with parents!