Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus Scanner (Pre-Authorized)

Tenable, Inc. | 10.1.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

7 AWS reviews

External reviews

219 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Robocop1295

Not user friendly to setup

  • May 07, 2022
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Purchased this but was unable to find instructions which is frustrating. Going to download the eval from the tenable site and install it on the instance. Wasted 2 hours trying to get running.


    Harsh P.

Wonderful Vulnerability Analysis tool specially for Network and Host vulnerability analysis

  • May 04, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
this is the best and 100% accurate acutomatic tool for network and host vulnerability assessment tool. it's a very easy and useful tool for finding any loophole in the network and host with a minimal false-positive result.
What do you dislike?
nothing to dislike about this tools but the only thing is that it takes some time to give result because they scan every vulnerability so its take time otherwise it works well and gives a very accurate result.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use this tool for my day-to-day client site project and use this tool to find vulnerabilities in the network and endpoints (host). and solve very complex vulnerabilities in less time and secure my client's infrastructure from hackers.


    Adeel S.

Vulnerability Assessment Tool

  • March 11, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus use for vulnerability assessment purpose and fulfill compliance, upto date database, a great list of predefined templates and plugins, and can find out zero days vulnerabilities with accuracy. Nessus almost cover the Vulnerability Assessment of Network devices such endpoint, servers and virtulization platform and cloud infra. Nessus multiple Report templete such as Technical and Exective Summery. Perform a credential scan and non credential scan, when you perform credentail scan, find out more depth vulnerabilities. Nessus suggest solutions to fix the vulnerability and a community version is available.
What do you dislike?
I can't dislike this product because every product has some limitations, so please ignore it. Nessus scans are more time taking to complete the assessment, and the license is very costly. Nessus checks network-infa to find out the vulnerabilities/loopholes that malicious hackers/attackers could exploit and get into your system
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using for Vulnerability assessment and deep analysis of network infrastructure to find the security flaws.
- Fulfill the compliance requirement
- Find out gaps

We use the Nessus scanner to scan the computers to know whether the products/applications installed on the system requirements to be patched with the latest updates/upgrades. Nessus team working very hard, day by day they improving their product, I hope they can't inconvenient their customer.

- I'll recommend Nessus documentation
- Blogs
- Security Guidelines
- Community resources
Recommendations to others considering the product:
My recommendation for those who are working in the corporate sector, and vendor side. This product can use a vulnerability analyst, Penetration Tester, Network analyst, DevOps team during development.


    shahzad h.

Nessus professional

  • February 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus professional is easy to use. Just add your ip list or add a subnet. Nessus is a number one vulnerability scanner with vast CVE numbers. One other scanner can compete for Nessus in terms of CVE database
What do you dislike?
I have no dislike for Nessus because the 1-year subscription is 2000+$ and user-friendly. several options for scan
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vulnerability Assessment Report for my ISO27001-2013 audit.


    Dhaval S.

Nessus is a network security scanner.

  • January 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus uses a server-client architecture.
What do you dislike?
Nessus only scan IP address not application.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This makes it easy to install plug-ins and to see which plug-ins are installed to make sure that your are current.


    Information Technology and Services

Nessus Security Platform - Vulnerability Management

  • January 01, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus is one of the most straightforward tools available to handle VMS operations.
Low budget enterprise tool which every organization can afford.
Nessus VA scan covers all standard network devices like endpoint, servers, network devices, virtualization platforms as well as a cloud environment.
They provide plugins for every vulnerability and can scan with authenticated or unauthenticated scans. It is straightforward to use, generates an excellent report (various options available to customize).
What do you dislike?
If you compare Nessus to other VM tools like Nexpose or Qualys, Nessus has minimal features, and customization & Integration in Nessus is also not very helpful for organizations, where they need to customize their data set per their requirements.
Vulnerability fingerprinting also needs some enhancement. For some devices like Cisco, it flagged the exposure based on the iOS version running on the target machine but not based on the vulnerable configuration present on the device. Which further needs manual assessment to validate if the fingerprinted vulnerability is false positive or not.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Frequent and constant product updates.
Easy to use, configurations are not overly complex.
Reasonable price compared to other players.


    Government Administration

Very comprehensive, flexible management of vulnerabilities.

  • November 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In depth quick scanning and up to date database of vulnerabilities.
What do you dislike?
Using the API to run scans remotely and extract the data into another system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Pinpoint various vulnerability devices on the network and identify the critical missing patches and outdated vulnerabilities patches. Allows schedule daily, weekly and monthly scanning reports.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very detail scanning capabilities and always have the latest security update and vulnerabilities scan


    Automotive

Great to view detailed reports

  • November 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very detailed reports, and you can sort/find specifics.
What do you dislike?
It takes considerable CPU power when the program is not even running.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We import reports into nessus. We get specific information out of Nessus for our reports.


    Hospital & Health Care

Great product at a great price

  • October 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, provides good reports that my management finds valuable.
What do you dislike?
I don't have any significant complaints.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use the product for internal and external vulnerability scans. It provides us with a set of checks and balances against our admins reports of meeting our secuirty guidelines.


    Management Consulting

Nessus Vulnerability Scanner

  • October 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Nessus vulnerability scanner from Tenable offers excellent vulnerability and compliance scanning coverage. The API offers good flexibility for developing custom solutions. Coupled with other Tenable products, such as Tenable.io, SecurityCenter, or NessusManager provides centralized management and reporting.
What do you dislike?
Nessus on its own is a solid product but does require some customization of the settings to run more efficiently.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nessus is one of the tools that we use within our vulnerability management program. It has helped us ensure patches are being deployed in a timely fashion, find systems vulnerable to specific issues, and ensure system builds are compliant with our security baselines. We also leverage the built-in web application checks to monitor our websites (in addition to running dynamic scans with a purpose-built web vulnerability scanner).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The Nessus scanner by itself is a great tool and has a large number of plugins and vulnerability coverage. The basic reporting is acceptable but is much more robust and customizable when coupled with other products. Tenable support has dramatically decreased over the past several years. I frequently find myself having to do half their job of testing the product. More often than not, we have to solve the problems on our own (and usually through some sort of custom development/workaround).