Ce guide permet aux utilisateurs de préparer les données génomiques, cliniques, de mutation, d'expression et d'imagerie pour exécuter une analyse à grande échelle, et d'effectuer des requêtes interactives dans un lac de données. Il couvre l'automatisation de l'infrastructure en tant que code, ainsi qu'un pipeline d'ingestion pour transformer les données, et les blocs-notes et des tableaux de bord pour l'analyse interactive. Le guide a été élaboré en collaboration avec Bioteam.

Diagramme d'architecture

Piliers AWS Well-Architected


Autres considérations

Transformation des données

Cette architecture utilise AWS Glue pour l'extraction, la transformation et le chargement (ETL) nécessaires à l'ingestion, à la préparation et aux catalogage des jeux de données dans la solution pour les requêtes et les performances. Vous pouvez ajouter de nouvelles tâches AWS Glue et de nouveaux crawlers Glue Crawlers pour ingérer de nouveaux jeux de données The Cancer Genome Atlas (TCGA) et The Cancer Image Atlas (TCIA), si nécessaire. Vous pouvez également ajouter de nouvelles tâches et de nouveaux crawlers pour ingérer, préparer et cataloguer vos propres jeux de données propriétaires.

Analyse des données

Cette architecture utilise des blocs-notes Amazon SageMaker pour fournir un environnement de blocs-notes Jupyter pour l'analyse. Vous pouvez ajouter de nouveaux blocs-notes à l'environnement existant ou créer de nouveaux environnements. Si vous préférez les blocs-notes RStudio au blocs-notes Jupyter, vous pouvez utiliser RStudio on Amazon SageMaker.

Visualisation de données

Cette architecture utilise Amazon QuickSight pour fournir des tableaux de bord interactifs pour la visualisation et l'exploration des données. La configuration de tableau de bord QuickSight s'effectue par le biais d'un modèle AWS CloudFormation. Ainsi, si vous ne voulez pas utiliser le tableau de bord vous n'avez pas à le mettre en service. Dans QuickSight, vous pouvez créer votre propre analyse, explorer des filtres ou des visualisations supplémentaires, et partager des jeux de données et des analyses avec vos collègues.

Instructions d'utilisation

Ce référentiel crée un environnement évolutif dans AWS pour préparer les données génomiques, cliniques, de mutation, d'expression et d'imagerie pour exécuter des analyses à grande échelle et effectuer des requêtes interactives sur un lac de données. La solution montre comment 1) créer, mettre en package et déployer les bibliothèques utilisées pour la conversion des données génomiques, 2) fournir des pipelines d'ingestion de données sans serveur pour la préparation et le catalogage des données multimodales, 3) visualiser et explorer les données cliniques par le biais d'une interface interactive et 4) exécuter des requêtes analytiques interactives sur un lac de données multimodales.

Contributeurs

BioTeam est une société de conseil en informatique spécialisée dans les sciences de la vie, qui s'engage dans l'accélération des découvertes scientifiques en comblant le fossé entre ce que les scientifiques veulent faire avec les données et ce qu'ils peuvent faire. Intervenant à l'intersection de la science, des données et de la technologie depuis 2002, BioTeam dispose des fonctionnalités interdisciplinaires pour appliquer des stratégies, des technologies avancées et des services IT qui résolvent les problèmes de recherche, techniques et opérationnels les plus complexes. À même de traduire les besoins scientifiques en puissants écosystèmes de données scientifiques, nous sommes fiers de notre capacité à nous associer à un large éventail de leaders de la recherche dans le domaine des sciences de la vie, des start-ups de biotechnologie aux plus grandes entreprises pharmaceutiques mondiales, des agences gouvernementales fédérales aux institutions de recherche universitaires.

Avis de non-responsabilité

Les exemples de code, les bibliothèques de logiciels, les outils de ligne de commande, les preuves de concept, les modèles ou toute autre technologie connexe (y compris tout ce qui précède qui est fourni par notre personnel) vous sont fournis en tant que contenu AWS en vertu du contrat client AWS ou de l'accord écrit pertinent entre vous et AWS (selon le cas). Vous ne devez pas utiliser ce contenu AWS dans vos comptes de production, ni sur des données de production ou autres données critiques. Vous êtes responsable des tests, de la sécurisation et de l'optimisation du contenu AWS, tel que les exemples de code, comme il convient pour une utilisation en production, en fonction de vos pratiques et normes de contrôle de qualité spécifiques. Le déploiement de contenu AWS peut entraîner des frais AWS pour la création ou l'utilisation de ressources payantes AWS, telles que l'exécution d'instances Amazon EC2 ou l'utilisation du stockage Amazon S3.

This Guidance helps users prepare genomic, clinical, mutation, expression, and imaging data for large-scale analysis and perform interactive queries against a data lake. It includes infrastructure as code (IaC) automation, continuous integration and continuous delivery (CI/CD) for rapid iteration, an ingestion pipeline to store and transform the data, and notebooks and dashboards for interactive analysis. We also demonstrate how genomics variant and annotation data is stored and queried using Amazon Omics, Amazon Athena, and Amazon SageMaker notebooks. This Guidance was built in collaboration with Bioteam

Architecture Diagram

  • Architecture
  • Guidance Architecture Diagram for Multi-Omics and Multi-Modal Data Integration and Analysis on AWS - Architecture
  • CI/CD
  • Guidance Architecture Diagram for Multi-Omics and Multi-Modal Data Integration and Analysis on AWS - CI/CD

Well-Architected Pillars

The AWS Well-Architected Framework helps you understand the pros and cons of the decisions you make when building systems in the cloud. The six pillars of the Framework allow you to learn architectural best practices for designing and operating reliable, secure, efficient, cost-effective, and sustainable systems. Using the AWS Well-Architected Tool, available at no charge in the AWS Management Console, you can review your workloads against these best practices by answering a set of questions for each pillar.

The architecture diagram above is an example of a Solution created with Well-Architected best practices in mind. To be fully Well-Architected, you should follow as many Well-Architected best practices as possible.

Additional Considerations

Data Transformation

This architecture chose AWS Glue for the Extract, Transform, and Load (ETL) needed to ingest, prepare, and catalog the datasets in the solution for query and performance. You can add new AWS Glue Jobs and AWS Glue Crawlers to ingest new The Cancer Genome Atlas (TCGA) and The Cancer Image Atlas (TCIA) datasets, as needed. You can also add new jobs and crawlers to ingest, prepare, and catalog your own proprietary datasets.

Data Analysis

This architecture chose SageMaker Notebooks to provide a Jupyter notebook environment for analysis. You can add new notebooks to the existing environment or create new environments. If you prefer RStudio to Jupyter notebooks, you can use RStudio on Amazon SageMaker.

Data Visualization

This architecture chose QuickSight to provide interactive dashboards for data visualization and exploration. The QuickSight dashboard setup is through a separate CloudFormation template so if you don’t intend to use the dashboard you don’t have to provision it. In QuickSight, you can create your own analysis, explore additional filters or visualizations, and share datasets and analysis with colleagues.

Implementation Resources

This repository creates a scalable environment in AWS to prepare genomic, clinical, mutation, expression and imaging data for large-scale analysis and perform interactive queries against a data lake. The solution demonstrates how to 1) use Amazon Omics Variant Store & Annotation Store to store genomic variant data and annotation data, 2) provision serverless data ingestion pipelines for multi-modal data preparation and cataloging, 3) visualize and explore clinical data through an interactive interface, and 4) run interactive analytic queries against a multi-modal data lake using Amazon Athena and Amazon SageMaker.

A detailed guide is provided to experiment and use within your AWS account. Each stage of building the Guidance, including deployment, usage, and cleanup, is examined to prepare it for deployment. 

The sample code is a starting point. It is industry validated, prescriptive but not definitive, and a peek under the hood to help you begin.

Contributors

BioTeam is a life sciences IT consulting company passionate about accelerating scientific discovery by closing the gap between what scientists want to do with data—and what they can do. Working at the intersection of science, data and technology since 2002, BioTeam has the interdisciplinary capabilities to apply strategies, advanced technologies, and IT services that solve the most challenging research, technical, and operational problems. Skilled at translating scientific needs into powerful scientific data ecosystems, we take pride in our ability to partner with a broad range of leaders in life sciences research, from biotech startups to the largest global pharmaceutical companies, from federal government agencies to academic research institutions.

Implementation Resources

A detailed guide is provided to experiment and use within your AWS account. Each stage of building the Guidance, including deployment, usage, and cleanup, is examined to prepare it for deployment.

The sample code is a starting point. It is industry validated, prescriptive but not definitive, and a peek under the hood to help you begin.

Disclaimer

The sample code; software libraries; command line tools; proofs of concept; templates; or other related technology (including any of the foregoing that are provided by our personnel) is provided to you as AWS Content under the AWS Customer Agreement, or the relevant written agreement between you and AWS (whichever applies). You should not use this AWS Content in your production accounts, or on production or other critical data. You are responsible for testing, securing, and optimizing the AWS Content, such as sample code, as appropriate for production grade use based on your specific quality control practices and standards. Deploying AWS Content may incur AWS charges for creating or using AWS chargeable resources, such as running Amazon EC2 instances or using Amazon S3 storage.