Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Blackboard Learn for REST and LTI Developers

Blackboard Inc | 3900.89.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (Focal Fossa) - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

7 AWS reviews

External reviews

731 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Raed A.

excellent

  • April 17, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
continuous of enhancements and fixing bugs
What do you dislike about the product?
compatibility with other platforms for example the exams export
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
it a learning environment to collaborate between students and instructors


    Ismaeel I. Abdulrahman A.

As an Instructional design and course management role

  • April 17, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ease of use, and usable by anyone without any deep experience in technology or programming.
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes there is a drop in the Blackboard web page loading, also in Ultra Collaborate recording, there is no "Pause" button that makes many recording files appear for one session.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In the supporting language (Arabic) there are some problems such as printing the student's attempt in the exam as well as in the preview of the assignment attached files.


    Higher Education

Solid, Reliable But Without The Frills

  • April 17, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It creates a safe space for our learners, providing the academics with most of the tools needed to develop engaging learning materials. Being cloud-based, customer support is great, timely and provides regular updates to ensure the learner experience is pararmount.
What do you dislike about the product?
It looks and feels somewhat dated, and whilst it provides some tools to "spruce" up the interface, it still looks a little old fashioned, especially compared to a lot of the tools currently out there.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's a "one-stop shop" for all things based around learning, providing our students with a single platform they need, rather than having to go to various different spaces.


    Maureen W.

Blackboard Learn

  • April 16, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The most helpful thing about Blackboard learn are the videos that can help students quickly problems solve how to use technology on their own.
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes it is hard to scroll down the long list of topics when you're searching for a resource.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Blackboard, learn, help students find answers to easy to solve problems.


    Melissa B.

The Ability of Blackboard Learn to Complete What I need

  • April 15, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I love the ease of being able to create modules. The newest features of being able to create images for each module creates a professional look. Students find it easy to use and frequently use it in their classes. I have easily been able to integrate my recorded lectures
What do you dislike about the product?
The only thing that I really dislike about Blackboard Learn is the difficulty in the gradebook at times. They have been working on this. I use an outside publisher for resources that are graded outside of Blackboard. Previously I was not able to assign a category to those incoming grades. This semester this problem is supposed to be updated and I look forward to trying it out.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
They are solving the issue with assigning categories to outside grades earned in publisher content. This will be wonderful as my classes often have values based on type of assignment or exam.


    Megan F.

Continuous Release - Contiunous Growth

  • April 12, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I have worked with BB Learn in both a LMS technician and Online Design/Technician roles and I have seen both the backend and faculty/student facing aspects of Blackboard Learn. From managing the transition from Original to learn; I would say the most impactful aspect was the technical support and weekly update sessions provided by Blackboard. These aspects built a confidence in support of the product and mostly timely updates and releases ensured that the system kept running smoothly; even through hiccups.

The important thing to note is that continuous release means that the system is not released as a perfect model but will continue to evolve and hit snags along the way. The snags can be beneficial in re-working the way we think about both data management and content delivery and force universities to think outside the box. This push to creativity is necessary in the tremulous climate that higher education is facing and I feel has actually allowed colleges to push harder for online courses and education which has elevated its worth. Having a reliable LMS is vital when surviving a pandemic but also for creating new programs that can be offered solely online - this increases enrollment and reach for universities.
What do you dislike about the product?
While I appreciate the value of continuous release, the timing and punctuality of fixes is not always ideal. Often we are left encouraging faculty to stick it out until the fix comes through which can diminish their faith in the online learning environment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The system itself is much more user friendly and intuitive; whereas, Original was very unapealing to non-IT faculty who struggled sometimes with understanding how to use the system. The new look and feel provides similar features as Original but with significant updates and visually appealing and intuative navigation that makes the usage more universal. I would love to see more Universal Accessibility features implemented to alleviate some of that lift from course designers and technicians. I believe Ally should be an included part of the LMS system to help universities reach Federal and State ADA guidelines.


    Rahul K.

The only LMS solution you need for your University

  • April 12, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The student facing interface is very user friendly and so does the Admin panel. Over the years Blackboard has done some of the great changes which significantly improved the way we build the courses and then deliver it to multiple classes. The most important feature for us is the ability of the system to allow granular copy of content from a different sets of courses, which is really really useful. Absolutely loved the idea of Blackboard to come up with this feature.
What do you dislike about the product?
The slowness due to having loads of content within the Ultra course, makes it difficult when you have to audit the courses before delivery. This is really annoying tbh and the same have been reported.
Other thing is the support, the staffs need to level up their knowledge and increase the response time. So far there is a very little improvement but a lot can be done in this area.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We deliver almost 200 courses every month, each class has their unique sets of delivery method. This is very challenging and time consuming. With blackboard this becomes just another hurdle for us. We simply split the development into two or more ultra courses based on the class requirement and then copy it into a single course, making it as a parent course to serve the all the classes acting as a child. The whole idea of Parent and Child relationship in the courses solves the classing requirement and delivering what is being asked.


    Daniel E.

The Fantastic Blackboard Learn Ultra

  • April 12, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The ultra interface is a significant improvement and helps make learning accessible and logical.
What do you dislike about the product?
The training for Blackboard Learn Ultra should be more multi-modal in its learning materials.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is enabling the 24/7, 365 days, asynchronous distributed learning model so that students can have a personalised learning experience that suits their needs and lifestyle.


    Mayra A.

Fácil de usar y buena comunicación con el equipo de Blackboard

  • April 11, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Blackboard es una LMS que está en constante crecimiento. Me gusta porque escuchan a los usuarios y siempre hay mejoras con propuestas que proponemos.

Es una LMS completa que se integra bien con otras herramientas. La comunicación con Anthology y el proveedor es maravillosa, siempre nos dan a conocer las mejoras, los próximos cambios, lo que está en stg. Yo destaco que pone al estudiante como protagonista de su proceso de aprendizaje, es intuitiva y con una simple vista (por ejemplo desde el flujo de actividades) puede visualizar todo lo que está ocurriendo en sus cursos. Facil de usar y totalmente adaptable a cualquier dispositivo.
What do you dislike about the product?
Es muy fácil de usar y a veces por ello no permite cambio personalizados muy específicos.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Las fallas son informadas mediante artículo, y las mejoras y soluciones son rápidas.
Por ejemplo, hace poco tuvimos una falla con el libro de calificaciones, nos dieron una solución alternativa mientras se trabaja en la mejora


    Joan Marie T.

Have worked with Blackboard starting off with wEBct.

  • April 10, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
the leadership is a wonderful group of folks who truly work hard to assist you obtain your goals for the client.
the support that is available to us as administrators
What do you dislike about the product?
I can't think of anything. I am a big believer in using technology for education and blackboard has only enhanced the faculty to help them streamline their teaching.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It assisted us wiht cadet assessments that included evaluation of their dorms using rubrics. saved the military hundreds of man hours doing this on their own.