Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Dell EMC Avamar Virtual Edition

Dell Technologies | 19.7

Linux/Unix, SUSE SuSE Linux Enterprise Server 12 SP5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

19 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vikash K.

Perfect backup solution for the local systems

  • August 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, less maintenance and supervision required backups are trusted source and reliable.
What do you dislike?
As of now, nothing it is a fantastic tools the tapes should be more frugal
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Desktop, laptops and users level backup solution.


    Surajit B.

Review about Avamar Backup tool

  • August 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to integrate
Flexibility
Fast and reliable
Reminder features
What do you dislike?
File sorting
Some time stop working and manual intervention required
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data Back-up is the most common concern nowadays.
It provides the solution against unwanted data loss.


    Sarthak P.

Review for EMC Avamar

  • December 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing I like about EMC Avamar is Hashing and sticky byte algorithm. The way data is being compressed after Hashing and it is then stored in an object storage
What do you dislike?
Well looking at the current industry standards and replication technologies. There is some lag in the bandwidth as I have worked on various products like Cohesity and Rubrik which are similar backup tools to Avamar.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Well, there are a lot of problems related to backup-related issues and migration issues which we have overhauled working with DellEMC and internally. Maximum amount of issues we get are related to restores


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Avamar / IDPA

  • April 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Avamar and IDPA is a full-fledged backup solution. We migrated to Avamar a little over a year ago with the DP5800 solution. Backups and restores are fast. While backup jobs are easy to create, there is a ton of prep-work that is required before getting started. Setting up individual schedules, retention rules and datasets all must be completed prior to creating a job. If the backup job itself contains a mix of OSes, that must be specified as well.
What do you dislike?
Way too many moving parts! Avamar in general runs well, however, there are massive updates that take a full day plus to complete. Issues with proxies most of the time are easy to resolve, but there are times that they can be quite peculiar as well. Reporting can also be quite difficult and not very intuitive.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The obvious problem to solve here was backups. While our previous backup solution was working, it was not quite as intuitive as we needed. Along with a way overdue requirement for storage upgrades, we also wanted something a bit more self-contained. In the end, we opted for Avamar and IDPA.


    Ratnodeep R.

EMC Avamar review

  • April 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
file system backups are very fast , always incremental , easy to administer , faster and simple BMR. easy to set up replication to DR .
What do you dislike?
cache file dependency , if any cache file got corrupted then the next will be full backup .
virtual machine individual files restore limitation . during maintenance window only few backup can be run .
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
File system backups are very fast , easy to deploy virtual machine backups , BMR backups , DR replication
Recommendations to others considering the product:
for filesystem backups , for BMR restore and managing is very simple.


    Telecommunications

Its a Great solution for Small to medium size business. Easy to use and implement

  • June 27, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Well we used to have this solution implemented for backups of physical and virtual servers for data around the 2TB of size. For this requirements this is a good solution. It is a appliance so the solution is pre-configure and with a fix sized of data for every data node you added. I like the most is that with just install the agent you can rapidly start backup jobs and the deduplication features are good for to backups on average 2 x the data.

The solution works good and the admin gui is simple. You can be asure that when you grow the solution, you will get both processor and capacity , so the performance stay almost the same.
What do you dislike?
Ok the solution is sell as a appliance so there is a downside to this. When you need more capacity over the years you cannot add newer storage nodes that have more capacity or better processor power. You are stuck with the data node generation that you first bought. So this is a a drawback. We where growing raplidly with the backup needs and it turns out that for data over 2TB of size, it doesn't perform very well. So the solution are for small and medium business size.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We started to do backup from some virtual environments and some physical servers that were not big databases. Also we used it to backup end point. mainly critical data from staff members. The backups perform well and the agents you install works instantly. The restore process also is simple to use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can use EMC Avamar for your backup needs that are target at small to medium business. If you are planning to grow quickly say backup sizes over 2TB, you can look at EMC data domain. But for backup sizes under the 2TB mark. it is a good solution and the implementation is really easy. It is a good product and easy to administer.


    Banking

rediculously complex install. horrible UI. Super performant solution

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
performance can't be beaten, especially when teamed up with other EMC products
What do you dislike?
UI feels like something I wrote in the 80's. installation is stupidly complex
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
BCP and small windows were problematic. These went away once the products was installed... but it took a long time to get there.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
devote plenty of time to deployment


    Information Technology and Services

Good at Large Data Over Small WAN

  • January 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Integration with Data Domain is the best way to use it.
What do you dislike?
The interface and reporting is terrible. It is also too expensive.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backups and data availability.


    Real Estate

Excellent Backup and Restore Product

  • January 10, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I can restore virtual machines in their entirety. I can also restore on a file level. We also replicate to a secondary site.
What do you dislike?
Configuration is a little challenging. There’s a lot of places to configure, and associate objects.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Virtual machine backups and site replication
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It’s reliable. Make sure you check everything, since configuration can be difficult.


    Axel G.

Back up and Restore tool

  • November 25, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the simplicity on the tool and the option to back up multiple devices running different operating system. The way list of devices is showing gives you easy and fast access to it. you basically can do a restore by doing a couple of clicks. the new skin looks much better.
What do you dislike?
I don't like the fact you have to use a specific version of java depending on the version of EMC avamar that your running. if java gets updated you will need to uninstall it and re-install the version compatible with EMC avamar.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Able to restore files that users deleted by accident. The benefit is that you have a reliable back up.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommended, but make sure you have a good agreement in terms of support.