AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate 现已全面推出

免费试用 AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate

适用于 AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate 的 AWS 免费套餐包括每月 10 个免费连接节点,或每月 7500 个免费节点小时。

查看 AWS 免费套餐详细信息 »

问:什么是 AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate?

AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate 可以提供一个完全托管的 Chef 服务器和全套自动化工具,让您可以通过工作流自动化来实现连续部署以及合规性与安全性的自动测试,并能通过一个用户界面查看各种节点及其状态。Chef 服务器可以处理软件与操作系统配置、软件包安装和数据库设置等多种操作任务,让您实现全栈自动化。Chef 服务器可以集中存储您的配置任务,并将其提供给任意规模的计算环境中的每个节点,节点数量既可以是几个也可以是数千个。OpsWorks for Chef Automate 与 Chef 社区中提供的各种工具和说明书完全兼容,并会将新的节点自动注册到您的 Chef 服务器。

问:OpsWorks for Chef Automate 与 OpsWorks Stacks 有什么区别?

OpsWorks for Chef Automate 是一种配置管理服务,可以帮助您即时预置 Chef 服务器,并让该服务运行此服务器,包括执行备份和软件升级。该服务与 Chef 的 Supermarket 说明书和配方完全兼容。可以支持 TestKitchen 和 Knife 等本机 Chef 工具。OpsWorks Stacks 服务可以帮助您使用安装在 Amazon EC2 实例上的嵌入式 Chef Solo 客户端在 AWS 上对应用程序进行建模、预置和管理。要了解更多信息,请参阅 OpsWorks Stacks

问:哪些人应该使用 OpsWorks for Chef Automate?

如果客户希望自己的配置管理工作与 Chef (包括所有社区脚本和工具) 完全兼容并且不会产生运营开销,则应该采用 OpsWorks for Chef Automate。

问:如何访问 OpsWorks for Chef Automate?

OpsWorks for Chef Automate 服务可以通过 AWS 管理控制台、AWS 软件开发工具包和 AWS 命令行界面 (CLI) 访问。设置完 Chef 服务器后,您还可以通过 Knife 等与 Chef 兼容的工具对其进行管理。

问:OpsWorks for Chef Automate 在哪些区域提供?

请参阅区域性产品和服务了解详细信息。

问:OpsWorks for Chef Automate 是否存在任何限制?

默认服务限制为:

  • 每个区域的配置管理服务器数量:5
  • 每个配置管理服务器的自动备份数量:30
  • 每个配置管理服务器的手动备份数量:10

如果您想更改这些限制,请联系 AWS Support。

问:服务器必须满足哪些网络要求才能与 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 配合使用?

您的服务器必须能够连接到 AWS 公共终端节点。请参阅文档了解详细信息。

问:什么是 Chef?OpsWorks for Chef Automate 如何使用 Chef?

Chef Automate 是一个由 Chef Software, Inc 开发的软件捆绑包,可以通过代码自动配置、部署和管理应用程序。OpsWorks for Chef Automate 使用 Chef 配方在 Amazon EC2 实例和本地服务器上部署和配置软件组件。Chef 拥有一个丰富的生态系统,带有上百种可以在 AWS 中使用的说明书,例如用于管理 PostgreSQL、Nginx、Solr 等的说明书。

问:什么是 Chef Automate?

Chef Automate 可以为您提供一个全堆栈式持续部署管道,支持自动测试合规性和安全性,并能让您全面了解各种情况。其通过 Chef 实现基础设施自动化、通过 InSpec 实现合规性自动化,并通过 Habitat 实现应用程序自动化。在 Chef Automate 的助力下,您可以将自己的公司转型成一个由软件驱动并且高度协作的组织。要了解更多信息,请参阅 Chef Automate 产品详细信息页面

问:如何使用 Chef Automate 控制台?

Chef Automate 附带自己的控制台。Chef Automate 控制台可以通过 AWS 管理控制台上的 OpsWorks 链接访问。单击该链接后,系统会提示您提供在设置 Chef Automate 服务器时分配到的凭证。

问:我是一名 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 客户。我是否应该迁移到新的 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 服务?

对于希望实现与 Chef 服务器的全面兼容性的 OpsWorks Stacks 客户,我们鼓励其使用 OpsWorks for Chef Automate。要了解有关 OpsWorks Stacks 的更多信息,请参阅 OpsWorks Stacks 产品详细信息页面。

问:如何从 OpsWorks Stacks 迁移到 OpsWorks for Chef Automate?

迁移之前,您必须先修改 OpsWorks 说明书,然后才能在 Chef 服务器上使用。但是有些说明书无需修改也能使用。如果您在使用 OpsWorks 实例扩展 (基于时间或基于负载),则必须改为使用 EC2 Auto Scaling 组和 OpsWork Chef 的节点注册功能。之后,您就可以通过 Chef 的可见性控制台或 Knife 来使用 Chef 服务器和节点。

问:支持哪些版本的 Chef?

OpsWorks for Chef Automate 目前支持 Chef Automate 12。OpsWorks for Chef Automate 服务会定期将您的 Chef 服务器升级到推荐的最新版本。

问:哪些云资源能够为 AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate 服务器提供支持?

AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate 可以使用 Amazon EC2、Amazon EBS、Amazon S3 和 Amazon CloudWatch 等多种成熟的 AWS 功能和服务,用于创建构成托管 Chef 服务器的组件。OpsWorks for Chef Automate 可以使用 Amazon Linux Amazon 系统映像 (AMI)。

问:如何备份 Chef 服务器?

您可以设定周期性备份 Chef 服务器,频率为每日一次或每周一次。服务会将备份存储在 Amazon S3 中。另外,您也可以根据需要选择创建手动备份。

问:我能够针对每台 Chef 服务器保存多少个备份?

备份存储在 Amazon S3 中,并会产生额外费用。您最多可以将备份的保留数量设定为 30 个。您可以使用 AWS Support 渠道提交服务请求,以便更改这一限制。

问:如何将 Chef 服务器恢复到之前的时间点?

您可以浏览可用的备份,然后从中选择一个要将 Chef 服务器恢复到的时间点。服务器备份只包含 Chef 软件持久性数据,例如说明书和已注册的节点。

问:可以将哪些资源连接到 Chef 服务器?

您可以连接运行着受支持的操作系统并能通过 Internet 访问 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 服务器的任何 EC2 实例或本地服务器。您需要为连接的各项资源按小时支付费用。

问:如何将节点注册到 Chef 服务器?

您将通过控制台获得用户数据代码段。您可以将这些代码段放置到一个 EC2 Auto Scaling 组中。这些代码段可以确保您的实例作为 Chef 节点注册到 Chef 服务器中,并运行相应的 Chef 配方。本地服务器需要您安装 Chef 客户端代理软件,然后才能将服务器注册到 Chef 服务器。

问:如何获得 Chef 的相关培训?

您可以从 Chef 的网站选择您首选的 Chef Automate 培训方式。

  • 面授培训 – Chef 提供面授课程,无论您的技能水平如何都会满足您的需求。
  • 在线讲师指导培训 – 无需离开家或办公室即可参加 Chef 培训。
  • 自主进度培训 – 随时学习新技能。
  • 私人培训 – 根据您要求的时间和地点提供 Chef 培训。

问:如何让底层 Chef 服务器保持运行并处于最新状态?

您的托管配置管理服务器会在您设置的维护时段内更新到最新版本的 Chef Automate。OpsWorks for Chef Automate 还会定期运行安全更新和操作系统软件包更新。

问:什么是 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 维护时段?

维护时段是每日或每周内为期一小时的时间段,OpsWorks for Chef Automate 在这一时间段内进行 Chef 次要版本更新、安全更新和操作系统软件包更新。例如,如果您选择的维护时段始于每周日凌晨 2 点,则 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 会在每周日凌晨 2 点到 3 点之间进行平台更新。

维护时段针对单独的 Chef 服务器,因此您可以为不同的 Chef 服务器设置不同的维护时段。您可以使用 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 控制台、AWS CLI 或 API 来更改执行维护的时间。

问:如何设置维护时段?

维护时段默认处于启用状态,可以在 Chef 服务器设置阶段进行设置。您可以使用 AWS 管理控制台、CLI 或 API 在之后更改设置。

问:OpsWorks for Chef Automate 会执行哪种类型的版本更新?

OpsWorks for Chef Automate 不会自动执行主要平台版本更新 (例如 Chef Automate 13 这种主要的新平台版本),因为这些更新可能包含无法向后兼容的更改,并且需要额外测试。当有新的次要版本的 Chef 软件时,只要版本更新通过了 AWS 测试,系统维护便会自动在服务器上更新次要版本的 Chef Automate 和 Chef Server。AWS 会执行广泛的测试来验证 Chef 更新是否可直接用于生产且不会中断客户现有的环境,因此在 Chef 软件发布后,需要过一段时间才可将其用于现有的 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 服务器。

问:在什么时候执行主要版本更新?如何更新?

您可以随时使用 AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate 控制台、API 或 CLI 执行主要版本更新。

问:AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate 如何应用更新内容?

更新内容直接应用到 Chef 服务器运行时所在的托管 EC2 实例上。如果 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 运行状况系统在更新期间检测到任何问题,则 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 将回滚变更,并在下一个维护时段重试。

问:Chef 服务器在维护时段内是否可用?

在应用维护更新时,Chef 服务器不可用。您连接的节点会进入等待服务器状态,直到维护完成为止。连接的节点将继续正常运行。

问:我将如何收到 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 新版本可用的通知?

您会通过 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 控制台收到有关 Chef 新版本的通知。如果您的 Chef 服务器在维护时段内更新,则服务控制台会通知您这一消息。

问:在哪里可以找到平台版本间变更的详细信息?

Chef Automate 版本间变更的详细信息位于 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 发行说明页面上。

问:平台版本更新多久发布一次?

每年的版本发布次数不固定,具体取决于 Chef 发布 Chef Automate 补丁的频率和 AWS 进行的验收测试。


问:如何开始使用 OpsWorks for Chef Automate?

开始使用 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 的最佳方式是查看技术文档的“AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate 入门指南”一章。


问:如何创建 Chef 说明书和配方?

最简单的方法是从使用现有 Chef 配方入手。许多公共存储库都包含 Chef 说明书,其附带的配方只需少量修改或无需修改即可运行。OpsWorks for Chef Automate 入门套件还包含一个示例 Chef 配方并介绍了其工作原理。

问:是否可以使用 Chef Supermarket 中的社区说明书?

可以。OpsWorks for Chef Automate 可以让您实现与 Chef Automate 完全兼容的配置管理。您可以使用社区编写的说明书,无需进行任何特定于 AWS 的修改。

问:如何将 Chef 节点升级到新版本?

您可以使用 Chef 混合配方在方便的时候进行 Chef 节点升级。虽然 OpsWorks 会为您定期执行 Chef 服务器版本升级,但旧版 Chef 节点仍然能够继续运行。

问:OpsWorks for Chef Automate 服务器是否支持 Knife 和 Test Kitchen 等社区工具?

是的。OpsWorks for Chef Automate 可以让您实现与 Chef Automate 完全兼容的配置管理。您可以将相同的工具生态系统用作本地 Chef Automate 服务器。

问:是否有能够用来检查 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 的示例说明书?

是的。OpsWorks for Chef Automate 入门套件包含一个示例说明书,您可以使用该说明书来试用产品并了解其功能。


问:是否能将 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 与 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 配合使用?

可以。具有相应权限的 IAM 用户可以使用 AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate。Chef 用户不受 IAM 管理,必须在 Chef Automate 中预置。

问:如何创建 IAM 用户?

您可以使用 IAM 控制台、IAM 命令行界面 (CLI) 或 IAM API 来预置 IAM 用户。默认情况下,IAM 用户在获得权限前不能访问 AWS 服务。

问:我是否具有 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 服务器 EC2 实例的根访问权限?

可以。您可以提供一个 SSH 密钥对,以便启用对 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 服务器 EC2 实例的根访问权限。OpsWorks for Chef Automate 可以为您提供用于执行常见操作任务的工具,因此我们建议您禁用 SSH 访问。

问:在哪里可以找到有关 AWS 安全性和在 AWS 上运行应用程序的更多信息?

请参阅 Amazon Web Services:安全过程概述和 AWS 安全中心

问:我是否能获取从我的账户发起的 OpsWorks for Chef Automate API 调用的历史记录,以便进行安全分析并排除故障?

可以。要获取从您的账户发起的 OpsWorks for Chef Automate API 调用的历史记录,您只需在 AWS 管理控制台中打开 AWS CloudTrail 即可。


问:能够为 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 服务器上的应用程序提供支持的 AWS 资源的费用是多少?

OpsWorks for Chef Automate 服务器由 Amazon EC2、Amazon EBS、Amazon S3 和 Amazon CloudWatch 配置并提供支持。有关 EC2 的定价信息,请参阅 EC2 详细信息页面。有关 S3 的定价信息,请参阅 S3 详细信息页面上的定价部分。有关 CloudWatch 的定价信息,请参阅 CloudWatch 详细信息页面上的定价部分。以下三种类型的 EC 实例可供您用来运行 Chef 服务器:m4.large、r4.xlarge 和 r4.2xlarge。小时费率取决于所使用的实例类型。

问:我是否需要为连接到 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 服务器的 EC2 实例和本地服务器付费?

您需要为连接到 AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate 服务器的每个 EC2 实例和本地服务器按小时支付费用。无最低费用,无预先承诺。有关更多信息,请参阅我们的定价页面

问:如何查看 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 服务器使用过的 AWS 资源的费用?

OpsWorks for Chef Automate 会使用 Chef 服务器的名称来自动标记所有 Chef 服务器资源。您可以将这些标签与成本分配报告配合使用,以便整理并跟踪使用 AWS 产生的费用。请参阅 AWS 账户账单了解详细信息。


问:AWS Support 是否可以为 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 提供支持?

可以。AWS Support 可以帮助您解决与使用 OpsWorks for Chef Automate 相关的问题。请参阅 AWS Support 页面了解详细信息。

问:还有哪些其他支持?

您可以通过 AWS OpsWorks 开发论坛来了解 AWS 社区中的现有知识,从而促进自身的发展。

AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate is now generally available

Try AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate for Free

The AWS Free Tier for AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate includes 10 free connected nodes per month, or 7,500 node hours free per month.

View AWS Free Tier Details »

Q: What is AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate?

AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate provides a fully managed Chef server and suite of automation tools that give you workflow automation for continuous deployment, automated testing for compliance and security, and a user interface that gives you visibility into your nodes and their status. The Chef server gives you full stack automation by handling operational tasks such as software and operating system configurations, package installations, database setups, and more. The Chef server centrally stores your configuration tasks and provides them to each node in your compute environment at any scale, from a few nodes to thousands of nodes. OpsWorks for Chef Automate is completely compatible with tooling and cookbooks from the Chef community and automatically registers new nodes with your Chef server.

Q: How is OpsWorks for Chef Automate different from OpsWorks Stacks?

OpsWorks for Chef Automate is a configuration management service that helps you instantly provision a Chef server and lets the service operate it, including performing backups and software upgrades. The service offers full compatibility with Chef’s Supermarket cookbooks and recipes. It supports native Chef tools such as TestKitchen and Knife. The OpsWorks Stacks service helps you model, provision, and manage your applications on AWS using the embedded Chef solo client that is installed on Amazon EC2 instances on your behalf. To learn more, see OpsWorks Stacks.

Q: Who should use OpsWorks for Chef Automate?

Customers who are looking for a configuration management experience that is fully compatible with Chef, including all community scripts and tooling, but without operational overhead should adopt OpsWorks for Chef Automate.

Q: How can I access OpsWorks for Chef Automate?

The OpsWorks for Chef Automate service is available through the AWS Management Console, AWS SDKs, and the AWS Command Line Interface (CLI). After the Chef server has been set up, it can also be managed by Chef-compatible tools such as Knife.

Q: In which regions is OpsWorks for Chef Automate available?

See Regional Products and Services for details.

Q: Are there any limits to OpsWorks for Chef Automate?

The default service limits are:

  • Configuration management servers per region: 5
  • Automated backups per configuration management server: 30
  • Manual backups per configuration management server: 10

If you would like to change these limits, contact AWS Support.

Q: What network requirements must my servers meet to work with OpsWorks for Chef Automate?

Your servers must be able to connect to AWS public endpoints. See the documentation for details.

Q: What is Chef and how does OpsWorks for Chef Automate use it?

Chef Automate is a software bundle by Chef Software, Inc. that automates how applications are configured, deployed, and managed through the use of code. OpsWorks for Chef Automate uses Chef recipes to deploy and configure software components on Amazon EC2 instances and on-premises servers. Chef has a rich ecosystem with hundreds of cookbooks that can be used in AWS, such as cookbooks for managing PostgreSQL, Nginx, Solr, and many more.

Q: What is Chef Automate?

Chef Automate gives you a full-stack, continuous deployment pipeline, automated testing for compliance and security, and visibility into everything that's happening along the way. It builds on Chef for infrastructure automation, InSpec for compliance automation, and Habitat for application automation. You can transform your company into a highly collaborative, software-driven organization with Chef Automate as the engine. To learn more, see the Chef Automate product details page.

Q: How do I use the Chef Automate console?

Chef Automate includes its own console. The Chef Automate Console can be accessed through the OpsWorks link on the the AWS Management Console. After you click the link, you will be prompted for the credentials that you were assigned when you set up the Chef Automate server.

Q: I am an AWS OpsWorks Stacks customer. Should I migrate to the new OpsWorks for Chef Automate service?

OpsWorks Stacks customers who are looking for full Chef server compatibility are encouraged to use OpsWorks for Chef Automate. To learn more about OpsWorks Stacks, see the OpsWorks Stacks product details page.

Q: How can I migrate from OpsWorks Stacks to OpsWorks for Chef Automate?

Before you migrate, you first have to adapt your OpsWorks cookbooks to work on a Chef server. Some may work without alterations, however. If you are using OpsWorks instance scaling (either time-based or load-based), you’ll need to use an EC2 Auto Scaling group and OpsWork Chef’s node registration feature instead. You will later be able to work with your Chef server and nodes by using Chef’s Visibility console or Knife.

Q: Which versions of Chef are supported?

OpsWorks for Chef Automate currently supports Chef Automate 12. The OpsWorks for Chef Automate service will regularly upgrade your Chef server to the latest recommended version.

Q: Which cloud resources power my AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate server?

AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate uses proven AWS features and services, such as Amazon EC2, Amazon EBS, Amazon S3, and Amazon CloudWatch to create the components that make up your managed Chef server. OpsWorks for Chef Automate uses the Amazon Linux Amazon Machine Image (AMI).

Q: How can I back up my Chef server?

You can define a daily or weekly recurring Chef server backup. The service stores the backups in Amazon S3 on your behalf. Alternatively, you can choose to create manual backups on demand.

Q: How many backups can I keep for every Chef server?

Backups are stored in Amazon S3 and incur additional fees. You can define a backup retention period of up to 30 generations. You can submit a service request to change that limit by using AWS Support channels.

Q: How can I restore my Chef server to an earlier point in time?

After browsing through your available backups, you can choose a point in time from which to restore your Chef server. Server backups contain only Chef software persistent data such as cookbooks and registered nodes.

Q: Which resources can I connect to my Chef server?

You can connect any EC2 instance or on-premises server that is running a supported operating system and has Internet access to an OpsWorks for Chef Automate server. You are charged an hourly fee for every connected resource.

Q: How do I register nodes with the Chef server?

You’ll get user-data code snippets through the console. You can put these code snippets in an EC2 Auto Scaling group. These code snippets ensure that your instances are registered to your Chef server as Chef nodes, and that they run the corresponding Chef recipes. On-premises servers require that you install the Chef client agent software and register the server with your Chef server.


Q: How can I keep the underlying Chef server running and up-to-date?

Your managed configuration management server is updated to the latest version of Chef Automate during the maintenance window that you configure. OpsWorks for Chef Automate also regularly runs security updates and operating system package updates for you.

Q: What is an OpsWorks for Chef Automate maintenance window?

A maintenance window is a daily or weekly one-hour time slot during which OpsWorks for Chef Automate initiates Chef minor version updates, security updates, and operating system package updates. For example, if you select a maintenance window that begins every Sunday at 2:00 A.M., OpsWorks for Chef Automate initiates the platform update between 2:00 and 3:00 A.M. every Sunday.

The maintenance window is set on a per-Chef-server basis, so you can set different maintenance times for different Chef servers. If you want to change when maintenance is performed, you can use the OpsWorks for Chef Automate console, the AWS CLI or APIs.

Q: How do I set up a maintenance window?

The maintenance window is enabled by default and can be set during the Chef server setup phase. You can change settings later by using the AWS Management Console, CLI, or APIs.

Q: What kinds of version updates will be performed by OpsWorks for Chef Automate?

OpsWorks for Chef Automate automatically performs updates for new Chef minor versions. OpsWorks for Chef Automate does not perform major platform version updates automatically (for example, a major new platform version such as Chef Automate 13) because these updates might include backward-incompatible changes and require additional testing. In these cases, you must manually initiate the update.

Q: When and how can I perform major version updates?

You can perform major version updates at any time by using the AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate console, API, or CLI.

Q: How does AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate apply updates?

The updates are applied directly to the managed EC2 instance on which the Chef server is running. If the OpsWorks for Chef Automate health system detects any issues during the update, OpsWorks for Chef Automate will roll back changes and try again during the next maintenance window.

Q: Will my Chef server be available during the maintenance window?

Your Chef server is not available when maintenance updates are being applied. Your connected nodes enter a pending-server state until maintenance is complete. The connected nodes will continue to operate normally.

Q: How will I be notified of the availability of new OpsWorks for Chef Automate versions?

You are notified about new Chef versions through the OpsWorks for Chef Automate console. The service console informs you if your Chef server was updated during the maintenance window.

Q: Where can I find details about changes between platform versions?

Details about changes between Chef Automate versions are on the OpsWorks for Chef Automate Release Notes page.

Q: How often are platform version updates released?

The number of version releases each year varies based on the frequency of Chef Automate patch releases from Chef and acceptance testing performed by AWS.


Q: How do I get started with OpsWorks for Chef Automate?

The best way to get started with OpsWorks for Chef Automate is to review the AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate Getting Started chapter of the technical documentation.


Q: How do I create Chef cookbooks and recipes?

The easiest way to get started is to use existing Chef recipes. Many public repositories contain Chef cookbooks with recipes that can run with little to no modification. The OpsWorks for Chef Automate Starter Kit also includes an example Chef recipe and describes how it works.

Q: Can I use community cookbooks from the Chef Supermarket?

Yes. OpsWorks for Chef Automate provides configuration management experience that is fully compatible with Chef Automate. You can use community-authored cookbooks with no AWS-specific modifications.

Q: How do I upgrade my Chef nodes to a newer release version?

Chef node upgrades can be done at your convenience by using the Chef omnibus recipe. Although OpsWorks regularly performs Chef server version upgrades on your behalf, your Chef nodes continue to operate even if they remain on the earlier version.

Q: Does my OpsWorks for Chef Automate server support community tools like Knife and Test Kitchen?

Yes. OpsWorks for Chef Automate provides configuration management experience that is fully compatible with Chef Automate. You can use the same ecosystem of tools as an on-premises Chef Automate server.

Q: Is there a sample cookbook that I can use to check out OpsWorks for Chef Automate?

Yes. The OpsWorks for Chef Automate Starter Kit includes a sample cookbook that you can use to test drive the offering and explore its functionality.


Q: Is it possible to use AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) with OpsWorks for Chef Automate?

Yes. IAM users with the appropriate permissions can work with AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate. The Chef users are not managed by IAM and must be provisioned from within Chef Automate.

Q: How do I create IAM users?

You can use the IAM console, IAM command line interface (CLI), or IAM API to provision IAM users. By default, IAM users have no access to AWS services until permissions are granted.

Q: Do I have root access to my OpsWorks for Chef Automate server EC2 instance?

Yes. You can provide an SSH key pair to enable root access to the OpsWorks for Chef Automate server EC2 instance. OpsWorks for Chef Automate provides you with tooling to perform common operational tasks, and so we recommend that you disable SSH access.

Q: Where can I find more information about security and running applications on AWS?

See Amazon Web Services: Overview of Security Processes and the AWS Security Center.

Q: Can I get a history of OpsWorks for Chef Automate API calls made on my account for security analysis and troubleshooting purposes?

Yes. To get a history of OpsWorks for Chef Automate API calls made on your account, you simply turn on AWS CloudTrail in the AWS Management Console.


Q: How much do the AWS resources powering my application on OpsWorks for Chef Automate server cost?

The OpsWorks for Chef Automate server is configured on your behalf and powered by Amazon EC2, Amazon EBS, Amazon S3, and Amazon CloudWatch. For EC2 pricing information, see the EC2 detail page. For S3 pricing information, see the pricing section of the S3 detail page. For CloudWatch pricing information, see the pricing section of the CloudWatch detail page. There are three EC2 instance types to choose from for running the Chef server: t2.medium, m4.large, m4.2xlarge. The hourly rate depends on the instance type used.

Q: Am I billed for EC2 instances and on-premises servers that are connected to my OpsWorks for Chef Automate server?

You pay an hourly fee for each EC2 instance and on-premises server that is connected to an AWS OpsWorks for Chef Automate server. There are no minimum fees and no upfront commitments. For more information, see our pricing page.

Q: How do I view the cost of AWS resources that have been used by my OpsWorks for Chef Automate server?

OpsWorks for Chef Automate automatically tags all Chef server resources with the name of your Chef server. You can use these tags with Cost Allocation Reports to organize and track your AWS costs. See AWS Account Billing for details.


Q: Does AWS Support cover OpsWorks for Chef Automate?

Yes. AWS Support covers issues related to your use of OpsWorks for Chef Automate. See the AWS Support page for details.

Q: What other support options are available?

You can tap into the breadth of existing AWS community knowledge to help you with your development by using the AWS OpsWorks discussion forum.