GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

使用云财务管理加快创新速度:

在 Nationwide 和云优化服务总监 Joe Daly 展开对话


使用云财务管理加快创新速度

对于采用云的组织而言,最大的挑战之一是在开发支出与业务举措协调一致的同时管理和优化支出。这是 Joe Daly 在 Nationwide 的工作职责,两年多以前,他在公司里最初负责监管保险公司的云迁移。AWS 中东、欧洲和非洲经验加速主管 Mario Thomas 与 Joe 就云迁移如何提升透明度、灵活性和效率进行了谈话。

收听 SpotifyApple Podcasts 上的播客。

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

使云迁移变得有趣而轻松

Mario Thomas:几周前,我看到您在 LinkedIn 上发布了一些经验加速聚会的视频。请跟我说说您举办这些聚会的原因以及获得的收益。

Joe Daly:两年前开始云迁移时,我们想确保开发人员在迁移过程中获得的第一手经验是好的。并非每个人都是云 [专家],因此我们希望确保在遇到阻碍的情况下有专人帮助他们。我们聘请了 AWS 技术专家来监督六个团队开始迁移流程。每当开发人员遇到问题时,问题会立即得到解决,他们持续学习。我们还配备了加湿器、披萨和怪物能量饮料,以使每个人都能精力充沛地工作。迁移最初是一次性事件,到 2019 年是每月活动,直到现在全世界流行。

Joe 总结的云创新优化的五大策略

  1. 创建沉浸式体验,使云迁移变得有趣并为开发人员提供支持。
  2. 考虑迁移应用程序块而不是移动服务器。
  3. 创建用于试验新应用程序的概念验证环境。
  4. 在各个应用程序团队之间分配云成本,让他们负责自己部门分摊的费用。
  5. 每天分配这些费用,以便应用程序团队可以快速进行调整,以使项目保持在预算之内。 
GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

用无服务器技术打破思维模式

Mario Thomas:运营云服务是如何改变 Nationwide 的创新方式的?

Joe Daly:它帮助 Nationwide 将创新方式从面向服务器转变为面向应用程序和开发人员,而且我们利用了无服务器技术。对于刚刚了解云的团队,提供这些服务可以打破一些关于如何开发应用程序并将其内置到解决方案中的思维模式。我记得一个团队在读出会议中说:“哦,我们正在使用无服务器技术。” 我当时预计他们会采用直接迁移或重新构建平台的迁移方法,因为这是他们第一次迁移。果不其然,他们加快了前进的步伐。

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

成本透明度精确到毫厘

Mario Thomas:迁移到云如何帮助您优化支出?


quote-marks

“使用云服务最令我兴奋的是所获得的财务透明度。”


Joe Daly:使用云服务最令我兴奋的是所获得的财务透明度。我们制定了一个强大的标记策略,可以确定每种资源由哪一成本中心提供资金,能够精确到毫厘。我的团队可以为开发团队提供每日最新消息,以便他们可以查看费用何时突增超出控制并在数小时内做出反应,而不是一个月或一个季度之后才做出反应。达到这种程度的成本透明度后,您便可以使用所有类型的杠杆来优化解决方案及其推动的价值。

Mario Thomas:您是否能够借助这种透明度更快确定部署哪些云服务?

Joe Daly:是的,我们可以先运行服务一两个星期,如果对运行情况不满意,我们就会结束概念验证 (POC) 并将其关闭。因此,我不建议团队尝试过于精确地估算成本,尤其是当他们刚开始使用云时。最好构建一个 POC 环境并获取每个组件每小时成本的实时数据,因为它提供的估算成本比理论假设更准确。

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

从红绿灯到环岛

Mario Thomas:更好地管理成本还能为开发团队提供哪些帮助?

Joe Daly:我对云财务管理的钟爱不仅在于它面向开发人员和工程师,它还面向财务和采购团队。这是一项团队合作。借助云财务管理,每个人都可以了解新的云技术和新的协作方式。


quote-marks

“我对云财务管理的钟爱不仅在于它面向开发人员和工程师,它还面向财务和采购团队。这是一项团队合作。”


用我从 Aaron Diggins 所著的 Brave New Work 一书中借用的比喻的话说就是,我们已经将红绿灯换成了环岛。使用红绿灯时,只有一个中央管理机构。在大多数情况下,红绿灯都可以正常工作,但是在四路交叉口会发生很多碰撞事故,而且经常会堵车。分散式管理更像是环岛,驾驶员自行决定何时进入和离开交叉口,但交通会更顺畅。团队负责确保其使用效率最高,并最适合其业务。

Mario Thomas:财务在这种新方法中扮演什么角色?

Joe Daly:我们在云中所做的一切都会直接影响我们的业务,尤其是在这种财务透明度之下。因此,如果您与财务部门合作或将在您的云业务办公室中安排财务人员,您可以向开发人员展示资源对他们正在开发的解决方案的确切影响。它缩小了工程师与开发人员之间的距离,从而最终缩小了与终端客户之间的距离。云财务管理将许多不同部门的人员和技能融合在一起,越来越多的公司正在投资于此功能并共享最佳实践。

 

关于我们的来宾

Nationwide 云优化服务总监 Joseph Daly

Joe Daly
Nationwide 云优化服务总监

Joe Daly 先后在两家财富 100 强公司 Cardinal Health 和 Nationwide 建立了 FinOps 团队。他在职业生涯中担任过多种职务,包括服务器运营团队主管、IT 会计和注册会计师。Joseph 是 FinOps 基金会的创始成员,目前在技术咨询委员会任职,该委员会提供云财务管理技术指导并编纂最佳实践。

AWS 业务拓展部门经验加速主管(中东、欧洲和非洲)Mario Thomas

Mario Thomas
AWS 业务拓展部门经验加速主管(中东、欧洲和非洲)

Mario 是特许董事,并且是董事学会会员。他曾担任执行董事会和非执行董事会职务,并将在组织转型方面的经验以及公司治理、合规性和风险方面的资历投入到了 AWS 客户接洽工作中。在加入 Amazon 之前,Mario 曾担任首席执行官、首席信息管和首席数据官,主管 Coca-Cola、Gulf Oil 和 First Data 等知名品牌的云采用项目并提供咨询。Mario 拥有软件工程(荣誉)理学学士学位。


相关阅读材料

451 Research:云财务管理:小的改变可以产生大影响
451 Research
云财务管理:小的改变可以产生大影响
如果您现在没有使用 CFM 实践,您应该使用
AWS 云财务管理指南
指南
AWS 云财务管理指南
如何规划、发展和优化您的 IT 财务管理实践

云如何创造商业价值?

了解 CFO 如何利用 AWS 优化性价比。

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

Accelerating Innovation with Cloud Financial Management:

A conversation with Joe Daly, Director of Cloud Optimization Services at Nationwide


Accelerating Innovation with Cloud Financial Management

One of the biggest challenges for organizations that adopt the cloud is aligning their development spend with business initiatives while managing and optimizing spend. That’s Joe Daly’s job at Nationwide, where he began overseeing the insurer’s cloud migration more than two years ago. Mario Thomas, AWS’s head of Experienced-Based Acceleration in EMEA, spoke to Joe about how this shift has created greater transparency, flexibility, and efficiency.

Listen to the podcast on Spotify or Apple Podcasts.

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

Making cloud migration fun and easy

Mario Thomas: A few weeks ago, I saw you posted some videos on LinkedIn of your experience-based acceleration parties. Tell me about why you’re doing these parties and the benefits you’ve experienced.

Joe Daly: When we started our cloud migration two years ago, we wanted to make sure our developers’ first experience with this process was a good one. Not everyone is a cloud [expert], so we wanted to make sure that we had people on hand to help them if they ran into roadblocks. We brought in AWS technical experts to oversee six teams starting their migration process. Whenever the developers had an issue, it was immediately addressed, and they continued learning. And we had fog machines, pizza, and monster energy drinks to keep everyone going. It went from it being a one-off event to being a monthly activity in 2019 until the pandemic.

Joe’s Top Five Strategies for Optimizing Cloud Innovation

  1. Create immersive experiences to make cloud migration fun and supportive for developers.
  2. Think in terms of migrating blocks of applications rather than moving servers.
  3. Create a proof-of-concept environment for experimenting with new applications.
  4. Distribute cloud costs to individual application teams so they become accountable for their share of those expenses.
  5. Provide those costs daily so application teams can make quick adjustments to keep projects on budget. 
GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

Breaking mindsets with Serverless

Mario Thomas: How did operating in the cloud change Nationwide’s approach to innovation?

Joe Daly: It helped that Nationwide’s approach was already application- and developer-focused, as opposed to server-focused, and we leveraged a serverless technology. For teams that are just getting introduced to the cloud, having these services available breaks some mindsets about how to develop applications and build them into solutions. I remember one team saying during their readout “Oh, we’re using the serverless technology.” I was expecting that they would utilize a lift-and-shift or replatform method of migration as it was their first one. Just like that, they sped ahead.

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

Cost transparency down to the penny

Mario Thomas: How did moving to the cloud help you optimize spend?


quote-marks

What excites me most about using cloud services is the level of financial transparency you gain.”


Joe Daly: What excites me most about using cloud services is the level of financial transparency you gain. We have a robust tagging strategy to determine down to the penny which cost center is funding each resource. My team can give development teams daily updates so they can see when expenses are spiking out of control and react within hours, as opposed to a month or quarter later. When you have this level of cost transparency, you have all types of levers you can use to finetune a solution and the value it’s driving.

Mario Thomas: Has this enabled you to decide which cloud services to deploy more quickly?

Joe Daly: Yes, we can run something for a week or two, and if we don’t like what we’re seeing, end the proof-of-concept (POC) and turn it off. So I discourage teams from trying to make their cost estimates too exact, especially when they’re starting in the cloud. It’s better to build a POC environment and get real-time data for each component’s hourly cost because it provides a more accurate estimate than theoretical assumptions.

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

From traffic lights to roundabouts

Mario Thomas: How else does better cost management help development teams?

Joe Daly: What I love about cloud financial management is it’s not just for developers and engineers, but also for finance and procurement teams. It’s a group effort. With cloud financial management, everyone learns about new cloud technologies and new ways to work together.


quote-marks

Cloud financial management is not just for developers and engineers but also for finance and procurement teams. It’s a group effort.”


To use a metaphor I stole from Aaron Diggins’ book, Brave New Work, we’ve replaced traffic lights with roundabouts. With traffic lights, there’s one central managing authority. Much of the time the lights work okay, but there are many collisions in those four-way intersections, and traffic often backs up. Decentralized management is more like a roundabout, where the driver has the responsibility to decide when to enter and exit the intersection, but traffic moves faster. Teams are in charge of making sure their usage is the most efficient and works best for their business.

Mario Thomas: What role does finance play in this new approach?

Joe Daly: Everything we’re doing in the cloud directly impacts our business, especially with all this financial transparency. So if you partner with your finance department or put a finance person in your cloud business office, you can show developers the exact impact the resources are having on the solution they’re developing. It shrinks the distance between engineers and developers and ultimately the end-customer. Cloud financial management brings many different people and skills together, and more and more companies are investing in this capability and sharing best practices.

 

About our guests

Joe Daly, Director of Cloud Optimization Services, Nationwide

Joe Daly
Director of Cloud Optimization Services, Nationwide

Joe Daly has setup FinOps teams at two different Fortune 100 companies, first at Cardinal Health and currently at Nationwide. His career has spanned a variety of roles including leading a server operations team, IT accounting and as a CPA. Joseph was a founding member of the FinOps Foundation and currently sits on the Technical Advisory Council that provides technical guidance and codify best practice for cloud financial management.

Mario Thomas, Head of Experience-Based Acceleration (EMEA), AWS Business Development

Mario Thomas
Head of Experience-Based Acceleration (EMEA), AWS Business Development

Mario is a Chartered Director, and Fellow of the Institute of Directors. He has held executive and non-executive Board positions, bringing his experience of organizational transformation and qualifications in corporate governance, compliance and risk to customer engagements at AWS. Before Amazon, Mario worked as a CEO, CIO, and CDO, consulting and leading cloud adoption projects with well-known brands including Coca-Cola, Gulf Oil, and First Data. Mario has a BSc. (Hons) in Software Engineering.


Related reading

451 Research: Cloud Financial Management: Small Changes Can Make Big Impacts
451 RESEARCH
Cloud Financial Management: Small Changes Can Make Big Impacts
If you're not using CFM practices now, you should be
AWS Cloud Financial Management Guide
guide
AWS Cloud Financial Management Guide
How to plan, evolve, and optimize your IT Finance Management practices

How can the cloud create business value?

Learn how CFOs are using AWS to optimize performance and costs.