一般问题

问:什么是 Amazon Location Service?

Amazon Location Service 是一项完全托管式服务,可让开发人员轻松地为应用程序添加位置功能(如地图、兴趣点、地理编码、路线规划、追踪和地理围栏),而无需牺牲数据安全性、用户隐私、数据质量或成本。

问:为什么要在应用程序中使用位置数据?

位置功能在商业和消费者应用程序中的应用日益增多。您可以使用位置服务来解决许多问题,例如在地图上显示数据以提供地理环境、确定旅行时间和距离、查找兴趣点以及将操作限制在特定位置。使用位置功能可实现基于地图的可视化、资产追踪、基于位置的客户互动以及配送或拼车应用程序等功能。访问 Amazon Location Services 客户页面,获取真实示例。

问:Amazon Location Service 有哪些用途?

借助 Amazon Location Service,您可以使用由全球的可信提供商 Esri 和 HERE 提供的高质量数据来访问经济高效、基于数据的服务 (LBS),而且您可以轻松地将地图、兴趣点、地理编码、路线规划、追踪和地理围栏集成到您的应用程序中。借助 Amazon Location Service,您能够快速地将复杂的开启位置服务的应用程序投入生产,而无需花费高成本进行定制开发。它经济实惠的数据(包括追踪和地理围栏功能)以及用于监控运行状况的内置指标可帮助您降低成本并缩短开发时间。此外,Amazon Location Service 与多个 AWS 服务集成,可进一步加快应用程序开发的速度。有关 AWS 集成的更多信息,请参阅“问:Amazon Location Service 如何与其他 AWS 服务集成?” 此外,也可以访问功能页面,了解有关各项 Amazon Location Service 功能的更多信息。

问:Amazon Location Service 已在哪些区域推出?

Amazon Location Service 现已在以下区域推出:美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)、美国东部(俄亥俄)、美国西部(俄勒冈)、欧洲(法兰克福)、欧洲(爱尔兰)、欧洲(斯德哥尔摩)、亚太地区(新加坡)、亚太地区(悉尼)区域以及亚太地区(东京)区域。 

Amazon Location Service 提供来自多个数据供应商的全球位置数据。请访问我们的数据供应商页面,了解更多信息。

问:如何以最快的速度了解 Amazon Location Service 提供的功能?

Amazon Location Service 控制台为您提供了一个可视化的交互式工具,可以让您快速体验 Amazon Location Service 的功能。您可以使用此工具预览默认地图、搜索兴趣点、计算路线规划、模拟追踪设备以及绘制地理围栏。 

Amazon Location Service 资源

问:什么是 Amazon Location Service 资源?

Amazon Location Service 资源是您用于所有位置 API 请求的实体。其中包括五种资源类型,每种类型都有自己的专用 API 和参考文档:地图资源、位置索引资源(通常称为位置)、路线规划计算器资源、地理围栏集资源和追踪器资源。

问:什么是 Amazon Location 地图资源?

Amazon Location 地图资源是用于所有地图 API 请求的实体。地图由样式、地图图块以及可选的相关字体(字形)和图标(精灵)组成。根据所选样式,Amazon Location Service 将提供矢量格式的地图图块(通常用于抽象表示,例如街道地图)或栅格格式的地图图块(通常用于卫星或航空影像)。要在应用程序中显示地图,请将 Amazon Location Service 地图资源与渲染库(例如 MapLibre)结合使用(请参阅此处的开发人员指南)。然后,开发工具包可以请求区域的图块、样式、字形和精灵以及您要显示的缩放级别。无论您选择哪家提供商、选择哪种样式,Amazon Location Service 都会提供一致的地图 API。

问:什么是 Amazon Location 位置索引资源?

Amazon Location 位置索引资源是一个地理搜索引擎,可用于搜索兴趣点、街道地址(地理编码)和地理坐标(反向地理编码)。在 Amazon Location 上,创建位置索引资源时,可以选择最适合您使用案例的数据供应商。创建资源后,您可以使用位置 API 发出搜索请求。位置 API 是一致的,在创建资源时适用于所有提供商。

问:什么是 Amazon Location Service 路线规划计算器资源?

Amazon Location Service 路线规划计算器资源是一个路线规划计算器,您可以使用它来请求行车路线规划、行车时间和地理位置之间的行车距离。在 Amazon Location Service 上,创建路线规划计算器资源时,可以选择最适合您使用案例的数据供应商。创建资源后,您可以使用路线规划 API 发出路线规划计算请求。路线规划 API 是一致的,在创建资源时适用于所有提供商。

问:什么是 Amazon Location 地理围栏集资源?

Amazon Location Service 地理围栏集资源是一个容器实体,用于存储地理围栏(地图上的虚拟边界)。您可以使用地理围栏 API 根据地理围栏集资源中的所有地理围栏来估算一个位置。如果位置更新越过集中任何地理围栏的边界,则资源将针对每个越界的地理围栏发出进入和退出事件。

问:什么是 Amazon Location 追踪器资源?

Amazon Location Service 追踪器资源是一个容器实体,用于存储设备中的位置更新。您可以使用追踪器 API 提交位置更新,然后查询当前和历史位置。您还可以将追踪器资源链接到您的 Amazon Location Service 地理围栏集资源,会根据您的所有地理围栏对位置进行自动更新。如果位置更新越过任何地理围栏的边界,则地理围栏集资源将针对每个越界的地理围栏发出进入和退出事件。在根据地理围栏存储或评估位置更新之前,您可以通过从未移动的设备中过滤掉位置更新来降低成本。

数据供应商

问:什么是 Amazon Location 数据供应商?

Amazon Location Service 使用来自全球的可信数据供应商提供的数据,通过一致的 API 向我们的客户交付地图、地理编码和路线规划。在使用这些提供商提供的位置数据时,要了解有关特定条款和条件以及定价规则的更多信息,请阅读服务条款定价页面

问:我可以为地图、地理编码和路线规划不同的提供商吗?

可以。借助 Amazon Location Service,您可以为地图、地理编码和路线规划不同的提供商。您可以将不同提供商的位置数据用于不同的地理区域。我们建议您对同一地理区域使用来自同一提供商的地图、兴趣点和路线规划,以确保兼容性。请注意,您不能在 HERE 的地图上对另一个数据供应商的路线规划进行分层,也不能在另一个数据供应商的地图上对 HERE 的路线规划进行分层。

问:我应该选择什么样的数据供应商?

对于大多数使用案例,我们建议您选择适用于各种使用案例的服务中的默认选择。您可以根据自己的偏好和此前的经验来选择提供商。对于需要专业数据或区域专业知识的使用案例,您可以对所有数据供应商进行评估,然后选择最适合您的特定应用程序的一种。

支持的规格

问:Amazon Location Service 支持何种精度?

Amazon Location Service 可以接收精确到小数点后六位 (0.000001) 的位置数据,这相当于赤道上的大约 11 厘米或 4.4 英寸。使用追踪功能时,您可以将位置更新发送到最多可精确到小数点后六位的 Amazon Location Service 追踪器。使用地理围栏功能时,最小的地理围栏必须至少有 3 个11 厘米或 4.4 英寸的顶点,覆盖 0.05 平方米或 77 平方英寸的面积。但是,在大多数应用程序中,物理设备在计算其 GPS 位置时的精度和准确性会成为限制因素。除非您使用的是专门的定位设备,否则我们建议您通过概念验证来确定应用程序的准确性,并使用大于 1000 平方米或 10000 平方英尺的地理围栏。

问:Amazon Location Service 地图支持哪种输出格式?

Amazon Location Service 地图以常用的开源 Mapbox Style Specification (MSS) 格式提供地图样式信息,以 Mapbox Vector Tile (MVT) 格式提供地图图块。您可以选择最适合应用程序的输出格式,并在使用 Amazon Location Service 时在它们之间切换。

问:Amazon Location 资源和使用有什么限制吗?

Amazon Location Service 可以支持大量并行活动的地理围栏,同时根据大量移动资产对它们进行估算,而且,通常情况下,所有功能都支持每秒大量事务 (TPS)。如果您的应用程序可能需要超过 50000 个地理围栏,请访问我们的文档开发人员指南中的限制和配额

开发人员工具、监控和管理

问:Amazon Location Service 提供哪些开发工具包?

Amazon Location Service 提供适用于 Android、iOS 和 Web 的前端开发工具包。您可以通过 AWS 工具页面上列出的后端开发工具包访问 Amazon Location Service。AWS 命令行界面 (CLI) 支持 Amazon Location Service。CLI 是一个统一工具,可让您从命令行下载、配置和控制多个 AWS 服务,并通过脚本自动执行这些服务。

问:Amazon Location Service 如何与其他 AWS 服务集成?

Amazon Location Service 与 AWS CloudFormation、Amazon CloudWatch、AWS CloudTrail 和 Amazon EventBridge 集成,因此您可以有效地预置和管理资源、监控运行状况指标并自动对事件执行操作。借助这些功能,可以加快应用程序的投产速度。借助 AWS CloudFormation,使用 Amazon Location Service 创建模板,以便快速一致地预置资源。您可以使用 Amazon CloudWatch 监控有关服务使用情况和运行状况的指标(包括请求、延迟和故障),因此您不必构建自己的运行状况监控工具。Amazon Location Service 与 AWS CloudTrail 集成,用于记录并持续监控账户活动。与 Amazon EventBridge 集成后可支持事件驱动型应用程序架构,因此可以使用 AWS Lambda 函数来响应事件(例如追踪进入或退出地理围栏的资产)。此外,您还可以在一个视图中使用标签帮助管理、识别、组织、搜索和筛选 Amazon Location Service 资源。您可以创建标签,以按用途、拥有者、环境或计费关系对资源进行分类。

安全性

问:我有哪些访问控制选项?

您可以使用 IAM 来管理 AWS 账户的用户、组和角色。IAM 使您能够安全地管理对 AWS 服务和资源的访问。对于 Web 和移动开发工具包,您可以使用 Amazon Cognito 来管理应用程序最终用户的身份验证和授权。您还可以自带身份验证堆栈,并将其与 Cognito 结合使用,而无需复制用户身份。Amazon Location Service 还与 AWS Key Management Service (KMS) 集成,让您可以使用现有密钥来加密追踪和地理围栏数据。要了解更多信息,请访问有关 Amazon Location Service 的文档

问:使用 Amazon Location Service 时,我的数据会离开我的 AWS 账户吗?

发送到追踪和地理围栏的数据不会离开您的 AWS 账户。我们会将地图、位置和路线规划请求中的参数值发送到您选择的位置数据供应商,以便他们可以处理这些请求。Amazon Location Service 仅包含处理请求所需的参数,由此来匿名化处理对我们的提供商发出的请求。所有静态数据和传输中数据都是加密的,只有在处理时才会解密。此外,除了处理您的请求外,我们禁止 Amazon Location Service 提供商存储或使用您的内容。我们会定期审核 Amazon Location Service 第三方提供商的安全性,以确保满足网络安全性、访问控制、数据保护和物理安全性的标准。

问:Amazon Location Service 如何使用我的请求中的数据?

Amazon Location Service 只使用您的数据来维护和提供此服务。地理围栏和追踪数据存储在您所使用服务的所在区域中的 AWS 账户中。我们会将地图、位置和路线规划请求中的参数值发送到您选择的位置数据供应商,以便他们可以处理这些请求。请参阅“问:使用 Amazon Location Service 时,我的数据会离开我的 AWS 账户吗?”;有关更多信息,请参阅我们的服务条款。

使用案例

问:我可以使用 Amazon Location Service 构建配送应用程序吗?

可以。配送应用程序需要存储、追踪和协调源位置、配送车辆以及目的地。Amazon Location Service 为您提供了一套构建配送应用程序的功能和数据。例如,使用 Amazon Location Service 构建的送餐应用程序可以使用位置追踪和地理围栏,当指定的配送司机在附近时,自动通知餐厅,从而减少司机的等待时间,并帮助确保送达时食物的新鲜度。请访问我们关于配送应用程序的文档,获取解决方案指南。

问:我可以使用 Amazon Location Service 进行资产追踪吗?

可以。借助 Amazon Location Service,您可以快速开始存储资产位置、在地图上可视化资产位置、基于资产邻近度触发事件以及分析位置历史记录。资产追踪帮助企业了解其产品、人员和基础设施的当前位置和位置历史记录。开发人员可以使用资产追踪数据来确保途中运输安全、最大限度提高派遣效率、追踪设备等等。请访问我们有关资产追踪的文档,并参阅解决方案指南,了解更多信息。

问:我可以使用 Amazon Location Service 进行地理营销吗?

可以。您可以尝试使用地理营销功能,然后通过 Amazon Location Service 将其整合到您的应用程序中。地理营销是指结合地理位置进行的营销活动。它根据客户位置和行为个性化时间和消息内容,来提高营销传播的有效性。例如,进入购物中心的客户可以从他们最喜欢的商店中获得特惠,或者从他们路过的咖啡厅获得免费咖啡。请访问我们有关地理营销的文档,获取解决方案指南。

定价

问:使用 Amazon Location Service 如何付费?

Amazon Location Service 为开发人员提供了一种简便的方法,可以在其应用程序中添加基于位置的服务功能。借助该服务,您可以轻松构建具有以下功能的应用程序:提供地图和兴趣点、计算路线规划、追踪资产、根据位置触发操作以及将街道地址转换为地理坐标。为此,您的应用程序将使用 Amazon Location Service 的“资源”对各种类型的位置信息发出“请求”。对于为应用程序创建的每个 Amazon Location Service 资源,都有三个定价套餐可供选择(移动资产管理套餐、移动资产追踪套餐或基于请求的使用量套餐)。这三种 Amazon Location Service 定价套餐都无需预付费用,也没有最低消费限制。只需按使用量付费即可。要了解更多信息,请阅读“问:我应该使用哪种价格套餐?”并参阅定价页面,了解具体的定价详细信息。

问:我应该使用哪种价格套餐?

Amazon Location Service 提供了三种定价套餐,都无需预付费用,也没有最低消费限制。只需按使用量付费即可。您可以在同一个账户中使用多个套餐,但每个单独的应用程序只能使用其中一个套餐。

  • 如果您的应用程序仅使用 Amazon Location Service 追踪或地理围栏而不使用 Amazon Location Service 地图、位置或路线规划,则可以使用任何价格的套餐。我们建议您首先考虑基于请求的使用量套餐,在使用量扩展后再考虑其他价格套餐。
  • 如果您的应用程序用于以下目的:对您在业务中使用的移动资产进行追踪、路线规划或路线规划优化,且您的应用程序使用 Amazon Location Service 地图、位置或路线规划,则您只能使用基于请求的使用量。消费者用于个人用途的移动设备不视为移动资产。
  • 如果您的应用程序正在对您业务中使用的移动资产进行追踪,而未对移动资产进行路线规划或路线规划优化,并且您的应用程序使用的是 Amazon Location Service 地图或位置,则您只能使用移动资产追踪套餐 使用该套餐,每个移动资产每月的费用都是可预测的固定费用。消费者用于个人用途的移动设备不视为移动资产。  
  • 如果您的应用程序正在对您业务中使用的移动资产进行路线规划路线规划优化,并且您希望应用程序使用 Amazon Location Service 地图、位置或路线规划,那么您只能使用移动资产管理套餐。使用该套餐,每个移动资产每月的费用都是可预测的固定费用。消费者用于个人用途的移动设备不视为移动资产。 
 
有关使用各定价套餐的要求的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Location Service 定价页面AWS 服务条款

问:在 Amazon Location Service 中计费的移动资产包括哪些?

移动资产是指拥有公司用于支持业务的移动或追踪设备的任何车辆、货物、员工或其他移动对象(例如,卡车运输公司司机使用的任何移动设备,或运输公司中附加在其货物上的任何追踪设备)。根据与数据供应商的许可协议,AWS 要求您在以下情况下对应用程序中使用的 Amazon Location Service 资源使用其中一种移动资产定价套餐:

  • 您的应用程序正在对移动资产进行追踪、路线规划或路线规划优化,并且
  • 您的应用程序使用 Amazon Location Service 地图、位置或路线规划。

消费者拥有和使用的移动设备或对象不视为移动资产。例如,使用社交媒体应用程序的消费者不是移动资产。

问:什么是活动的移动资产,以及如何将其用于定价?

在 Amazon Location Service 中,活动的移动资产是指具有唯一设备 ID 的移动资产,它在给定的月份内为 Amazon 追踪器资源提供一个或多个位置更新。创建 Amazon Location Service 资源时,请指定适用于您应用程序的定价套餐。即使您不打算在移动资产应用程序中使用 Amazon 追踪器资源,也需要创建一个追踪器资源,并使用不同的设备 ID 为应用程序中的每个移动资产发送至少一个位置更新,以用于计费。请参阅“问:在 Amazon Location Service 中计费的移动资产包括哪些?”

问:什么是路线规划或路线规划优化应用程序?

在 Amazon Location Service 中,路线规划即为移动资产预置路线规划计算,而路线规划优化则表示为移动资产计算或优化目的地或路线规划的顺序。在 Amazon Location Service 上,即使您的应用程序不使用 Amazon Location Service 路线规划资源,但是如果您的应用程序正在为您在业务中使用的移动资产进行路线规划或路线规划优化,您也必须选择移动资产管理定价套餐

问:Amazon Location Service 如何为移动资产追踪和移动资产管理套餐计算每月活动的移动资产数量?

Amazon Location Service 使用追踪器资源来计算每月活动的移动资产数量。在给定的月份内,每个向追踪器资源发布其位置的唯一设备 ID 将被计算为每月的活动移动资产。如果您正在使用移动资产定价套餐,则必须确保每个移动资产在使用 Amazon Location Service 对移动资产进行追踪、路线规划或路线规划优化的每个月中至少使用一次具有不同设备 ID 的追踪器资源。

详细了解产品定价
详细了解产品定价

访问 Amazon Location Service 定价页面。

了解更多 
注册免费账户
注册免费账户

立即享受 AWS 免费套餐。 

注册 
开始在控制台中构建
开始在控制台中构建

开始在 AWS 管理控制台中使用 Amazon Location Service 进行构建。

登录

General

Q: What is Amazon Location Service?

Amazon Location Service is a fully managed service that makes it easy for developers to add location data, such as maps, points of interest, and geocoding to applications, without sacrificing data security, user privacy, data quality, or cost.

Q: Why should I use location data in my applications?

Location data is increasingly used in business and consumer applications. You can use location data and location-based services to solve problems such as displaying data on top of a map for geographic context, navigating to a destination, running analyses on map data, and constraining actions to specific locations. The use of location data enables capabilities ranging from asset tracking to location-based marketing.

Q: What can I do with Amazon Location Service?

With Amazon Location, you have access to cost-effective location-based services (LBS) using high-quality data from global, trusted providers Esri and HERE, and you can easily integrate maps, points of interest, geocoding, tracking, geofences, and routes (coming soon) to your applications. Amazon Location Service enables you to bring sophisticated location-enabled applications to production quickly, without the high cost of custom development. Its affordable data, included tracking and geofencing capabilities, and built-in metrics for health monitoring reduce your costs and development time. Visit the features page to learn more about each of the Amazon Location Service capabilities.

Q: Where is Amazon Location Service available?

Amazon Location Service is available as a Preview in the US-East (N. Virginia), and US-East (Ohio), US-West (Oregon), EU (Ireland), and Asia Pacific (Tokyo) AWS Regions. Amazon Location Service provides global location data from multiple data providers. Please visit our data providers’ page to learn more.

Q: What’s the quickest way to learn the capabilities provided by Amazon Location Service?

The Amazon Location Service console provides a visual and interactive tool for you to experiment quickly with the capabilities provided by Amazon Location Service. You can use this tool to preview the default map, search points of interest, simulate tracking devices, draw geofences, and get directions (coming soon).

Q: What does it mean to make a request for location information?

Making a request to an Amazon Location Resource using its API is considered a request for information or a transaction. Amazon Location Service provides five types of resources: maps, place indexes, routes (coming soon), geofence collections, and trackers. To use Amazon Location in your application, you create one or more of these Amazon Location resources in your AWS account and then call the resource’s associated APIs.

Amazon Location Service Resources

Q: What are Amazon Location Service resources?

Amazon Location resources are the entities that you work with for all your location API requests. There are five resource types, each with its own dedicated API and reference documentation: a Map resource, a Place Index resource (often referred to as places), a Routes resource (coming soon), a Geofence Collection resource, and a Tracker resource.

Q: What is an Amazon Location Map resource?

An Amazon Location Map resource is an entity that you use for all your map API requests. A map is composed of map tiles, a style, and, optionally, associated fonts (glyphs) and icons (sprites). On Amazon Location, you can select a data provider and a map style best for your use case when creating a Map resource. To display a map in your application, you combine an Amazon Location map resource with a rendering library such as MapBox GL and Tangram. The SDK then can request tiles, styles, glyphs, and sprites for the area and zoom level you are displaying. Amazon Location provides a consistent maps API regardless of the provider or style that you select.

Q: What is an Amazon Location Place Index resource?

An Amazon Location Place Index resource is a geographical search engine that you can use to search for points of interest, street addresses (geocode), and geographical coordinates (reverse geocode). On Amazon Location, you can select a data provider best for your use case when creating a Place Index resource. Once the resource is created, you can make search requests by using the Places API. The Places API is consistent and works for all providers when creating your resource.

Q: What is an Amazon Location Routes resource?

An Amazon Location Routes resource is a routing engine that you can use to request driving direction, driving time, and driving distance between geographical locations. On Amazon Location, you can select a data provider best for your use case when creating a Routes resource. Once your resource is created, you can make routing requests using the Routes API. The Routes API is consistent and works for all providers when creating your resource.

Q: What is an Amazon Location Geofence Collection resource?

An Amazon Location Geofence Collection resource is a container entity that stores geofences - virtual boundaries on a map. You can use the Geofences API to evaluate a location against all the geofences within a Geofence Collection resource. If the location update crosses the boundary of any geofence in the collection, the resource will emit enter and exit events for each geofence breached.

Q: What is an Amazon Location Tracker resource?

An Amazon Location Tracker resource is a container entity that stores location updates from devices. You can use the Tracker API to submit location updates and then query for current and historic locations. You can also link a Tracker resource to your Amazon Location Geofence Collection resources, and all location updates will be automatically evaluated against all your geofences. If the location update crosses the boundary of any geofence, your Geofence Collection resources will emit enter and exit events for each geofence breached.

Data Providers

Q: What is an Amazon Location data provider?

Amazon Location Service uses data from various global, trusted location-based data providers to deliver maps, geocodes, and routes (coming soon) to our customers through a consistent API. To learn more about the specific terms and conditions and pricing rules when using location data from these providers, please read the terms and conditions, pricing, and the data providers’ page.

Q: Can I pick different providers for maps, geocodes, and routes?

Yes. With Amazon Location Service, you can choose different providers for maps, geocoding, and routes (coming soon) . You can use different providers’ location data for different geographic areas. Nonetheless, we recommend that you use maps, points of interest, and routes from the same provider for the same geographic region to ensure compatibility.

Q: What data provider should I pick?

For most use cases, we recommend using the default selection in the service which is suitable for a wide variety of use cases. You may choose a provider based on your preference and prior experience. For use cases that require specialized data, or regional expertise, you can evaluate all of the data providers, and select the one most appropriate for your specific application.

Supported Specifications

Q: What is the precision supported by Amazon Location Service?

Amazon Location Service accepts location data up to six decimal places of precision (0.000001), which equals to approximately 11 cm or 4.4 inches at the equator. When you use the tracking capability, you can send location updates to Amazon Location Service Trackers that contain up to six decimal places. When you use the geofencing capability, the smallest geofence must have at least 3 vertices of 11 cm or 4.4 inches each, covering an area of 0.05 square meters or 77 square inches. In most applications, however, the limiting factor is the precision and accuracy of physical devices in calculating their GPS positions. We recommend that you determine the accuracy of your application with a proof of concept and use geofences larger than 1,000 square meters or 10,000 square feet, unless you are using specialized positioning equipment.

Q: Which output format does Amazon Location Service Maps support?

Amazon Location Service Maps provides map style information in the popular open-source Mapbox Style Specification (MSS) format, and map tiles in Mapbox Vector Tile (MVT) format. You can choose the output formats that work best for your application and switch between them while using Amazon Location Service.

Q: Are there any limits to Amazon Location resources and usage?

Amazon Location Service can support a large number of concurrently active geofences, evaluate them against many moving assets at the same time, and generally support a large number of transactions per second (TPS) for all capabilities. If your application might require over 50,000 geofences, please visit our documentation limits and quotas in the developer guide.

Q: Are there any limits to Amazon Location Service usage during Preview?

During Preview, you will be limited to 1,000 stored geocodes and 10,000 stored reverse-geocodes per month. To learn more, please visit our documentation limits and quotas in the developer guide.

Developer Tools, Monitoring and Management

Q: What SDKs does Amazon Location Service provide?

Amazon Location Service provides front-end SDKs for Android, iOS, and web. Amazon Location Service can be accessed through the back-end SDKs listed on the AWS tools page. Amazon Location Service is supported by AWS Command Line Interface (CLI), a unified tool for you to download, configure, and control multiple AWS services from the command line and automate them through scripts.

Q: How does Amazon Location Service integrate with other AWS services?

Amazon Location Service features built-in Amazon CloudWatch usage and performance metrics for monitoring requests, latency, faults and events. Like the rest of your AWS environment, customers can manage permissions for Amazon Location Service through AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM). Amazon Location integrates with Amazon EventBridge to enable an event-driven application architecture. With EventBridge, you can use AWS Lambda functions to activate other parts of your application and workflows. When a geofence is breached, Amazon Location automatically emits an enter or exit event to EventBridge. EventBridge routing rules can be configured to trigger actions such as invoking AWS Lambda functions in response to the geofence events.

Security

Q: What are my options for access control?

You can use IAM to manage users, groups, and roles for your AWS account. IAM enables you to manage access to AWS services and resources securely. For web and mobile SDKs, you can use Amazon Cognito to manage authentication and authorization for end-users of your applications. You can also bring your own authentication stack and use it along with Cognito without the need to duplicate user identities. To learn more, please visit the documentation for Amazon Location Service.

Q: Does my data leave my AWS account when I am using Amazon Location Service?

Data sent to Tracking and Geofencing does not leave your AWS account. We send parameter values in Maps and Places requests to your selected location data provider so they can process these requests. Amazon Location Service anonymizes requests to our providers by only including the parameters necessary to process the request. We do not transmit AWS account information to data providers. All data is encrypted at rest and in transit, and is only decrypted for processing. Also, Amazon Location data providers are not permitted to store or use your content for purposes other than processing your requests. The security of Amazon Location Service third-party providers is periodically audited to ensure standards of network security, access control, data protection, and physical security are met.

Q: How does Amazon Location Service use the data in my requests?

Amazon Location Service only uses your data to process your requests. Geofencing and Tracking data is stored in your AWS account in the region where you are using the service. We send parameter values in Maps and Places requests to your selected location data provider so they can process these requests. See Q: Does my data leave my AWS account when I am using Amazon Location Service for more details about how we protect data we send to our location data providers.

Applications

Q: Can I build delivery applications using Amazon Location Service?

Yes. Delivery applications need to store, track, and coordinate the source locations, delivery vehicles, and the destinations. Amazon Location Service provides a suite of capabilities and data for you to build delivery applications. For instance, a food delivery application built with Amazon Location Service can use location tracking and geofencing to automatically notify a restaurant when its designated delivery driver is nearby, to reduce the wait time of the driver, and help assure the freshness of the food when delivered. Visit our documentation on delivery applications for a solution guide.

Q: Can I use Amazon Location Service for asset tracking?

Yes. With Amazon Location Service, you can quickly get started on storing asset location, visualizing asset locations on a map, triggering events based on asset proximity, and analyzing location histories. Asset tracking helps businesses understand the current and historical locations of their products, personnel, and infrastructure. Developers can use asset tracking data to optimize remote staffing, secure en-route shipment, maximize dispatch efficiency, and more. Please visit our documentation on asset tracking and follow the solution guide to learn more.

Q: Can I build geomarketing with Amazon Location Service?

Yes. You can experiment with geomarketing capabilities and incorporate them into your application with Amazon Location Service. Geomarketing refers to marketing activities that incorporate location. It increases the effectiveness of marketing communications by personalizing the timing and the content of messages based on customer location and behaviors. For example, a customer entering a shopping center can receive a special offer from their favorite store or an offer of a free coffee from the coffee shop they are walking past. Visit our documentation on geomarketing for a solution guide.

Pricing

Q: How am I charged for using Amazon Location Service?

Amazon Location Service is in Preview. During the Preview period, you will not incur Amazon Location Service charges for the use of the service. You may incur fees for the use of other AWS services such as Amazon EventBridge, AWS Lambda, and Amazon CloudWatch. To learn more about pricing after Preview, please visit the pricing page.

Q: When do I need to use Request-Based Usage pricing?

You should select the Request-Based Usage pricing plan when you need to provide maps and other location information for external users such as customers, or internal applications that don’t involve tracking or routing of assets you control. With this plan, you are billed for each request your application makes to the service, so your costs scale proportionally with usage of your application’s location-based capabilities. You may not select this plan if you are using Amazon Location Service Maps or Places for an application that tracks mobile assets over which you have operational control. To learn more, please visit pricing.

Q: When do I need to use Mobile Asset Tracking pricing plan?

You should select the Mobile Asset Tracking pricing plan only for your applications that use Amazon Location Service Maps or Places for tracking of mobile assets, but do not perform routing or route optimization. With this plan you are billed a predictable, fixed monthly price per asset, with 25,000 location data requests per asset included. To learn more, please visit pricing.

Q: When do I need to use Mobile Asset Management pricing plan?

You should select the Mobile Asset Management pricing plan only for your applications that use Amazon Location Service Maps or Places for tracking, AND perform routing or route optimization of mobile assets. With this plan you are billed a predictable, fixed monthly price per asset, with 250,000 location data requests per asset included. To learn more, please visit pricing.

Q: For the purposes of billing in Amazon Location Service, what is a mobile asset?

In Amazon Location Service billing, a mobile asset is defined as any mobile object, tracked using a mobile or tracking device, over which you can exercise operational control in support of your business (e.g., a shipping container with a GPS tracker or a point-of-sale tablet, or an employee, contractor, or consultant). Due to licensing agreements with data providers, AWS requires you to use one of the Mobile Asset pricing plans for the Amazon Location resources that you are using in an application when:

  • Your application relates to mobile assets, and
  • Your application requires a resource that depends on a data provider - namely Amazon Location Maps, Place Indexes, or Routes.

Mobile devices or objects owned and used by consumers are not considered mobile assets. For example, a consumer using a social media application is not a mobile asset.

Q: What is an active asset and how is it used for pricing?

On Amazon Location Service, an active asset is a device ID that has provided one or more location updates to an Amazon Tracker resource within a given month. When you create an Amazon Location resource, you specify the pricing plan that applies to your application. If you are not planning on using an Amazon Tracker resource in your mobile asset tracking application, you are required to create a Tracker resource and send at least one location update for each mobile asset in your application.

Q: What is a routing or route optimization application?

On Amazon Location Service, routing means provisioning of route calculations, and optimizing means using software applications to calculate the order of destinations and routes. On Amazon Location Service, you must choose the Mobile Asset Management pricing plan as long as your application is running routing or route optimization, even if your application does not leverage the Amazon Location Routes resource.

Q: How does Amazon Location Service calculate the number of monthly active assets for the Mobile Asset Tracking and Mobile Asset Management plans?

Amazon Location Service uses the tracker resource to calculate the number of monthly active assets. Each unique device ID that writes its position to a tracker resource in a given month will be counted as a monthly active asset. 

Learn more about product pricing
Learn more about product pricing

Visit the Amazon Location Service Pricing page.

Learn more 
Sign up for a free account
Sign up for a free account

Instantly get access to the AWS Free Tier. 

Sign up 
Start building in the console
Start building in the console

Get started building with Amazon Location Service in the AWS Management Console.

Sign in